Ebay Reviews

3.2 Rating 3,783 Reviews
57 %
of reviewers recommend Ebay
3.2
Based on 3,783 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 37%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 64%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better

Write Your review

Tell us how Ebay made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ebay 1 star review on 26th May 2022
Francoise Blanchard
Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022
Michael A Barattini
Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022
Michael A Barattini
Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022
Michael A Barattini
Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022
Michael A Barattini
Ebay 1 star review on 2nd May 2022
Anonymous
Ebay 1 star review on 21st March 2022
Anonymous
79
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
EBay permanently close my 15 year old account with 1866 purchase because I returned some items that was counterfeit. One seller claimed it was real when I had reasonable proof it was fake and made an appeal and eBay took his side. They said I was taking advantage of the return policy as I returned an item that was stated “not as describe” which seller claims it was “as describe”. First of all, I have a authentication certificate from Legit Grails that state the item is FAKE. Second, EBay prohibite counterfeit items and they took blindly the sellers side without even looking at my proof of counterfeit. I purchased Chanel purses for around 1000$ to 4000$ and I’ve received 4 times counterfeit WITH proof of authentication of counterfeit. I called maybe 10 times and no one resolved anything and each tell me a different story. With the amount of items I purchased in 15 years, I can't believe Ebay terminated their relationship with me because I did return BROKEN, COUNTERFEIT OR NEVER RECEIVED items and see my business none profitable when its totally their responsibility through the Money back guarantee program to make sure the item is as describe and properly received and not close a 15 years account because they screwed up and sold bad items.
Ebay 1 star review on 26th May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
absolute joke of a company in terms of customer service, they sided with a buyer regarding a sold Samsung s21 put my account into £570 in debit. slowly been managing to pay this off with my sales but now they have restricted my account cause there is £300 left to pay got told by an agent on Tuesday that her manager agreed to lift the restriction and allow me to pay using my sales then the ban me 2 days later for non payment of the debt?!? then when I call up I get told to pay them to sell but explaining what the agreement was on Tuesday they basically just told me that agent lied to you like its no big deal
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Crook’s sold something on eBay for 104 pounds and the took 14 pounds off the total amount because a new way to pay through your bank, no pay pal. Scums scums,
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Account suspended for 1st attempt at selling.Tried to sell a private number plate With DVLA and online proof of ownership Sold to Dealer for Almost twice the price I was looking for on E BAY with no commission Avoid these clowns
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
eBay is awful for sellers. No such thing as seller protection.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
eBay is a crook they close my 15-year plus seller account because I got hacked I opened a new account per them through them by them to continue selling my first sale they've held my money for over a week and a half now saying I'm a new seller what kind of idiots is this. People sell their items cuz they need money you have no right to hang on to my money it has been proven the item was delivered it is proven by the positive feedback that the guy is happy and it's been over a week and a half since it was paid for and delivered 4 days later. All confirmed by tracking and the customer by leaving positive feedback so what is wrong eBay give me my money
Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022 Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022 Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022 Ebay 1 star review on 11th May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I have been using eBay for probably 6 months. I sold a few items and also purchased a few. I got great reviews, but ny account was been suspended twice. They can't offer my a valid reason for why this is, I would not recommend using them as you would also have the risk of just getting suspended for no reason. Rather use Facebook Marketplace.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Most eBay sellers are quick to dispatch my items and don't just take my money but there's always going to be scammers in eBay who just take your money then accuse you of not paying for it even of you have proof you paid for it and i had to contact eBay and my bank to get a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Customer service to die for, money back guarantee means the customer is always right.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Buyer biased marketplace. Full of aggressive scammers. Ebay will hold ur funds constantly and will run your business and ur mental health into the ground. Seller support is 0. U have to fight for ur funds on a weekly basis even if ur a top rated seller with a 0 defect rate. After 20 years i quit. Ebay are criminal
