The Shade Reviews

4.5 Rating 1,623 Reviews
87 %
of reviewers recommend The Shade
4.5
Based on 1,623 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 89%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.4 out of 5
Read The Shade Reviews

About The Shade:

The Shade is Australia's leading home hair colour and hair care company. Our colour is Italian-made, and is free from Ammonia, PPD, Parabens, Phthalates and Gluten.

Visit Website

Email:

support@theshade.com.au

Location:

23 Milton Parade Malvern VIC 3144, ,
Malvern
3144

The Shade 5 star review on 22nd February 2024
Andrea M
The Shade 4 star review on 21st February 2024
Micaela D
The Shade 5 star review on 31st January 2024
Margaret M
The Shade 5 star review on 28th January 2024
Jo R
The Shade 4 star review on 16th January 2024
Chrystal S
The Shade 5 star review on 3rd January 2024
Mandy S
The Shade 5 star review on 26th December 2023
Melissa H
418
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I absolutely love the results :) my hair feels so soft and silky afterwards and the colour is a beautiful natural brown. The kit gives you so many tools to use for future dying and the quality of everything was great. I have very long hair so there was more than enough product to colour everything. In these lockdown times, it was great to have everything delivered to my door in an all-in-one easy kit. I’m thinking I may never need to go to a salon for colouring anymore haha. Thank you The Shade xoxo
The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020
Helpful Report
Excellent quality! Great grey coverage and my hair looks shinny and healthy after colouring!
Helpful Report
Thank you The Shade your product is amazing quality and I love it ! With the help of your colourists I now have the colour I love. I have had two hairdressers comment on how perfect my colour is. The shampoo I love 💕
The Shade 5 star review on 22nd February 2024
Helpful Report
loved it! the color looks beautiful! the only downside is that it did not cover my white hair completely. Other than that, the quality of the product and the result on my hair are both incredible!
The Shade 4 star review on 21st February 2024
Helpful Report
Thank-you so much. I find the shade hair colours and developers fabulous. They are so much gentler on the hair than the regular hair colours you buy at the store and even better than those the hairdressers use at the salon. Would highly recommend the Shade. Also the cost of colouring your hair costs a fraction of whaht it cost at a hairdressing salon. Very happy.
Helpful Report
the Shade hair colour looks very natural.I am happy with Colour I purchased. I am almost due for another hair colour and plan to make another order again soon. !
Helpful Report
I love The Shade, because I have the choice of different developers. I only wanted to tone my hair a touch down in a medium beige/ash blonde. So, I got the no lift developer and two blondes tones to mix and the result was really good. From brassy, straw blonde to a shiny dark/medium cool blonde. It lasted me 2 weeks. As I used two colours, I only used half and can now do it again.
Helpful Report
I love the fantastic service I get with Shade, always get prompt reply and love the colour! The colour is a lot lighter than I was getting but then at 77 maybe I don’t need to be so lusciously red?
Helpful Report
Fantastic natural colour .. it’s hard to find a light ash blonde that is true yo the natural hair colour but The Shade has achieved it .. I’ve always had a hairdresser colour my hair it’s cost me hundreds every time for a 15min job even then they couldn’t get the colour right .. I’d walk away disappointed most every time NOW I can do it myself saving hundreds if not thousands of dollars ..
Helpful Report
The colour matching service was spot on, colour is great and price was also very reasonable. Unfortunately the dye still made my head very itchy :(
Helpful Report
Hi Kelly, Thanks for getting in touch, and I'm glad you like the product. Even though we have removed common allergens such as ammonia and PPD, it seems that you may be allergic to one of our ingredients. All our ingredients can be found here: https://theshade.com.au/ingredients/ I suggest that you consult with your GP. Wishing you well!
I LOVE THE SHADE products. I have been using them for over 6 months and am so happy with the results. The colours are lovely and grey coverage is perfect. I need to colour every 3 to 4 weeks to keep the greys away. Bonuses - No itchy scalp while the colour is developing No sitting in a salon for hours Money savings Negative - Can be difficult to apply the colour to back of my head on my own but my hubby is happy to help - especially knowing the money we're saving!! 😀
Helpful Report
I've been using The Shade hair colours for 6 months now and I can honestly say it's the best. Colour is spot on, hair feels and looks amazing!! Service and delivery is great - thank you!!
Helpful Report
I have been using The Shade for five months and I absolutely love it! I’ve found the perfect colour by combining Trento and Toscano, and it perfectly covers my greys when store bought colours have really struggled. I also used the ‘Ask a Colourist’ function when I first started, and they were super helpful in recommending a colour and providing tips to get my hair prepped for colouring. Thank you ☺️
The Shade 5 star review on 31st January 2024
Helpful Report
Absolutely loved the process. Talking to the consultants helped steered me to what I needed to do for the first colour and the process beyond.
