iD Mobile Reviews

1.30 Rating 169 Reviews
7 %
of reviewers recommend iD Mobile
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how iD Mobile made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
worst company ever,they rip you off and theres never anybody to deal with it.if theres any good reviews on here i promise you now they are fake and done by ID mobile,i ended up with a contract i didnt agree with but no way of changing and network cover is back in the 1990s,stay away theres loads of good deals with good companys out there and no reason to go with ID mobile,there a scam from start to finish,the only thing you can rely on is them taking the money evey month even after you tell them the contract is up
Posted 1 week ago
CANT GET MY PHONE CONNECTED, CANT CONTACT THEM, CANT PHONE THEM , THEY STILL WANT MORE MONEY , DEBT COLLECTION AFTER ME WITH THREATS . NOW 6 MONTHS OF STRESS . I WANT MY MONEY BACK . AND LOOK AT THE COMPLAINTS . AND THEIR UK OFFICE IS CLOSED .
Posted 2 weeks ago
So hard to cancel contract even after I took out a monthly new one for monthly sim rolling contract .not let me keep my existing number .not compatablewith new contract.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Unhelpful and deceptive.
Posted 4 weeks ago
THIS COMPANY IS A SACM!! (Stay away from them)

Ordered a phone and paid £50 upfront for the phone.
On the day of the delivery ID Mobile rang the delivery company to return the phone to Carphone Warehouse (Dudley)
I phoned to ask why they told me to speak to the delivery company and CPW.
Both company’s told me it was ID mobile that called for the mobile back.

After speaking to one of their reps on their online chat room for almost 5 hours I still could get my money sent back to me or the phone to be delivered again the next day, they told me that I need to contact CPW for my refund even tho I ordered the phone from them and if I order another phone I will have much better results next time.

3 days later I had a message saying my first bill is ready and needs to be paid by the 7th July 2020, why would I pay for a bill for somthing I have never had? Plus why you sending me that if you called for the phone back? Do they not keep records? If they do they don’t keep it very well so imagine how well they keep your data.
Another email come through saying I had forgot to download their app to keep on top of my bills and information needed, ‘hang on I’m not the one who has forgot anything, they are’

I kept messaging the company through the live chats in their website to get this situation sorted.
I THOUGHT I finally got somthing sorted by re explaining the situation AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN for the rep to tell me all bills are stopped and I should have a refund within two days...... Two days later I get a letter saying - Sorry you are leaving us, you just now need to pay the last bill.
Why would I pay it? Worst thing is this will mess with my credit rating all because of their scam! I really do mean that word SCAM with this company as it’s impossible to get hold of anyone and they don’t store any of your information and just completely rob your money and send you bills knowing you have to pay or your credit rating goes right down.

I have never been so stressed, I advice you all stay away as it really isn’t worth the stress and if they do try and take a bill out I will see them in court!

STAY AWAY and use a real company!

I have kept every conversation with the company ready for along stressful process!
Posted 1 month ago
poor slow coverage.impossible to speak to any one,poor scammers.pay extra go to a proper phone company.not a virtual none exsistant one
Posted 1 month ago
Sim never arrived but they stated billing, impossible to contact them once they locked you into contract. thieves! avoid !!
Posted 1 month ago
I urge people to avoid - customer service is pathetic
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid ID mobile at all costs ! Cancelled my sons contract in December , but have just found out that they carried on billing and that I still owe for four months . Online chat was generally unhelpful . Denied all knowledge that I’d been in touch , no record of my call and no confirmation that my contact had been cancelled as requested four months ago .
Posted 3 months ago
I was offered an upgrade by iD Mobile from a sim only deal to a pay monthly, which includes a new handset. I followed the links on the iD portal and the new phone was delivered two days later.
Set it up and wanted to port my original number to the new phone - no option to do so in my online account. So I contacted iD through 'live chat' as their 'customer services ' is closed until further notice.
Was told that iD could not port numbers internally, despite it saying the complete opposite on both their website and on the pack which included the new phone. I asked 'Why not?'. They cannot answer, told me to notify all of my contacts (600+) that I would have a new number!
The staff at iD are too stupid to resolve any customer problems. Arrogant, unhelpful and generally useless. Other service providers now offer competitive deals (£5 per month) so absolutely no point in going to iD whose attitude is 'the customer is always wrong'!
Posted 3 months ago
I have a sim only contract started over two weeks ago, firstly did not receive a sim for 10 days, every time I call, I have to wait for over 50 minutes, finally got sim but unable to activate it as per advice. No live chat, customer services, email support or urgent advice available which is ridiculous and shambles. I have not idea how many weeks I am stuck with them without even able to get any services or support as no options for further communications available. Dropped email to their complain department with no response over a week. Aiming to complain to Ofcom. Absolute shambles. Please do not try them as they are useless and uncaring poor quality service provider.
Posted 4 months ago
I've been with iD since it's launch in 2015. I've changed tariff a couple of times as better value plans have become available. Coverage is fairly good - my reason for changing back then was that Vodafone just didn't work in locations I was spending lots of time at. Moving to iD was an immediate improvement.
Everything can be managed from the app. I've only contacted customer service once a few years ago, I only had to speak to one person and once they managed to grasp what I was asking for it was sorted immediately.
I don't know what there is not to love really.
Posted 4 months ago
At £5 a month, nothing comes near in terms of value for money.

