mpb.com Reviews

1.7 Rating 132 Reviews
15 %
of reviewers recommend mpb.com
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how mpb.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I would NEVER purchase again from www.mpb.com. They sold me a broken camera and REFUSED to exchange or refund the camera after they agreed to refund in writing, they changed their mind. I bought a camera to use for live streaming, and the HDMI output was broken on this a6500. Supposedly, they tested all the cameras BEFORE selling however they sold me a broken a6500. I'm screwed with a broken camera, and I'm out $500. Thanks, MPB!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
They promise to call back and they do not. Also do not send send emails when promised. The promise to send things out and don't send and don't inform. You are at their mercy, terrible. The promise to pay you within two days and after 10 days still waiting.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thsese guys are horrible. Requested to cancel and order because it was taking too long to even ship it. Now they can't go to the warehouse to get it because its on the truck to ship. Now it will take forever again for them to even check in the return shipment and then to even examine the shipment then check back with me to see what I want to do then hopefully and I do mean hopefully get my refund. Don't use these people at all. This is my recommendation to you. And when they say Ill take down your number and have my supervisor reach out to you smh @ that. I was told this morning that the package was in the process of being shipped and tha they would look into it but a label for it wasnt created until 1:48 p.m. on 11/22/2022. from 9:37 this morning. I know you can't put the package on the truck with no label. Come on already!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I initially had a good experience with MBP so I did business with them again. Currently I have been waiting on a payment and have written in several times. Each time I am assured the payment will be processed that day and over one month later still nothing. I got on chat today and as soon as they realized it was me still looking for payment, they stopped responding and put chat on away. Never again will I do business with these people. I have a ton of emails if proof is needed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Don't buy on it you will loose big money! Badly described items, make you pay for enormous fees of shipping (95$) and the item is not as described! The customer service wanted to make me pay again for a 95$ shipping fees! That's pure scam!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I just made my first purchase from them, a lens with a hood, that came without the hood. I emailed them asking them to send it and they replied that it was listed incorrectly and they could refund me $25 for the hood, or I could send the whole lens back but they wouldn't send me a hood. Since I'd already left town with the lens and needed to use it, I had to have them credit me $25. Now I have a wide angle lens with no hood and I've found out that they aren't available to buy alone. I wouldn't trust them again. They didn't send what I bought and then didn't make it right, only offering to do what they wanted to do, not fulfill the original purchase.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Worst customer service ever. My oder had already a delay (due to internal company issue) and still, they are not able to confirm when I will receive my order at home. I received multiple time the answer that they are busy or extremely busy.. Almost like if it's my issue. I paid for the service, if they are busy should not impact at all my order. They forward my transaction to the manager Jack and since this morning he saw my messages and even didn't respond to me. Absolutely unbelievable. BE CAREFUL WHEN ORDERING FROM THIS SITE, STRONGLY NOT RACCOMMENDED! If needed I have all the screenshot of the chat.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Welp, this should be the last straw. They can never do anything right, they are just cheap and have good selection.
mpb.com 1 star review on 29th August 2022 mpb.com 1 star review on 29th August 2022 mpb.com 1 star review on 29th August 2022 mpb.com 1 star review on 29th August 2022 mpb.com 1 star review on 29th August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered a lens for my Canon camera. They sent me one for a Nikon. I had to pester them to get details on how to return the lens. I asked for a refund but they have only given me a partial refund, even though it was their mistake. I don’t trust them and will never deal with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered and payed via paypal a camera body. It was a about a month ago. mpb sent me tracking number (dhl) and I expected delivery ... but there was no delivery. After 2 about 2 weeks, the first reponse from mpb by Natalia "parcel was unfortunately missed It has been sent today and the tracking should updated later on today or tomorrow." They sent me back shipping costs. After next 2 weeks Jack from mpb.com wrote me another version of story: parcel was lost in delivery by DHL. I have no reponse from mpb now, no parcel, no money. Horrible customer service, actually no reponses for my emails. It's scam!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ordered a big ticket item for a very important photo shoot. Only to be told days later that the order can not be filled because of an email issue. Well needless to say I am now scrambling to resource. I am baffled and dismayed. This never has happened when dealing with Adorama, B+ H, or KEH. I mean my studio sometimes spends north of $15,000 on gear some years. Would a company like this not want a customer like me? WTF!?!?!?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I’ve been very patient, but it’s just unacceptable. The microphone that I shipped over to MPB almost 2 months ago miraculously disappeared. Customer service doesn’t answer emails. Every time I give them a call they promise a follow-up, but never do. Looks like a scam. Stay away.
