Ebuyer.com Reviews

4.7 Rating 53,521 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Ebuyer.com
4.7
Based on 53,521 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 92%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.5 out of 5
Read Ebuyer.com Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0371 521 3300

Email:

Scott@ebuyer.com

Location:

Howden, East Yorkshire United Kingdom
DN14 7UW

Write Your review

Tell us how Ebuyer.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
On my last order I had a 10% discount code applying this at the checkout the code showed up as 10% discount but the total did not alter. In with the delivery was a 15% discount code. Adding this at checkout the 15% discount showed up when apply was clicked but the total did not reduce by the £60 I should have received.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I do not want to write reviews.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
you gave me no chance of seeing and changing immediately before paying.very bad
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Why a 4 say delivery for an e-mailed code?
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
show paypal but doesn't offer paypal as payment option gathers info about you instead of simple checkout
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
why do you advertise free delivery then charge a large sum to delivery
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I took my time to compare prices and parts for a full PC build, against the specs and price of a ready-built Zoostorm which was on offer when I first saw it. The site has a customer relations platform, on which sales advisors popup to offer assistance when customers are browsing. During the two weeks which I was browsing the site, I spoke to the advisors quite a few times. I told the advisor(s) that I would be using the PC for 3D artwork and games development, and at first, I asked them to help me to build a PC (within my budget) - using the AMD A10 (quad core) CPU, which was in the cheap Zoostorm they had. They helped me to find the parts, and I added them to my account's "wish-list" as we went along. I did need their help on finding certain parts, due to a lack in appropriate search options on the site. For example, you can not search for a motherboard by RAM type, or for a CPU cooler by socket type. Each time I returned to the site to look at the possible build, I found that one or more of the parts in my wish-list, had altered in price to become more expensive. Some had discounts removed, while others had the price adjusted, or the discount adjusted, for no apparent reason. The advisors informed me that prices can change from time to time, depending on suppliers and offers. But the rate at which the prices were changing - left me a little dubious about the practices at play. After removing and replacing some of the parts in my wish-list a few times... When I finally came to make a purchase I found that the price of my original build, had gone from around "£300 -to- £330" up to "£350 -to- £380" (when comparing cheaper options with more expensive options). I found this to be quite a big increase in price to be fair, and so I decided to start a fresh, and looked at some of the different CPU's. I then found a CPU and motherboard, which were far better for my 3D creativity needs with a socket AM3+. I did tell the advisor(s) that I would be using a graphics card, and so the extra expense of an APU type CPU could be avoided, depending on the choice of motherboard. But they were unable to point me in the direction of these more ideal parts. I ended up buying an AMD FX-6300 (six core) CPU, and a Gigabyte GA-970-Gaming motherboard, with slightly slower RAM - Vengeance pro x16GB kit (1866MHz OC to 2000MHz). Which was far better suited to my needs. This being a six core build rather than a quad core, and with the AMD AM3+ FX CPUs' even stating in the description, that they are optimal for 3D creativity... I would have thought, that with the amount of times I spoke to them, the advisors could have pointed me in the direction of these alternate parts, but they failed to do so. The night before I made my purchase, I found another website offering some of the parts I was viewing, for a cheaper price. I told the ebuyer on-site advisor that I might end up making a purchase on that website instead, or might end up buying parts from both websites, at an inconvenience - as I would normally only buy computer parts from ebuyer, and I would prefer to keep all of my order in the same place. As I populated my basket with parts, I noticed that the 1TB Seagate hard drive, had a discount of £50 on it, making it's price £1.54 (inc vat). To some, this might seem like a mistake. I obviously added one to my order. Then clicked "add item(s)" on the account "order page". The page told me that there were another 18 of this item in stock, so naturally I bought them all! I made my purchase at around 3am to 4am as I was sleepless. At around 6am, I refreshed the page of the hard drive a few times, and saw the price be altered, back up to the normal price for the item, £50 (inc discount). Shortly afterwards, I received an email informing me that the item was completely out of stock. So I waited until 9am, for the on-site advisors to come online to assist me. Shortly after that the item's page was removed. They advised me that the item was no longer in stock, and that it had been flagged by their stock discrepancy policy. Then they advised that I choose a different hard drive for my order... and pointed me towards hard drives with a price tag of around £50. In the UK, we have consumer rights, and I believe that if you find a wrongly priced item in a store, and go to the checkout with it, the store has to honour the marked price (by law). However, they would not budge on this matter and offered me nothing but the cancellation of my order. I call this "sale-baiting", and believe it to be an underhand tactic, used to lure me in to making my purchase with ebuyer, rather than with the other website I was comparing prices to. When I said this to the advisor, and asked them if they would want such things to be written in a review, they asked me to hold on for a moment, and "went to speak to a manager". They returned offering me a free delivery, and a £10 discount off my next order. But this left my order without an hard drive, so I had to place another order for the hard drive straight away. When they cancelled the 19x 1TB Seagate hard drives from my original order, (amended the order) the money was instantly returned to my bank account. But when I placed the order for another hard drive (costing £50) the promised discount was not added... Due to some complication with the site