The Shade Reviews

4.5 Rating 1,676 Reviews
87 %
of reviewers recommend The Shade
4.5
Based on 1,676 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 89%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.4 out of 5
Read The Shade Reviews

About The Shade:

The Shade is Australia's leading home hair colour and hair care company. Our colour is Italian-made, and is free from Ammonia, PPD, Parabens, Phthalates and Gluten.

Visit Website

Email:

support@theshade.com.au

Location:

23 Milton Parade Malvern VIC 3144, ,
Malvern
3144

The Shade 5 star review on 17th July 2024
Margaret T
The Shade 5 star review on 7th July 2024
Rachelle B
The Shade 5 star review on 5th July 2024
Stace F
The Shade 5 star review on 2nd July 2024
Lisa H
The Shade 5 star review on 2nd July 2024
Lisa H
The Shade 5 star review on 1st July 2024
Kelly A
The Shade 5 star review on 1st July 2024
Kelly A
433
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I absolutely love the results :) my hair feels so soft and silky afterwards and the colour is a beautiful natural brown. The kit gives you so many tools to use for future dying and the quality of everything was great. I have very long hair so there was more than enough product to colour everything. In these lockdown times, it was great to have everything delivered to my door in an all-in-one easy kit. I’m thinking I may never need to go to a salon for colouring anymore haha. Thank you The Shade xoxo
The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020 The Shade 5 star review on 12th April 2020
Helpful Report
I’ve been using The Shade for around three years now. My hair is a lot healthier now I’m not box dying. Love love love. I’ll never box dye again
Helpful Report
Such a great colour, love the mixture and how it makes my hair feel and look after
Helpful Report
I have been very happy with my hair colour from The Shade. The chemicals don’t harm my scalp & I only use mid brown again when I can see the white roots coming through. My hair always looks shiny too.
The Shade 5 star review on 17th July 2024
Helpful Report
Most defenitely reccomend. The colour i bought (darkest brown) turned out great. Got the results i wanted and were identical to the picture. Shipping was fast and purchase was defenitely worth it.
Helpful Report
It actually covered my greys. Very impressed
Helpful Report
Wonderful product, great quality and great results. My small bit of feedback is that I wasted so much of the dye and lightening. It would be great if you had instructions or smaller packs for those that only need 6 to 12 foils rather than half a head and the same goes for the dye. It would be good if you had instructions on how to ration and store after opened. Also, none of my boxes came with barrier oil or remover and there were no notes to explain why. I am hoping I get some sent as I ordered about 6 months worth of product all without this.
Helpful Report
My original hair has bleached 3/4 head foils, it's pretty light but with some warmth (picture with rough straightened hair). The toner I usually buy from Priceline and also blonde shampoo tends to give a blue/dull look, so I was looking for a beige toner to try. The colourist recommended Taranto 9.2 Light Beige Blonde. I followed the instructions and left it on for the maximum recommended time. The next morning it looked pretty dark (picture with curly hair). The FAQ's said the colour can go a bit dark if your hair condition isn't that good. My hair is a bit dry, but not too bad I wouldn't think. After one wash it lightened further (picture with blow dried hair), and it has since lightened further with more washes. You can still see the highlights, and the tone is a creamy blonde. I think the 902 Catania Lightest Beige Blonde would have been better, however this colour wasn't in stock. I also would leave it on for less time. And finally, the product size for short hair was quite generous for my hair length, so I ended up really saturating my hair (and maybe I used too much product?). Next time I might try ordering the larger size, and splitting it over two treatments. All in all, it was good to try. I would suggest not doing it the day before an event (in case you need a few washes to bring the colour down).
Helpful Report
This product is great. Im not longer spending over $200 at a salon now ive found the shade.
Helpful Report
I have lived in the NT for over 10 years now and constantly my colour has been fading to brassy tones after 2 washes. I had been told it is due to me taking berocca tablets (1 tablet not even daily). After trying your product all I can say is wow. I took my time writing a review as I wanted to test my colour fading. And to my surprise after 6 weeks my colour has not faded at all and especially no brassy red. Thank you and please don't change your product.
Helpful Report
I’ve been using The Shade for almost a year now. Excellent product indeed! The color is fabulous and it does not damage my hair. It’s so easy to apply, I don’t have to go to the salon to color my hair roots. This saves me a lot of money and provides convenience. Highly recommend product!
The Shade 5 star review on 7th July 2024
Helpful Report
Great value and so easy to use. The colour is amazing just like you get from the salon but for a quarter of the price. Covers greys so well definitely be ordering again
Helpful Report
Ok, this has blown me away. The ease of ordering and the help available is really fantastic. I'm blond with no eyebrows that's how blond I'm talking,but the grey/white was messing with my head and being single mum and working over 48 hours a week time and $$ are not conducive to expensive salon visits. So now I get a great cut every 8 weeks and cover my hair in colour and life thanks to The Shade. I actually like my hair again!!
Helpful Report
I have such sensitive skin starting from a young age. I use to box dye and had the worse reaction where I had swollen basket ball sized head. I then moved onto henna thinking that was going to be the best thing for me and it was on the same scale as the standard box dye. Fast forward 10 years and the grey hair starts coming through. After what felt like a life of trying to research dyes that were gentle on my skin I came across the shade. Not only did the product I received, lived up to how well it would work on my sensitive skin, but the website made it easy for me to make sure my order would get to me every 4 weeks and best of all I can change my colour whenever I want. I have recommended this to a heap of my friends and family who I think would also benefit from this product. Thank you 'The Shade's team x
The Shade 5 star review on 5th July 2024
Helpful Report
GAME CHANGER!! IT SAYS EXACTLY WHAT IT PROMISED. LUV IT
Helpful Report
So happy with my results from The Shade. I have spent years trying to do my own roots and it has always come out orange (trying to aim for dark ash blonde), which usually resulted in an expensive professional trip. Thought I would give this site a go. After a simpe quiz I was sent the colour I required within a couple days (and very affordable!). Easy process to colour. I didn't hold out much hope to be honest as I expected orange again as I washed it off....but...my hair was not orange, but a lovely shade of actual blonde, (and no greys!). Wish I had discovered this site way sooner! Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Ever so happy with the results of The Shade toner. I had a lot of brassiness on the lower part of my hair. Brassiness all gone and my hair is super soft. Will be reordering. The photos show the before and after.
The Shade 5 star review on 2nd July 2024 The Shade 5 star review on 2nd July 2024
Helpful Report
I have been using the shade since I had kids 5 years ago. After having my hair done for years I had a good idea how to do it and got hooked on doing it myself. So much easier and cheaper. Noticed the upgrades too! Good on you guys. Love the new clips and the Tsubaki oil is THA BOMB!
The Shade 5 star review on 1st July 2024 The Shade 5 star review on 1st July 2024
Helpful Report
Haven’t used it yet, but hoping to get good result. Because of my grey hair, I dye it often. Do you sell multi-application hair dye? I really wanna stick with you guys.
Helpful Report
I'm grey and my hair grows very quickly, so I have to colour it myself. I heard about The Shade in a fashion magazine so thought I would give it a go. Very prompt delivery, very well priced, easy instructions and the colour is perfect. Even my hairdresser said it look fantastic. My only feedback is perhaps you could have two hand sizes for the gloves (I have big hands and the gloves didn't really fit) and it said there were clips to pin my hair back but they were not included in the box. These two comments are so minor to the excellent colour, product and service though :)
Helpful Report
Great product. Gives excellent results every time. Great service.
Helpful Report
The Shade is rated 4.5 based on 1,676 reviews