Gen Mobile Reviews

3.2 Rating 351 Reviews
54 %
of reviewers recommend Gen Mobile
3.2
Based on 351 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
Greater than 57%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 63%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3 out of 5
Read Gen Mobile Reviews

About Gen Mobile:

Gen Mobile is a U.S. pre-paid wireless service provider that runs on America's largest 5G GSM network. We are dedicated to keeping wireless service affordable without compromising on network, speed, and service quality.

Our plans are designed to fit all budgets and start at $10 per month. Plans $15 and up include free calling to 100+ countries so our customers can stay affordably connected to family and friends around the world.

Gen Mobile was founded by a team with 25 years of combined experience in the wireless industry. We leveraged our expertise to take advantage of the latest technological advances and bring amazingly low prices to our customers.

Visit Website

Phone:

(833) 528-1380

Email:

care@genmobile.com

Location:

2215 Artesia Blvd, #1243, ,
Redondo Beach
90278

Write Your review

Tell us how Gen Mobile made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Man my phone hasn't worked properly since I got it using an app just to receive calls and emails and texts
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Signed up for free service, to then turn around less than a month not being able to receive or send calls.(busy signal)to then be told my account is deactivated and would have to pay if I want the service. To me the quality of the phone is thin and flimsy color of the screen is not bright. I think I am going to throw the phone in the garbage. If you decide to try this phone out, please probe with questions because this is not free.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Gen Mobile offers prepaid phone service with plans starting as low as $10 a month. Eligible customers can also receive a free Android smartphone and free mobile phone service through the Affordable Connectivity Program(ACP). Customers can be deactivated from the ACP if they are no longer eligible or using their ACP benefit with another provider. Customers no longer receiving an ACP benefit with Gen Mobile have the option of purchasing a prepaid plan to keep their Gen Mobile service.
Posted 1 week ago
Gen Mobile service is the worst I've ever experienced. Section 33 Terms and conditions for usage as an ACP provider is unlawful, deceitful and bad business. Worse than stealing from the government, Gen Mobile service is not worth the chat time with a Rep. to get phone service turned back on after they randomly turn it off, at their Sole Discretion, is cheating customers, and Jeopardizes the integrity of the ACP program. I recommend a full FCC investigation of this 'business' and if Dishwireless is the parent company, shame on them for letting Gen Make operate under their umbrella. Do not buy or accept a Blu G40, nor sign up with Gen Mobile under any circumstances. Live chat and speaking by phone to resolve service issues since 1.30.24 is an insult to me, the ACP program, and anyone else who has experienced bad service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
My nuu a23 stopped working my Beastie dropped my phone in the pool not working flashing don't buy this Phone
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Javon, Sorry to hear that. We don't provide a free replace for customer damage, but you can reach out to our customer care team for help with replacement options. Gen Mobile Cares
Posted 1 week ago
Yeah I have been able to call out for over a week. No one can get fix the problem. Like what. Bad business
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We would like to be able to help with your account. Can you please email genmobilecare@dish.com so we can review and help troubleshoot?
Posted 1 week ago
I received a few text messages that said congress wasn't going to approve funds for gen mobile and to call my congressman and tell him that I need a phone so please help with funds. I didn't do it. Was it a scam?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Paula, on January 11, 2024, the FCC announced that the Affordable Connectivity Program may end as soon as April 2024 due to lack of Congressional funding. Without funding Gen Mobile will not be able to continue to provide service through the ACP. If you are currently a Gen Mobile ACP customer, you can get more information at https://www.genmobile.com/pages/saveacp
Posted 3 weeks ago
Complete FRAUD!!! Your services will work for a couple months after that your internet will completely stop working. If you call in for help they will tell you to reset your data. DONT DO IT!!! Because after that your account will be flagged monthly for over usage and they will not refund you ANYTHING even once they promise you they will AND give you a confirmation number. Not worth the headache I promise
