The Shade Reviews

4.5 Rating 1,459 Reviews
87 %
of reviewers recommend The Shade
4.5
Based on 1,459 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat
Read The Shade Reviews

About The Shade:

The Shade is Australia's leading home hair colour and hair care company. Our colour is Italian-made, and is free from Ammonia, PPD, Parabens, Phthalates and Gluten.

Visit Website

Email:

support@theshade.com.au

Location:

23 Milton Parade Malvern VIC 3144, ,
Malvern
3144

The Shade 5 star review on 14th March 2023
Katie C
The Shade 5 star review on 13th March 2023
Emily S
The Shade 5 star review on 12th March 2023
Fay C
The Shade 5 star review on 27th February 2023
Louise W
The Shade 5 star review on 24th January 2023
Nonna V
The Shade 5 star review on 22nd January 2023
Dianne F
The Shade 5 star review on 21st January 2023
Rachel P
367
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I absolutely love the results :) my hair feels so soft and silky afterwards and the colour is a beautiful natural brown. The kit gives you so many tools to use for future dying and the quality of everything was great. I have very long hair so there was more than enough product to colour everything. In these lockdown times, it was great to have everything delivered to my door in an all-in-one easy kit. I’m thinking I may never need to go to a salon for colouring anymore haha. Thank you The Shade xoxo
The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020
Helpful Report
Excellent quality and service - I’m saving so much atine and money and still get compliments on my hair. Love this shade 😁
Helpful Report
The colour is fantastic and easy to apply. This would be 5 stars if it wasn't for so much wasted packaging on all of the products, I wish they would improve that.
Helpful Report
I am in love with The Shade! I ordered the Palermo - Copper Golden Blonde to mix with the Napoli - Dark Blonde thanks to my consultant and it was the perfect colour. The rich colours lasted for months (which is not often with reds). I highly recommend their products.
The Shade 5 star review on 14th March 2023
Helpful Report
I bought the light ash blonde to tone and nourish my hair as was becoming orange ish. It was on for 7 minutes and turned my hair dark ash brown. I'm glad I washed it off before the instructions time as could have been much darker
Helpful Report
Hi Sharon. Going by the photo you provided, your colour was significantly lighter than the 8.1 toner, so therefore naturally a darker toner will add darker tones. Also, we would not have recommended that colour or toner for you based on the colour level and also because your lighter blonde colour would have had cool tones in it and adding cool tones to cool tones can result in visible green tones as green tones are seen when there is excessive cool tones in the hair. So this product was the wrong colour level for you and the wrong tone, and unfortunately you have seen the result of using a product with the wrong colour and tone, but fortunately it is only a temporary colour product. Please consult directly with our colourists (who are available 7 days a week) in future if you are wanting any products for your hair. I hope this helps! Camilla Colourist - The Shade
Like most people I'm sure, I was very apprehensive about purchasing an at-home hair-dying kit, especially online. However, I just cannot justify spending hundreds of dollars at the hairdresser when I am only getting an all-over colour. I have naturally auburn hair (now with a few sparkles) and I purchased the Copper Golden Blonde. The colour was spot on as you can see in the picture. The application was not too difficult and there was plenty of product. I will be sticking with The Shade, however, I'm not sure I will need to colour my hair every 4 weeks so might change to ad-hoc ordering. I would recommend this product.
The Shade 5 star review on 13th March 2023
Helpful Report
Game changer! I've been going to a green salon for the last few months in an attempt to reduce my toxic load but their product had very poor grey coverage and the upkeep cost was phenomenally high. I tried The Shade on a whim and was so pleasantly surprised by the gentleness of the formula. Barely any scent, no irritants but powerful results on the greys. I played it safe and got a shade lighter than what I believed to be my own and it was almost a perfect match. So grateful for this service as I believe it'll save me hundreds of dollars a year as well as put the power and confidence back in my hands to DIY my hair colour.
Helpful Report
Far darker than expected. Will not be ordering again.
Helpful Report
Dear Sarah, Sorry you weren't happy with your colour result. We notice that you used our online quiz, but didn't consult with one of our colourists. The online quiz will give you a colour suggestion only. It is not a mandate. The colour description and pics of clients who have used the colour then give a very good representation of the colour. If you have any questions or concerns or if you are uncertain about a colour it is best to ask our colourists as people can get darker colour results based on the existing pigments in their hair, the condition of their hair and the tones in the colour they suggested. For example, you selected a colour which does look a bit darker than its technical colour level because the warmer tones absorb light. Our colourists are available 7 days a week to assist with any colour questions. Wishing you well! Marco The Shade
