Animal Friends Reviews

1.80 Rating 415 Reviews
19 %
of reviewers recommend Animal Friends
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Animal Friends made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Worst insurance company going. Been with Animal Friends for 7 years and have never missed a payment. Have tried making claims over the years and every time they come up with a reason why they don't need to pay out. Just want to get you off the phone as quick as possible. Have finally left them after just trying to make another claim and guess what. No chance. Definitely would not recommend them. Do not waste your money with these con men. Asked to speak to a manager with which they replied one would get back to me within 24 hrs. That's because it will be a long distance call from a Yacht off the coast of Spain where they are spending all our premiums.
1
Posted 10 months ago
Fantastic service. Great value, helpful and efficient with claims. And a lovely and moving condolence card when our beautiful boy went to run beyond the clouds.
Posted 10 months ago
Stay clear of these weasels
Posted 10 months ago
DISGUSTED
Wish I'd never got a policy with them!! For dogs over 8yrs old you pay 20% of every single bill. Plus so many things are excluded which you don't realise you'll need. Then the lowest blow is they don't help pay to get your loved pet cremated.

Policy wording
Section 1: Vet fees
1.3 Exclusions
The following are excluded from cover:
1.3.16 Costs for cremation and disposal, including post mortem costs, coffins or caskets;
Posted 11 months ago
I’ve had nothing but good experiences with animal friends, they were very helpful and empathetic when my dog was very unwell and needed treatment. The whole process was easy and stress free, I highly recommend this company and can’t thank them enough for their help in such a difficult time
Posted 11 months ago
Animal friends really know what they are doing and provide excellent customer service
Posted 11 months ago
Awful company. Customer service unbelievably bad.
I been with this company for many years and never had to claim.
I called and ask if I could have my mail delivered to my office instead of my house (1/2 mile ) they said no problem that will be £70!!
I said don't bother then ill keep the address where it was, they said they couldn't change it back.
There now being reported to the FCA.
If they are this dishonest on a address change God knows what would happen on a medical claim.
Im not going to take that chance and I'm going elsewhere.
Check all the other bad reviews.
Posted 11 months ago
Shocking company! Do not use!! NOT Recommended!!! Paid over £1200 in insurance policy fees over 4 years because we chose a premium policy thinking we were doing the best for our dog. Premiums rose every year despite no claims.
We recently claimed for the first time and it was any pathetic excuse to send the claim back to the vet and 2 months later they awarded 1/3 of the claim... £150. We had to fight to get that!!! Got a 2nd smaller claim waiting for monthly meds as the issue is going to be a long term condition, however I'm waiting to see how many creative ways they can come up with to wriggle out of paying!!!
They are quick enough to take your money but will not pay out when it is needed. I think they need to remember they are being paid (a lot) to provide a service instead of acting like they are doing the customers a favour by dishing out an odd payment and expecting us to be grateful.
I am furious with this company and there is a complaint ongoing. I consider myself to be completely out of pocket as I would've been hugely better off saving the money in a bank account. There is no way we will ever get anywhere close to the premiums we have paid in and I get that most of the time insurance is throwing good money away on 'what ifs', but come on... ur happy enough fleecing the customers with over inflated premiums! Dreading how much they will go up on renewal!!! Better off saving it yourself and cutting out these con artists. Even our vet said they were by far the worst company they have to deal with. Wish I'd seen this review page before I took out our policy.
Do yourself a favour and dont touch animal friends with a barge pole!!!
Posted 11 months ago
VERY POOR - Please do not take insurance with animal friends, if your pet has had anything previously the matter with it then this is basically classed as a pre-xisting condition even if they are not linked...
Posted 11 months ago
Just to let you all know if you are considering taking out pet insurance with this company be aware they will not pay out if your dog is involved in a road traffic accident. Apparently, you have to foresee EVERY eventuality, EVERY possible scenario that may lead to your beloved pet getting hit by a car. The implication being you threw the dog under the car deliberately!! Well, policies have been canceled and complaints filed. This company is a disgrace and should be put out of business! Make sure you tell all your doggy friends!
Posted 11 months ago
Like others have said when your dog is older they are basically not covered for anything. Something noted by the vet in the past will be used as an excuse not to pay, despite the vet confirming to me that they are unrelated. Policy cancelled now and money will be put away each month to use if required.
