Affordable Mobiles Reviews

1.46 Rating 46 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Affordable Mobiles
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Affordable Mobiles made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
AVOID AVOID AVOID. Ordered iphone 11 with 24 month contract. Emailed will have it within 2 weeks (23/11/20). 22/11/20 received email saying it will be with me 24/11/20. Day of delivery received email will get 7/12/2020. Emailed back saying if there is a further delay I would cancel. 26/11/20 they cancelled the order. After a couple of emails by me asking why cancelled was told because the phone would not be received in warehouse for another 2 to 3 weeks!!!!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID. Will never order via this site again. Terrible service, terrible customer service
Posted 13 hours ago
Very bad do not trust a word they say always lie every person you speak too they lie avoid
Posted 3 days ago
I had a disastrous experience with Affordable Mobiles after pre-ordering an iPhone 12 Pro - an order which I ended up cancelling. After finding a favourable deal with them via a comparison website, I phoned to enquire as to stock availability upon release of the iPhone 12 Pro. I was advised that if I went ahead and pre-ordered with them, I would receive the handset on release day - and that if I didn’t, it’d mean that there would be stock issues everywhere (not just via them). As such, on 18th October (two days after the pre-order window opened), I placed my pre-order and my upfront payment of £614.99 was debited along with their £2.50 holding fee. All security checks were passed, and the following day I received confirmation that my order had been approved.

Release day (23rd October) arrived without any further correspondence from Affordable Mobiles (i.e. a despatch notice), let alone the delivery of the handset. Rather than being contacted by the company, I had to phone them to enquire as to the status of the order as I had no reason not to expect delivery when I’d been told I would. This is where my nightmare began - I was advised that they were experiencing delays, but hoped to receive stock in the coming days. This didn’t ever materialise, and it wasn’t until 27th October that they circulated an email to acknowledge the delays (and state that they were aiming to source the handsets ‘as quickly as possible’). Sadly, the majority of the ensuing two weeks were spent with me contacting them for updates, only to be told on each occasion that the expected delivery date had fallen even further back. The best that they could offer me was a £10 goodwill credit, claiming that these delays were global and not just being faced by them.

To make matters worse, the next email correspondence (which wasn’t sent until 10th November) mistakenly notified customers that they would receive their order the following day (yet a date in August was referenced for delivery despite being in November). This certainly didn’t help their credibility. Upon phoning to query the email, I was advised that estimated delivery was in fact now as late as 1st December. The final straw was when, only three days later (13th November), I received an email stating that delivery would now take place on 31st December (30 days later than I’d been told only three days beforehand). Just as disappointingly, the tone of all communications came across along the lines of ‘keep waiting patiently for an indefinite period, and don’t contact us as we’re busy and there’s nothing we can do about it’.

Whilst I’d like to think that I demonstrated patience throughout this debacle, I wasn’t prepared to wait another seven weeks (and however longer it’d end up being on top of that), having already waited four weeks to reach this point (in other words getting nowhere). This wasn’t simply a case of me being impatient - they had £600+ of my money. Simultaneously, I was losing resale value on my iPhone XS which I had agreed a fixed price on to be recycled, with quotes only being valid for 14 days (and values of older handsets like this consistently dropping). The icing on the cake is that this experience now affects the dates that I can upgrade in future, as my contract start date had been delayed by over a month.

I cancelled my order with Affordable Mobiles, and on Saturday 14th November I contacted Mobile Phones Direct and placed an order for an identical handset through them, which arrived the following day. So much for a global shortage! I just wish I’d made this decision in the first place, or at the very least much earlier - rather than mistakenly putting my faith in Affordable Mobiles. Mobile Phones Direct should act as an example to Affordable Mobiles as to how to operate a business.x
Posted 4 days ago
I had a disastrous experience with Affordable Mobiles after pre-ordering an iPhone 12 Pro - an order which I ended up cancelling. After finding a favourable deal with them via a comparison website, I phoned to enquire as to stock availability upon release of the iPhone 12 Pro. I was advised that if I went ahead and pre-ordered with them, I would receive the handset on release day - and that if I didn’t, it’d mean that there would be stock issues everywhere (not just via them). As such, on 18th October (two days after the pre-order window opened), I placed my pre-order and my upfront payment of £614.99 was debited along with their £2.50 holding fee. All security checks were passed, and the following day I received confirmation that my order had been approved.

Release day (23rd October) arrived without any further correspondence from Affordable Mobiles (i.e. a despatch notice), let alone the delivery of the handset. Rather than being contacted by the company, I had to phone them to enquire as to the status of the order as I had no reason not to expect delivery when I’d been told I would. This is where my nightmare began - I was advised that they were experiencing delays, but hoped to receive stock in the coming days. This didn’t ever materialise, and it wasn’t until 27th October that they circulated an email to acknowledge the delays (and state that they were aiming to source the handsets ‘as quickly as possible’). Sadly, the majority of the ensuing two weeks were spent with me contacting them for updates, only to be told on each occasion that the expected delivery date had fallen even further back. The best that they could offer me was a £10 goodwill credit, claiming that these delays were global and not just being faced by them.

To make matters worse, the next email correspondence (which wasn’t sent until 10th November) mistakenly notified customers that they would receive their order the following day (yet a date in August was referenced for delivery despite being in November). This certainly didn’t help their credibility. Upon phoning to query the email, I was advised that estimated delivery was in fact now as late as 1st December. The final straw was when, only three days later (13th November), I received an email stating that delivery would now take place on 31st December (30 days later than I’d been told only three days beforehand). Just as disappointingly, the tone of all communications came across along the lines of ‘keep waiting patiently for an indefinite period, and don’t contact us as we’re busy and there’s nothing we can do about it’.

