Sure Thing Reviews

3.48 Rating 552 Reviews
62 %
of reviewers recommend Sure Thing
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how Sure Thing made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
not sure they are an Insurance company or an administration company/payday loan firm. They charge more for admin fees and changes than anyone I know, plus they charge 40% !!!!!!! for monthly instalments, WONGA !! once you are in you are in for an expensive ride. grit your teeth and move on renewal
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Joss, I am sorry to read you feel this way. I would really like the opportunity to look into this matter and see what we can do for you. Can you send your details to feedback@surething.co.uk and I will investigate this and get in touch with you. Thanks Jonathan.
Posted 5 years ago
AVOID. Took out a policy online and rang the call centre to cancel within 30 minutes as found multi-car policy cheaper elsewhere. Was stung for a £30 cancellation charge even though no admin can possibly have been done between me setting up the policy and cancelling. Terms and conditions state a 'cancellation charge' but does not outline how much so £30 appears to be an abitrary figure. Unhelpful call centre man (Craig) told me I'd clicked 'yes' to agree to the terms and conditions so was therefore at their mercy. They are cheap for good reason! Dread to think what they'd be like if you needed to make a claim.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. All of our fees and charges as well as terms and conditions of the policy are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay cancellation fees. If you would like me to investigate any specific concerns you have please don't hesitate to email me directly on feedback@surething.co.uk. Regard, Vicky.
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks to those reviews which helped me decide to not take out this insurance with this company with customers being ripped off with fees dont forget insurance ombudsman if you feel these fees are excessive then refer to ombudsman for help it might be in the t.c's but a claim for excessive fees can be sought via ombudsman
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear you opted not to insurer with Surething! We are always looking for way to improve as a business and your feedback will be taken on board. Should you wish to discuss any of your concerns please give us a call on 0344 335 5555.
Posted 1 year ago
Further to my claim and my subsequent review, Surething immediately contacted me to explain that a windscreen repair / replacement company would call me back within 2 hours . No surprise as I never heard anything. One day later still chasing them . This company is as dodgy as you could imagine!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Nicholas, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We have spoken with the windscreen repairer and they advised they called you to arrange your repair but had been unable to reach you. They have confirmed that they have now spoken with you and arranged the repair. If you require any further assistance please cotact us via feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 1 year ago
Twice changed contact details, charged big money, I pay double. What is really bad, address isn't changed and still is there old one, but fees for changing I paid.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there Tibor, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. We would be happy to investigate this matter for you. To allow us to do so please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Mick.
Posted 1 year ago
TOTAL AMATEURS AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm sorry to hear you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. I would be happy to look into any concerns you may have. To allow me to do this can you please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
total rip off, canceled my policy that was all paid up to date, received email to say policy canceled and no more payments would be taken. so direct debt stopped. they then attempted to take money from my account fraudulently saying i owed them a cancellation fee. £60, plus service charge £90, plus more on top? this was not mentioned in the email from them, i then offered to make payments to clear the amount that they have invented but NO, they say they we do not take payments? and it will be passed on to a collection agency if not paid in full in 21 days. (avoid this company like the plague) also, it is no good trying to work things out with them as they just do not want to know. SURE THING, please do not bother to reply with your total nonsense as i am fed up with your excuses and avoidance tactics. please do not bother to recommend calling you as this is a total waste of time as you well know. (AVOID THIS COMPANY)
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I apologies that you feel this way on the back of the service you have received. All of our fees & charges are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay cancellation fees or administration charges. If you would like me to investigate any specific concerns you have please don't hesitate to email me directly on feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 3 years ago
Just cancelled my policy because I've sold my Saab 93. Nowhere on their or Close Brothers documentation are cancellation charges made clear. Just the total amount and that I'll be charged £30 if I don't pay on time. Charge for ending the policy: £60 cancellation fee - which I assume is made by Close Brothers Premium Finance plus a further £25 'from the insurer' (Sure Thing). In total, I have paid 11.5 months worth of insurance to cover a period of 3 months. Really, really annoyed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Su, I'm very sorry that you feel this way on the back of the service you have received form Sure Thing! All of our fees & charges are disclosed online prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay a cancellation fee itself when ending your policy. If you would like to discuss this any further please don't hesitate to get in touch via feedback@surething.co.uk. Ross.
Posted 3 years ago
I was quoted on moneysupermarket and chose surething not the cheapest but had all the ticks all information is carried across to there website great, I paid up and then found out my wifes not listed on the policy rechecked moneysupermarket and shes listed in the quote. now I cant amend it because I cant get though to them I have also searched my account online but cant amend. not looking good i'm afraid should have taken better notes of reviews not happy at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Lee, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm really sorry you feel this way on the back of the confusion surrounding the inclusion of your spouse. I would like the opportunity to look into this for you and find out what has happened. Can you please get in touch via feedback@surething.co.uk and I will investigate this for you? Thanks again, Jonathan.