I've been using the Shade hair colour for many years now it's all natural and very easy to use. Would highly recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
The Shade 5 star review on 12th March 2023
Helpful Report
I couldn't be any happier with the two colours I have purchased from The Shade. The whole process from placing orders through to fast delivery & ease of use not to mention the great price as well as the excellent online advice i have received from your Colourist Camilla in selecting the colour that would suit me best has been extremely easy, helpful & professional. I would not hesitate in recommending The Shade to anyone who is considering purchasing your products, they won't regret it.
The Shade 5 star review on 27th February 2023
Helpful Report
I used the golden brown, but the brown was a very dark shade, much darker than i expected. Also my scalp was itchy for a few days.
Helpful Report
Hi Deanne, So sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your colour result. You were in touch with our colourists before your most recent colour purchase, but unfortunately you selected a colour which our colourist did not recommend for you, and the colour you used does have a darker finish than the colour recommended for you. If you have any allergies or sensitivities to our product then it is best to review with your GP. We have eliminated the key known allergens from our products, but you could have a reaction to any ingredient in the colour or developer and if you do have a reaction then you should not use it. Thank you very much and wish you the best. Marco The Shade
Was very easy to apply. Loved using the salon application kit. However my colour has been disappointing. After only one wash my greys are quite visible and previous colour already coming through. Definitely not what you expect for a permanent colour. I left it in for the required time, so not sure what happened?? Was really hoping this was the easy solution to easy at him colouring.
Helpful Report
Hi Kirsty! So sorry to hear that you didn't get complete grey coverage. We notice that you used our 20 vol developer with your colour. We have recently added a new 27 vol developer which is specifically formulated to cover stubborn greys. It has a bit more lifting power and can lift the cuticle on greys to achieve permanent colour coverage. Greys often have textural changes along with the loss of pigmentation, and they are be a bit thicker, coarser and more wiry, which is due to changes in the texture. Their outer cuticle layer is more tightly packed and this can make it difficult for the colour to penetrate the hair. The 27 vol can lift the tougher cuticle on greys, allowing the colour to deposit within the hair. We are happy to send you a free replacement colour pack with the 27 vol if you are happy to try that - please just confirm if you are happy with the colour you tried otherwise or if you would like any changes to that and we can arrange that. Thank you very much! Camilla Colourist The Shade
Great grey coverage. I did use the developer before hand. Clear instructions. Colour darker than thought - but then all home hair dyes seem to come out darker than the box. ( I used dark blonde but it’s more rich brown)Hair looks very healthy and colour is nice. Will use again.
Helpful Report
I love using The Shade to colour my hair! Having a subscription means my colour is here when I'm ready to use it, no need to go to the shops and hope I can find the right one! It's easy to use and leaves my hair feeling soft, healthy and nourished :)
Helpful Report
Exactly as advertised - excellent grey coverage with pre-softening. Very happy with colour and excellent shampoo and conditioner. I am 3 weeks in and no fading. Very happy with this product and such quick delivery. I will be using this product always - dumped my hairdresser - thank you so much
Helpful Report
Great quality product, convenient delivery and excellent customer service and support.
Helpful Report
As I’m in my sixties it’s a struggle to keep grey scatterings at bay and still get a healthy looking hair on colour, especially if you’re dark brown, & you don’t want heavy looking colour. I love shade dark brown ash shades they are so natural and keep hair soft and healthy…Lorra Hudson
Helpful Report
Love the color & it covers my grays!
Helpful Report
Brilliant! I am extremely pleased with the personal consultation and prompt delivery. My hair felt, and looked like l walked out of a salon. I am sooooo happy. Thank you so much. I will definitely be an ongoing customer.
Helpful Report
The Shade has been the BEST discovery!! I'm a single mum so the costs and time of getting my hair coloured at the salon were impossible to justify. I was a little nervous to try to DIY it but honestly, I'm happier with the results from The Shade than I was at the bank-breaking salon. My greys are fully covered, my hair looks shiny and feels soft and I'm convinced that the colour lasts longer too. Win win win!!! Thank you so much!!
Helpful Report
So easy when you get everything you need in one box, and great colour!
Helpful Report
The Shade is rated 4.5 based on 1,459 reviews