ao.com Reviews

4.3 Rating 4,130 Reviews
82 %
of reviewers recommend ao.com
4.3
Based on 4,130 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.4 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read ao.com Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0344 324 9222

Email:

customerservices@ao.com

Location:

AO World PLC 5a The Parklands Lostock
Bolton
BL6 4SD

Write Your review

Tell us how ao.com made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
ao.com 5 star review on 8th April 2024
Susan Heaton
ao.com 1 star review on 3rd April 2024
Nicola Henry
ao.com 1 star review on 24th February 2024
Karen Anderson
ao.com 1 star review on 27th November 2023
Phil
ao.com 1 star review on 29th October 2023
Darren
ao.com 1 star review on 28th December 2022
Lisa
ao.com 1 star review on 12th October 2022
Aaron
126
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I would never use or recommend AO to anyone. My experience with this company has been unbelievably frustrating and disappointing. I ordered a washer dryer three weeks before the scheduled delivery and notified AO in advance that a hole would need to be drilled for installation. I was informed that this could be done, but the team would assess the situation when they arrived on Sunday. When the team arrived, they had no knowledge of this request and explained that only an advanced team is equipped to drill holes, which they cannot do as they don't carry the necessary tools. Despite this setback, the team was friendly and helpful; they called the office on my behalf to arrange another fitting. Shortly after, I spoke with someone who assured me that a team would come on Monday, and I would receive a time slot in the morning. However, I never received a time slot. When I called to inquire, I was told that the advanced team does not provide time slots but was assured they would come. They did not turn up. I called AO again and was informed that while the request had been made on Sunday, no one could explain why I was told they would definitely arrive on Monday when there was no indication they would. Eventually, I spoke with a manager who assured me that the installation would take place on Wednesday, and I would receive a time slot in the morning. Yet, on Tuesday morning, I received a call stating that they would not be coming on Wednesday because they are not able to drill the hole. This was despite everyone I spoke to initially telling me it was possible for the advanced team to cut the holes until Tuesday morning—four days after I first informed them it was needed, which is ridiculous. This experience has been absolutely unacceptable. I now need to hire a third party to fit my machine, and AO are not even willing to cover the cost as compensation for my abysmal experience. I wasted all day Sunday and Monday waiting for no reason and am now left without a functioning washer dryer. The customer service was appalling, with the exception of one person and the lack of communication and organisation is astonishing. I strongly advise against using AO, I'm sure the fitters themselves are great at what they do as the people who came seemed very knowledgeable but the customer service team are worthless.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 hours ago
Would never buy anything from this company again bought a frigde freezer for £900 pound it came with no serial number on the inside of the door so they told us that they couldn't come out to it unless we paid £175 so we paid it the guy that came said the compreser and the fan had blown and he had ordered the parts 3 days later the money was put back in my bank and didn't even message me to say they wouldnt fix it its the worst company ive ever bought from
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
A dreadful experience from start to finish. Driver has refused to install the machine as he told me it was hard wired- it was not. Have been told by Customer Service he did not tell me this, despite there being recording of the conversations with their head office. Avoid ordering from this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
ao what can i say total let down there delivery partners don't know how to use a sat nav ordered a air fryer to be delivered again by DPD first day it couldn't be delivered sent a photo of a door that was not mine returned the item to their depo i contacted ao straight away and was told it would come following day so had to cancel my plans to await delivery again it was delivered to a different address then to a key store i called ao again they couldn't understand but would look into it so they called me following day at 8-9 am and said they would pay a taxi for me to go and collect i said no as i am ill with lung and heart disease so i canceled the order said i want my money returned they said once the item is returned to them they would do that and that it could take upto a week or longer for the item to reach them then id have to wait 3-5 working days for monies to be returned they must hold a lot of money this way as it will be a revolving system ie returns and all the time only ones making on this is ao ie interest in their account for something that i never recieved never even seen the box or the driver why should i have to wait this length of tom to get funds back i've used ao for years even when my partner was alive but never again that i sware on they now ow me for calls from scotland to bolton which were not quick calls being put on hold for periods of time so when the bill comes in i shall be sending it to them the said i would get a £30 voucher to use if i spend over £60 that's a joke i will be speaking to my solicitor tomorrow about another matter but i will mention all this to him see what hes got to say
