Prudential Reviews

1.3 Rating 232 Reviews
7 %
of reviewers recommend Prudential
1.3
Based on 232 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.1 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Prudential made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I was in a car accident on 11/02/23 thru no fault of my own and have hospital indemnity and accident insurance thru Prudential. At first everything seemed to be going well but as soon as it came time to pay out what they owed me, the problems started. It was deemed that my payout was $3950 and here it is 12/16/2023 and I've yet to receive the full amount. What's weird is I have electronic funds transfer enabled on my account and in fact $1000 of the aforementioned $3950 was sent via EFT, however the bulk amount of the payment was sent via paper check. I think the problems arose when I was informed after the fact that I needed to enable EFT on each type of insurance. So I did as I was told and the first paper check got to me nearly 2 weeks after it was processed, unfortunately it was voided after I switched on my EFT capabilities. They said they would have to reissue a new check, that was on 12/15/23 and I've yet to receive the check and its not 12/27/23. Every person I've spoken to, with the exception of actual claims adjusters, seemed to have no idea what they were doing. Also it seems like these customer service reps are at home, loud tvs, horrible reception and crying children can be heard in the background. I assumed accident insurance was there to help people get thru a tough time but if anything it has been one big headache after another. Billion dollar companies should have customer service representatives that are there to help, not make things worse. My auto insurance claim was paid out within days of me filing, this is unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Holy hell, what a horrible business! Like others here have stated, if I could give negative stars, I would. I sent in paperwork over THREE months ago to cancel my policy and have my return of premium, as is allowed with this policy. Three months of calling, and having to re-explain each time, being routed to representatives who take 20 plus minutes, each, to look through your policy, all to provide inaccurate information each time. Every time I call to representatives who either have a very poor phone connection, or that I cannot understand, it is an over-an-hour process, being redirected to three different people, all to tell me something different. This is absolutely absurd! This is a cut and dry cancellation- here are the correct forms, cancel the policy, return the premium. Three months later, and still getting the run around. I will NEVER do business with this company and will be certain to not allow others I know to do business with them either.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
If it were possible I would give the Prudential zero stars. I am POA for my brother who needs his pension to pay for his care in a residential home. To say I am frustrated and disappointed with the terrible service is an understatement. The process to access my brother’s pension started in May; in January he will have no money left in his bank account to pay fees etc. Six month of Prudential not doing their job! I am not the only one banging my head against a brick wall to get someone to take responsibility. This company are consistently inefficient and ineffective. The Financial Ombudsman is my next step in this sorry saga.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
A TOTALLY USELESS UNCARING COMPANY,MY PENSION DUE TO BE PAID 1ST JULY 2023 IS STILL UNPAID AND NO DATE AVAILABLE FOR WHEN OR IF IT WILL EVER BE PAID, I PAID MY PREMIUM FOR 37 YEARS BUT THAT MEANS NOTHING TO THE PRU. MY SECOND PENSION DUE TO BE PAID ON 1ST JANUARY,2024 IS NOT GOINF=G TO BE PAID AND NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHY OR IF IT IS EVER GOING TO BE PAID, I PAID THIS POLICY FOR 38 YEARS BUT AGAIN THAT MEANS NOTHING TO THE PRU. I WISH I HAD NEVER HEARD OF THEM. LIVING IN POVERTY WITH NO INCOME SEEMS TOTALLY ACCEPTABLE TO PRUDENTIAL. I THINK IT IS JUST BEST TO CURL UP AND END IT ALL BUT THE PRUDENTIAL WON'T BOTHER. A DESPERATE CLIENT WHO HAS BEEN FAILED BY A MULTI BILLION POUND COMPANY
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Probably one of the worst customer service experiences regarding a claim for a life insurance policy. The call center reps are confusing and not knowledgeable. Wrong info has been given several times. Wait/hold times unacceptable. Would never recommend Prudential or do business with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Minus stars would be more appropriate. I have been dealing with Prudential for approching 6 months to withdraw investments made nearly 27 years ago. Requested paper work, identification from myself and solicitor, both trustees, Trust Registration documents sent by recorded post. Each time I phone, I have to start from the beginning explaining and never manage to speak to the same person. Missed payment deadlines come and go. My next step will be the Financial Ombudsmen. I seriously do not recommended investment with Prudential.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Too much paperwork, not enough information on line, do not answer the phone and when calling from abroad it is very expensive as they put you in a very long waiting line, have requested specific information by post but have not have a reply or sufficient information for me to cash my retirement policy and no information as to cashing in the policy on line.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