Posted 4 years ago
SHOCKING! DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND AVOID THIS COMPANY. YOU WILL SAVE MONEY AT FIRST BUT IN THE LONG RUN YOU WILL PAY FOR IT AND MORE! If there was the option for zero they would have got it. I would advise everyone to avoid this company like the plague. I have always used the cheapest insurers but never had any claims. Last year i was involved in a minor incident and had to deal to these people.. Now I realise why these guys are so cheap. They are absoloutely useless. Always happy to talk when they want your money but want nothing to do with you or your claim. They will  pass you around to several different companies who handle different aspects of the claim. Its confusing, frustrating and a massive waste of time. In the end i just gave up because i didnt want the hassel. A few months later im told the company they used to underwrite was going in to liquidation,  but they could smoothly transfer the policy to another company at the same monthly repayments. So I agreed. A few weeks later i was sent a letter telling me my insurance is being raised from 55 pounds a month to an eye watering 168 pounds a month ! I was told that because I had a claim still in dispute i had to pay the old policy to the end and my new policy with an increased premium!  Id had enough, i just wanted to cut all ties with this company.  I spoke to an adviser and evetually agreed a cancellation price 297 pounds. I very clearly asked him if i pay this are we done? I owe you no more money? I was told thats it, no futher payments required. Not even 2 weeks later im sent a letter telling me they will take 51 pounds for a cancellation fee. If its not paid they will pass the debt to a recovery agency with more charges. The dispute still continues.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Daniel, I'm sorry to see you feel this way. I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto the claims team on the back of the incident that you were involved in. This is not the kind of service we aim to offer to any customer especially one going through a claim. Unfortunately, you have been affected by one of our underwriters being placed into liquidation towards the end of November which has meant we had to transfer your policy to another provider. The open claim has in turn meant we weren't able to keep the monthly re-payments the same on the new policy but I'm sorry for the confusion if you had been advised otherwise to begin with. Can you please forward your details onto me using feedback@surething.co.uk and I will investigate why you have had additional funds taken from your account & get this resolved as soon as possible. I hope to hear from you soon. Thanks again, Jonathan.
Posted 4 years ago
They should change their name to Sure Thieves! We inssured our little Fiat Car with them about a year a go. At first all was smooth, 8years no claim bonus etc and we agree to pay aproximataley £58 by monthly direct debit. When the insurance was due for renewal, they auto re-new the car and increased our premium to £106 monthly. They also claim to have sent us an email to confirm the auto renewal. I asked the manager why the insurance company did not send a letter to alert us. He replied that they are an "online company" and they do not have responsibility to send letters, what about text and phone? He said we can not send text or call all of our customers. Imagine a company that cannot call or text their customer once a year before auto renewing and withrawing money from the customer's account. They claim to have done all these to protect us and ensure we are not driving an uninsured car. How about giving us a choice! The direct debit mandate was abused, the autorenewal system was also abused. The next day I received a letter from "Sure Things" to inform us that our insurance has been cancelled and we need to pay another £80 as cancellation charges, otherwise... This is the same "online" company that is allergic to 2nd class stamps! They also charge us £10 for requesting a copy of our insurance certificate. I mean, for just requesting, not asking for it to be sent to us. It was never sent and we were still charged £10. All I can say is; watch out! and keep an eye on your accounts!! They will empty it. The management of this company has a craving for money that is unbelievable and unethiccal.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Very poor. Do not use this company even if its the cheapest. If you have an accident even if its not your fault you will end up out of pocket.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Found this company fast helpful, Sent my documents by email, I will be changing my insurance cover to a different car soon ,hopefully they will be as efficient in dealing with this as they were when I first started my cover
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
Never had to pay for a paper copy of my insurance, not yet received. I would not recommend to my worst enemy.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Just cancelled due to selling the car and had a £95 cancellation charge...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there Viv, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're sorry to hear that you have been left unhappy with the cancellation process. Our cancellation terms are outline in our terms and conditions before the policy is set live. I will be happy to look into you policy and the cancellation if you can send your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Mick.
Posted 1 year ago
If I had the opportunity I wouldn't even rate them 1*, avoid this company at every opportunity, I sold my vehicle 7 months into my policy, I was paying just over £40 a month, when I rang to cancel policy as I had sold the vehicle, they wanted a cancellation fee of £145.30 ( absolutely ludicrous and day light robbery) now they are threatening me if I don't pay within 28 days it will increase by 25% and affect my credit rating, I have now put this in the hands of the Financial Ombudsman, reading these reviews they appear to make up different scenarios and prices however they feel at any given moment.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhapy with the cancellation process. Can you please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk and I will look into this for you. Regards Mick
Posted 2 years ago
They might be cheaper but charge admin fees of £30 to change address and another £30 admin fee if you change your car
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're sorry to leave that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. All our fees and charges regarding changes are disclosed prior to the point of purchase and are provided in your policy documents, however I appreciate this doesn't take away the frustration of paying a service fee when you adjust your policy. However, if you have any specific concerns, please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Avoid this company at all cost read the reviews they are bad.canceled my car policy with 6 months to go and they want charge me the rest of the premium of £104 .they are horrendous
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Stephen, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We're sorry to hear you have been unhappy with the service provided. When your policy is cancelled you are charged for the cover you have used, a £60 cancellation and in your case £49.02 is retained towards the cost of your dash cam. If you wish the dash cam can be returned to Halfords which would reduce the balance owed to cancel. We must make you aware all of our fees and charges as well as terms and conditions of the policy are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay cancellation fees when cancelling your policy. If you have any specific aspects of your cancellation that you would like me to investigate please email me at feedback@surething.co.uk and i will be happy to investigate this for matter for you. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Cancellation of insurance. I called to cancel my policy after selling my vehicle to be advised they want to charge me £151. Absolutely ridiculous and a total RIP off. I have never been charged such a high amount for cancelling anything, it's almost the cost of the full insurance premium
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Susan. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm very sorry that you feel this way on the back of the service you have received form Sure Thing! All of our fees & charges are disclosed online prior to purchasing a policy and again at the renewal stage but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay a cancellation fee itself when ending your policy. If you would like to discuss this any further please don't hesitate to get in touch via feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 3 years ago
very poor insurance company.very high costs of any changes and cancelation
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Jack, I apologise that you feel that way on the back of the service you have received. All of our fees & charges are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay a fee for making a change or cancelling your insurance policy, Ross.
Posted 3 years ago
Sure Thing is rated 3.48 based on 552 reviews