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
i recently purchased a shark hoover now being a 5 star member it was to deliver and recycle it was meant to be delivered on 3rd of may i then discovered to my horror that ao subcontract smaller item to DPD to be delivered so on the 3rd i checked dpd track for it to show driver couldn't deliver i got in touch wit ao and it was to be redelivered on the 7th may between 2:15 and 3:22 ao turns up at 215pm and collected my old item at my address an address AO have used over a number of years time passes and so did my delivery slot checked DPD web track and was informed delivery refused i've been in all day AO picked up old item contacted AO for the second time the address was wrong yet again AO delivered cookers washing machines fridges and fire place and new tvs to the address yet the address was wrong [ make your own mind up about that people ]so i've had 2 working days in waiting for a delivery that never arrived and tomorrow will be the 3rd day now after paying for the 5 star service its not 5 star mt contract is with AO not DPD ! DPD the worst of the home delivery groups so as far as i'm concerned AO has some explaining to do phoning ao costs money as im calling from scotland
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have used AO almost since the day it started and it used to be great. This time? It was shambolic. I ordered an oven and hob and when I got to the basket, it asked if I would like my order to be connected. I said yes, and also for it to be taken away. I paid extra for 7-12 delivery slot. On the day, I kept updating 'track my order' and the expected delivery time kept on getting later and later. At one point, it said it was going to be between 11 and 3pm. I was worried I wouldn't make my afternoon work appointments, so cancelled them. Then I suddenly got a call at 11.15 to say they were 5 minutes away. When they arrived they said I had only asked for the oven to be fitted, not the hob. I pointed out that the website was misleading (as well as the tracking system) and perhaps they could refund the amount I paid for an early slot or use it to pay for the hob to be fitted. But the driver insisted he didn't have time to fit it. He took exactly 6 minutes to fit the oven - at a cost of £115!!!! And the hob would have taken no time at all to fit - in fact, he spent more time arguing with me about it (and calling HQ to ask them what to do) than it would have taken him to do the job. He told me he was just 'following orders', but I heard HQ ask him if he had time to do the job and it was him who said no. So now I have to pay even more for a local electrician to come and fit the hob. Not what I expect from AO at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered via ebay, fridge was faulty refused to give a refund after weeks of fighting said they would refund chased up and now they said as 90 days old can only give a refund over the phone but dont phone and when they do want to do security! Absolute joke
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I was actively lied to by them, horrible service, do not use. I live up stairs and phoned them instead of ordering online so I could double check they would actually deliver it, I gave the exact details and confirmed multiple times with the person on the phone it would be delivered. When the delivery guy came he said he couldn't deliver it as it was too many stairs, even though the person on the phone has told me multiple times it would definitely be delivered. I took a day off work for them which was annoying, but the worst thing is being directly lied to.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I purchased a Hisense fridge freezer online. I also chose to purchase the 5-star membership @£39.99 per year because it offered free delivery and free removal of my old fridge freezer, and it was £10 cheaper with membership. Most places charge a hefty fee for delivery and charge again to dispose of your old items and packaging. There are also offers during the next 12 months for 5-star members, all with free delivery etc. You can cancel your membership at any time if you don't want to pay for next year's membership. (It can be a real headache when living alone to dispose of heavy, bulky items.) The council would have taken it eventually, but they still expect you to put it outside your property, so I chose to have it all dealt with at once by AO. The delivery went very well, the men were pleasant, well mannered, careful, punctual, etc, so I couldn't fault them. They just got on with the job, and they were very careful not to damage anything. The service I got was amazing. I received a text message with my time slot, and then a phone call to check everything was going ok, so I didn't have to leave my previously frozen food out to defrost prematurely. I also got a phone call to say the van was only 10 minutes away. From start to finish, everything went well. I will recommend AO for any electrical goods. Give them a try if anything needs replacing. 🤗
