Auto Europe Reviews

1.16 Rating 93 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Auto Europe
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Auto Europe Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 358 1229

Location:

39 Commercial St., Portland United States

Write Your review

Tell us how Auto Europe made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
They stole my money. I complained that they overcharged my credit card, the guy at the Dallas, TX office said they’ll review and refund me per company policy on 8 weeks, here we are it is 16 weeks later and no replies, phone calls, emails or refund. Pure scam and they stink.
Posted 1 week ago
This firm are a disgrace! I work for NHS and have supported vulnerable adults through the pandemic without a day sick and have worked many extra hours. I took today off as annual leave to attend a funeral and booked a car to complete the 300 mile round trip. Yesterday I was told by Track and Trace to self isolate. I informed them within 30 minutes of finding out. They will not refund a penny. How many thousands of pounds have they been given in support of tax payers money? They don't care a fig about helping me. Don't go near them.
Posted 2 weeks ago
I will be very honest: I have been renting cars with Auto Europe out of Madrid, for years in a row, and have never had any problems. I am really surprised with the bad reviews.
Posted 3 months ago
Impossible to get a refund from them even if the car is not available. Customer service gives stock answers and are not interested in details of what occurred -
Posted 8 months ago
Completly useless ! Paid for a car at the airport, no car, no service, no answer on the phone number and no support from the emails either!!! Avoid avoid AVOID
Posted 9 months ago
Would give this company zero stars if I could. I booked with Dollar who stated clearly that I was able to use my debit card on purchasing- this was my main reasoning for using this company. I arrived on my holiday and had no indication why my deposit payment wasn't able to be processed... The machine said card declined when it came to paying my deposit at the airport desk. When I rang my bank, there was no indication that the transaction was even being attempted to be made, implying that the problem was with the company and not my bank. I spoke to Auto Europe directly on two occasions and in both instances was met with rude and condescending remarks regarding the possibility of a refund. The only alternative suggested was that my girlfriend be put on the booking which would cost an extra £300.00. Very in touch with the customer's financial standing during a global pandemic... Sent about 5 emails to the customer relations department before I got a reply. Had to send another 5 before I got another reply (exactly the same as the first- stock answer with no real substance or reasoning as to why Auto Europe would let me place an order with my debit card which I would not then be able to use upon arrival. SCAM
Posted 9 months ago
I ordered a car via Auto Europe which was then cancelled by the rental supplier, Hertz and that was agreed with me over the phone. However, Auto Europe still charged me for the car I never received!! I had multiple emails back and forth with customer services to obtain a refund but they stubbornly refused on the basis that Hertz never informed them that the rental was cancelled, even though I asked Hertz to confirm that I would be refunded. When I left a review on another website I got a patronising reply that I should contact customer services even though their team were steadfast that they wouldn't refund and didn't care that I would leave a negative review of my horrendous experience.
Posted 9 months ago
Hired a car through Auto-europe, which was booked at Europcar at bologna airport. When I arrived The Europcar office was closed. The sign on the wall stated it closed at 7pm. I only booked through Auto-europ because they stated it was open until 8pm, and I arrived at the airport before 7.30pm. I was unable to contact Auto-europe. The line kept getting cut off after being on hold for ages. Europcars customer service couldn't either. I had to get a last minute car at the airport through another vendor, at great additional expense, luckily they had car big enough for my group of 4 and luggage. It cost more than the original hire. When I finally managed to get through to a customer service rep the following day, he laid all the blame on Europcar and refused to apologise, or even find out if I managed to get myself sorted. He also was unable to process a refund until the hire purchase had ended. He kept telling me to get a refund through Europcar, rather than Auto-europe as well, even though my agreement was with Auto-europe. It is their responsibility to ensure what they sell me is correct. Really poor customer service. Really poor out of hours help. Do not book with them if you want to risk the chance of being stranded at an airport late at night. Getting a cab was not feasible as we were headed 100km away from the airport to reach our airbnb.
Posted 10 months ago
Absolute worthless broker, if you you fail to pickup your car within two hours from the agreed time they steal your money and they care less. not even if you wait in the hot sun with a baby. Absolute scum! You are warned!!