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Myesha, we regularly monitor for usage to ensure customers are using data or other services in accordance with our user agreement. If you need help with a refund, please email genmobilecare@dish.com or call our customer care team 833-528-1380.
Posted 1 week ago
As a new customer I love yall.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
The phone itself is great! My problem is a remote access hacker. (Cyberstalker) He doesn't use passwords. He appears as me (stolen identity) when on the phone except a different location. He changed my apps and took control of my system UI. When I try to get customer service, I get the stalker. They send out emails and text in my name. He/she was talking with gen mobil about paying for extension on my account. I can't afford that. How can I get rid of them? As soon as I have factory reset, they are right back since they have my account information such as IME and phone number. I ture off permission but they turn them right back on. Help! Check phone logs.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Please contact our customer care team for help. We may be able to get you a replacement to help secure your device.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I was scammed in Phoenix AZ by a Gen Mobile representative that's going door to door at our complex. I was interested in the tablet only, but he said I qualify for the tablet & phone bundle.. but I didn't have any interest in the phone because I have a phone.. so the guy says there is a $40 fee for the tablet and that's when I said, I'm not interested any more because of the fee.. And I asked him from the beginning will it affect my current ACP and he said "NO" which was a lie! I had a feeling that I couldn't have ACP on my current phone and then the tablet he was offering.. He was a Liar and a scammer because after I told him I didn't want the tablet I found out through my current ACP provider that my current service was transferred to GEN MOBILE and He also issued me a phone number to a PHONE that I NEVER received because I told him I didn't want the tablet or the phone because of the $40 fee. I'm NOT KNOWING, after he left.. HE MADE AN ACCOUNT with my INFORMATION and I lost my current ACP because of his LIES & SCAM. This is the WORST COMPANY that has DISHONEST REPS selling phones & tablets that are supposed to be free to low income people and then taking our personal information and making accounts and not giving us a phone or a tablet. And when I LOGGED in on the PORTAL for GEN MOBILE his scamming a** had made a FAKE EMAIL to my account. JUST THE WORST
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The worst ever. I waited on sims card to keep my number. First I was told old carrier gave wrong info. Then I was told the card they sent was the wrong one so I will have to wait 10 more days. They kept getting my numbers wrong. Hung up on me three times. I'm going back to my original carrier. Oh and the phone switched to emergency calls only so now I can't use it. Problem not fixed. So disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If I could leave ZERO stars, I certainly would. I am a Service Coordinator in the KC Metro area and I service Senior citizens. I spoke with a rep name Andre Schneider, he wanted permission to come into one of the senior living properties that I serve. I specifically and clearly told him that I would do some research on this company and get back with him to let him know IF he could come to the property. Much to my surprise, Andre TOTALLY ignored what I told him and came to the property anyway - WITHOUT my permission then pretended as though he did not recall the conversation, SMH! I will also be calling my local better business office to report them. This company, this rep is trying to bully his way into our properties. If they come on any of our properties again, we will call 911 and charge them with trespassing!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for brining this to our attention. Sorry for the experience, we are going to review and take appropriate action. If you need further assistance, please email our team at genmobilecare@dish.com
Posted 1 month ago
Gen Mobile is a total scam!!! A Gen Mobile "pop Up" store was set up outside a convenience store I frequented. claiming free phone and cell service for people that qualified for the ACP program which they said they could check one's quantification in a few minutes. My current phone had a near-dead un-replaceable battery and a badly cracked screen and so I was interested. A few moments later they told me that I was qualified. I asked if would be able to tether my laptop to the phone, as that was the only form of internet connection I had. The agent said that was not a problem. However I needed to purchase the premium phone & tablet combo for $80 plus pay an additional $10 a month for tethering. It sounded like better deal than my current plan so I Went for the $80 phone & android tablet. I was told I just needed to contact Gen mobile on-line to add the tethering service. When I contacted Gen Mobile, the agent had no record of me, my ACP qualification, the purchase of the merchandise, or cell service in my name. The tethering option cost. $10 for 1gb/mo, $30/mo. for 7GB, and $50/mo 10gb. When when I explained that this was not at all what sales agent at the pop-up gen store told me- and I would like to return the merchandise, the Gen Mobile agent informed me that Gen Mobile had no record of the sale or the sales agent. They DID have the phone number of my new phone, but it was not registered to me so I could not return it or get a refund. When I tried to track down the agent from the receipt, the listed party had no address, email or phone #. Gen Mobil would not provide any info about the agent.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
