EDF Energy Reviews

1.4 Rating 196 Reviews
8 %
of reviewers recommend EDF Energy

Write Your review

Tell us how EDF Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
EDF Energy 1 star review on 3rd May 2022
Anonymous
EDF Energy 1 star review on 3rd May 2022
Anonymous
EDF Energy 1 star review on 3rd May 2022
Anonymous
EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022
Samuel Kalepa
EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022
Samuel Kalepa
EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022
Samuel Kalepa
EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022
Samuel Kalepa
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I’m at breaking point, EDF took over my supply from Octopus without my knowledge or permission. Now I can’t seem to get rid of them despite asking for my electric to go back to Octopus many times. They are also billing me for an old address I haven’t lived in for over a year. I just don’t know what to do, it’s affecting my health now :,(
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
This company runs on bullying people into paying with no explanation for the charges. They will not answer questions or complaints no matter how many you make. I'm surprised this bully is still in operation in the year 2022.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
In my 62 years I have never experienced such poor customer service from a large company. It actually beggars belief. I would be here for hours outlining the issues but suffice to say that they never address the question put to them, do not do what they say they will, no communication between staff members and basically lie. If it’s a choice between EDF and making a camp fire in your living room to let warm, choose the latter.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I find 1 star even too generous! The worst customer service I’ve ever heard of. Can’t believe the hassle I have been having. It’s draining and so stressful! Edf tried to give me £50 credit on my meters without fixing my issues! And then asked me what do I want from them….. I am absolutely shocked, I want the issues fixed! They are liars and have disgusting customer service skills. I was on pay and go by choice, so I don’t get hit with a massive bill one monthly and can keep track on my spending. My smart meter isn’t working, my online account doesn’t work, I don’t get balances. This was happening for over a month. I had to ring up to find out what was wrong and didn’t get any notifications of my meters “updating” as they said. They said to switch to monthly bill whilst it gets fixed, so I agreed as I suffer with mental health issues and it would help for the time being. Now they changed it all, they think it’s all sorted and want to close my complaint. When I still have issues :/ Can someone please explain how a monthly payment /meter can cut supply saying “no credit left”. This is not right! And they lied saying it shows it’s fine. I send pictures and video proof, had no reply for 6 days and then got told the issue is fine. When it’s still the same. I follow their instructions and nothing works. And the get lied to even more saying they sent me messages on a date when I had nothing from them, and sent proof of that and they insured I was incorrect. How can a company call a customer a liar when we have actual photographic and video proof?! They think that throwing £50 as a ‘gesture’ at people will shut them up. And then say “we have done everything what do you want?” “We are going to close the complaint” ….. I don’t care about the money they are trying the throw out, I’d rather they not lie and actually fix the issues and take responsibility. Absolutely disgusting honestly :/ I understand that times are difficult currently with energy prices etc, but people still need to be treated like humans and have compassion for others.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Disgusting lack of customer service. Impossible to talk to anyone. Raise DIrect Debits when you are already running in credit and do so without informing you. Entire customer service process automated (but unusable). Will leave as soon as a note sensible alternative becomes available
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
EDF has been sending a representative to read my meter over the past year but continued to do estimates. I put in a complaint March 7th 2022 at the beginning my complaint was being replied to but since April 12th they have been ignoring my emails. Since these emails I have had a threatening letters as due to this they had put me in debt. I am now going to the ombudsman and ofgem. This is now the second time I've had to go to the ombudsman, the first time EDF were charging me for someone else's meters and even after showing picture proof and video proof of my meters I still got called a liar. Since making my complaint I have sent the following emails 7/3/2022 8/3/2022 9/3/2022 31/3/2022 12/4/2022 24/4/2022 2/5/2022 3/5/2022 9/5/2022 16/5/2022 17/5/2022 Facebook post dated 9/5/2022 EDF have ignored most of them, and when I have had replies it has been nothing to do with my complaint or give me any conclusion. Yesterday 18/5/2022 I received an email stating my complaint has been closed and I would need to confirm all my details yet again to reopen another complaint. I know why EDF have closed this complaint its to try and stop me being able to put my case to the ombudsman, well that is not going to happen. Absolutely disgusting, EDF has cause nothing but stress, frustration and anxiety, as well as wasting my time. They are extremely unprofessional and have no idea what they are doing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Always trying to get extra money by moving you to a new tarrif if you simply click an email. Dodgy practices indeed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Rude staff . Laughing in the background. Completely no idea and no care in the world