In rained , unable to answer questions, transferred too many times. Letters sent out that don’t make clear wheat needed. Trying to get my own pension transferred internally. Some a re very good , but far too much passing around and not trained as GOOD pension and insurance advisors. Forced me to employ a financial advisor as apparently I can’t make my own decision. Even though their form allowed me sign a declaration sayingI took full responsibility. Money under bed in future. People Kay notable to do the job.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
2 years I am trying to close an account Multiple admissions of poor service and still pitiful this is not a professional behaviour
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
This company has the worst customer service and online service. Waited on the phone for an hour then was put back on hold for 30 minutes until I hung up. tried to pay my premium online and that was a joke as well. DO NOT USE THIS INSURANCE COMPANY!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Took weeks to get paperwork on a deceased family member’s account!! Spent hours on phone each family member had to send death certificates for same person ? That’s not the norm ? One family member is still waiting four months later !! Awful company!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
What went wrong you ask ? I believe it was a case of forgery. Many years ago. I would never trust prudential or any of its agents all because of one criminal employed there and others who protected this individual.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Prudential in the mid 1980's devised a scheme from the top down to have their agents re-sell life insurance policies that were NOT in the best interest of the consumer. Lots of mis-information and false values were given to the customers of several million policies. Prudential was sued in a class action suit that resulted in most policy holders getting shares of the company. Those shares were a mere pittance of the value those policy holders lost when they were convinced to buy new insurance policies, some losing several hundred thousand dollars. Stay as far away from Prudential as you p[possibly can! Read the other reviews to see how you will be treated!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Cowboys. They will do anything to keep your money for as long as possible. They should be ashamed. Avoid this company at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
They put you through so much to get a hardship withdraw. Have you to send in documents and still turned you down. It is hard to take out your own money. The worst company to do business with
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
This is the WORST company to deal with for a life insurance policy!!! I have had to mail documents 3 times. They don't seem to get mail. When I call in, I get put on hold after giving the information for the claim, and then disconnected!! I am calling the number on the letter I get requesting the SAME information the fourth time. I would NEVER take a life policy out with this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Of all the companies I've worked with in the last few months on retirement/life insurance needs, this company has consistently been awful to deal with. Their customer service needs to be more trained. Their forms and processes need to be revised. I've spent hours on the phone trying to accomplish basic tasks. Even when my issues escalated, the "senior customer care advocate" was noncommunicative and didn't improve things. Do your family a favor and pick a different company for your life insurance and 401k needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Wayne Browne from Prudential Campbelltown is the worst person with absolutely rubbish customer service skills. He has mental breakdown issues and he gets angry on customers. Their aim is to rip off their customers His number is 0413 718 064
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
My mother passed away two weeks ago she had a small policy that she was paying into for 25yrs. Upon her passing we went to file our claims. Terrible hold times, foreign accents, bad connections. The first person, hung up on me after I waited 40 mins. The second person refused to file my claim and insisted I file online. My sisters also had to wait 40mins to an hour, and all were given incorrect information. I called last night, after another 40 min wait, and was told my claim was just certified and I had to wait another 10 days. I asked about my sisters, only one got certified. At no point, did Prudential send an acknowledgement of the claims, on follow up call or email to any beneficiaries saying there was a problem and try to help to resolve it. No agent seems to know how to explain, a claim or the procedures and you get inconsistent information. There were so many more issues, however this giant life insurance company does not know how to treat bereaved relatives. They provided ZERO customer service. Mutual of Omaha, kind, efficient, and expedites, put your money with them. I wish I could give them Zero stars.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
If Prudential is an American company, they are absolutely the worst company in America!!! They are lying thieves that keep giving you the runaround. Every time we fill out a form for disbursement of an annuity and get assured that that is all we will need to fill out (going on five (5) times filling out and "correcting" forms when told all is perfect after each fill) we get sent YET ANOTHER EMAIL saying that all is not well. They're liars, they're thieves, they play games!!!! If that's what you're going for, Prudential, congratulations!! You've achieved the highest honor!!! BUNCH OF THIEVES AND LIARS!!!! STAY AWAY FROM PRUDENTIAL!!!!!! read other reviews!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Prudential is rated 1.3 based on 232 reviews