Opendoor Reviews

4.11 Rating 898 Reviews
77 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
They offer rip-off price, and the agent was very rude. The worst is that they sold/distribute my contact info to other realtors. Stay away.
Posted 1 year ago
Robin, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 1 year ago
Most of the selling process was pretty good. UNTIL we needed the bottom line for our closing. They deducted for a new fence, new sliding glass door and foundation repairs (which we had done a year ago). The house is now on the market for sale through OpenDoor and none of those repairs were done!! We were scammed for thousands of dollars, for sure!!!
Posted 1 year ago
Thomas, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 1 year ago
I bought a house that was "owned" by OpenDoor and wanted to write a review regarding my experience. After initially viewing the house we received a very misleading email saying they had a ton of interest and were closing offers in 24 hours. We put in an offer over asking price. After days of not hearing back and then receiving multiple counter offers we find that we were the only offer they had and that they won't go under contract until we were out of our option period with the sale of our current home. While this may be policy, it is a huge pain and any contingent buyers should be aware of this.
The rest of the process was ok until it came to repairs. The garage door in the home flat out didn't function and they didn't want to repair it. We ended up having to take off a few other minor repair requests in order for them to do it.
During our final walkthrough we tested the garage door and it was not functioning. We contacted the agent and she said that it was repaired (even though we had just tested it and found that to be incorrect). We gave them 24 hours to get the garage door functioning again and come time for closing it still was not repaired. Turns out the agent hadn't put in the repair request at all. We ended up agreeing to an amendment to the contract that the repair would be completed after closing- but they wouldn't give us a timeline.
About 1.5 weeks after closing I contacted the agent to see when the repair would be scheduled and the agent said "it was repaired on ____ date." Which, was the date we signed the amendment, the garage door was not repaired.
In the end, the garage door has been repaired but the fact that it hadn't been done before closing, and that they agent didn't even know the status was concerning to me. Still a month later, our lockbox is still on the door and we are waiting for someone to remove it.
While they might be great for sellers, they are a pain in the butt if you are buying from them. Just wanted to give future buyers a heads up.
Posted 1 year ago
We always want our customers to have a great experience with Opendoor Kate, and we’re sorry if this hasn’t been the case for you. We'd like to learn more - please email us at community@opendoor.com. We rely on feedback like yours as we continue to improve the experience for both buyers and sellers.
Posted 1 year ago
As a buyer I am going through the negatives, written here by other reviewers, of opendoor not willing to negotiate even with evidence of critical repairs from home inspection. I am amazed how unwilling these so called new models of buying/selling are to negotiate when negotiations are a given for real estate transactions (i am not buying milk from Walmart here)

I will make sure to never recommend Opendoor to anyone ever, friends or family or even strangers.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will provide this feedback to our internal teams. Please reach out to community@opendoor.com if you have any further questions or concerns.
Posted 1 year ago
Nightmare Experience — Buyer Beware: these are “newbie” real estate agents with very little experience with anything other than run-of-the-mill SFRs or REOs. If you are a real estate investor, a high roller, or have more sophisticated deals, these “kids” are not going to know what to do with it. Unless you’re a first-time homebuyer, you will likely become fed up with their inexperience, or their constant reliance on computer analytics and inability to use their brains.
Posted 1 year ago
We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a less than satisfactory experience with us. We'd like to learn more. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address. Thank you!
Posted 1 year ago
Opendoor was an awful experience for my husband and I. Long story short (as it could be very long). I am a realtor and this was my first time dealing with Opendoor. I hope it will be the last. This transaction was for my husband and I. We get under contract and per Opendoor's policy, BUYER NOT ALLOWED to check the septic system. The buyer (per GAR contract) is allowed to check ALL components of house when in the Due Diligence Period. Septic system problems can get very pricey, upwards to $20,000! This in itself is extremely shady and awful for ANY buyer. My hubby and I went forward with the transaction anyways and found a lot of issues wrong with the house. Opendoor gave us $550 and denied everything else. I had to FIGHT to get all Closing Costs paid out of the starting gate. If I didn't, we probably would have had 2K or 3K paid if lucky. We ended up Closing on the house and had our septic company come out the day after. The septic tank was almost overflowing and was NEVER pumped or inspected, even though Opendoor told me that it was pumped and had a inspection letter that was given to them. Opendoor is shady and if you have a choice to go deal with someone else, do it!
Posted 1 year ago
We want all of our clients to have the best possible experience with Opendoor, if we've fallen short we want to make it right. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate.
Posted 1 year ago
You cannot tell me this company doesn't have any negative reviews!!! I find that hard to believe. They sent a so called "great realtor." I think they meant a conman!!

I own my home outright and should have the right to decide NOT to sell. This so called realtor (which he is not) took advantage of me and my situation. Now he has put a so called "cloud" on the deed to MY HOME OF 19 YEARS!!!!!!! Because of his greediness I am about to loose everything. I have had to hire an attorney!!! I feel Opendoor should be responsible for their so called " realtor" as they referred to, more like a GREEDY CONMAN!!!! DO NOT WORK WITH THIS COMPANY.......SELLER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there,

