Prudential Reviews

1.58 Rating 93 Reviews
15 %
of reviewers recommend Prudential
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Prudential made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
If you complain to the Pru You can expect a dismissive obfuscating and avoidance letter dismissing your complaint. They do not resolve complaints but resist them. Their policy appears to be to kick complaints into the long grass for the ombudsman to deal with a couple of years down the line. Prudential used to have a good reputation but they have lost it through miss- selling and appalling customer service. Only two years ago Prudential were fined £ 23 million by the FCA for miss- selling and they have gone from bad to worse.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Exceptional care and communication throughout by Lynn and team, thank you for all your help and support.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Advised Pru that one boldholder, my Father, had died. It took them 10 days to add a note to the account and the promised contact with a "timeline" did not happen. After an online compliant, was advised that it may take up to 38 days even to send a letter out saying what happens next. (38 days to send a letter - not the final payout!). Isn't dealing with this stuff their reason for existence? What a ridiculous situation.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If a Prudential Adviser told me the time I would look at my watch and ask someone else! They can’t be trusted to act in your best interest. They’re interested in selling you something and making commission. I was sold an expensive drawdown advice plan that I had no need of. I could’ve moved my Prudential pension policy to drawdown with other providers free of charge if I had not listened to the Pru Adviser. His bad advice has cost me £3k nearly. I found out after that I could have opened a drawdown account with Vanguard free of charge. I did so and it cost me nothing. Vanguard transferred what was left of my fund at Prudential to them , but I lost what Prudential deducted in advisor charges. Prudential are only interested in making money out of you.I was targeted by them for the sale of the Prudential Drawdown Advice Plan and no open market alternative options were suggested when I told their salesman that I didn’t want the plan. He told me it was a Prudential requirement for drawdown ,so I signed up for it and later discovered I could have moved my fund into drawdown free of charge. Pru Adviser motivated by greed. Be warned!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
No staff, do not answer phones, when funds are eventually withdrawn there is no paperwork to explain tax etc that has been deducted. Not bad just awful, as someone said on this website it is like dealing with a second rate company, Where on earth has the Real Prudential gone that we used to know and love!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I am horrified at all the bad reviews about Prudential, I too am a victim of what seems to be complete delay tactics on stopping me from cashing my pension !! I have been trying since May 2021 and just get fobbed off all the time. I have now been told that I have to wait for an information pack for me to read before I can proceed with options despite telling them I want to cash my pension in, receiving the pack will not change my mind in the least !! It’s a disgrace to keep us all waiting for no reason at all
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Don't invest with this company. If I could give a negative 1 review I would. I invested in a Euro fund 2015 and have been trying to get my money out since it matured in 2020. Last year, I was trapped overseas by coronavirus and contacted Prudential by phone only to be told that unless I had evidence of my address, I wouldn't be able to withdraw the money. A letter from my bank, an airBnb receipt (we were staying in one long-term) and any other suggested evidence was rejected. We finally got a permanent address--still stuck by the pandemic in January 2021 and I contacted Prudential again to get my money out. This was the last time I was able to get through on the phone. They told me that I needed to provide proof of address (which I had) and a certified copy of my husband's new passport (which had been renewed in the 5 intervening years). I got a certified copy, despite a full lockdown in Istanbul, sent all the required documents and then... nothing other than one email saying that my claim was being processed. Then... nothing. For five months. I tried to call repeatedly (at least once to three times a week) but couldn't get through on the phone. In the end, I had to send an email threatening legal action to get a reply, which amazingly, came very quickly. Apparently they couldn't verify the passport certification--something that would have been solved months before if I'd been able to get through on the phone, or if they'd emailed me. They also said they'd emailed me, but after searching all records, I was positive I hadn't received the email. Still, I gave them benefit of the doubt, and now that Istanbul was no longer locked down, went to a public government notary and got the passport certified yet again. I sent it through along with a query about my balance and a request that someone tell me they'd received the document and then... nothing. For two weeks. I tried calling every day, yet again no getting through. None of my emails were replied to, until I received one that was a direct copy and paste of the one they'd sent weeks before saying they couldn't verify the certifier of the passport, despite their number and name being clearly on their stamp on the document and despite the fact that I immediately called the notary and confirmed that they were definitely open and had been every day for the previous two weeks. I've resent the notarised passport with a request for my balance and confirmation they've received it and... nothing. I potentially have 200k Euro in this fund (I'm unsure of the balance due to the lack of communication since January) and have provided Prudential with every piece of information they've requested. They're not available for contact by phone. There are no names attached to the emails so I have no way of knowing if there's a human at the other end, it's been over a year and a half since I initially started trying to withdraw my money from the fund and I'm days away from pursuing legal action. This isn't the kind of behaviour you expect from a reputable corporation like this. This is the kind of behaviour you expect from a con artist who's run with your money.