ao.com 5 star review on 8th April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Nightmare! Had no cooker for 8 days over Easter! X4 Kids at home as half-term! We had to buy takeaways for our dinners as we were eating soup, cereal & sandwiches for breakfast and lunches. AO decided to disconnect & remove my old cooker, refused to reinstall it, which left us with no cooker to use for 8 days! BEWARE the ACTUAL size of the Smeg Dual Fuel Range Cookers depth is 65mm due to the oven door HANDLES but it's not STATED ANYWHERE under the specs. AO confirmed with me on an initial phone call that the dimensions were 60mm x 89.7mm and correct size for my kitchen space. AO Please go find & listen to that recording! No agent bothered to say that those dimensions given on the websites product pages aren't always accurate because the manufacturers sizing does not always include or account for things such as handled protruding! RIDICULOUS! This LACK OF CRUCIAL INFORMATION caused THE FIRST failed attempted delivery. As far as we knew, the old and new cookers were like for like size wise. My old cooker was TAKEN OUT just fine. The delivery team was asked to put back in the old cooker when they couldn't get the new cooker through the kitchen door. THEY REFUSED! This left a household including a disabled child & vulnerable people without any means of cooking meals!CRUEL! When I called up to complain AO were non chalant, blasé & their excuse was that the manufacturer provides spec dimensions, they said "we don't go round with a measuring tape checking the dimensions of all our appliances". How rude! Because of this lack of VITAL INFORMATION on SIZE we went without a cooker for much longer than was necessary. Had the new cooker made it through the kitchen doorway, they would have discovered the hot zone issue EARLIER, on the 25th not 31st March! We would have had the chance to resolve the problems BEFORE it RUINED our Easter bank Holiday weekend! Another lesson learned is that if you pay for premium installation, AO delivery team/gas safe engineers are extremely strict about cooker hood distance, mine was just 5mm off. YEAH for safety! If you have ANYTHING less than perfect gas pipework they'll ABORT & ABANDON you without completing your cooker installation! We were left high and dry, had to source & pay our own private gas engineer to install the cooker! Keiran at AO customer service was supportive when I explained the turmoil, he asked me to email them our receipts as proof of out of pocket expenditure. He said we would likely be reimbursed under these circumstances. We have spent £400>on takeaway food, evidenced by receipts, that's x3 meals per day for x6 people over 8 days. Money that we WOULDN'T HAVE HAD to spend if we had any means of making a hot meal! AO didn't care about how this affects us financially during a cost of living crisis. They refused to reimburse us but offered £30 goodwill gesture! We accepted the gesture but still expected at least £300 reimbursed for the inconvenience caused by THEIR FAILURES (delivery guys taking away our cooker and false dimensions on the product spec). The whole experience has been awful, extremely distressing not to mention disappointing. AO need to do way better by their customers. The very least AO can do now is to help us recover from our terrible experience by offering a reimbursement of our forced expenses. Can't comment on the Smeg cooker as it's STILL not been installed yet. If AO choose to leave us customers like this, without any further offer of compensation, we will never recommend AO to anyone & will share our awful experiences and opinions everywhere we can to warn others.
ao.com 1 star review on 3rd April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tumble dryer delivered on 31st March, just two days later it practically blows up, making very loud, strange sounds and emitting an electrical burning smell. Suffice to say, the product is clearly totally kaput, not to mention the obvious fire hazard. What would any customer of AO reasonably expect in the circumstances? That the situation is immediately remedied by way of a replacement, or a refund, including reimbursement for costs of disposal. Is that what I got? Absolutely not. Firstly, I was fobbed off to the manufacturer, who insisted that an engineer had to be sent out before they could do anything. I was then told that the earliest appointment would be 16th April - 13 days' time! Obviously I told them what I thought of that suggestion! So it's apparently AO's policy that any customers who are unfortunate enough to have received a seriously faulty product have to wait an unacceptable period of time for a resolution, whilst having to go without the benefit of that product. When I buy a new kitchen appliance I expect it to work and if it clearly has serious (and potentially dangerous) defects that it be replaced immediately with one that does work. A perfectly simple, reasonable expectation, but not one that AO appear willing to meet. The end result of my protracted toing and froing on the phone today is that I now have to wait 24 to 48 hours for consideration to be given to granting a refund or providing a replacement. I still have no idea when I'm going to have a tumble dryer that works safely. I expected a lot better from AO.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
If I could leave 0 stars I would, bought a LG fridge freezer (delivered 7th march 2024), when they delivered it they carelessly bent in the back of the fridge and told me it would be fine when bent back, stupidly I took their word for it... Since the fridge freezer went on, it froze everthing in the bottom of it and the temperature in the middle fluctuated between below freezing and 10 degrees without it being opened or changing the settings, I tried several different thermometers to check that this wasnt just inaccuracy of the thermometers i was using, it wasn't, the final straw was then it froze raw meat that was in the meat drawer in the FRIDGE! Contacted AO about this fault and from the get go they were unhelpful, the attitude was rude and demeaning, I had, had it just over a week at that point and was well within the cooling off period, they told me they wanted an engineer to look at it but that was scheduled for 2 weeks later (27th March) - you can't leave someone without a fridge for that long especially when it was them that caused the fault in the first place, they should have just swapped/refunded it in full. Upon saying that I wanted to