Auto Europe Reviews

1.1 Rating 104 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Auto Europe
1.1
Based on 104 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Auto Europe Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 358 1229

Location:

39 Commercial St., Portland United States
04101

Write Your review

Tell us how Auto Europe made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Auto Europe 1 star review on 12th September 2020
Ale
Auto Europe 1 star review on 12th September 2020
Ale
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Auto Europe it is a joke, will give you a voucher and take your money, that all. No help no support. Arrived in Amsterdam from Seattle and my flight from Amsterdam to Krakow is conceal. Likely got on the next flight and arrived 4 hrs. later than schedule in Krakow. Have a voucher for car from Alamo rent a car. No car, no support and no MONEY !!!! Called Auto Europe and service rap. can't help!!!! No money, no car no help!!!!!!!! Daylight robbery, my phone doesn't work in Amsterdam !!!!!!!!! you idiats. Please stay away from this people, Auto Europe, Alamo, Enterprise. Just go directly to car rental company and make your reservation. You get a voucher and think you saved some money????? No, they will get you one or the other way. Z. Frank Bednarski
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The whole procedure of receiving the car was very inadequate. The assistant tried to upgrade me and charge me 100GBP more. I was not given help to show me around the car and not given a paper to sign to say that I would accept any damage that was already on the car. I discovered the car had a slow puncture at my first of three destinations. When I phoned to the Europcar number to report the slow puncture I was cut off. I was on my way to a wedding. This caused me to get local help. I was late for the wedding. During the rest of the week , I was helped to fill the tyre with air at alocal petrol station. I was forced to pump up the tyre at regular intervals throughout my holiday. As I left the car to Manchester Europcar Returns early in the morning 5am . THere was no one available to go to to let them know about this malfunction. I am writing to you to try to contact them so that they dont allow this car to be hired to another unsuspecting person. The car´s registration is DP70XDT Opal Crosslander Thanking you kindly Caroline Ashcroft
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
SCAMMERS!!! CHEATERS!!! WORST EXPERIENCE! Stay away from this company! They are cheaters! I booked a car with them attracted by their rate. Only to realized that they don't actually book the car, it's rather just a quotation for which they actually charged me the full amount on the spot. This has been pending for confirmation for 3 days during which time I've been following up and trying to understand what's going on, only to be faced with very rude and unprofessional treatment from their customer service. I've also reached their local partner, the actual car rental company and they verbally confirmed there is indeed a car booked in my name, but they cannot formally issue a booking voucher, since it's booked through Auto Europe, a third party. However, later on I get an email from Auto Europe stating that the car I booked is not available and I have to upgrade to another car which is 50% more expensive than the car I initially booked and got charged for. This is obviously unethical behaviour and they're just trying to rip me off and squeeze more money out of their customers. When I was booking the car, there was never a mention that it's just a quotation not an actual booking. If I knew the car is not instantly booked I wouldn't have dealt with such company in the first place. And if it's just a quotation why are you charging the customers the full amount before you even confirm the car is available?? Stay away from such cheaters at all costs!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Awful customer service and scamming methods.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
It's not that Auto Europe is a scam (I think), it's that they're a complete rip off with terrible customer service. First, they're not a car rental agency, they're a broker, meaning they just connect you with Hertz, Dollar, etc. Please save yourself the trouble and just go direct. I rented a car for a two week road trip in Italy through them and had problems immediately. When I arrived at the Hertz location in Florence, the Hertz employees were unable to process the voucher that I had purchased from Auto Europe because the voucher was missing some information. I was told I would have to put a hold on my credit card for the rental while Hertz and Auto Europe figured out what went wrong with the voucher. Fast forward 2 weeks and they did not figure out the issue so I had to pay for the rental out of my own pocket. This is after I already paid Auto Europe for the voucher. When I looked at the bill, I was shocked to see that the total cost of the car rental was $900. I was shocked because I had paid Auto Europe over $2,000 for the voucher that was supposed to cover the rental. So, car rental cost = $900, Auto Europe voucher cost = $2000, and I paid for both out pocket. I've been requesting a refund from Auto Europe for TWO MONTHS and have been shouted at by their customer service representatives for having the audacity to request a refund. I'm being told that Hertz has to issue the refund and there's nothing Auto Europe can do. If you're into useless middlemen with terrible customer service inflating the cost of your vacation, Auto Europe is the company for you.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
