OVO Energy Reviews

1.65 Rating 31 Reviews
13 %
of reviewers recommend OVO Energy

Write Your review

Tell us how OVO Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Been with OVO for around 15 months but am leaving them because of their failure to get their smart meters working.

I have had nothing but problems with them from day one. Customer service just fob you off and never resolve problems.

I am leaving in a few days time and I can't wait and I say this despite paying an early termination charge of £60

Good riddance
Posted 8 hours ago
Avoid OVO. If you are already with them then do not allow them to install a smart meter. They installed smart meters at our property, hiked the prices and then when I tried to switch the new supplier says OVO have changed the national database to make it look like a business line and they can't take it on. Tried to get OVO to fix the database and they said they would. Still waiting for it to be fixed after more than 2 months. OVO simply say they have done everything they can, new supplier says they can't do anything, so now I'm stuck paying OVO prices.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Smart meter IHD stopped working about 6 weeks after installation. I accepted I couldn’t expect much action during lockdown but since then..... I have lost count of the emails and phone calls made. I am sent a list of questions which I answer and am told response within 5 days which doesn’t happen. Have to start again with phone call to someone who can’t deal with anything so pass it on and tell me response 24-48 hours. Then it’s back to list if questions, my answers and 5 day wait that doesn’t resolve anything. I think the only solution is to change supplier
Posted 1 month ago
The customer service was horrible. They made me feel belittled and spoke to me like I was stupid. We're not even customers with them and we wont ever be. I cant believe how rude and unhelpful they have been. Its horrific.
Posted 1 month ago
Don't waste your time even considering this useless company go elsewhere. Smart meter stopped working May 2020 and they have still not even acknowledged there is a problem despite e-mails and phone calls. Sent me a check list to see if they could identify the problem which would have been fine except they sent it for the wrong type of meter-you couldn't make it up! Was promised a resolution by July 6th and still waiting. Stop using Covid as an excuse for your incompetence and fix my meter to stop estimated bills.
Posted 2 months ago
Customer service is non existing . After sending several e mails and trying to get an answer on the phone with no luck I would not recommend OVO energy to anyone . I know people are working from home and have allowed for that but not one reply yet
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid this company we hado nothing but problems they Estimate your bills even to when they had people reading the meter they put your direct payments up I just been told by a customer servive that made readers have only been read twice in the last two years The smart meters don't work . I can tell you the amount of time we have rang ovo And my husband has read the meters sent phone in of the meters abd still estimated bills How do company's get away with this .My husband works Harpsden and I'm just getting over a heart attack so don't need this stress. They told me that the meter readers are third party and they make mistakes they always told me that I have the wrong meter and could I take a picture of the meter I came of the phone in disbelief wondering how many more people are being treated this this .please don't use this company not unless in want a nightmare
Posted 3 months ago
We were forced to transfer to OVO after the collapse of Economy Energy. Our initial dual fuel offer from them was £75 pcm. A few months later it was increased to £117. We recently received info on their app saying our annual usage suggested electricity would cost £18,000 p.a! Kayty, from OVO admitted this was an error. Another member of staff, Erikah, informed us we had not been charged for electricity as there was a read dispute which had now been resolved, and we now owed them over £400 for unpaid electricity usage. We had received no information about this and had been giving monthly meter readings and paying our direct debit. We are trying to transfer away from OVO as we have lost all confidence in any figures/information that are presented to us by their ever changing 'team'. They do not deserve one star but this is the lowest available option
Posted 3 months ago
The worst energy provider I have ever seen.
Avoid them !!!!!
They charge the highest rate on the market.
For example, the normal electricity rate on the market is £0,15 but they charge me £0,22, which is 50% more expensive.
Their stupid strategy is just to catch the costumers and charge them extra cost, which is good for them but not for us.
Posted 3 months ago
Please do not use this company, they have the MOST awful customer service. They promise cheap energy and then continually increase your direct debits as they say you are in arrears! Their website is deliberately confusing and your metre readings never tally with the usage graphs. Please please do not use OVO ever!!!!
Posted 3 months ago
Would never, ever recommend OVO Energy. We had a direct debit which they kept automatically updating. It was the same for about a year, and almost as soon as we cashed in the +£100 we were in credit, they increased our direct debit from £75 to £120. We managed to battle them back down to £90 but still thought it was an enormous price change given that our usage levels were only ever so slightly higher than the previous year. They refused to see eye to eye with us and then left us with a bill of almost £200 at the end of our time, and refused to let us switch without paying it in full. Absolutely astounded that as a customer who'd paid on time by DD every month, they could treat so badly. Never, ever use OVO Energy.
Posted 3 months ago
Great website and easy to use - excellent pricing
Posted 3 months ago
nope! Just spent 5 minutes signing up putting all my address, name, phone number, date of birth and license numbers in PLUS my credit card information to be told "We're not taking on new customers right now."
Okay great, well now some random company has all my details...perfect! SCAM!
Posted 4 months ago
In addition to my problem the customer services are rude and shouting on me.
Posted 4 months ago
Direct debits drop one month then shoot up the next. Cant get any useful help from customer services. They can become very threatening and unpleasant.
Posted 5 months ago
Where to start?
1. Engineering is disgusting..they outsource the work to firms with no people- 6 months for an engineer to fix broken meter equipment.
2. It broke again? (within 4 weeks)- Sorry hit the back of the queue."will be months"
3. leaving this company?- good luck getting any balance back. left in January-- still waiting!!
4. Customer service..hahaha. have made 30-40 calls -- read above for results.