Helpful Report
Exceeded my expectations!! Will not go back to salon services - I have brown hair and noting cost of living pressures, I was looking for a way to get a great colour without the additional overheads. Loved the colour; ordering and delivery was super quick; amazing ability to target colour to need/desires.
Helpful Report
I was nervous but I'm so happy with how this colour turned out!
The Shade 5 star review on 28th January 2024
Helpful Report
I have been using The Shade's products for over a year now and I have been never disappointed. I love their products and my subscription is easy to add things or change shipping or even pause if I need to. The colour is amazing and easy to apply.
Helpful Report
Spoke to a stylist about my hair and what I wanted. I had lighter ends and darker roots and wanted to achieve a more consistent result with my colour. She sent through advice about what colour to use and images of the colour blend on other people and it looked and sounded like exactly what I wanted and needed. The result after using the colour was not great. The ends didn't take much colour at all, and the colour in general was very washed out and almost brown, nothing like copper blonde at all. Although I won't be using this brand of colour again, the other products I purchased (the repair kit) do seem pretty good.
Helpful Report
Hi Vix, Sorry you weren't happy with your colour result. Colour results are impacted by the existing colours in your hair prior to applying our colour. Prior to applying our colour, you advised us that you had 3 different colours in your hair; one colour at your roots, one colour in your mid-sections and a different colour in your ends. It is significantly more difficult to manage colour outcomes when there is more than one colour in the hair, as each different colour will respond differently to colour, and selecting one colour which is compatible to fill in missing pigments and to assist in uniting colour and tone to achieve a more consistent colour is more challenging. You essentially needed to fill missing pigments from your hair initially with one colour application, to achieve a consistent base colour, which won't necessarily be your preferred, finished colour result. When you have a single base colour, it is then easier to change tones/colours to achieve a better colour outcome. I hope this helps!
Love the quality of product. My hair is feeling great. Colour not exactly what I thought, but keen to see how it looks after this month.
The Shade 4 star review on 16th January 2024
Helpful Report
Hi Chrystal, Thanks for getting in touch, and your kind words! Our colourists would be more than happy to help you with your colour. They can be contacted here: https://theshade.com.au/colourist/ The questions you answer here will be sent to one of our colourists who will then have all the information to offer you personalised advice. There is also an opportunity to upload a photo(s) and ask specific questions. I hope this helps!
It's only day 4 after coloring and one wash. However my side grays at my temples and by my ears are completely covered. I have never been able to have a peroxide color mix stay on my hair for more than a couple of days. I must say I am elated. I am also able to save my leftover color and unmixed developer portions to use for the next time. I put a date on the calendar and I will see how long the color lasts. I must say that my hair is even softer at the temples I have very thick coarse hair. And now it feels soft. So far I am loving it. I had reservations because it does take a long time to get to the USA. But now I will just order ahead on my next order. I do not have a subscription.
Helpful Report
Colour does not last .Found ingredients not so toxic free and natural .There are ingredients which are harmfull for your skin and nervous system Ethanolamine ,Sodium Laureth Sulfate .
Helpful Report
Hi Danielle, I'm surprised by your comments as you have purchased 6 Colour Kits from us. The colour fade that you mentioned isn't usual but can be seen when the colour hasn't been fully absorbed, which can lead it to fade faster. This can happen if the hair is porous and doesn't fully absorb colour or it cannot retain colour so well and it leaks colour. Some hair is naturally more porous than others. Textures such as very fine or thin hair or curly hair can resist retaining colour due to higher natural porosity. Hair which is damaged or over-processed will also not retain colour well. Here is some more information about colour fade and porosity: https://theshade.com.au/blogs/ten-tips-to-reduce-porosity-in-your-colour/ You can also boost and improve colour absorption and retention by changing developer. Some grey hair or porous hair doesn't absorb or hold colour as well, and changing to a 27 vol developer from the 20 vol you have been using will boost colour absorption and results. Hair colour does contain chemicals, but we have removed the most harmful chemical and irritants including ammonia, PPD, phthalates, parabens, titanium dioxide, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) and gluten from our formulation. Our colourists are available 7 days a week, and I would recommend you contact them for assistance with your porosity issue. They can be contacted here: https://theshade.com.au/colourist/ I hope this helps! Craig Ford CEO - The Shade
The Shade is rated 4.5 based on 1,623 reviews