send it back as I was well within my rights to as I was still in the cooling off period, they said that because they didn't know if there was a fault they were keeping 30% of the refund for THEIR TROUBLE or if i had another off them they would only keep 10%! We will be taking this to the small claims court because they cannot do this! Absolute con artists DO NOT BUY FROM THEM!!! £870 fridge freezer and only got £631 refund! This will be taken further BUT what is even more interesting is that the drivers that came to collect it from AO had never heard of this being done before and were absolutely disgusted by the attitude and "resolution" that the company had come to, so I'd love to know why this was done to me and your EMPLOYEES had never heard of this being done before! Sounds like you're making it up as you go along!! This will be taken further, and I would never reccommmend or use this company again, BEWARE of buying from this awful business - I got a replacement from a small local firm 2 days later that gave 100% better service than these con merchants, shop local and force these robbing and stealing companies out of business!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Had an issue with my oven. Took a while for first engineers visit to happen as living on the Isle of Wight and the Christmas season. Then had second visit, had further issues contacted AO. Said that they would look into it, no call back, had to call and AO less than helpful with the issues. Not at all interest. Spent thousands with AO in the past but never again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Very bad experience with them Had my American fridge freezer being damaged twice waited over a month for replacement. Just recently I have found out that they sell only refurbished and end of line products Be aware
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Bought an American fridgefreezer in aug 2020. Just had an engineer as its not working only to be told the whole motor has gone to the tune of approx £360 to fix. He couldn't believe it was so young and said it should have been good for 10 years
ao.com 1 star review on 24th February 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I recently purchased a TV from AO. Got delivered at 12 pm and called them at 3 pm to return. Since I have turned ON the TV and the model did not have the necessary apps i had to return. They cut 20% of the TV cost since they mark the item as used. I am ending up paying 128 pounds for the 640 pounds TV which is nowhere return to have mentioned such huge percentage will be deducted from the refund. They offered me a exchange for 10% but since I am totally dissatisfied I am okay to take the loss than to fall for their scam. Never buying from AO again in my life. One experience is worth for life.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Said they price match another company Marks Electrical's. but as soon as I said it was the same price but with 5% off and free delivery. They said they couldn't match it. Sales lady not really interested in keeping me as a loyal customer that I have been over the years. So it looks like Marks Electrical's gain a customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Terrible customer service Terrible job
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Awful experience with ao.com! We ordered a Samsung washing machine from ao.com, paid extra for next day delivery and extra for installation. Was delivered yesterday after 3pm. However it doesn’t work. I waisted half a day today on the phone with ao.com and Samsung. Ao’s process is to send you to the manufacturer who made me to put a 2hr44min long cycle and another 15 min cycle and made me hold my phone up on video call so they could watch the wasching machine (not) working properly. Samsung agreed the machine is faulty but they won’t replace it!! Instead they’re wanting to send an engineer to find out what the fault is. I explained I do not care what the fault is, I do not consent to any repairs (could have bought a cheaper used/ repaired washing machine!), I want a new washing machine that does work. I pointed out to two separate ao.com advisors that our contract is with ao.com not Samsung. They would not budge! With two little kids this is a massive inconvenience and may take several days still to resolve as the engineer is supposed call us within 48hrs!!! And that’s only to arrange a visit - we’re busy people who work and can’t be available at a drop of a hat! Just appalling - after paying extra for a brand that’s supposed to be good and extra for next day delivery and installation. Never again buying from ao.com Please beware !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Received two phonecalls at 06:50am before the alotted delivery window (we missed both as getting kids ready for school early to ensure we are available for delivery). Driver turns up at property (we have him on CCTV), waits outside for 15 minutes but drives off without calling again OR EVEN SO MUCH AS RINGING THE DOORBELL. You would think ringing the would be standard behaviour, but not this guy. We can see him on CCTV walking down the driveway at 07:00am on the dot, taking a picture of the house but still does not ring the doorbell and does not try calling again. Lazy, unprofessional and disgraceful behaviour and not the service I expect from an AO representative. We called him back several times without answer and by the time he did, refuses to return to property as he has already logged failure to deliver with customer services Furthermore, I am unable to call the service number left by AO as lines are closed at this time of the morning. David
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
ao.com is rated 4.3 based on 4,130 reviews