surprice car rental Reviews

1.16 Rating 58 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend surprice car rental

Write Your review

Tell us how surprice car rental made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
surprice car rental 1 star review on 2nd July 2020
Liudmila Kryger
More Photos & Videos
surprice car rental 1 star review on 29th January 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
surprice car rental 1 star review on 29th January 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This review is for the Surprice in Lisbon, Portugal:
I would give them 0 stars if I could. HORRIBLE experience! Please do not give this company any more business!! We had trouble with our car and they left us STRANDED in Spain and would not return our phone calls!! We made our way back to Lisbon on our own - with NO HELP from them - and they were completely unapologetic about the whole situation. Absolutely horrible.
Posted 1 week ago
This review is for Surprice in Lisbon, Portugal:
I would give them 0 stars if I could. HORRIBLE experience! Please do not give this company any more business!! We had trouble with our car and they left us STRANDED in Spain and would not return our phone calls!! We made our way back to Lisbon on our own - with NO HELP from them - and they were completely unapologetic about the whole situation. Absolutely horrible.
Posted 1 week ago
I would never recommend this company and cheap prices are misleading. We rented a car which obviously had scratches but the pick up protocol and photos were not done properly and we didn't check the bottom bumper. We returned the car and we were charged 250 euro for a scratch which was not done by us. Be very careful with pick up protocols and check. Company of cheaters and bad service.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Beware, fraudsters.
They delivered my car rent "unwashed" and on delivery they claimed 2 minor scratches that pre-existed on front/rear bumper (Could easily be fixed with a scratch remove marker for $5) and withheld 500eur from my card.
Posted 3 weeks ago
[London Heathrow] Either avoid this scam shop at all costs, or make sure that you take very detailed pictures when renting from this company, including from the alloys. I was just stolen £350 for damage which 100% was there before. I literally just drove 48 miles to my parking spot and back, making it not possible to scratch the alloys. As someone who rents cars very frequently and never paid any damage costs, I was stupid enough not to take pictures when renting the car. When I asked the salesperson to show me pictures of the last check out, he said he had none on record because the last rental was more than 3 months old (?) instead he showed me a check out report from March, funny enough the mileage on the car when “last rented out” was 3500 miles less than when I rented it?

But I had a flight to take and had no time to argue- so I told them that they should take the 350 from my deposit - which they said it’s not possible and I need to pay with another card ? Doesn’t make sense and sounds criminal (and probably is criminal) but I have a flight to take to see my family, so I agree to pay the money stating that I will complain about this. What’s the point of deposit if not for paying damages?

And then, when paying this mysterious 350, I wanted to pay with my credit card (so that I can open a dispute) but then I had to pay with my debit card ? Ridiculous scam company. To be avoided
Posted 3 weeks ago
Absolute trash!!! Scam scam charge you extra for absolutely nothing.

Would trust them as far as I could throw them!

Wouldn’t touch them with a barge pole!!!

DO NOT USE.. no matter how cheap it supposedly is.. because it is not.
Posted 4 weeks ago
I am currently in Crete and I rented a car yesterday. I could expect that I would get a different car than I ordered, but that it would not work well and that the ride would be dangerous due to defective materials, I did not expect. Our order number is 1049977 and SCR is 024502. The clutch slips on the car so you cannot drive uphill. Today I could not go up the hill from the beach Seitan, the engine rumbled and the car stopped. After contacting manager (5.7.2020) of SurPrice, he told us that the car is in good condition and that it is after a service inspection, no other cars may be replaced. My holiday must therefore be flat on the plain, we must not drive any hills and we do not feel good in the car. It does not mean that if something is relatively cheap that it has to be dangerous.
Posted 1 month ago
I would NOT recommend this company. Our family with two young kids had to wait over 30 minutes both times we rented from them because the agent was not in the office (which is outside of the airport). But moreover, they charged the price of the windshield replacement + 50 euro of administrative fees for the small chip on the front window. The next car we rented from we inspected thoroughly and, sure enough, found an unmarked front windshield chip. Will never ever rent from them again.
Posted 1 month ago
Arrived at 20:00 at Eleftherios Venizelos Athens. 21:30 I left the office with a car. I drove 50km and the car blocked. It started to make sounds and the break didn't work. I push the handbrake and stopped it. They said that I have to go back to take another car. 24:00 I left again the company really tired. When I returned the car 11 days after, at 9:00, an impolite stupid girl said to me that the car has damage behind. I said I didn't do it. She said you have to pay 250 euros. I said I didn't do it. In the end, I found a paper with water and the damage was gone. After she said the window has damage. I said maybe as the car didn't have water inside and I tried to clean the window. She said you have to pay 650 euros. I said no way. It is your fault. She said, no we 'll keep 650 euros from your deposit. I couldn't think anymore. I said ok I 'll damage all car and I 'll return. I drove 2km to find a shop to fix the window. In 5m with a little cream, the window was new. I gave 5euros to the boy to thank him and I returned to that fake company. I said say now what else, as I will lose my plain. I also said that you have first you to be typical and after with the customers as I could kill my self if I wasn't so good driver when the first car couldn't stop. She said yes but you didn't!!!! You push something and you blocked it!!!!! I said yes I push the brakes. Glad I wasn't on a big road. I arrive at the airport at 10:45 full of nerves to cutch my plain just on time. If you like to pay psychiatry and destroy your wallet and nerves rend a car from them. They know how to take your money and break your nerves. If you like bad surprises then surprice is your company....!
Posted 5 months ago
This car rental is big scum , price was very low when I booked but for Tiny scratch they charge me £240 and I’m not sure if I did it or that was already done , please avoid this sure price car-rental .
Posted 5 months ago
Warsaw Airport SurPrice car rental is a big theft place. They took $528.61 from my deposit for some scratches based on the false report.
Posted 5 months ago
Be aware of
surpricecar at Madeira.They are giving you wrong information so later they will charge you for extra things.We have been informed that car don't need to be clean on return( it wasn't very dirty anyway) and later we have been charged 55 euros for little bit of hoovering.So rental was cheap but then extra 55 euro to pay. One more think the agent told us that car is ok (we cleaned what we could when we find out he want to charge us) and all deposit will be return.After 2 or 3 days I noticed that we have been charged anyway even when he clearly said we are not going to be.I can only call that a lie.