mpb.com 1 star review on 16th August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I bought a Dji RS 2 Gimbal from mpb but they sent me the RSC 2 one instead which only worths half the price of a RS 2. I have reached out to them on different platforms but no one ever has responded to me.
mpb.com 1 star review on 4th August 2022 mpb.com 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst company with worst quote.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I ordered a GoPro Hero 8 battery on 7/20/2022. It's now 8/2/2022 and tracking still says pending delivery date. The tracking info states that the package weight is 6.6 Lbs for ONE GoPro battery! Are you kidding me! Got Paypal to refund my money. Don't buy or sell with MPB. It's all a SCAM!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Think twice before you do trade-in with this company. Sent a DSLR to them for trade-in. They deducted the trade-in quote for battery and charger not included. Contacted the customer service if I can send the battery and charger for a supplemental quote. No one responded yet. Now I got the point. They actively bet you would not include the accessories (which is common for trading-in used items) and deduct the quote to increase their margin, which is outrageous.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I like to leave positive reviews of positive experiences, but equally it can be necessary to contribute less positive reviews sometimes. This is one of those occasions. My experience isn't as horrific as some of the recent reviews I've just read below, but maybe I got lucky. I wrote to MPB to ask a question about an out of stock camera. A sales person responded instantly to say one camera had just come in to stock but as they sell fast, she had taken the liberty of raising a courier request form to reserve it for me. It was really fast, but I appreciated the chance to buy what appears to be an in demand/low stock camera right now, so I agreed to proceed. I filled in the form, listed my trade-ins (1 body, 3 lenses) for appraisal, and got a trade-in price estimate back. The following morning my gear left for MPB. Then I got a notification that it had arrived, but with a photograph of a box that was definitely not my gear. I tried to get clarification on whether they had my stuff and had just attached the wrong picture, or whether something had gone wrong and two parcels had been switched. No reply. A response and some assurance would have been welcome at that point because MPB's attempt to be reassuring had just become a moment of anxiety for me. That was not my parcel they were looking at. Then a day later I got a revised (downwards) quote for my stuff which inadvertently answered the unanswered question about the mystery box in the delivery image. They listed my items, post-inspection. They had my gear, they had merely set me the wrong package image. I was okay with their lower quote because it seemed I may have clicked the wrong lens description for one item, and they had quite rightly lowered one lens from my 'As new' to their 'excellent', due to some minor cosmetic wear. I was happy to proceed. However they had not factored in the brand new second battery (Manufacturer made not a 3rd party) so I asked if they could include something for that in the trade given the trade in figures were now much lower. They said there was no second battery, which I knew there was because I photographed everything as I packed it, and had shots of the two batteries in the box. There was a delay while they tried to locate the battery. As I waited for the battery to be confirmed, I noticed that at the bottom of their PX breakdown email, they were actually selling me a different camera to the one I had reserved. I pointed out the discrepancy and asked them to check that they were selling me the right camera. It transpired they weren't. They had reserved the wrong camera for me. I asked if they had any of the right camera in stock. They said they didn't. So I asked for my battery to be found and my equipment to be returned immediately. They agreed to return my equipment, and they put that into action right there and then. But then I noticed they had an alternative camera from the same manufacturer that I *would* be happy with, listed on their website. I wrote back and said I'd take that one instead, including the SKU number of the the item. No reply. I never got a reply to that question in fact. I got a notification from the courier that they now had my gear in transit back to me. MPB could have sold me an alternative camera, but they just ignored me, and sent my gear back. At that point, MPB then listed the VERY camera that I originally wanted and had allegedly reserved for me in the first place. As soon as my gear was off their premises they put it back up for sale. Same price as before. I got an MPB email notification that it was available and there it was, back on the website listed as back in stock (it sold within the hour) It's really clear that they decided they didn't want to sell that camera to me. Maybe they decided they could sell it without any trade in. Maybe they decided they didn't want my gear because maybe the profit margin was too small on it. Who knows. If they had told me they didn't want my gear though, I would have bought their camera outright, and sold my gear