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I too have been victim of Prudentials appalling customer service. I have been trying to get them to release the money from my personal pension since last August, and all that I hear from them is the value of my pension and asking me to speak to one of their financial advisors. Having sought independent advice from the PAS, it turns out that I don't need to speak to them, neither do I wish to. Upon ringing them for several hours, I get passed around several times until I just give up! If any normal company behaved like this, they would be out of business - maybe that's the plan - I expect the directors have their pensions nicely tucked up in some offshore tax haven. Excuse the rant, but this behaviour is totally unacceptable and must be called out. Would anyone be interested in submitting a joint complaint to the pension ombudsman? I have set up a Facebook group for those of us who are totally fed up with their behaviour - please join and post your comments and hopefully together we can achieve a resolution to our problems. Facebook Prudential Pensions user group.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
In other years drawdown takes around 3 months, includes the sending of the information pack, this year into a fourth month.45 days so far to deliver a form. On the 7th of June told the form had been posted, not sign yet, telling untruths is the norm for this company. I have suggested they scan the form, email it to me and I would send it back, its pathetic
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Surprised review rating 1.6.( too high) While trying to sell a deceased property completion date fell out of the policy renewal by 12 days . I spoke to the bereavement department asking if I could just extend the policy by one month to be told no, you must renew for a full year then claim a refund or they could put me in touch with a specialist company for short term insurance. So much for empathy and compassion in distressing times.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
2 hour wait time on call Then call went dead Online service that doesn’t work Least digitally literate company in Europe
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Pru unable to effect pension payout as a result of 'staff shortage and IT problems' and are unable to give any estimate on date. Pru complaints staff do not make promised calls and the Company is behind with complaint handling.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
First call 55 min wait to be told wrong department, transfered to second department 50 min wait to be told could not find my details, I have had this pension for 40 years. How can a company that deals mainly with pensions be so bad at it , I think they just don't care, and accountable to nobody, I'm sure that the directors are laughing all the way to the bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Shocking. I first asked them, after an hour waiting on the phone, to withdraw my pension. That was on 15th January 2021. I was assured that I would receive the paperwork at the latest by 18th February. Here I am, 10th May, almost four months later, my complaints acknowledged once but not acted upon, my recorded-delivery complaint to the CEO unacknowledged. Appalling, truly appalling...
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
What a useless customer service, still waiting for a policy pay out on a death last year. Stressful and not helpful for the family who have to settle the deceased brothers bills etc. Covid is not an excuse. Date for pay out has been reneged on. Complaints dept are useless. Do not take out a life insurance policy with this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Will give them 1 star but should be NEGATIVE 10 really!! Customer service is Sh1Te!!!! So is their ability to pay pension lump sum requests on time. Do not invest here!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Absolutely terrible company to try and contact I have tried on 3 separate occasions with a wait over over an hour each time, then i got cut off. The new security log on is not working, it tells me to log on and then wont accept me, then says it will send a code on an e mail, no emails received. I have tried sending e mails but they are do not reply e mails. What a mess.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
MAKE SURE YOU READ ALL THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS!!!!! I bought a Savings plan from them and lost my job due to the pandemic and when I asked if I could Change or cancel my plan they said if I decided to stop I would lose ALL MY MONEY WORTH $10000! Basically they said I can put it on hold but I have to continue this plan for 6 years and hope that i get a new job soon to pay this. Yes it’s great that I can accrue savings in 10 years. But in a day of COVID 19 it is very difficult to plan 10 years. So I highly suggest you DO NOT buy any long term plans because you will be locked into it!!! I was not aware of this at the time of signing and though my agent is great, PRUDENTIAL DOES NOT DISCLOSE THAT YOU WILL LOSE YOUR MONEY IF YOU CANCEL THE POLICY WITHIN 2 YEARS!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
NEVER. get a pension from this shower.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Absolute waste of time contacting them online or over the phone,you phone and wait forty minutes they answer and pass you onto another number and wait another hour and blame it on covid,There attitude stinks.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Prudential is rated 1.58 based on 93 reviews