John, we want to help review and resolve this issue. Can you please email genmobilecare@dish.com so we can get more details. Thank you.
Posted 1 month ago
Bought $100 phone from a pair of Gen Mobile grifters in Phoenix. I am disabled with no income. They used another person's account and simm and put it in my phone. BTW their phone rep gave me all that person's personal info, including name birthday, address and last 4 of their social over the phone. Then instructed me to input that into their website to reactivate my simm. Right after telling me the account holder applied for another phone with a different provider. REALLY?!! I called back because reading the contract, (which I recommend) it clearly states that I can be barred from lifeline for providing fraudulent personal info to get lifeline phone service. I said I want a refund and they said they can't help me, because the account is in someone else's name! That I have to find the person who sold me the phone. I have no idea where they are, I haven't seen them set up at my grocery store before or since. I would give them 0 stars, they don't deserve a 1 star. Do yourself a favor, do not deal with these people. My radar should've have gone off, but I was too focused on needing that phone for doctors appointments. I wish I would have seen the HUNDREDS of COMPLAINTS ONLINE.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sorry for the experience, we would like to review to ensure our enrollment representatives and customer support teams are following correct processes. Please email us at genmobilecare@dish.com so we can get more information and research the application and customer support interaction(s).
Posted 1 month ago
Horrible experience don’t waste your time and money they are the worst of the worst
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I've got scammed on phone and tablet bundle at doctor's office where they was allowed to set up. Can only text on phone and tablet has no SIM card. Thought I could trust them since they were allowed to sell their products. The other phone I have paid for unlimited 3 days later internet is working as should. Scammers for sure. Run........ people run if you see agents. Customer service and street agents lie.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Genmobile is nothing but dirty scammers. They lie to you all the time. They claim they sent you messages and have not. Also do not get an unlimited data plan with them because it's not unlimited. Such scum bags. And lastly, try to get a refund from them. They lie about that as well.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They are a disgusting lying company! They turned my phone off and guess what the reason was? Because they said I talk too much! I talk too much on sn unlimited talk and text plan. Then I gave them another chance when I should have left and man was that a huge mistake because this time the disturbed by service on my iPhone down to nothing but incoming calls! I had no iMessage, no FaceTime, no internet couldn’t log into iCloud because they made it so my phone wouldn’t recognize my password then and they messed with my battery usage somehow! Wowwwww! How can a phone company be allowed to do this and get this…they say I used all my data! Hahaha! Lies because I didnt even use data on that phone. I had no apps on that line. Smh. What a trash lying deceitful company. I left within minutes of me finding out it was them doing this to my phone for nothing. They made me miss important messages, never again and I highly suggest you stay away!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This black woman that cells cellphones through gen mobile In Cincinnati sold me a cellphone about a week ago. A few days later my phone completely shut down it won't even hold a charge or turn on and when I called the customer service number she gave me they said my phone number doesn't exist in the system. Lol I'm suing this company . Stop letting these miserable people get away with hacking your phones and stealing your identity . SUE THESE MISERABLE BASTARDS
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I paid for the unlimited plan and every time I look up my data is off, and they are telling me I'm using too much date, how when its unlimited plan now they will not cut my data back telling me to buy more or wait until the 17th
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Gen Mobile is rated 3.2 based on 351 reviews