remembering my payment details (I was aware of it doing this, but there was no option in the account settings to remove my card details). They then cancelled the second order, and asked me to place the order again to receive the promised discount. Once again, the discount was not applied, so the advisor amended the third order to have a free delivery. (Promised discount £10, delivery cost £8 so I still did not get that full discount). This caused me to be short on money, as the cancellation of the second order meant that £48 was held up in the payment process. They advised me that it can take "up-to" 5 working days for monies to be returned. This is something which could have been avoided all together, if they had just amended the second order. Or if they had honoured the first stated price for one of (minus the 18 extra) the hard drive which I originally went to the checkout with, and that would have been no different to them on the final cost of the order(s). With all that said, the parts I ordered did arrive the next day (Saturday). Everything was in good condition and working. The motherboard I ordered was stated as "Ex-display" but it had never even been out of the box, as the seal was still in-tact. The parts complimented each other well, and the computer I built is perfect for my needs. I have never had such issues before, and I will indeed continue to use ebuyer, and I will still recommend ebuyer to friends, and to the endless array of people who ask me for technical assistance. I am more a software guy, so even I sometimes need help with the hardware side of things, but many people ask me for help. But I write this somewhat negative and long review, as I hope that in future, ebuyer can offer a better customer service. And maybe even better training for their advisors. But until then, I would suggest that it might be better to avoid talking to the on-site advisors, and maybe even avoid using the wish-list on your account... as it seems, doing so can cause prices to vary, and it could well have been an honest mistake, but I call the price change I witnessed "Sale Baiting". Thanks, Adam.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Awful checking out experience. Firstly there is no button on a product just to immediately add an item to your basket, you have to view the product first. Then once you view a product you have to add to basket but if you continue shopping there is no obvious way to get back to the page you were originally browsing. Then tried to check out 3 times but the session kept timing out even though I was entering the details really quickly and to top it off kept getting annoying pop ups appear during the checkout process. It's a good job your prices are competitive as if they weren't I doubt you would make any sales.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
The checkout is abysmal. The payment by PayPal is flawed . I ended up in a cycle of "click to pay" and having the "order cancelled" on the PayPal account. Pathetic for such large company.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
The website refused to accept my postcode as valid. I had to use the address of the flat I rent out instead to set up an account, then ring the lady in your office to get the address changed. The worst website I've ever used! Please fix it.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Trying to charge a third of the items purchase price just to pay by Paypal is a total rip off!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Purchased a couple of products which were showing 60+ in stock, I cleared the payment section and received my email notification that my transaction was completed successfully. A few minutes later I receive another email telling me they have no stock even though I had already completed my transaction whilst their systems were clearly showing 60+ in stock still.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
I ordered a 10" windows tablet reduced to £44.99 which was tagged as free delivery but when I got to checkout it was only free delivery in the five day window and not as indicated on the sales screen as available next day. Come on Ebuyer, don't slip into the sharp practices of other suppliers by not being up front or disguising the add ons. I have been a happy customer for several years and spent a wadge of money and until now given you 5* on everything. This one has left a sour taste in my mouth hence the low rating. Get a grip Ebuyer and stay in no 1 spot.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Absolutely shambolic on this occasion. Placing order saw ebuyer had our old office address as billing address, website says just correct in checkout, so carefully made new address our billing address and delivery address. Order came through on email a few mins later to wrong address. Immediately left eNote saying critical comes to new address and paid premium for critical next-day delivery. No response, couple of hours later next email says despatched - to old address. Ring up and they say eNotes may not be read for up to 48 hours - didn't say that on the bloody website though! Their systems so inflexible they have to carry on, deliver to closed site, wait for return to come back undelivered then deal with it. Absolutely useless and totally frustrating experience. Have never had a problem and spent thousands with ebuyer in the past but won't be doing so again unless they actually make the effort to sort this out. All "nothing we can do" and "its the way the system works", any system that is so rigid/inflexible to respond to customers doesn't deserve the business.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
I have had to order this item multiple times as the user interface is quite confusing. It also automatically cancelled my previous order. I am a little concerned that more that one item is going to be charged and delivered.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
awful system
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
I BOUGHT AN ITEM AND IT WAS CANCELLED, GO TO SCAN! MUCH BETTER PLACE TO BUY STUFF
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
hit wrong button, sorry
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Am unable to edit my details. Now subject to security check. Will cancel my order.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
From the website I assumed next day delivery was included in the stated price (it says, order within 8 hours to secure next day delivery). After ordering it turned out the delivery is within 5 days, I need to pay £20 for next day. Appears at best deliberately misleading and I will be complaining through other channels
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Ebuyer.com is rated 4.7 based on 53,521 reviews