Posted 10 months ago
Booked a car 24 hours before collection, I wasn't sure about some of the terms on credit cards so I wanted to know I could cancel if needed. The booking part of the site said "free cancellation" . The terms I wanted to check were that the hertz website said a debit card was ok, but their terms said it wasn't- I still had a credit card in my maiden name, so I wanted to check it would be ok. Received no help from either Hertz or autoeurope, the latter gave me a number which was just for hertz accident reportibg. Other than that really unhelpful. I tried to cancel, believing I could, but I was informed that I had to cancel 48 hours before. Impossible when you book 24 hours before. Not made clear- where it says "free cancellation" there was no * or "before 48 hours" it's hidden in their terms. I ended up with no car and still charged the WHOLE AMOUNT! Disgusting.
Posted 10 months ago
This company is a fraud ! You book online through their website and they let you buy an insurance with no excesses, which is quite pricey. Once booked and you arrive at the terminal to get your car the agency tells you nothing is covered except for the body and even in that case vandalisms or another other cause that is not an accident with a clear guilty is exempted. You are then forced to pay 30 euro / day more which is doubling your rent. They say in the contract it's mentioned and the funny thing is that it says everything is included and then the opposite in a very little clause available only if you download a PDF of 14 pages. When you call them before booking obviously they don't answer and they give you no help afterwards. I am planning to open a procedure against them for lack of transparency towards the cunsumers. I highly discourage to go through them for your reservation
Posted 10 months ago
Very poor customer service in this difficult time. I have lost £150 for a car-hire that I was unable to take during the COVID lockdown. I have contacted the customer support numerous times and they simply point me to their T&Cs stating they can do nothing about it. Given that my travel has been rearranged for 1 year later, I was actually after a credit note to use again for the following year as has been arranged with many other travel oriented businesses, but alas this seems to be too much like customer service for Auto-Europe. Suffice to say that although I have found them to be good in the past, I have now lost so much money that their competitive rates are no longer attractive. Beware!
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking , Uncaring Shocking uncaring way to treat a long time loyal customer ! I rent for nearly 3 months every year in the Winter. This car developed a fault but they had no cars to replace it at Budget in Florida. I was without a car for 3 weeks, other customers arriving at the desk with prepaid vouchers also got no cars. No refund, no help. Next contract was shortened by 9 days due to Covid 19 and government forcing return flight home. Eventually Budget refunded $100 (£80) but I'm out of pocket by £495 for 30 days in total with no car. Weeks of hassle with phone calls and emails for it !! Avoid Budget and AutoEurope! vouchers UK5053455-1 and 5053432-1
Posted 1 year ago
Poor customer service, they sold me a service they shouldn't have done. i'm french living in DK and they offered me price for a non DK resident while I entered my home address in DK. When I came to counter agent, he said the contract of Autocrapeurope can't be used, and on top of that, they won't refund my purchase, so I paid for something I never get
Posted 1 year ago
We reached out to Auto Europe customer service because COVID-19 caused us to change our plans, and the agent was able to help us make the change requested without any delay.
Posted 1 year ago
This company are quick to offer cheap prices but BEWARE there are alway hidden costs that you miss. The combination of Auto Europe and Budget car hire should be avoided at all costs. You will regret it!!
Posted 1 year ago
Just had £240 taken from my account from firefly, thinking that auto Europe insurance would have covered the hire car insurance. Be very careful at the car hire desk in Alicante, they hide hidden costs until your back in the UK, then tell you, you should of read the hire agreement, when they speak to you in broken English at the desk your lost. Never hire a car of them again ,just going to use taxi's and busses. Beware of auto Europe and Firefly.
Posted 1 year ago
Advertise as not needing a credit card to collect then stuff you on additional insurance because you don’t have a credit card. £206.00 turned into £521.00. Then refuse a refund when you can’t afford the extra. Money saving exercise turned into a massive costly mistake.
Posted 1 year ago
I will not use this company again
Posted 1 year ago
Hired a car using this AUTOEUROPE, we booked a car with Interrent,(GOLD CAR!!!),had problems with getting our money back,extra charges etc ) SEE REVEIWS for INTERRENT. autoeurope did try to sort out our problem( without success).....with the reviews that INTERRENT get,...Autoeurope know how bad they are, and by using them ,are as bad as they are. I will not use this company again!
Posted 1 year ago
Auto Europe is rated 1.16 based on 93 reviews