Before renting I was informed that I don't have to clean the car.Only on the return your guy said that need to be clean, so I cleaned it as good as I could.I couldn't go to car wash because I had a flight in 1 hour.If your employee would say on the start of renting that car need to be clean then I would clean it.He misinformed me and then charged me. When he was dropping me and my family to the airport( in the same car) he said that we will get all money back because car is ok now.I don't know what don't you understand here.It was lie and my wife is a witness.Don't tell people do not clean the car and later charge for dirty car.Very unprofessional.

One more think.Staff very rude, didn't help with luggage, we had 4 bags, baby buggy and car seat and a baby.Still no help.
Posted 5 months ago
To be honest i cant rent a car from you with these reviews.
you wont last long
Posted 5 months ago
Had new Astra,paid £24 for 10 days without any problems.For me 10 out of 10.
Posted 5 months ago
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! SCAM ALERT!
I have given 1 star only because I had too!
This afternoon I should be driving around the coastline of The Bay Of Kotor, but instead I have the disappointment of not having my hire car. Email to AutoEurope:-

I contacted your company (AutoEurope) about my booking Sunday afternoon after discovering our flight had been delayed. I was then transferred to the contractor, Surprice, in Tivat. From that contact I was asked to contact another number which would not connect. I rang the previous Surpice number but could not connect. I then went on the www & contacted Surprice directly (phone). Speaking to a representative I told them my flight was delayed & would not be able to collect the car that day. No problem. Or so it would seem.
Monday morning I made my way to Tivat airport via taxi (12 Euros) & went into the Surprice office & all seemed ok. That, until I was told that ‘my’ car had been given to someone else & I would have to pay an additional €6 per day for a larger car. I said I didn’t want a larger car & that the fact that they didn’t have the car I had booked should not have been my problem? This is where things take a turn for the worse. The person I was dealing with (seemed to be the person of main authority) suddenly became quite aggressive. He told me it was my problem because I arrived late to pick up the car? I again said I did not wish to pay the extra fees. He then told me he was cancelling the booking. They, not me. I began to panic a little & asked over how many days would I be charged the €6 for. His reply was that he was cancelling the booking giving no further room for discussion. He then produced a cancellation form & asked me to sign it. I began to write down my reason for the cancellation on the form at which point he alarmingly raised his voice at me & stated that I couldn’t write anything on the form. I carried on writing despite his tone. At this point, & shockingly so, he slammed his hand down onto the form, scrunched it up into his fist & very angrily exclaimed I told you no writing! Feeling very intimidated with his aggressive manner & actually feeling very threatened (he was a large imposing man) I quickly left the office without adding anything more. A very frightening experience & one I have no wish to endure again.
So, I have spent over £100 for a car I didn’t receive. At no point did I feel I had done anything wrong. I had communicated everything about my flight delay to both Auto Europe & Surprice & there seemed to be no issue?
Never before when using AutoEurope have I experienced anything like this. In fact earlier this year, in Italy, I was offered a larger car at no additional cost to myself. The situation with Surprice had the element of a scam going on. This guy knew that by him cancelling the car hire Surprice would still have my hard earned cash & also free up a car to give to another customer. Easy money?
Absolutely disgusting the way this was handled let alone the tone & manner of the man in the office.
I can only ask now whether or not I will receive a refund & an apology from Surprice but can I make it quite plain here that the association with Surprice & yourselves (AutoEurope) needs very close scrutiny?
Regards,
Paul.
Important note!!!
If your flight is delayed to Tivat there is a chance you will be redirected to Podgerica, almost a 2 hour coach transfer from there to Tivat. This because flights cannot land in Tivat in darkness hours! Our flight was delayed by some 3 hours with Montenegro Airlines. We could not land in Tivat. We were supposed to land at Tivat at 16.30 hours. Instead, after being redirected to Podgorica, we arrived at Tivat airport at 23.30!! Car hire in Kotor - 40 euros / day.
Be also aware that if you are a EU member Montenegro is NOT in the EU & ensure you have a tariff set up with your mobile phone provider! Or, turn roaming off on your phone!
AutoEurope eventually gave me a refund. Do not use Surprice!
Posted 5 months ago
Katowice Airport Poland