I started off with a £5, SIM only, 30-day roll over contact, offering 1GB data, 500 minutes and unlimited texts. The network coverage checker indicated no coverage in my postcode area, but the reality was a better service than provided by EE, who claim to provide excellent signal strength!

Three months later, and I upgraded to a £6 monthly tariff, giving 2GB data, 1000 minutes and unlimited texts. Later on, I went over to their new £5 deal, which I'm still on. It gives 2.25GB, 250 minutes and unlimited texts. For me, this just about adequate and the best deal you could possibly expect for such low cost.

Your account is managed via an app on your smartphone, which is exceedingly well designed. You won't get anything more user friendly, and it covers everything. You get a dashboard showing minutes and data used, together with amount remaining and number of days left on your current billing period. You can change tariff, request a PAC code, end your contract, port your old phone number, and examine your bill history (to check payments made and or when the next one is due). You can also set a zero cap so that you'll never exceed your monthly allowances, and you also have the facility to buy bolt-ons for more data. Worth mentioning is that the monthly plan includes 0333, 0345 and 0370 numbers, in addition to UK mobile phone numbers and the standard UK geographical-based 01,02,03 and all free phone numbers. I wasn't expecting free 0345 numbers! I changed tariff during a particular billing period rather than at the end, and was delighted that the pro-rata allocation of minutes and data allowance, was exactly as anticipated based, on the fraction of days into the new period.

The app is PIN or fingerprint protected, and if someone enters the wrong PIN on three consecutive occasions, the account is locked.

Anything negative to say? Well, there's no call centre to turn to. When things go wrong, e.g. if you're locked out of your account, you'll need to Google the problem and take it from there! It can take time doing this, but you should get it resolved in the end.

Frankly, I fail to see how anyone could expect more for such a low outlay. £5 per month is nothing these days. Ask anyone into market research, and they'll tell you that most people won't even give you an empty cigarette pack, even if you offered them £7! I've been particularly impressed by how things are going during the current Coronavirus epidemic - it's made no difference! For several days, I've tried to sign up for one of the deals by Smarty, but their website just freezes! I've emailed their customer services, but have so far been ignored, yet they've a better reputation!! Not fair!
Posted 4 months ago
I've been with ID Mobile for nearly a year and the service has always been excellent. At £5 a month, nothing comes near in terms of value for money.

I started off with a £5, SIM only, 30-day roll over contact, offering 1GB data, 500 minutes and unlimited texts. The network coverage checker indicated no coverage in my postcode area, but the reality was a better service than provided by EE, who claim to provide excellent signal strength!

Three months later, and I upgraded to a £6 monthly tariff, giving 2GB data, 1000 minutes and unlimited texts. Later on, I went over to their new £5 deal, which I'm still on. It gives 2.25GB, 250 minutes and unlimited texts. For me, this just about adequate and the best deal you could possibly expect for such low cost.