It is in very small print on page 3 but be very aware of the clause if you are delayed by over 2 hours collecting your vehicke...your booking is cancelled and your car is rented to someone else... apparently......it is not on the rental document...it is not in the smooth transition section........this happened to us...after a very long email we did get a full refund but the out of hours contact numbers did not work..we had to rent from elsewhere along with 4 other people in the queue ahead of us who all went to the rental company next door at preveza Aktion airport we were 2.5 hours late..... and I don't think it was physically possible for the company (green motion)to have rented all 4 cars out in that time to others in that time .......we were offered a replacement but for twice the price......be careful....the process has been in place for sometime.....if you Google "autoeurope 2 hour rule" there was an article in the observer newspaper from 2017.....we quoted this and copied in the CEO to the complaint....and luckily a full refund was agreed but sitting in a carpark at a foreign airport with small children crying is not an ideal situation to start a holiday
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I booked a car from Autoeurope through Europcar's website in the UK (who are the brokers and who are actual hirers can be difficult to work out), prior to our week long holiday to Sicily. After spending time researching prices, insurance information and reviews, I paid £70 -£80 extra for the recommended full cover insurance to avoid potential issues. I read the extra detailed information for this add on and I was confident everything was fine. The total hire was around 100 more expensive than the cheapest available but I felt better having the peace of mind. On picking up the keys from Autoeurope at Palermo Airport I received a VERY aggressive sales push from the Autoeurope rep. He virtually demanded that I buy the extra top up insurance from him. He told me that the insurance i had bought through Europcar's website was the broker's insurance and didn't mean anything and was worthless stating that any scratches more than 20mm would be charged for and could work out very expensive for me. Sicily's roads in towns can be very narrow and driving is very difficult be stressed. I held my ground and refused which seemed to annoy him. We arrived quite late at night and were tired after our long journey. On inspecting our hire Fiat 500 we were amazed and disappointed to see there were dents and scratches everywhere! The car was so dented and marked it would be difficult to find a door, wing or bumper without a mark. I videoed the entire exterior of the car in case we had any problems when we returned it. The car was great inside though it hadn't been cleaned! It performed flawlessly during our stay and I really enjoyed driving it! I usually drive a much larger automatic car but this small manual car was fun to drive! However the insurance threat was always in the back of my mind throughout the holiday. Returning the car was easy and the gentleman who booked the car in on my return couldn't have been friendlier and made the process very easy. 5 stars to this gentleman and 1 star or actually zero to the guy in the desk who tried to force extra insurance on me and made me worry about this during our holiday!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Don´t book with them they are scammers. I made a reservation with Autoeurope when I arrived to the pick up location in porto airport the car supplier Sixt refused to accept the card I used for payment that autoeurope used to steal my hard earned money for a vehicle reservation that was never provided to us when we arrived to the pick up location. Since then I rang multiple times autoeurope and sixt and neither of them took responsibility for what happened. Just the kind of hassle my self and my family needed after I lost my daughter recently
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Don´t book with them they are scammers. I made a reservation with Autoeurope when I arrived to the pick up location in porto airport the car supplier Sixt refused to accept the card I used for payment that autoeurope used to steal my hard earned money for a vehicle reservation that was never provided to us when we arrived to the pick up location. Since then I rang multiple times autoeurope and sixt and neither of them took responsibility for what happened. Just the kind of hassle my self and my family needed after I lost my daughter recently
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
If you make a booking to rent one or more cars for let's say 30 days and you would be one day delayed or 4 hours, (doesn't matter) you would NOT be able to pick up that or those car for the whole duration of your stay AND you would not get a refund. So if you pre-paid $6000 to rent a car for a month or two cars for a 2 couple vacation and show up a few hours late, their fine print and what happened to us is that you would just have to eat up that cost, and rent another car for $6000 more 12K in total, experience terrible service and care from their customer care and they won't give you the car a day late, as it was "automatically canceled" and "no refunds can be issued" I tried to call and re-call and spoke in total to 4 different people and no one helped and they were at times extremely rude on the phone and we just had to pay, this company is just a big scam who hire people to make money for the business. They are Super polite when you want to RENT but if something goes wrong, you are screwed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Total rip off. Had to cancel 1 hour into 48 cancellation period due to receiving positive Covid test. After much haggling was agreed my money would be returned minus £200 as ‘goodwill’. Still waiting over 6 weeks later and getting the complete run around. Avoid and book direct with car hire company itself.