I have had complaints upheld by the Ombudsman, have been bounced around 10's of Ovo employees and provided with endless problems.
as another example...OVO have continued to take DD money when I have left and hold hundreds of pounds on account.

---In summary---
If you:
- enjoy above average prices without access to engineering support,
- are looking for chronically poor customer service
- want to fight for your money in excess balance (£600) months after leaving.
&
you dislike yourself....Then OVO Energy are the company for you!!
Posted 5 months ago
Where to start?
1. Engineering is disgusting..they outsource the work to firms with no people- 6 months for an engineer to fix broken meter equipment.
2. It broke again? (within 4 weeks)- Sorry hit the back of the queue."will be months"
3. leaving this company?- good luck getting any balance back. left in January-- still waiting!!
4. Customer service..hahaha. have made 30-40 calls -- read above for results.

I have had complaints upheld by the Ombudsman, have been bounced around 10's of Ovo employees and provided with endless problems.
as another example...OVO have continued to take DD money when I have left and hold hundreds of pounds on account.

---In summary---
If you:
- enjoy above average prices without access to engineering support,
- are looking for chronically poor customer service
- want to fight for your money in excess balance (£600) months after leaving.
&
you dislike yourself....Then OVO Energy are the company for you!!
Posted 5 months ago
Appalling customer services rubbish company can’t wait to be able to leave.
Posted 6 months ago
We've been with OVO for a number of years. However last year, after a switch to a smart meter, we found our bills became very high. I'm a physicist so I did some tests on our side of the meter and things didn't look right so I ask OVO to review our meter. OVO's customer service was so poor we ended up at the Ombudsman who upheld our poor customer service complaint.

During the whole process, we could get a single person at OVO to take ownership of the problem, and promises that it would be escalated to management were broken. We are now leaving OVO as the metering problem has still not been addressed.

OVO has grown considerably and they are highly dependent on their automated systems. This is a problem when things go wrong.

OVO are at the cheaper end of the market and like everything in life you get what you pay for.
Posted 8 months ago
Very poor billing performance. OVO thought that it knew better than I do my energy consumption. It kept wanting me to increase my D.D. I am glad to have left and Bulb is a far better choice.
Posted 1 year ago
OVO Energy is rated 1.65 based on 31 reviews