Gen Mobile Reviews

3.1 Rating 361 Reviews
53 %
of reviewers recommend Gen Mobile
3.1
Based on 361 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
Greater than 60%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 63%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
2.9 out of 5
Read Gen Mobile Reviews

About Gen Mobile:

Gen Mobile is a U.S. pre-paid wireless service provider that runs on America's largest 5G GSM network. We are dedicated to keeping wireless service affordable without compromising on network, speed, and service quality.

Our plans are designed to fit all budgets and start at $10 per month. Plans $15 and up include free calling to 100+ countries so our customers can stay affordably connected to family and friends around the world.

Gen Mobile was founded by a team with 25 years of combined experience in the wireless industry. We leveraged our expertise to take advantage of the latest technological advances and bring amazingly low prices to our customers.

Visit Website

Phone:

(833) 528-1380

Email:

care@genmobile.com

Location:

2215 Artesia Blvd, #1243, ,
Redondo Beach
90278

Write Your review

Tell us how Gen Mobile made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The worst ever. I waited on sims card to keep my number. First I was told old carrier gave wrong info. Then I was told the card they sent was the wrong one so I will have to wait 10 more days. They kept getting my numbers wrong. Hung up on me three times. I'm going back to my original carrier. Oh and the phone switched to emergency calls only so now I can't use it. Problem not fixed. So disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
If I could leave ZERO stars, I certainly would. I am a Service Coordinator in the KC Metro area and I service Senior citizens. I spoke with a rep name Andre Schneider, he wanted permission to come into one of the senior living properties that I serve. I specifically and clearly told him that I would do some research on this company and get back with him to let him know IF he could come to the property. Much to my surprise, Andre TOTALLY ignored what I told him and came to the property anyway - WITHOUT my permission then pretended as though he did not recall the conversation, SMH! I will also be calling my local better business office to report them. This company, this rep is trying to bully his way into our properties. If they come on any of our properties again, we will call 911 and charge them with trespassing!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for brining this to our attention. Sorry for the experience, we are going to review and take appropriate action. If you need further assistance, please email our team at genmobilecare@dish.com
Posted 2 months ago
Gen Mobile is a total scam!!! A Gen Mobile "pop Up" store was set up outside a convenience store I frequented. claiming free phone and cell service for people that qualified for the ACP program which they said they could check one's quantification in a few minutes. My current phone had a near-dead un-replaceable battery and a badly cracked screen and so I was interested. A few moments later they told me that I was qualified. I asked if would be able to tether my laptop to the phone, as that was the only form of internet connection I had. The agent said that was not a problem. However I needed to purchase the premium phone & tablet combo for $80 plus pay an additional $10 a month for tethering. It sounded like better deal than my current plan so I Went for the $80 phone & android tablet. I was told I just needed to contact Gen mobile on-line to add the tethering service. When I contacted Gen Mobile, the agent had no record of me, my ACP qualification, the purchase of the merchandise, or cell service in my name. The tethering option cost. $10 for 1gb/mo, $30/mo. for 7GB, and $50/mo 10gb. When when I explained that this was not at all what sales agent at the pop-up gen store told me- and I would like to return the merchandise, the Gen Mobile agent informed me that Gen Mobile had no record of the sale or the sales agent. They DID have the phone number of my new phone, but it was not registered to me so I could not return it or get a refund. When I tried to track down the agent from the receipt, the listed party had no address, email or phone #. Gen Mobil would not provide any info about the agent.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John, we want to help review and resolve this issue. Can you please email genmobilecare@dish.com so we can get more details. Thank you.
Posted 2 months ago
Bought $100 phone from a pair of Gen Mobile grifters in Phoenix. I am disabled with no income. They used another person's account and simm and put it in my phone. BTW their phone rep gave me all that person's personal info, including name birthday, address and last 4 of their social over the phone. Then instructed me to input that into their website to reactivate my simm. Right after telling me the account holder applied for another phone with a different provider. REALLY?!! I called back because reading the contract, (which I recommend) it clearly states that I can be barred from lifeline for providing fraudulent personal info to get lifeline phone service. I said I want a refund and they said they can't help me, because the account is in someone else's name! That I have to find the person who sold me the phone. I have no idea where they are, I haven't seen them set up at my grocery store before or since. I would give them 0 stars, they don't deserve a 1 star. Do yourself a favor, do not deal with these people. My radar should've have gone off, but I was too focused on needing that phone for doctors appointments. I wish I would have seen the HUNDREDS of COMPLAINTS ONLINE.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Sorry for the experience, we would like to review to ensure our enrollment representatives and customer support teams are following correct processes. Please email us at genmobilecare@dish.com so we can get more information and research the application and customer support interaction(s).
Posted 2 months ago
Horrible experience don’t waste your time and money they are the worst of the worst
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I've got scammed on phone and tablet bundle at doctor's office where they was allowed to set up. Can only text on phone and tablet has no SIM card. Thought I could trust them since they were allowed to sell their products. The other phone I have paid for unlimited 3 days later internet is working as should. Scammers for sure. Run........ people run if you see agents. Customer service and street agents lie.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Genmobile is nothing but dirty scammers. They lie to you all the time. They claim they sent you messages and have not. Also do not get an unlimited data plan with them because it's not unlimited. Such scum bags. And lastly, try to get a refund from them. They lie about that as well.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They are a disgusting lying company! They turned my phone off and guess what the reason was? Because they said I talk too much! I talk too much on sn unlimited talk and text plan. Then I gave them another chance when I should have left and man was that a huge mistake because this time the disturbed by service on my iPhone down to nothing but incoming calls! I had no iMessage, no FaceTime, no internet couldn’t log into iCloud because they made it so my phone wouldn’t recognize my password then and they messed with my battery usage somehow! Wowwwww! How can a phone company be allowed to do this and get this…they say I used all my data! Hahaha! Lies because I didnt even use data on that phone. I had no apps on that line. Smh. What a trash lying deceitful company. I left within minutes of me finding out it was them doing this to my phone for nothing. They made me miss important messages, never again and I highly suggest you stay away!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This black woman that cells cellphones through gen mobile In Cincinnati sold me a cellphone about a week ago. A few days later my phone completely shut down it won't even hold a charge or turn on and when I called the customer service number she gave me they said my phone number doesn't exist in the system. Lol I'm suing this company . Stop letting these miserable people get away with hacking your phones and stealing your identity . SUE THESE MISERABLE BASTARDS
