BOATsmart! Reviews

4.4 Rating 8,058 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
4.4
Based on 8,058 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.6 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Well presented course. Some conflicting information (e.g. swim 50 or 100 meters to shore). Feel more.prepared anyway.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Okay course. Some videos seemed out of order or repeated. Would have been better to combine so many short videos into fewer long ones. No clue why videos start over at the end rather than prompt to go to the next one. Also, why is the timing of each page independent of the length of the video, strange and annoying. Lastly, no feedback on quiz and exam questions that we get wrong. This would be helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My only issue with the course is that the required time you have to stay on each page is way too long. I understand the thought of it but as someone who reads fast all it did was make me distracted as I waited for the timer to count down and I was unengaged and I ended up retaining less than I woudlve had I been able to go at my own pace. I understand the point is to make sure we are reading it but I woudlnt be paying 50$ if I wasn’t going to engage in it, and you could lower the time to something more reasonable. All in all good content just annoying presentation
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Christina - thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We definitely understand that the course timers can be frustrating, but they are mandated by Transport Canada and NASBLA because the testing is online and unsupervised. The course timers are a requirement for all course providers. Glad you stuck with it and safe boating!
Posted 2 years ago
There definitely was material covered that I learned from. However, I thought it is imperative to know which questions were answered incorrectly. Just having a percentage without knowing where you erred could prove disastrous in a real life situation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Cynthia - thanks for the feedback. Since there are a finite number of test questions and the test is open book and unsupervised - Transport Canada and NASBLA regulate that the answers not be shown. This is one of the check and balances put into place to maintain the integrity of online testing. As boaters too, we understand the feedback and are working with regulators to try and improve the process within the confines of online testing. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 2 years ago
For quiz & test questions, it would be helpful to display incorrect answers, with the correct answer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Though I can say the BOATsmart course is better than 90% of what's out there, that doesn't mean it's particularly exceptional. Some of the course modules seemed illogically arranged, with complimentary fields of learning being separated across multiple learning blocks. It also had the somewhat disorienting habit of passively mentioning a technique or piece of knowledge that hadn't yet been mentioned. Some 'slides' felt like they had very little info and then others would be extremely dense with content. It seems as though they probably created the system less as a functional learning tool, and more of a general repository for the information you need to know. While I do appreciate the effort and elements of the execution (bonus points on the dashboard UI), what ultimately matters is the educational content and the core content of that seems to fall behind some of the flashier elements. Also when it comes to the actual boater exam, aside from also being an ABCD multiple choice like BOATsmart, the syntax and question structure of the questions are different between the two...I can imaging that for some people this would prove very frustrating and confusing. It's a step in the right direction, with a lot more steps to go.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Considering I have previous experience with boats and have taken several boating courses with the military I feel that I should have been allowed to attempt the test before I was forced to click very, very slowly through the modules. But if a person could challenge the test without the course then that person would have to achieve a higher mark. maybe 90%. Then if failed they would have to go through the course. Instead I had to waste 3 hours looking over material I already knew. The course was a giant waste of my time but I feel I should have been given the opportunity to take the test first if I so desired.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Simple to follow and covers the basics. Suggest adding an option to allow users to review answers (specifically those with wrong answers) after quizzes.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I wish they told you what you got wrong on the practice quizzes- you can’t learn from your mistakes if you don’t know what they are!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The timer in the bottom was not the best. Sometimes it would finish way before the recording was done and sometimes I would have to wait more than a minute after the recording was done.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
way too long. I can read faster than time given. took me six hours to complete.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
i had an exam question that did not make sense. It asked about equipment to be used with a person overboard, but the answers did not pertain to equipment.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
It took an incredibly long amount of time that seemed a little unnecessary but other than that it was ok
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
It was good, just the time on the slides was a pain, I spent just over three hours doing this course and half of that time was waiting for the time to expire so I could move on
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
It had all the info to pass the test but took forever to get through. Consider editing the common sense content.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Though I’m sure this is good for safety, I did not have a good or fun time. Thank goodness I only have to do this once it took years off of my life
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
its actually an amazingly detailed course but none of the videos worked when i was using it
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Print was hard to read. Could not review wrong answers on quizzes
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Content was great but having to wait for a predetermined time between slides added hours to the process should be able to learn at your own pace.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
No possibility to skip info I already knew
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.4 based on 8,058 reviews