Whilst I’d like to think that I demonstrated patience throughout this debacle, I wasn’t prepared to wait another seven weeks (and however longer it’d end up being on top of that), having already waited four weeks to reach this point (in other words getting nowhere). This wasn’t simply a case of me being impatient - they had £600+ of my money. Simultaneously, I was losing resale value on my iPhone XS which I had agreed a fixed price on to be recycled, with quotes only being valid for 14 days (and values of older handsets like this consistently dropping). The icing on the cake is that this experience now affects the dates that I can upgrade in future, as my contract start date had been delayed by over a month.

I cancelled my order with Affordable Mobiles, and on Saturday 14th November I contacted Mobile Phones Direct and placed an order for an identical handset through them, which arrived the following day. So much for a global shortage! I just wish I’d made this decision in the first place, or at the very least much earlier - rather than mistakenly putting my faith in Affordable Mobiles. Mobile Phones Direct should act as an example to Affordable Mobiles as to how to operate a business.
Posted 4 days ago
Ordered an iPhone. Sent it back 4 days later as did not have very good signal in my house. Only to be hit with a £300 bill for non pristine condition. Even though the phone had not been used! Eventually they dropped the charges and cancelled the contract. However, 6 months later I am still getting charged by the original provider. Disastrous.
Posted 1 week ago
The company is a joke, been waiting 5/6 weeks now for money back and a answer to my official complaint. Absolutely useless. Avoid using them and please don't cancel a contact with them because they will mess you about for weeks and just cost you money. AVOID
Posted 1 month ago
after 9 days Affordablemobiles.co.uk refuse to give me my money back
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered a SIM only deal, that was fine, within a day it was paused. Rang them on their 0345 number, 40 minutes nobody picked up. Emailed three times, no response. Bank confirmed they had processed the 2.50 initial transaction. Very poor service, no customer support. Stay far away from this company.
Posted 2 months ago
Terrible service very poor never again
Posted 2 months ago
I have submitted all documents that's affordable mobile has asked for to get my first cashback as I had the contract for 9months now , the claim was submitted in may 2020 and waiting for cashback since then!! I have contacted customer service by email no responses to my email !!
The only email I've received from them was thanks for emailing us..!
It's been 4 months since and no responses or any cashback being paid into my account!
Waiting for satisfying answer .
Posted 2 months ago
AVOID
Do not use this company or any of the affiliated companies it owns. You may get lucky but if you have any problems or issues with products they sell then you are in trouble. I returned a phone in the 14 day period which had never been out of my house and the network selected had never worked. On return of my phone I was told I would have to pay £200 to cancel the contract as the phone would have to be sold as refurbished. As I couldn’t do that I was then basically forced to sign up to another contract costing more money than the original and more money than what was offered when I signed up. And this was to get the original phone back and not have to pay the £200 upfront. I could go on . Just avoid
Posted 3 months ago
Order is 17 days late because they sold me a phone they didn't have in stock. Spoke them over the phone, Twitter and email and they all said they same thing "we'll ship it when we get it"
Posted 3 months ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS...SCAM NO RETURN ON HANDSETS. ****AVOID****AVOID****AVOID********I ORDERED A S20 ON CONTRACT WITH EE. SERVICE WAS SHOCKING SO CALLED TO SAY WOULD HAVE TO CANCEL UNLESS I COULD CHANGE TO UNLIMITED 3MOBILE. THEY ADVISED DID NOT OFFER THAT SO ARRANGED TO RETURN PHONE. THEY HAVE NOW SENT ME A MESSAGE TO SAY MY PHONE IS NOT IN PRISTINE CONDITION SO I AM REQUIRED TO PAY £299.70 OR TAKE THE PHONE BACK ON THE EE CONTRACT WHICH I CANNOT USE EFFECTIVELY. I WILL BE STUCK WITH IT FOR 2 YEARS. THIS IS A SCAM THE HANDSET WAS IN PRISTINE CONDITION I USED IT FOR A HOUR AT THE MOST. ****AVOID****AVOID****AVOID***
Posted 4 months ago
Ordered a new S10. After pealing the sticker off I found it had already been opened previously. Pretty sad.
Posted 5 months ago
Charlatans, make it very difficult to claim your cashback hoping you miss certain arbitrary dates, and awful customer service. Deals appear cheap but for a reason. Avoid if possible.
Posted 6 months ago
Charlatans, make it very difficult to claim your cashback hoping you miss certain arbitrary dates, and awful customer service. Deals appear cheap but for a reason. Avoid if possible.
Posted 6 months ago
Seem to be good deals and the delivery times aren’t bad but the aftercare from this company is shocking! If anyone is thinking about these cashback by redemption deals I’ll save you the hassle now before you waste all the time and effort... it’s the biggest farce ever, they make it so difficult to even claim for it it’s unreal not straight forward at all. Emailed and called them endless times to which they just blame it on a “technical error” everytime “so just send it us again and we’ll process your claim”..... come on after 4 times already just the first cashback amount??!! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!
Posted 6 months ago
This is the second time I've renewed my phone through affordable mobiles and it's by far the best price compared to any company comparison.

On both occasions from applying for the new contract to having the new phone set up on the network and collecting my phone has taken less than 24 hours

Very helpful competitive and reliable highly reccomend affordable mobiles never had a problem
Posted 8 months ago
Cashback is ridiculous.

Use mobile phones direct, it's online and trouble free.
Posted 9 months ago
Ordered a cash back deal over the sales line, unfortunately the sale representative spelling my name wrong and therefor the order was declined by credit search, for some reason a few days later affordable mobile proved the order with A same wrong name. I had to call them to cancel the order in case I can not get cash back in the future because of the wrong spelling of my name.
Posted 9 months ago
Affordable Mobiles is rated 1.46 based on 46 reviews