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Don't use Ebay's shipping service - scam!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I've been an Ebay seller for over 20 years, and today I closed my account. The reason? Horrible communication - a buyer recently requested a refund on an iPhone 12 Pro Max I sold them, Ebay made it a strong suggestion that I refund the buyers money. Which I did. They even forced me to buy a return shipping label, as part of the return process. But the buyer never returned the iPhone, and when I contacted Ebay, I was told that I had to work that out with the Buyer myself. Ebay took the money out of my account, sent the buyer a pre-paid, by me, return shipping label, but they weren't interested in helping when said buyer didn't hold up their end of the agreement. That's not a place to be a seller. I recommend any of the many other platforms you could use - where you won't be charged huge fees to be ignored.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Ebay is a great place for a buyer, even a better place for a buyer to take advantage of a seller and even get help from ebay doing it! Sold an item, the buyer reached out to ebay and claimed it was damaged in shipping. NOT TO ME, so ebay refunded all of the money before the item was even returned. So I lost the item and lost my money! WHAT A GREAT DEAL FOR A BUYER! EBAY DOES NOT SUPPORT A SELLER! THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME ebay sided and even helped the buyer rip me off. SELLER BEWARE!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I have been with EBay since it started, a very long time ago! The search function is near useless and even when you specify to only look in one country/location it will always default to China. To top it off, even when you find an item supposedly located in the county/location of choice, by looking at the location of the company, i.e. where it will be shipped from, it is still China. Next, the tracking system is run by a 3 year old. Only on one item out of 10 does it actually work. Most sellers just put random numbers or a non-trackable label number in the system. I have 7 items on purchase at this time. 4 are with UK Royal Mail, 2 are with Yodel and the last with something I knew was coming from China and has their tracking. All of the Royal Mail items have no updates, even up the the da of their arrival and when you take the shipping/tracking number to the Royal Mail tracking site, it will tell you that this item can't be updated until it is delivered. That is not package tracking! For Yodel, they show it is enroute to the carrier, which it will show until is delivered. This is not tracking either. Sadly the only one that is acting as a tracking number is the one on the slow boat from China. Sadly EBay has the world by the short hairs and they know it. They don't care and have sold out to the Country that sells the most products. i don't know if the company has been quietly bought out by the Chinese but they sure run the show now.
Ebay 1 star review on 2nd May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
My account has been suspended for reasons that are unclear. I have decided to start selling my extensive comic collection. I wanted to upload one comic book to see how the site works. The site is terrible and not user friendly at all. Once the comic was uploaded - a day or two later it was suspended. When asked why the response I received... We've checked your account and can see it was suspended due to concerns about its safe use. We want to keep eBay a safe and enjoyable place to buy and sell.. We may suspend an account if we have cause for concern, and/or if we're unable to verify any information you've provided to us. Please bear in mind that as your account is suspended, you won't be able to buy or sell on eBay or register a new account. You'll still have to pay any fees you owe to eBay. I understand if your want a detailed response with regards to the suspension of your account. I am afraid we cannot be more specific of the exact reasons for this suspension and I hope you understand that we are limited to the amount of information that we can give members when their accounts are restricted. By revealing further information we could help member’s intent on circumventing our policies to avoid detection. You'll find more detail on this under the 'Abusing eBay' heading of the eBay User Agreement which you can find here http://pages.ebay.co.uk/help/policies/user-agreement.html. For your account there is no appeal for this decision. Although we will read any future appeals you send, we may not respond to your inquiries regarding this restriction. To conclude: I have taken their advice and will find another venue. Trying to close my account and it says that I can't because my account is on suspend. At the same time I am told I cannot appeal the decision. Terrible, terrible service, no follow up and no proper details.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I sold an item for $1.49, Ebay paid me $0.21. That means Ebay took 86% profit from my sale. Their excuse: they take profit from the shipping. How can a business survive ripping off their members? Not for long, that's for sure.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
eBay is nothing more than a scam these days. They refuse to pay and try to hold your money as long as possible, yet don’t pay interest yeah , eBay has become nothing more than a fraud. Read the reviews here and on other sites , eBay is at junk status with a 77% disapproval rating...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I purchased a handbag (from Las Vegas) and returned it as it was not to my liking. The return label was scanned over two weeks ago and still receives notices from Ebay to "Hurry Up and return the bag before the return window ends".....really? No one picks up in customer service -- robotic messaging and you are left feeling frustrated wondering if you will ever receive your refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
These people will ruin your credit on their account and could care less about their customers. It is April and I’ve been trying to pay my $14 balance (which was incurred from family children posting and myself deleting them because they were not real) since December. I’ve heard every excuse in the book: wait for two weeks, it’s a technical issue that is being fixed so give it two weeks, we’ve escalated it, we’ve escalated it higher up the ladder, we will send you a special email to pay (never got sent), try this link to pay, and then finally (after spending hours with customer service) they tell me to call Global Collections. I’ve tried to add my card and bank account, my mothers card and bank account, my fathers card and bank account, and my brothers card and bank account. I’ve tried on Apple products, Samsung products, laptops, iPads, surfaces, and desktop computers. Customer service is the most useless thing I have ever dealt with. eBay cares less about their customers (been using them 20 years, 4 years on this account). If you want a headache for half a year ending in them telling you to call a collection agency after you’ve spent all this time trying to pay them, then I would definitely recommend eBay. What a nightmare.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely nasty
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ebay is rated 3.23 based on 3,783 reviews