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Worst company ever, put me in a payment plan, then tried twice to steal the full amount from my bank account without my authorisation!! Never reply to phone calls. Steer clear
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Total joke, in Jan 2022 they wanted to bump my DD from £64 to £189! I live in small flat with 2 rooms, so they use a gas estimate;heaven knows how they work that out! Anyway got in touch with real reading(my leccy is smart meter) My account was over £400 in credit, they left my DD the same, raised a complaint about the estimates, here is the latest email from them. "Thank you for your email. I can confirm I have got an electric reading from your meter of 7328 and the gas reading you input as 6674. I have billed both of your accounts today and can confirm the outstanding balance is £475.53, the reason this is high is because you received a refund into your bank on the 9 February 2022 of £398.52 in error. The reason this was refunded is there was a credit showing on a gas only bill which was issued on the 1 February 2022 with no electric being charged on the bill. Had this refund not been issued you your balance would have been today £77.01 in debit. I am sorry this has not been explained to you previously however, this money would need to be paid back to EDF as refunded in error or alternatively we can arrange for an instalment plan to be set up to help clear the balance over a period of time. If this is something your looking to do please let me know." So they failed to bill me at somepoint for leccy which made my account credit which I asked for refund for, and now they say it was an error on their part and want the money back! Also my smart meter reading for leccy has jumped from about 4400 to over 7300 in 5 months! Am hardly at home to use my leccy unless my wee dog is having a party when am not there! They have a duty to supply accurate bills; anyone has an issue with EDF or any other provider get on to Ofgem, I am not letting this go! Robbers!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Stalling people money !!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Absolutely horrific experience and still ongoing. 12 emails, 6 phone calls to the philippines and chrits knows where else. Have to explain the same story over and over. Cannot understand simple meter readings or dates. Lie to get you to send confidential information about other parties (tenants, new property owners). Send incorrect bills time and again as though it is some game. Just an horrendous organisation.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
An utter fraudulent scandal of an energy supplier. Make up estimated bills, despite supplying accurate meter readings, lie to the Electricity Ombudsman when raising complaints against them and completely mess up every single thing they do. Ripped out a perfectly adequate working economy 7 meter (and then denied it was an economy 7 meter and tried to charge me for a "standard tariff" meter), and botched the smart meter installation, still have not admitted for any mistakes or apologised once for anything they have done wrong. If I could get away from them, I would, but they keep making up bills to deliberately put the account into dispute. When you put a negative review on Trust Pilot it either disappears or is deliberately deleted after 1-2 months, hence why Trust Pilot has become a joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I've had an ongoing issue dating back to last year. I have given EDF gas meter readings every month yet they have not updated and keep billing based on estimates. I have tried to update my gas meter readings myself close to 10 times but it is lower than the previous bill and the dashboard wont accept it. Even though this is their fault for failing to take my meter readings from me. I have tried to call, email, and chat them on the website with evidence outlining this. No one has got back to me. I have even raised 3 complaints to their complaints email and nothing back. The same issue happened the previous year and took 4 months for me to resolve for which they promised me a £50 goodwill credit (this has not been applied or it has been applied yet) I have tried to contact Silindelokuhle Mhlongo numerous times for help which she promised I could upon resolution of the original complaint, but have just been ignored. Emails are being read as I am receiving read and open receipts. I have called a total of 34 times, most recently today with an average wait time of 47 minutes, spoke to one lady, was put on hold again with no warning, and then hung up on me. I have been hung up on a total of 16 times. I also find it humorous that a big energy company that talks about sustainability would waste so much resource in sending repeated paper letters to my house every day when they could just check their email and call me once to resolve. They have now started to receive threats to my credit report about the bill, HOWEVER THE BILL IS INCORRECT. They have the WORST customer service, they can barely speak english, and when they don't know what to do they just hang up haha. You'd think a company that now holds somewhat of a stronghold over the market would throw more resource from the increase in gas prices and decrease in competition towards employing ample satisfactory staff to service their increase in customers