Your account is managed via an app on your smartphone, which is exceedingly well designed. You won't get anything more user friendly, and it covers everything. You get a dashboard showing minutes and data used, together with amount remaining and number of days left on your current billing period. You can change tariff, request a PAC code, end your contract, port your old phone number, and examine your bill history (to check payments made and or when the next one is due). You can also set a zero cap so that you'll never exceed your monthly allowances, and you also have the facility to buy bolt-ons for more data. Worth mentioning is that the monthly plan includes 0333, 0345 and 0370 numbers, in addition to UK mobile phone numbers and the standard UK geographical-based 01,02,03 and all free phone numbers. I wasn't expecting free 0345 numbers! I changed tariff during a particular billing period rather than at the end, and was delighted that the pro-rata allocation of minutes and data allowance, was exactly as anticipated based, on the fraction of days into the new period.

The app is PIN or fingerprint protected, and if someone enters the wrong PIN on three consecutive occasions, the account is locked.

Anything negative to say? Well, there's no call centre to turn to. When things go wrong, e.g. if you're locked out of your account, you'll need to Google the problem and take it from there! It can take time doing this, but you should get it resolved in the end.

Frankly, I fail to see how anyone could expect more for such a low outlay. £5 per month is nothing these days. Ask anyone into market research, and they'll tell you that most people won't even give you an empty cigarette pack, even if you offered them £7! I've been particularly impressed by how things are going during the current Coronavirus epidemic - it's made no difference! For several days, I've tried to sign up for one of the deals by Smarty, but their website just freezes! I've emailed their customer services, but have so far been ignored, yet they've a better reputation!! Not fair!
Posted 4 months ago
I would give zero stars if I can. I was surprised to see the amount of peopel struggling to cancel with this company without getting charged because I'm ON THE SAME BOAT! The person speaking on the phone when I wanted to cancel does not have an easy accent to understand, and I thought it woudl be cancelled but apparently not. It's difficult to reach them back then, and now I owe them 39 pounds and I've been trying to dispute but they don't let me. Too much time wasted on this company honestly. Please avoid.
Posted 5 months ago
got my down syndrome brother an unlimited sim only capped at £20 a month to have looked at bill for last year and a half been adding £3.50 to spend 8 minutes on the phone to his brother he only calls me
Posted 5 months ago
Currently on the phone to Marvin who is a customer service manager who as it turns out has no customer service skills what so ever. I have spent the last 3 weeks dealing with this company 3 managers have failed to call me back and I am currently almost an hour into the call today and no further along - absolute shambles

Update I have been on hold for 1 hour and 34 mins, yes that’s correct 1 hour 34 mins
Posted 6 months ago
As noted by other reviews this company does not deserve one star. I upgraded my service with id to an iPhone 11, i did not receive the phone as promised and after several calls to their customer service wasting hours of my time and many promises of call backs from managers and complaints department which were never received i cancelled the service and moved to a different provider. Two weeks later they debited £950 from bank account for the phone i never received incurring bank charges and causing important items being bounced from account! I spent another epic session on the phone with the customer service who could clearly see their failings yet did not have the authority to resolve the situation. I was told the issue would be resolved in one day. three days later i am still waiting for them to reverse the charges and acknowledge compensation for the bank charges i incurred.
THIS COMPANY SHOULD NOT BE IN BUSINESS, OFCOM SHOULD REVOKE THEIR LICENCE FOR ILLEGAL PRACTICES THAT GO UNCHECKED
Posted 6 months ago
evil people
Posted 6 months ago
I used to like them because of the great value but when I started to use them for making phone calls I realised how bad this network is. It's basically unusable, you cannot have a normal conversation using this network. The signal either breaks up all the time, cuts out, high noise etc. Embarrassing for a so-called phone service provider. Their mobile data signal is almost just as bad with really slow latency loading up pages as well as not picking up signal sometimes. Also they've gone down a number of times in the past with 0 signal. I had also downloaded a new music streaming app which was downloading songs I had picked on a wifi connection but didn't realise it was going on when I left and used 4GB of data. I contacted them asking for a one-off refund as a gesture of goodwill but there is obviously no goodwill from this company. Avoid!
Posted 6 months ago
iD Mobile is rated 1.30 based on 169 reviews