Auto Europe Reviews

1.15 Rating 97 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Auto Europe
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Auto Europe Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 358 1229

Location:

39 Commercial St., Portland United States

Write Your review

Tell us how Auto Europe made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I will not use this company again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Stay well clear
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not use this company. They will stitch you up with con artists like Green Motion. Avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not use this company, its a pure scam. You book a car upfront turn up the next day and there is no car available! They then refuse to refund your money. I have reported to bank and ombudsman. Stay clear!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worst service ever! I paid for whole week. Came to collect car few hours later and car was gone. They told me that I also lost my money. What a scum!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Called me night before my travel to tell me the car I booked isn’t available and that they’ve sourced another one at triple the cost £1400. Charged me not refunded me.Staff really unprofessional. Cowboys
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID,AVOID,AVOID!!!! The quote they gave doesn't reflect any hidden charges when you go to pick up your vehicle. Virtually no chance of a refund unless it's 48hrs before(which is no use when you're about to pick up the car and find a host of hidden charges that are going to cost a small fortune).
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Comprei um seguro adicional de proteção a franquia., para a minha surpresa a funcionária do balcão me explica que esse Seguro não é válido aqui na EUROPCAR. HELLOOOOO!???? DON'T trust this company (AUTO&EUROPE) IS A FRAUDULENT POLICY
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Scam! Booked and paid for a car which was never delivered. There was no car available at the pickup point, nor was there any reservation known. Auto Europe customer service didn't help and left me in the cold. Negotiated that I could hire a new car myself (not easy in Xmas season) and charge the price difference. When I claimed this price difference, they never responded. Now 3 emails reminders and 4 calls to customer service further, still no answer. Don't hire with them!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID Auto Europe at all costs. Booked a car from Enterprise in Marseilles airport through Auto Europe. When we turned up the woman working at Enterprise simply said that there were no cars remaining. No explanation given. So we had to book another car, at great cost through another car hire company. On speaking to Auto Europe about this they reassured us that a full refund and compensation for the new booking would be made to the paying account. Four months later, ten phone calls and endless emails... still no refund. They are blaming Enterprise but as the brokers, and the ones who took our money, it is up to them to return it to us. Their 1.1 star rating speaks for itself however just in case: NEVER EVER USE AUTO EUROPE.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE - as a loyal customer for many years and having booked a lot of car hires through Auto Europe all over the world, I carelessly left my credit card behind yesterday. On arriving in Amsterdam, I was told my car hire was cancelled as I couldn't provide a credit card; obviously I had debit cards but they weren't good enough. The customer service was shocking and I lost a few hundred £s through their inability to provide decent customer service. Be safe and go elsewhere guys and girls
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I used this company through a comparison website which led me to the wonderful company called Green Motion. The biggest mistake I've ever made. Don't be fooled by Thier competitive prices, they get the rest of the money out of you by insisting on extra insurance. Then they will get you with the fake damage charges. Check out the reviews on these guys, it's shocking. Unfortunately I didn't do my homework and used them. Auto Europe, you should be ashamed of yourselves being associated with scam artist like this. And you should be ashamed for repeatedly sending people their way. I've never had any issues with hire vehicles before so wasn't too suspicious when I hired from Green Motion. I didn't think I would have to inspect every mm of the car to protect myself. Absolute shocking company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been using service from auto Europe from the very first time in 2014 when we rented a car on Fuetaventura for 5 and a half years. But last time my experience was completely spoiled by the requirements to provide a credit card to block some amount as usual and when I said that I never had one and usually used my debit card I have been told that it doesn't work that way anymore. I called to support in Auto Europe and explained the situation and I was told that they can't do anything about that and that I'm going to loose all money which I have already prepaid. When I tried to explain that previously I never had any problems I've been told to better read t&c. I said that this is emergency and I can't afford myself to loose 200 EUR and maybe there is some way to make one off exception for long time customer - the answer was that I should deal with my problems myself and this is not Auto Europe fault (what I totally accept). On my comment that they going to loose a customer forever they didn't reply anything. Sorry Auto Europe I will never going to use your service again. Ready to pay more, but to be normally treated. So long.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Simply Avoid!!!!!!!!! Simply Avoid, they rob you in style. they are a trap.. Hidden charges, extra charges, and you WILL NOT get your money back. They are also using agents the brokers like MoneySuperMarket and you think its a great deal they take the money and when you arrive to pick your booked vehicle they ask you for 1500 euros or extra charges per day.. or say goodbye to your money that you paid, they will then say, you should have read our term and conditions... which was not even given or provided at the time of booking... Pay an honest provider a bit more and you know there ar eno hidden and traps on the way!!! AVOID THEY HAVE NO ETHICS NO MORALS
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I booked a car through internet, pickup Brindisi airport, rental company "Sicily by car". The rental company refused to provide me with a car due to the fact I had a debit card and but a credit card. I actually have a "World Elite Mastercard", which indeed is a debit card. Of course the requirement for a debit card was written in the tiny lines of the contract. Of course they would not reimburse the amount of the one week rental I already paid. I sent Auto Europe a refund request, they just sent me back a chapter of the contract mentioning the requirement for a debit card. Here is a triple issue: 1° If debit cards are not accepted -which they are entitled to decide- why do they accept advance payment with a debit card? 2° Why don't they reimburse for a service that has not been provided? 3° Why don't they clearly warn customers about this potential issue while reservation is been made? This is called cookery I think. Not talking about Sicily by Car that has been totally helpless, as opposed to the next door agency at the airport that provided me with a car at the same price and which generously accepted my World Elite Mastercard payment.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hired a car , arrived to find no car as mine had been given away to someone else. I had informed them I was going to be late, but did not matter had to hire another car. AVOID. If you research online you will see others had same treatment, check out review in Guardian.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We made a booking for Enterprise for Catania airport on 20th Oct but on arriving there found that the queue was for over three hours. As we had to pick up children from a tour we had no other option but to book with another hire company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had to pay £105 for what I had already booked and paid for. Just of the plane middle of the night I was conned
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My experience was terrible. I booked a car online and paid. When I went to collect the car I was told that I needed a credit card. I hadn't been aware of this as I've never rented a car before. I believe that this should be made clear at the time of payment in red/bold print! As a consequence I was stranded - without no transport. I had to wait hours for a bus at the airport that, in turn, took hours to get me to my destination. And so, completely ruining my arrangements and trip! Customer service were very uncaring - I should have read the terms and conditions was all they said. The credit card is referred to here, but in very small print and easily missed, especially if you are in a rush booking. I'll never use auto Europe again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The price of our hire car trebbled on arrival due to the insistence that we take our their 'super insurance' because they would not accept American express, or cash, or visa debit for the security deposit. After a very frustrating exchange i was referred to (i kid you not!) page 6 of the contractual small print, stating that a visa or mastercard credit card in the name of the main driver would be required on collection. Complete dismissal from the staff 'well sir, it's all there in your contract. You should have read it in a bit more detail...' hopefully the generation of the google review will kill off companies like this. Desperately frustrating. Felt like if it hadnt been this there would have been some other sham too....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Auto Europe is rated 1.15 based on 97 reviews