EDF Energy 1 star review on 3rd May 2022 EDF Energy 1 star review on 3rd May 2022 EDF Energy 1 star review on 3rd May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Worst energy suppliers I other had. Customer service is just useless. They managed to swap my account without informing me and it’s my problem to find out who is my new supplier. How it is even happened? Never use this company if you want to save you time and sanity.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Have filed a complaint dated 1st it March. I have given EDF gas meter readings dated yet they have not updated and keep billing me based on estimates. I have tried to update my gas meter readings myself but it is lower than the previous bill and the dashboard wont accept it. Even though this is EDFs fault for failing to take my meter readings from me. Please see evidence attached. EDF have still not applied the £150 credit from my payment dated 22nd of November 2021 They also offered £50 goodwill credit for staying because they mishandled my account. This has not been applied or it has been applied but has been removed on subsequent bills I have exhausted every avenue with customer support yet have had ZERO response, yet daily reminders via txt, email, and physical mail to pay a false bill. I have tried to contact Silindelokuhle Mhlongo numerous times for help which she promised I could upon resolution of the original complaint, but have just been ignored. Emails are being read as I am receiving read and open receipts. I have called numerous times again with most calls ending in just being hung up on whilst on hold. this week, most recently today which This time was a 45 minute call, spoke to one lady, was put on hold again with no warning, and then hung up on me. Repeated letters to my house every day yet no one can answer my calls. This is literally beyond a joke
EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022 EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022 EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022 EDF Energy 1 star review on 17th April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Not going to describe my HORRENDOUS experience with EDF....suffice to say they are UNBELIEVABLE. I advise anybody who experience problems with them to write to their MP, copying a link to this site, with a detailed account of their problem, requesting that he forwards your email to every other MP, relevant Ministry and Civil Servants. Ask that they be investigated for practices that are bordering on, or even are, criminal actions. I've done just that.....it's only by escalating this to the highest level that anything will get done about these appalling con men(?) scammers(?) or criminals(?).
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
EDF wanted me to transfer onto a smart meter, so we did. I had to use the EDF app to top up both gas and electric. However, within a couple of months the app would no longer show the balance on my gas or electric so we didn’t know when we needed to top up. What an absolute useless app and company. When I tried to complain by EDF what’s app that didn’t work either. The worst customer service I have ever experienced from any company I have ever dealt with. The only reason I gave 1 star is because I couldn’t give less
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
EDF are a bunch of con artists. Twice now, they have conveniently changed my bill after me contacting them to say that they had overcharged me. The last time, after a month of fighting, they finally cleared my balance to £0 and gave a credit of £25 as "goodwill" for all the stress they caused. However, on my latest bill they have added on the money they claim I didn't pay, which they waived. And now they have faked a bill to make it seem like I still owe them! It's not enough that they make record profits, then put up prices to an extortionate level, but they also try to scam us out of our money too. The customer "service" is atrocious. I've had to ask 5 times to have my complaint escalated to a manager and they still won't do this. I have never been so disgusted by a company and the way they try to screw hard working people out of their hard earned money. If I could give 0 stars I would, as they absolutely do not deserve even one star
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Today speaking to Marcia who clearly couldnt help me with my account issue so all of a sudden after speaking for 9 minutes an engaged tone. Nothing wrong with my 'phone just incompetent operator. Lodged complaint.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
EDF Energy is rated 1.37 based on 196 reviews