Hsbc Reviews

1.40 Rating 518 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.42 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
One star is already too much. The time you waste just for getting in contact with them for simple enquiries is outrageous - and by phone expensive. The right they take to block your account (and with this access to YOUR money!) when they change anything on their side, is brutal and careless. The customer support is annoying and phrases like 'Oh, sorry for any inconvenience' become ridiculous and make your blood boil. Even though you have sufficient funds, your account might be blocked. User Interface and User Experience is cumbersome. Choose another bank. Would highly advise against becoming their customer!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I would give 0 if I can. How are they still in business. Please dont put your money here.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
The HSBC is the worst bank ever, especially if you need a help from their fraud or complex team. They'll never pick up the phone even if you are the whole 6 hours on hold. If someone else would tell me this I will never believe. Unfortunately I had that luck to have the worst experience with them. My recommendation is to choose any other bank except HSBC because with them you'll be without your money and without your health (terrible, useless, treats you as a sheet without any respect 👎👎👎)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Was referred from Internet Banking to Business Banking who then referred me back to Internet banking who were still unable to help. This would be shoddy enough but the queuing times for each referral are literally hours. No-one anywhere in the circuitous chain really gives a damn about service delivery. Looking urgently into banking options
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
App/online security is absolutely archaic, no concern for UX. Like something from the 90s, can't even login without waiting for snail mail...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
How ironic I was summonsed to their Yorkshire Branch. From InverMESS. This for being £10 overdrawn. Admittedly not the first time I wasn't a couple of quid overdrawn at end of month. (Had I known, I should never, to their credit, requested they opened a branch here, inverMESS). This when it belatedly came to my attention they had been fined hundreds of millions of U$ for facilitating Colombian & Mexican drug cartel laundering. Breaching UN arms embargos. Ditto no doubt vindictive, malicious, trade embargos too. FOR(eign)EX(change) & L(ondon) I(nter)B(ank) O(ffered) R(ate) fixing & enumerable other misdemeanours. Yet not one of their unscrupulous executives has been held to account...Rich get justice poor get the law?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We have a HSBC multi currency accounts in in the same name in the US, the UK and Singapore and they charge ridiculous amounts to transfer from one HSBC account to the other. It's taken me a total of 2 hours in a chat queue and on a voice call in parallel to try to speak to an agent with still not luck. To compare, we also have Revolut accounts in the UK and Singapore where we can transfer instantly with no fees between each other without the need to change currency. If we like to change currencies it has much better rates and you can easily speak to helpful agents if you need someone.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I have just come of the phone with the help line, had a lady by the name of Sarah she was absolutely brilliant, so much patience with me unbelievable. I can only day a very big thank you to the young lady.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have lost my business debit card - the first agent misunderstood and locked my commercial device so I do not have even have access to online banking no more. Secondly, the lost and stolen team put me on hold for 2 hrs I have been on the call no answer! Awful service!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Money transfer between two HSBC account takes forever. The mobile bank is horrible and totally useless. Can't even transfer money from another currency.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Always experiencing high call volumes.... hire more staff maybe? Horrendous - every experience is awful - incapable staff. Banked with them for 20 years and cannot wait to leave.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
5 words to describe HSBC customer service. SHOCKING, SHOCKING SHOCKING, SHOCKING, SHOCKING !! Use another Bank
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Tried opening a basic account for my son over a month ago. My passport id check failed (no idea why), his passport id check failed (no idea why). Called last week and was promised a call back the next day to sort the issue, didn't receive the call. Called again and was made the same promise - didn't receive the call again. Called again today and now my original application has expired because it's been over a month since I applied, so I'm expected to go through the same process all over again. Absolutely useless! Was told to visit a branch with my son to open his account instead which involves having to drive into town to a branch to make the appointment, then drive back in for the appointment! I didn't have the choice of just making the appointment over the phone with the branch. Checked the branch opening times and HSBC is no longer open at weekends, just 9am to 3pm weekdays. How the hell am I supposed to take my son into a branch and open an account for him when he's at school and I'm at work during the week? Avoid this bank at all costs, absolute shower of muppets. I would have expected more from a well established, international bank. instead you get overseas call centres, ridiculously long call waiting times and limited branch opening hours.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I just see £542.78 going out from my account I was think some robber pinch my money strait I call HSBC I find out robber was my Bank they charge me 542.78 and they said that is not our charge but FX charge I ask are you same company they said no I ask how come you charge me that much money without my knowledge no letter no phone call no email He said we call you and left the voicemail in same day I look at all my call and voicemail no any they know how they robbing people they are Licensed Robber I work for 72 hours a week for this money
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My son’s school has sent the boarding fee refund to this “amazing BANK” a month before but still I don’t know where is the money right now Extremely poor customer service discausting The school name is NLGS NW9 6HB So disappointed I would give you 0 star ⭐️ if possible but I had to give 1 unfortunately Very 💩 service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Worst bank I have ever had dealing with, absolutely rubbish!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
With HSBC for over 20 years have not moved address in over 15 years (home owner) Marker placed on my account never told about this until today at hsbc branch when i asked why the marker put on they had no answer . Tried to make appointment with manager to be told no i cannot see a manager. avoid hsbc if you can.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have had the same nightmare experience trying to comply with the online safeguarding review as another the volunteer treasurer who posted a review here 3 weeks ago. This has taken numerous days of my time over over the last 6 months now and shows no sign of being resolved despite visits to my local branch and phone calls and emails. I can only assume HSBC is determined to close our community group bank account whether we want to or not! Appalling service (not from individuals who have often seemed to be trying to help but from the whole HSBC system) but I don't suppose they will take any notice of my review either!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I disputed a payment and sent in any relevant attachments to support my case. I was credited the amount back to my card. Now the amount has been debited again with no explanation. Spoke to customer services yesterday, who placed me on hold for over an hour and left me hanging I had to cut off and call again. This time I went though security was told to hold while they investigated my query, 20 mins later the representative came back to go through security again? And then said okay I'll stick you on hold and go and investigate.... is it just me or is this shocking customer service. I said I wanted to log a complaint, this was ignored, I was told can't investigate right now as can't get through to the department and that she would call back once she gets through the whole day passed and I received no call. I called at 8.45 am this morning again and the same has happened again I've been on hold for over 2 hours 30 mins and I'm still on hold... nobody is taking ownership nobody wants to help it's all passing customers around here there and everywhere. I've been with the bank for years spend and paid hundreds of thousands of pounds with them if this continues I will have to close my holdings and move to another bank with customers at the heart of there business. I'm shocked and I don't have words to describe how disappointed I am with HSBC
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I had deposited two cheques on 31st September 2021, one was dated 30th September while the other was dated 4th Oct(oversight). The post dated cheque was returned after several calls and requests on 18th Oct. The bank could have used some common sense and cleared by chq on 4th Oct since it was in there possession or returned the chq earlier so I could deposit the chq for clearance. What took the bank 19 days to return the cheque. Several attempts were made to contact the relationship management at the bank but were ignored. If this is how you'd treat a Premier banking customer who's been loyal to the bank for 18 years I can only empathise with new/ non Premier customers. Its been a horrific experience dealing with HSBC Middle East. Its time to bank with someone who offers a better customer experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hsbc is rated 1.40 based on 518 reviews