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I paid for the unlimited plan and every time I look up my data is off, and they are telling me I'm using too much date, how when its unlimited plan now they will not cut my data back telling me to buy more or wait until the 17th
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Recently I got the free phone.Have'nt been able to call out.Every number I dial is busy, but can text.Phone is the worst.Free not worth the trouble of signing up.Oh and it's very hard to shut off.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
My account was cute off because I fiod out for another one know I never did that help me
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I got the gen Mobile phone last week, I went ahead and got a new phone today, Gen mobile totally sucks, I got a Tru Connect mobile phone, with a free year of prime unlimited data, and unlimited hotspot this company needs to be put out of business they are horrible.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I was toll I qualify for the goverment phone all I had to do was give them $110.00 dollars. I paid it then the number they gave me could not be use because I always got the message the number belong to someone else. Ok I call and toll them about the problem. But it kept happening. I ask if I can bring my old number from metro and Genmobile said I could, the only thing I had to do was buy a sim card which cost me $20.00 dollars and the transfer # from metro. Ive spend $130.00 dollars.total,my gas my time. And Ive call 15 times and when I give them the phone number they gave me. They hang up on me 15 TIMES calling. It's a scammed. They steal from old people..
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
This company a total joke, they scammed my mother today saying signing up would not affect her already ACP phone and charged her $50.00. He also did not give his name or a number to my mother. We already have disputed the charge with her bankbecsuse the customer service guy could not give her a refund. He said "refer to the agent who didn't give you his number". I called acp and she indeed lost her current good service with straight talk after the street agent misinformed her and lied to her. I reported them to ACP for abusive and misleading sales tactics, next BBB and lawyer. Their misleading tactics will be brought down. This company is trash along with the shady, lying street agents. I hoped you guys go out of business asap for doing this to people. It's cruel and disgusting. ABSOLUTELY DO NOT DO ANY BUSINESS WITH THEM! YOU WILL REGRET IT!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
If you use your for business, this will screw you. Their terms and conditions have a “reasonable/excessive usage” clause, they will flag your account even though they claim “Unlimited data” they will turn your data completely off(no warning included) and if you are traveling after business hours of their company.. good luck trying to use GPS to get home because you are now stranded. I have had to call 19 times for them to turn back on and explain my situation. Granted they turn it back on but.. I’ve just now found out about this clause on the 19th call. I will now be switching services for the simple fact…… unlimited means unlimited. Just a cheap company with no transparency. No one reads terms and conditions to a tea when choosing a phone service.. even when you choosing a phone service, they explain the terms and conditions themselves. I would have never decided to go with this cheap company if I have known ahead of time and it would have also saved me a headache.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I purchased an Alcatel Wi-Fi hot spot that was provided with a GenMobile SIM card. I’m unable to set it up and GenMobile has been unresponsive for days. They responded initially and then went silent. For three days I’ve sent them emails asking “Is anyone there”? I don’t think they know how to set it up. They shouldn’t sell a product they don’t know how to support.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I called for a carrier swap from AT&T, but instead of doing a CARRIER SWAP, the unprofessional agent did a SIM CHANGE, which resulted in losing the service. When I called them they said: " Just wait for your new sim card to arrive in 10 business days". I asked them for a solution till the sim gets delivered, and they said:" This is the only solution we have". Staying without service for 10 days is normal for them. Very Desapointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
SIM card changes can take up to 10 business days, but will be able to deliver faster in most cases. If there was a swap and you need to wait for a new SIM, give our care team a call to check on a tracking number. It is usually available within 2 days. You may also have options to get a SIM from a store in your area.
Posted 5 months ago
I switched from SafeLink to Gen Mobile thinking that I would get better service from them. They claim that 7gb of data was used within a 7 day period. Everytime I call, they're favorite words are 'You've consumed all your Data. I even purchased Data and never received the Data. Now! When I call they're rude, hanging up during the conversation before the problem is solved. The so-called Supervisors are worse than the workers. I've turned off my Data and when I turn it back on, someone is connected to my Hotspot even before I can connect to it and no one is in my home but me. How??? They're stealing people's Data as well as they're money. This is supposed to be a Free Government Program where the phone is supposed to be free, so why when the phone all of a sudden stops working, they want you to purchase a phone. They're selling old outdated phones to the customers and don't care about the customers at all!!! SMH!!! It's pitiful how they're scamming people.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I received a phone from a street agent and after paying for activation the phone was disconnected in less than a month. When I called customer service they stated that they can not provide a refund and are unable to activate my phone because my details were never inserted into the system so I would have to buy another phone. Mind you this was supposed to be a free government phone. SMH they are real life thieves.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Gen Mobile is rated 3.1 based on 361 reviews