privately. I think MPB should spend a bit of time actually thinking about the trade before agreeing to it and putting people in the risky situation of handing over their cherished or expensive gear to a courier to be appraised at MPB. I would have MUCH preferred they just told me "We don't want to take your trade in gear. We'd prefer to sell this item without a trade". I would have bought it anyway if they had. I have since bought the camera I wanted brand new from another vendor (and for the same price brand new as their second hand item). As things stand they just took my gear off me for a week and anything could have happened to it during that time. Judging by other reviews below, I may even have never seen it again. I think I was lucky that I actually got it back, and quite swiftly too. So I am thankful for that. The people I dealt with were very polite and helpful aside from just deciding to tell me they didn't have the camera I had technically already bought, which then reappeared on their website. MPB, please review your options before agreeing to a trade. Please don't ask people to hand their gear over to a courier if you aren't certain you want it. Otherwise what you promote as being very convenient actually becomes very inconvenient for your customer. Two stars because people were polite and helpful up until things stopped being clear, and unlike many other people leaving reviews I did actually get my gear back quite promptly.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
A month and one half after MPB received my camera equipment, I have received no correspondence from them about the equipment they offered to buy. Are they just going to keep it? Who knows! MBP's e-commerce and web site advertises 7- business day turnaround to get you a quote, evaluation and payment for their purchase of your used camera equipment that you send them to buy or trade. MPB received my camera equipment on May 30, 2022 and notified me by email the next day. On June 15, I wrote asking for the status of my equipment they offered to purchase. A short reply was sent two days later explaining that they have been very busy and my status request would be escalated. It is another month later and I have received no correspondence from them about anything after several attempts to chat with them on line (their trouble-shooting chat line) and two emails requesting my property be returned. Nothing. Even after being an existing customer. Next week it's on to the BBB, then to their CEO, then New York's AG then the New Your City Police then to small claims court, I guess. It's only a $1,000 (used) lens. But is it too much to hope for a chat or email or have my equipment returned? Reference this letter dated May 31: "Hi Charles, We are pleased to confirm that your equipment with reference TX-5210771 has arrived with us and is now being scheduled for checking as soon as possible, which will happen within 7 business days. You will receive an email from us once the checking process is complete! All the best, Marcus Knox The MPB receiving team "
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Offered 4 lenses for purchase to apply to lens mpb had as used. Three of my lenses were brand new condition never used. Bought for special purpose that didn't materialize. Sent in my lenses and after telling me it would be up to 12 days to look at. Finally did and reduced every one of thier offrrs by 20 -30 %. What a scam. Instructed to return my lenses as thier offers were unacceptable. Plus their used was $20 higher than retail. Willing to do if trading lenses and saved me trouble of selling. Thiers supposedly in excellent condition. Now I doubt! Nobody will respond and so far unable to get my lenses shipped back. I would never do business with this company!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
If you are considering selling your camera gear to MPB, you better read this review first! I sent them three cameras, four lenses, and two camera bags on May 10. They received it on May 13! TODAY is July 7! I finally got a cash payment toward the end of June for a portion of my gear, wishing to have some items returned to me. MPB has kept my Olympus EMI MII, Olympus 14-150 lens, Olympus 25mm lens and my Billingham Hadley Pro bag! No one EVER emails or calls me! I have had to contact them every single time I look for information on why they have not returned my gear!!! Every single time! I still do not have my gear back and it is approaching 2 months! When they emailed me about my selling to them, their email stated 2-3 business days to complete my transaction! It’s over 7 weeks and I do not have my gear back nor has any clueless employee gotten back to me! BEWARE of this company! The last time I was contacted by them, they said that because of my poor experience I could have a 10% discount the next transaction I have with them. As if I would ever do business with this company again! And I still don’t have my gear back! I am just about to contact the New York Police and file a theft report! So reader, do what you feel is best for you but you better beware of MPB! Their right hand does not know what their left hand is doing and there is no one in charge that either knows or has anything to do with either hand!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
mpb.com is rated 1.7 based on 132 reviews