We apologize for what sounds like a very frustrating situation. Our team would like to look into this immediately. Please email community@opendoor.com with the property address and as much information as possible. Thank you!
Posted 1 year ago
Like dealing with robots. They have no idea what they’re doing- basically just like dealing with dumb customer service people. They price too high and take advantage of both buyers and sellers. Cheaper to let a real estate agent handle too.
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like to please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 1 year ago
Where to start? Do not buy from this company they screwed us over all the way til the closing day! Told us if we paid full asking price we would get a stainless steel package that meant the cheapest model stove in black w stainless trim and the cheapest dishwasher on a 264,000$ home was promised a lot and given nothing! They stopped caring for the property as soon as they excepted my bid even tho I was not able take over possession for 30 days the hot water heater was broke pool had major problems fans and lights ddnt work and I was expected to pay the home warranty for repairs. Crappy co crappy services!
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for letting us know about this Shera. This is not the experience we strive to deliver at Opendoor. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into this matter!
Posted 1 year ago
We found THE house and absoluetly fell in love with it. I hated to let it go but I got tired of going back and fourth. Opendoor would not work with us AT ALL. There were very simple fixes. If you want me to pay full price plus closing costs the very least you could do is fix the minor issues. After a while we gave up and began looking elsewhere and found another home. Upon terminating the contract they asked what could be done to save the contract?!? Absolutely nothing! You wasted the most valuable thing I have, MY TIME.
Posted 1 year ago
We strive to give everyone a great experience, and we are sorry you did not receive one. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 1 year ago
My Open Door offer was well below the market value. I had to wait a little longer, but I sold my home for $30k more than the offer Open Door gave me. Well worth any hassles of showing or keeping the house clean.
Posted 1 year ago
Josh, I’m sorry to hear your experience with Opendoor was less than stellar. Your feedback matters to us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so our team can learn more.
Posted 1 year ago
Open door completely bait and switched us. We reached out to them with practical reasons why our home offer was way under "fair market value" and they responded with an updated offer of $50,000 higher! We were thrilled, though it was still far under the market value, it would allow us to pay off our mortgage and move on quickly, which is what we really needed at this time. Well...we went out and put in an offer on a condo, that is now under contract...and just today, day 5 of our 6 day promised time allotment, they decided to retract their offer and go back to their original offer, taking the $50,000 off yet again. They are scammers and worse really, messing with people's lives in a terribly unjust way! They should be shut down!!
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like to please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 1 year ago
How do they have a 4.3 rating when every other review is a 1 star review lol??? If you are ok losing 20-30k selling your house to opendoor because it was more convenient then then you need to have a one on one with Dave Ramsey :)
Posted 1 year ago
Rachel, Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 1 year ago
I thought I would purchase my very first home with Opendoor. I am so very disappointed. I was under contract. It took a while for a response but it was understandable in the beginning. The house needed a few major repairs but Opendoor refused to fix them. It was aweful because the issues were major safety concerns. My last day of the due diligence period, they just didn't respond so I had to cancel to prevent losing my earnest money. So disappointing!
Posted 1 year ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 1 year ago
I just purchased a home in Glendale, AZ. I would like to start off by saying how unhappy I am about not being about to inter the my house after purchased and paperwork was signed. My front door came with a keypad but I guess batteries where low because no matter what I did the door didn’t open. I tired to contact Opendoor customer service and all they could say was it’s no longer our property. I had to take the lock off the back door to inter the home to finally get my keys from kitchen counter. So after all that I have no RV gate keys storage room and mailbox keys. After paying for rekeying items (Opendoor) refuses to reimburse for anything. It’s like ones paperwork is signed you are on your own. My first experience and not a good one.
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry your experience was less than stellar Vanessa. We want to give the best possible experience to everyone and are sorry we fell short here. Please reach out to community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and include the property address so we can quickly investigate.
Posted 1 year ago
You will waste time with them dangling an offer. They will drill you back an forth an still deny their offer. They want their items ASAP before 8pm an will have you waiting three of four days with negotiation. It’s a headache an mind boggling. The people negotiating aren’t realtors they’re regular 9-5 agents!
Posted 1 year ago
We strive to give everyone a great experience, and we are sorry you did not receive one. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 1 year ago
The online offer to sell our house was almost a joke. Their comps were 3 bedroom vs 4 bedroom, not upgraded, etc.
Posted 1 year ago
Jeff, I’m sorry to hear your experience with Opendoor was less than stellar. Your feedback matters to us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so our team can learn more.
Posted 1 year ago
Opendoor agreed to a repair and it took them nearly a month to complete it and my inspector still could not clear the property for the close. Closing was pushed back four times until I finally gave up on the home.
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 1 year ago
They came in on the preliminary visit and tore the house apart. They did not realize that I have been a builder for over 30 years. Their List of items that needed to be "repaired" was a joke. Remove cabinets and a AC unit from a garage in VEGAS!!!!! They tried to find a way to knock the price offer down on the basis of savings us on a realtor fee. Luckily we sold the house in 1 day for over $45k they what Open Door said it was worth. They are a rip off. The house at the end of our street that they had for sale was on the market for 2 months after we sold ours.
Posted 1 year ago
Jim, We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 1 year ago
Opendoor needs to be aware that nickel and diming potential buyers in order to satisfy their bottom line is not going to work. We had an inspector and appraiser as well as me being an appraiser and adjuster to see all the repairs needed in a home we were interested in. They didn't heed the words or reports of three professionals, they wanted to rep as "seller" even though they own the property and change numbers over the course of the diligence period. Water heater that was 17 yrs old making noise, foundation issues, etc. Don't let your home be sold by them either!
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for letting us know about this. This is not the experience we strive to deliver at Opendoor. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into this matter!
Posted 1 year ago
Opendoor is rated 4.11 based on 898 reviews