Not at airport to meet us as promised! Costly phone calls.

Refused to take a credit card without my CHRISTIAN NAME and SURNAME on it. In other words, "Mr P. Smith" (as is usual on all credit cards) was not accepted. It needed to say "Peter Smith". I had to use a debit card.

On returning car they were not at office. Another panic and costly calls.

Then - my spotless car was not accepted back unless we cleaned it at the local car wash.

Once we had they inspected it forensically and were clearly disappointed they couldn't find a scratch that they could charge to the CDW.

Absolutely unbelievable. Check out my video evidence on You Tube: QaIMGDQoWc4

AVOID AVOID AVOID
Posted 6 months ago
I had a terrible experience and unfortunately looking at the reviews online for this specific location I was not alone. This is a scam, they rent at low prices and then make their money by charging exorbitant amounts for inexistent damages. I was charged 970 euros (~$1000) for a microscopic chip in the windshield of a Seat Arona. For reference, that's about 6% of the value of the car for a chip on the windshield! It's also important to notice that I was told that any damage to the windshield, irrespective of the extent, required a windshield replacement. When I mentioned that the contract highlighted that when I picked up the car the windshield was already damaged on the opposite side of my alleged new damage and so, according to their own logic, it was already supposed to be replaced and its replacement has probably already been charged to some other unlucky customer, they told me that they simply didn't owe me any explanation. I paid and thank god got reimbursed by the insurance my credit card offers but beware they are indeed a very shady business!

SurPrice reservation number: SCR375426

Pictures of the Damage (just remove the space before the.gl): photos.app.goo. gl/AW7HQoaUDZQDwfFU9
Posted 6 months ago
I had a terrible experience and unfortunately looking at the reviews online for this specific location I was not alone. This is a scam, they rent at low prices and then make their money by charging exorbitant amounts for inexistent damages. I was charged 970 euros (~$1000) for a microscopic chip in the windshield of a Seat Arona. For reference, that's about 6% of the value of the car for a chip on the windshield! It's also important to notice that I was told that any damage to the windshield, irrespective of the extent, required a windshield replacement. When I mentioned that the contract highlighted that when I picked up the car the windshield was already damaged on the opposite side of my alleged new damage and so, according to their own logic, it was already supposed to be replaced and its replacement has probably already been charged to some other unlucky customer, they told me that they simply didn't owe me any explanation. I paid and thank god got reimbursed by the insurance my credit card offers but beware they are indeed a very shady business!

SurPrice reservation number: SCR375426

Pictures of the Damage (just remove the space before the.gl): photos.app.goo. gl/AW7HQoaUDZQDwfFU9
Posted 6 months ago
Alarm! DONT HIRE THIS SHITTY COMPANY !!!

Rented car in Kraków. When we where about to drop it the car in the morning there was no staff there to take care of the car or take us to the airport.

They lied Teeling us they would come
They never showed up. We had to take a taxi to the airport for our own money
Posted 6 months ago
After a day long delay with our flight, we tried to contact company to inform them that we would arrive fro pick up the next day. Unable to reach anyone...
Fortunately, a local friend displaced herself to inform of the situation.
Car was fine. Upon returning, a chocolate stain was on the back seat. Agent was very rude about it. Got the stain out and went on our way. Did not appreciate the way the car was inspected with a fine tooth.
Other clients arrived at the same time but did not receive same treatment.
Not very pleased with agent.
Posted 7 months ago
surprice car rental is rated 1.16 based on 58 reviews