Thomas Sanderson Reviews

1.70 Rating 10 Reviews
20 %
of reviewers recommend Thomas Sanderson

Write Your review

Tell us how Thomas Sanderson made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Bad quality product, their advice about how well blinds would work was misleading to the point of dishonest, and shameful post sales. Dreadful company.
Posted 2 weeks ago
I ordered a number of blinds months ago for our new home and initially was told by the salesman we could expect delivery in 4-6 weeks. When the installer came out to measure up he said delivery would be significantly delayed because of manufacturing problems caused by a factory move (I wonder if they have outsourced to China). I was not happy about the delay as we have bare windows but stuck with it. Some weeks later I then received an email saying that manufacturing had been halted because of Covid 19 and that they would let me know when they would recommence. This week I tired of waiting and being woken early by the light in my bedroom so I contacted Sanderson to ask for our deposit back. They snottily pointed to Clause 13.6 of their contract and said they would not return my money. Other suppliers have been happy to make refunds where they cannot supply but not Sanderson. Terrible attitude - I would avoid at all costs
Posted 3 months ago
We started our search for blinds in November last year and saw several companies, most of whom were honest and said they were unable to help us. We have a very large room with a vaulted ceiling. The representative that came over was extremely confident you could provide blinds for our window despite me saying others could not and pressing the point. I felt reticent but she said a surveyor would come over to measure up and we would be provided with temporary blinds.
We paid the £2500 deposit the following day as requested.

Weeks later we still had no temporary blinds so I called the rep and she said she would chase. Weeks on, still no temporary blinds.
The surveyor came over and said we had to cut back three large supporting beams in the vaulted ceiling to accommodate the blinds. Something other companies had muted and we’d been reticent to do. We asked the builder who was still on site and he was not keen. He explained it would be complicated and would probably need to be done by a carpenter. Not to mention it would have needed a scaffolding tower which he’d just taken back to the hire shop.
It took us a month to find a carpenter who was happy to help us and it cost £250 incl the hire of a tower. With this work all complete we called the surveyor back to remeasure as agreed. To emphasise, our newly decorated ceiling is now a mess given the beams have been cut back.

When the surveyor returned, he explained that he now didn’t think it was possible to fit the blinds after all as we’d have corners missing meaning they wouldn’t be blackout. I had been clear from the outset that I needed this owing to my work and working unsocial hours and hence, sometimes sleeping in the day. I was also told the blind frames would be dark grey. Again, our windows are black and I’d specifically asked if the frames could be made in black and was assured by the rep they could be. I’m told at this point that I could have conservatory blinds but that they still wouldn’t completely fit the corners and didn’t come in the fabric I’d chosen. So, I am now given the option of conservatory blinds in another colour with a frame that won’t match my window frames!
I called customer services to state my dissatisfaction in the entire process and the woman I spoke to took notes and said she would get a manager to call me back. I heard nothing.
The surveyor called back a few weeks later and said he thought he’d found solution. He came back round to measure again and we booked an install date for the 12th March and I accepted that I’d have to accept the grey frames as needed a dark room before the summer arrives. I booked an annual leave day for the 12thMarch hoping this may now actually happen.

Last Friday I took a further call to say the blinds weren’t ready and I’d need to rebook another date. The caller was unsure when the blinds would be ready and essentially gave a very insincere apology.
So, 5 months after commencing this process I still have no blinds and furthermore no idea when they may appear. To say I’m at the end of my tether is an understatement.
Posted 5 months ago
Ordered shutters beginning of October, paid half up front (£2300) they wanted for made to measure. When fitter came end of January they didn’t fit. They refuse to give me refund, insisting on correcting their mistake. They never phone I’m chasing them all the time they’ve offered NO goodwill and say it’ll be May before they’re ready. 8months later. They refuse to acknowledge their own terms & conditions as well as consumer act 2015. Where goods not fit for purpose, full refund. The only thing I would recommend is DON’T touch Thomas Sanderson with a barge pole.
Posted 5 months ago
Nobody showed up on my installation visit. I’m still waiting to find out what happened, despite chasing 4 times. I’m sure if I had a sales enquiry it would get their attention. They make up the prices without showing you a breakdown, based on what they think you can afford. Now I’m seeking legal advice.
Posted 6 months ago
They didn't. They sold us blinds costing over £5000 all supposed to be electric but when they arrived some were manual only due to shape. No refund offered. They charge astronomical costs for repairs and recently one small blind needed re stringing and they insisted it had to be removed by an engineer and replaced by engineer. My husband explained he was capable of removing blind and replacing and all we needed was re stringing. They wanted £242.00 for repair of a 30 minute job. They don't offer just a repair service you have to pay for engineer. Even if you agree to take full responsibility. We have since heard about the company and there devious way of operating. Don't touch the company it's all about commissions.
Posted 6 months ago
We have had our blinds for several years, and from time to time had to call customer service to have small issues repaired. One of the cords snapped on the pleated power blind, I called to see if an engineer could call to rethread it. I was told that they don't do this any more and would email an engineer to see if he would care to come and do the job as a private arrangement. After several calls to Thomas Sanderson, I eventually did get a call from an engineer, but he didn't work with powered blinds, but he said he would try to get someone to get in touch with me. A week on, nothing. I have tried emailing the Directors, but I have not had a response. Since merging with Hillarys and moving to Nottingham, Thomas Sanderson seems to have lost all care they had for existing customers. I would strongly recommend any prospective customer to think very carefully before investing thousands of pounds on blinds, that are great quality but will not be looked after once they are more than 5 years old. Stick to giving local business your custom, they will look after you and not leave you high and dry with a totally useless blind that no one will repair.
Posted 9 months ago
Zero star rating to be fair but no option to do this! Had them in to clean our conservatory, upvc doors and windows.. Didn't do the job properly.. Rushed the job.. Sent one man to do the job.. Didn't wear uniform .. Had murder trying to chase the guy who did the work he would never answer his phone to us.. Eventually the head office got him to come back and complete the job (sort of).. The treatment and cleaning has left all our UPVC scratched and dull looking (used a scotch pad to clean it with) .. The supposed anti dirt and rain coating we don't think even got done as it was filthy again within days.. Total waste of a few thousand pounds of our money...head office didn't want to know once the job had supposedly been finished.. Would not recommend to my worst enemy...avoid and get yourself a smaller company in who may just care about the job they are doing..
Posted 1 year ago
I shopped around and finally decided to go with Thomas Sanderson. We got the price down quite a lot the salesperson was good. The fitter took 2 days to do the install of 24 panels. The build quality is very good. Would use again.
Posted 1 year ago
Conservatory blinds very overpriced and don't do what we were told they would. We were told tey would keep the conservatory cooler in summer & warmer in winter! It was very stuffy in the summer and caused condensation in the winter if you pulled blinds down. Wouldn't recommend. Company wouldn't do anything about it.
Posted 1 year ago
Thomas Sanderson is rated 1.70 based on 10 reviews