Animal Friends is like a protection racket!!!!!
Posted 11 months ago
I have been with Animal Friends since 2013. Initially they paid up very quickly however my vet submitted a claim in April 2018 and it STILL hasn't been paid! They said that they wrote and emailed me as the figures in the claim didn't match! Funny I never received either. The figures did mismatch because the claim handler at the vet had accidentally transcribed 2 digits but it was literally a matter of pence, they could have opted to pay against the lower amount but no! Eventually I asked the vet to resubmit the claim entirely. This was done in November and I have STILL received nothing from them. Who do you have to kill round here to get some money out of Animal Friends? As it is because my boy is now 12 they will be taking a hefty co-payment off on top of the excess. I am giving 2 stars because they were excellent in the past but no more it would seem. I am sorely tempted to cancel the policy altogether, the renewal premiums are exorbitant and if they don't intend paying out what is the point?Their loss! as the amount I would get IF they ever paid the claim is less than they would get in premiums this year.
Posted 11 months ago
Excellent!! My dog required surgery. As someone who is with animal Friends ( and will stay with them) I have to say the entire experience was hassle free. When your pet is ill or has an accident it is very worrying. It is yet another worry wondering if the insurance will pay out. Not a concern with animal Friends. It was all so very easy - just as it should be. I have the lifetime policy. Thanks again Animal Friends!!
Posted 11 months ago
If I could leave no stars I would. They have been taking payment for my beagle cross for nine months. Come to make a claim and because I said he could be a different breed due to his height,they told me they don't insure foxhounds as they are a banned breed. Biggest liars I have had the displeasure of dealing with in years. Cowboys of the worst kind. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY.
Posted 11 months ago
I have been a loyal customer for 10 years and I can say they have gone downhill. I have had cause to contact them twice in the last 12 months and both times have been thoroughly disappointing. The first time was for my 'elderly' dog of 10 years for whom they only paid me a percentage of the cost. The second for my cat who I had to take to the out of hours vet. She had severe diarrhoea and was floppy and deteriorating. the cost of the vet was £316.42 yet they only paid me £70.95!!! I have a Superior Plus policy yet they gave me £70.95. I think I am paying my money for no benefit, they like to take the money but not pay it out.
Posted 11 months ago
Recently Had a claim with them, a few small deductions i am querying but overall a positive experience. Paid out in good time after receiving the claim. As with all insurance it is worth reading the General Exclusions in pol wording or phoning direct to ask if they cover specific things
Posted 1 year ago
On line quotes do not highlight the clauses and claim deductions on policies. For pets over 8 years good example 20% deducted from the final vets bill.no death payment, no cremation payment. No blood samples paid.excess on policy is £90.
Posted 1 year ago
Our 13 year-old cat was treated by the vet for a tumour in the abdomen; unfortunately he did not respond to the treatment and had to be put to sleep. Losing a beloved pet is bad enough, but now AF have advised that they will cover only about 40% of the treatment costs, for reasons I frankly fail to understand. I have contacted them for their comments and await their reply. The policy is very long and long-winded, and it is doubtful if anyone would read it word by word, as like me they trusted that AF is an honourable organisation. I note that virtually all the reviews of AF on this website are complaints concerning payment - or more accurately non-payment. I also intend to speak to the vet for his comments. If we do get another cat we shall most certainly not be insuring with AF again. Our sadness at losing our little friend is now tainted with anger.
Posted 1 year ago
Total scammers, no friends of animals, as with any insurance company use any excuse to not pay. They are no friends of animals whatsoever, just want to make money - disgusting company.
Posted 1 year ago
This is an appalling company. I am so sorry I didn't find this site sooner. Paid a higher amount because my dog is 10. Very active dog. Last year when he had his annual injections the vet ask how he was in general, I said for an elderly dog he is ok but sometimes struggles getting over the door step. The vet made notes and said it he gets worse bring him back and he'll check him out. 12 months later my dog started limping, took him back and the vet checked him out after xrays he said his cruciate ligament was damaged. He was operated on and made a full recovery. The now say they will not pay as it should have been addressed 12 months ago. The vet wrote to them stating the comments are in no way related to this injury. Refused to pay. I intend passing this to my solicitors and placing a formal complaint with the Ombudsmen. Do not use t hem.
Posted 1 year ago
Animal Friends is rated 1.80 based on 415 reviews