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They stole my money. I complained that they overcharged my credit card, the guy at the Dallas, TX office said they’ll review and refund me per company policy on 8 weeks, here we are it is 16 weeks later and no replies, phone calls, emails or refund. Pure scam and they stink.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This firm are a disgrace! I work for NHS and have supported vulnerable adults through the pandemic without a day sick and have worked many extra hours. I took today off as annual leave to attend a funeral and booked a car to complete the 300 mile round trip. Yesterday I was told by Track and Trace to self isolate. I informed them within 30 minutes of finding out. They will not refund a penny. How many thousands of pounds have they been given in support of tax payers money? They don't care a fig about helping me. Don't go near them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Impossible to get a refund from them even if the car is not available. Customer service gives stock answers and are not interested in details of what occurred -
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Completly useless ! Paid for a car at the airport, no car, no service, no answer on the phone number and no support from the emails either!!! Avoid avoid AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Would give this company zero stars if I could. I booked with Dollar who stated clearly that I was able to use my debit card on purchasing- this was my main reasoning for using this company. I arrived on my holiday and had no indication why my deposit payment wasn't able to be processed... The machine said card declined when it came to paying my deposit at the airport desk. When I rang my bank, there was no indication that the transaction was even being attempted to be made, implying that the problem was with the company and not my bank. I spoke to Auto Europe directly on two occasions and in both instances was met with rude and condescending remarks regarding the possibility of a refund. The only alternative suggested was that my girlfriend be put on the booking which would cost an extra £300.00. Very in touch with the customer's financial standing during a global pandemic... Sent about 5 emails to the customer relations department before I got a reply. Had to send another 5 before I got another reply (exactly the same as the first- stock answer with no real substance or reasoning as to why Auto Europe would let me place an order with my debit card which I would not then be able to use upon arrival. SCAM
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I ordered a car via Auto Europe which was then cancelled by the rental supplier, Hertz and that was agreed with me over the phone. However, Auto Europe still charged me for the car I never received!! I had multiple emails back and forth with customer services to obtain a refund but they stubbornly refused on the basis that Hertz never informed them that the rental was cancelled, even though I asked Hertz to confirm that I would be refunded. When I left a review on another website I got a patronising reply that I should contact customer services even though their team were steadfast that they wouldn't refund and didn't care that I would leave a negative review of my horrendous experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hired a car through Auto-europe, which was booked at Europcar at bologna airport. When I arrived The Europcar office was closed. The sign on the wall stated it closed at 7pm. I only booked through Auto-europ because they stated it was open until 8pm, and I arrived at the airport before 7.30pm. I was unable to contact Auto-europe. The line kept getting cut off after being on hold for ages. Europcars customer service couldn't either. I had to get a last minute car at the airport through another vendor, at great additional expense, luckily they had car big enough for my group of 4 and luggage. It cost more than the original hire. When I finally managed to get through to a customer service rep the following day, he laid all the blame on Europcar and refused to apologise, or even find out if I managed to get myself sorted. He also was unable to process a refund until the hire purchase had ended. He kept telling me to get a refund through Europcar, rather than Auto-europe as well, even though my agreement was with Auto-europe. It is their responsibility to ensure what they sell me is correct. Really poor customer service. Really poor out of hours help. Do not book with them if you want to risk the chance of being stranded at an airport late at night. Getting a cab was not feasible as we were headed 100km away from the airport to reach our airbnb.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolute worthless broker, if you you fail to pickup your car within two hours from the agreed time they steal your money and they care less. not even if you wait in the hot sun with a baby. Absolute scum! You are warned!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Booked a car 24 hours before collection, I wasn't sure about some of the terms on credit cards so I wanted to know I could cancel if needed. The booking part of the site said "free cancellation" . The terms I wanted to check were that the hertz website said a debit card was ok, but their terms said it wasn't- I still had a credit card in my maiden name, so I wanted to check it would be ok. Received no help from either Hertz or autoeurope, the latter gave me a number which was just for hertz accident reportibg. Other than that really unhelpful. I tried to cancel, believing I could, but I was informed that I had to cancel 48 hours before. Impossible when you book 24 hours before. Not made clear- where it says "free cancellation" there was no * or "before 48 hours" it's hidden in their terms. I ended up with no car and still charged the WHOLE AMOUNT! Disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Auto Europe is rated 1.1 based on 104 reviews