Prudential Reviews

1.56 Rating 97 Reviews
14 %
of reviewers recommend Prudential
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Prudential made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Absolutely terrible company to try and contact I have tried on 3 separate occasions with a wait over over an hour each time, then i got cut off. The new security log on is not working, it tells me to log on and then wont accept me, then says it will send a code on an e mail, no emails received. I have tried sending e mails but they are do not reply e mails. What a mess.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
MAKE SURE YOU READ ALL THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS!!!!! I bought a Savings plan from them and lost my job due to the pandemic and when I asked if I could Change or cancel my plan they said if I decided to stop I would lose ALL MY MONEY WORTH $10000! Basically they said I can put it on hold but I have to continue this plan for 6 years and hope that i get a new job soon to pay this. Yes it’s great that I can accrue savings in 10 years. But in a day of COVID 19 it is very difficult to plan 10 years. So I highly suggest you DO NOT buy any long term plans because you will be locked into it!!! I was not aware of this at the time of signing and though my agent is great, PRUDENTIAL DOES NOT DISCLOSE THAT YOU WILL LOSE YOUR MONEY IF YOU CANCEL THE POLICY WITHIN 2 YEARS!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
NEVER. get a pension from this shower.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Absolute waste of time contacting them online or over the phone,you phone and wait forty minutes they answer and pass you onto another number and wait another hour and blame it on covid,There attitude stinks.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Disgusting and inadequate levels of customer service, it is now virtually impossible to talk to an advisor on the phone. Wait times in excess of fifty minutes. Disgraceful when they are providing services that elderly and infirm folk depend on for their survival.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
You can never get through on the phone. Keep you on the phone for several minutes before they tell you there is over an hour to wait. From other posters here I can see that waiting is also a waste of time. I have applied online for a product and heard nothing. No email confirmation, nothing. I will not be taking my enquiry further and shall cancel when and if the paperwork ever arrives. Disgraceful. I am reporting them to my Pension Fund who works with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Trying to get your own money out of this company is like getting blood to of a stone. Incompetent, delaying tactics and un-ending excuses. Avoid this company like the plague,....
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Trying to transfer 40K into my SIPP back in October. Having said it was going to be transfered in November nothing has happened. Having made numerous phone call's i decided to formally complain. I regret not doing it sooner as the complaint procedure can take 8 weeks. Such a difficult company to deal with and very worrying hopefully will get it resolved once the Pension Ombudsman gets envolved. Sad state of affairs when you got to fight to get your own money transfered.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Same problems as many. Phone contact is very difficult and long delays. Continually asking for additional information, taking weeks not days by snail mail. They have a "secure messaging" online servive that they do not reply to. I have been dealing with them for 6 months to get surrender proceeds. Continual delays for payment, perhaps they do have financial problems as others have mentioned? A couple of the staff have been helpful but the info they have been given leaves a lot to be desired. VERY disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Worst company ever been trying to access my money can never get through on the phone for at least an hour and then you never get anyone to deal with the release of my money are the company in financial difficulties by the look of the other reviews they could be
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
After waiting an hour and fifteen minutes on the phone l was at last put through to a consultant. She explained that the key document which I should have had by now has not in fact been sent. It 's all down to an IT problem, she explained, and did not know when it would be resolved and hence when the document would be sent. Without it I cannot receive my monies. Cleary this is not acceptable. Is prudential in financial trouble?
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Sadly my experience matches other posters on here.My first call was nearly an hour only to be told their was an IT problem so they couldn't access my information.The next call was an hour and a half wait to get through to someone who insisted reading the legal information so fast ( even after repeatedly asking them to slow down) and in a very strong Scottish accent so I had no idea what I was being told. Surely this can't be right that a major company like this can offer such an unbelievably poor service to their customers.I would recommend everyone on here who is complaining to make a formal complainant to the FSA who might be able to force the company to improve how they treat their customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Please please please stay away from these fraudsters. I couldn’t recommend these to my worst enemies.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I know it’s early days but I was 55 in February and after all the work going into getting my pension paid out in lump sum, Prudential are already delaying my payment with excuses. There was an apparent delay then they said it will take another 5-10 work days to payment. If this delay tactic keeps going on will get financial ombudsman involved. But I’ve heard from two people who have had all the delay tactics bestowed upon them and it has taken six months or more to get there pension paid out. So I’m dreading it. Never use them. Don’t even deserve 1stsr.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Pension transfer to SIPP pending since 5 months: I have been waiting for my pension transfer to a SIPP for the last 5 months. They just keep asking for unnecessary info and documents, on some pretext or another. And every time I provide the info and/or document they ask for 32 working days to action, after which they ask for some other info and then another 32 working days and so on. I am moving ahead with filing a court case for compensation and in the process of creating a Facebook page You can contact the pensions ombudsman or a lawyer using the link below (remove the space from the link), as there is precedent of having the pension provider pay for the potential investment losses pensions-ombudsman.org.uk / node / 6689 gowlingwlg.com / en/insights-resources/articles/2020 / pensions-ombudsman-compensation-investment-losses/
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
If only the Prudential took as much care of their customers as they do of self promotion it would be miles better - 15 weeks ago I noticed they had "lost" pretty much my entire pension. I must have called them 20 times waiting 30 minutes to an hour each time to get a placating message and a promise of a call back. They have admitted its their problem but have done nothing to resolve - ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING - DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR ANYTHING - CANNOT BE TRUSTED
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
wow - what an hopeless company. They do not answer the phone and they cannot reply to messages sent via their website. Pretty astonishingly poor customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Decided in oct 2020 to cash in a plan..told prudential who told me it was held by trustees and it would take 10 days for a reply 21 days later I get info helping me make a decision..I told them I had done this before fully aware of oltions..3 weeks latter I get forms send off proof id..and address ..another 3 weeks pass I contact them to be told they need me contact trustees to authorise them to act..but fail give me contact details..if help by trustees why am I dealing with prudential. I contact them again..3 times ..asking for trustee contact details..today I get another letter telling me I need contact trustees..no contact details..shocking firm..I'm contacting ombudsman to complain..just going in circles..diabolical
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Why does it take so long to process a request for repayment to be processed and paid? I’ve waited over 15 minutes on the phone. Really poor service and extremely stressful. Thinking of asking BBC Money Box to investigate.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I cannot see how this company is still allowed to trade in the UK!! Have been paying them since the early 1980s, decided to take out my annuity etc in May, and still have not received anything!! They have been doing everything possible to delay and stall the process: ‘misplaced’ documents (which, as soon as I threaten to take them to the Ombudsman, as I always keep proof of posting, they miraculously manage to find), ‘covid’ (always a good one), calls waiting for over an hour to be answered, ‘secure’ emails ignored, formal complaints taking double the allowed time to be answered etc etc…it is obvious that they do not want to part with my money. The only time they respond accurately and quickly is on negative comments in reviews. One would have thought that, if they had invested a bit of that time, money and effort in improving their service, all would be happier. A disgraceful company and an absolute con!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Prudential is rated 1.56 based on 97 reviews