The Shade Reviews

4.52 Rating 1,279 Reviews
87 %
of reviewers recommend The Shade
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat
Read The Shade Reviews

About The Shade:

The Shade is Australia's leading home hair colour and hair care company. Our colour is Italian-made, and is free from Ammonia, PPD, Parabens, Phthalates and Gluten.

Visit Website

Email:

support@theshade.com.au

Location:

23 Milton Parade Malvern VIC 3144, ,

The Shade 5 star review on 22nd November 2021
Christine A
The Shade 5 star review on 21st November 2021
Margaret T
The Shade 5 star review on 20th November 2021
Laura B
The Shade 5 star review on 15th November 2021
Deon D
The Shade 5 star review on 14th November 2021
Audrey G
The Shade 5 star review on 10th November 2021
Jennifer D
The Shade 5 star review on 31st October 2021
Eugenia H
301
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I absolutely love the results :) my hair feels so soft and silky afterwards and the colour is a beautiful natural brown. The kit gives you so many tools to use for future dying and the quality of everything was great. I have very long hair so there was more than enough product to colour everything. In these lockdown times, it was great to have everything delivered to my door in an all-in-one easy kit. I’m thinking I may never need to go to a salon for colouring anymore haha. Thank you The Shade xoxo
The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020
Helpful Report
Everything you need in one little eco friendly box. First purchase adds a mixing bowl and comb to assist with mixing and then applying this super safe and very effective colour to ones hair. Deliveries always on time and notifications of delivery are welcomed beforehand as a reminder. Very happy with this product.
Helpful Report
Only did 1 star as I had to put something Unable to review still waiting for delivery
Helpful Report
Hi Helen, I'm so sorry for the delay with your parcel. We despatched your order within 24 hours of receipt. I have checked the tracking of your parcel, and it seems as though it's been lost in transit. I have just arranged for a replacement order to be despatched via Express Post. Very sorry for your inconvenience! I hope this helps! The Shade team
This is an awful hair colour. Doesn’t cover greys. Gives off orange tones. Not even near the colour advertised. Smells really bad. Made me sick as I react to chemicals
Helpful Report
Sorry that you weren't happy with your colour. We use a 20vol developer which can lift by two colour levels. Brassiness (orange tones) can be seen when you select a colour outside of the two level range as the colour can not lift enough to achieve a true colour result. The brassy colour pigments which are naturally ocurring in the hair have the largest colour molecules and they are the last pigments to be lifted out of the hair. If the colour you choose is out of range, then we would expect to see a brassy colour result, which is why our colourists are available 7 days a week to assist with colour selection. They consider your natural colour, current colour, treatments and colour goals and can recommend a colour or process to achieve your colour goal, or advise why that might be difficult to achieve and make other achievable suggestions. I note that you didn't ask our colourists for a colour recommendation, and you didn't use our online colour consultation which only recommends colours in range, nor did you contact our colourists, so it seems that this all went wrong in the colour selection stage.
Love the colour, was exactly what I was hoping to achieve, have had a lot of compliments about it 😊
Helpful Report
I love love love this system and the product is awesome. I specifically was after a hair colour that was cruelty free and looked great; The Shade nailed it! The regular order system sealed the deal for me, no longer do I have to try to remember in advance of looking in the mirror and thinking I need to get my hair done - this is delivered to me on time, every time!
The Shade 5 star review on 22nd November 2021
Helpful Report
My home colour experience has been great! It is no trouble for me to do it myself and the colour turns out just how I would like it to be - Sienna Brown. I have used "The Shade" now for about 6 years and am thrilled with the results. My (49) daughter also uses the same colour and finds it easy to use. My photo is not my best as I was looking at a Birthday card I was given. I am (74) with wrinkles but my head of hair shows up well. Margaret
The Shade 5 star review on 21st November 2021
Helpful Report
Colours are beautiful and my hair feels great. The Team are easy to contact with good advice provided. I'm able to change my colour and the frequency of my subscription easily. Been using for over a year now.
The Shade 5 star review on 20th November 2021
Helpful Report
Perfect colour and application tools! Love it! My husband applied it and even though we made a mess, it was an easy process and the colour came off my skin with the barrier oil easily!
Helpful Report
Oh my god so lovely it was done and no mess to clean up :) lovely colour too
Helpful Report
I love this hair colour. It doesn't build up over time like other hair colours requiring you to re-set after a while as the shade of your hair gets darker and darker. This one gives me perfect colour every time and gives my hair bounce.
The Shade 5 star review on 15th November 2021
Helpful Report
I am happy with the product. I am using it for more than a year - no reaction/allergy. I was colouring my hair myself during lockdowns but as the various lockdowns were lifted, my hairdresser does it for me. I have longish curly hair and it is much easier if she, with her experience, colours my hair. Easy product to use otherwise and I recommend it.
Helpful Report
Came across The Shade during COVID lockdown in QLD 2020. So glad that I did, the colour match is exactly the colour I love. Great grey coverage and so gentle on my scalp. Definitely recommend anyone tries it
Helpful Report
I love The Shade hair dyes! Very gentle, no stinging scalp. Hope you do a streaking kit with cap one day, would be great! I have to buy that from another company after I do my roots with your dark ash blonde.
The Shade 5 star review on 14th November 2021
Helpful Report
Absolutely loving the coverage and ease of using the Shades products
The Shade 5 star review on 10th November 2021
Helpful Report
I tried The Shade on the recommendation of a friend. It was easy to submit my query and photo and I received my colour consultation in no time. Communication regarding the delivery of my order was excellent and I received it promptly (given current postal delays). I was SO impressed with the product. It was so easy to use and I was beyond delighted with the result. The colour looks great and my hair feels amazing. I'm so pleased that I won't be going back to salon colouring in a hurry, even though we're now out of lockdown.
Helpful Report
😁 Ladies..one of the best products I have ever used, Colour is superb, everything is in the Kit, easy to use, will be purchasing again, well done, great product, that actually works 👏👍
Helpful Report
Great product and gives me a fabulous colour People don’t believe I put in myself
Helpful Report
Shade was a great colour , easy to use and left my hair soft and shiny
The Shade 5 star review on 31st October 2021
Helpful Report
The colour Copper Blonde was nothing like it describes. Should’ve been called “Ronald McDonald Red” as this was closer to what my hair looked like. Cost me over $250 to have professional Hairdressor fix my hair!!! All I say is Use The Shade product with caution!!!
Helpful Report
Hi Vicki, So sorry you weren't happy with your colour! We would have been happy to send you a free colour kit with a colour blend which would have balanced the warmth and given you a different, softer, colour result but unfortunately this is the first time we have heard from you. It is generally quite straight-forward to counter-balance and reduce unwanted warmth with a cool based colour. The Shade team
I am very happy with how my hair colour turned out. Looks great and covered my greys and old colour perfectly. I was a bit disappointed that I sent a question in to the colourists and never got a reply, but I went ahead with colouring anyway and was happy with the result. Also, because I have very short hair, and because I read on The Shade's blog about using half a tube of colour and half a sachet of developer to cover greys, I did consider doing that but decided against it because I hadn't used the product before. When I squeezed out the colour, it was all pearlescent white except for the last two CM which were brown so now I'm not sure if it's actually advisable to use half a tube of colour, and half a sachet of developer, or if that would affect the result
Helpful Report
The Shade is rated 4.52 based on 1,279 reviews