Hsbc Reviews

1.39 Rating 486 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.42 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The worst Bank!!! Honest people wants to open bank account to deposit their monthly pay check. And this HSBC is asking personal question that are not relevant. Including documents for personal properties! We said “CLOSE THE ACCOUNT. WE ARE NOT HAPPY, and end up stressful with all these investigations & interrogations, just to open an account!!! And that’s why HSBC IS LOSING MANY HONEST CUSTOMER. I would not advice or recommend anyone to open an account with this kind of bank. There rating is going down!!!Make life easy, not stressful…..Worst Rating… period.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Complying with “Safeguarding review” keep asking for more information. Now sent notice of closure of account. Staff quite rude aggressive and unhelpful. Raising a complaint and changing bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Locked our account because it was Joint and I had updated my details, but my husband had not. No notification or letter sent to the new address or my email that we needed to do this. Talked at length (2 1/2 hours) on the phone to Raul, in Manchester who then decided my husband didn’t give enough answers to verify him and told him he had to go into a branch with ID (we live in Canada!). Completely disregard for us as long time customers. He had already identified me successfully! Very frustrating experience and we will never recommend HSBC again, after more than 15 years of business we are totally disappointed with the experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Horrible, horrible experience they forgot to send out my telephone security number. When trying to figure this out over the phone they decide to lock my account do not use this bank!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I'M SO TIRED OF WAITING FOR YOUR RESPONSE. FOR ALMOST 4 MONTHS I DIDN'T RECEIVE ANY RESPONSE OR CALL FROM YOU GUYS AND KEEP CHARGING ME FINANCES CHARGE FEE AND LATE ASSESSMENT FEE I REALLY WANT TO CANCEL THIS CARD BECAUSE OF THIS HASSLE YOU'VE DONE TO ME. I LOOPED EVERYONE THIS EMAIL FOR A LONG TIME STILL NO RESPONSE FROM ANY ONE OF YOU. ARE YOU REALLY WORKING ON THIS. IS THIS YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE? VERY UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER SERVICE I RECEIVED. NO CALL OR RESPONSE TO MY EMAIL FOLLOW UPS SINCE APRIL 24 2021. I THINK 4MONTHS IS ENOUGH TO COMPLAINTS ACTUALLY SINCE THEN IM COMPLAINING ALL TICKET HAS BEEN RAISED BY YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE BUT STILL NO RESPONSE AT ALL.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
All of my bank accounts have been closed, with no notice or explanation given to me. I run a business and this has caused me countless problems so I'm only going to mention a few of the major ones. I don't know which customers have paid for their orders, I'm unable to pay suppliers, I'm unable to repay debt, I'm unable to consitently put food on the table. This is an abhorrent way to treat a customer of 7+ years. I haven't eaten breakfast in over 4 days, I'm living off hand outs from friends and family and also building up debt with my credit cards... at the same time as being unable to pay them off. I'm unable to put fuel in my car, I'm late with my rent payment. I cannot put into words the sheer level of stress, anxiety and financial hardship that has been directly caused by this situation. HSBC have effectively sent me back to the dark ages, living off of favours rather than money. It's been 7 working days since they closed my accounts, however it was only yesterday that the cheque with my account balance was sent in the post. Letters from HSBC have taken on average 5-7 working days to turn up at my house, this means I will be without access to my personal or business funds for over 14 working days, or 18 calendar days. (I will update this if/ when the cheque arrives) In a time where small businesses are already struggling to keep liquid, whether it be the extended lead times on products or unexpected price increases passed on by raw material suppliers along with all the other hurdles, having your account completely shut down with zero notice and no explanation is very, very scary. However unbelievable this may seem, it is in HSBC's terms and conditions that this can be done to anyones account, without notice, or reason. Check for yourself. This is easily the worst way I've been treated in my life, either by an individual or organisation. Save yourself the stress, time and embarrasment and bank with anyone but these jokers.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
New phone - had to transfer something called a digital certificate. Not possible due to old phone being broken. So HBSC support said to reset my accoutn details. What a disaster! Now over 3 weeks later still cannto access my money. HSBC solutions are to sedn them a papwr form - yes really a paper form - or call them. tried callign before but get put on hold for hours and I am calling HK from Australia so its not cheap. Sent the paper form. They have advised that the user name is wrong and told me the user name to use - its NOT my user name. They also said the ID number they gave me for the form was wrong. BUT ITS EXACTLY what they sent. Their solution - send another form!!! Utter useless. All this because their system is no good and their staff have no idea. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Closing all HK and Australian accounts.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Seriously scary. HSBC CF just refused finance previously agreed to the buyer of my property because I don't want to invest the proceeds in HSBC products. They then went on to freeze my account causing me to miss out on a buying a property at auction even after I had confirmed the transaction was authentic and they had acknowledged. Something is seriously wrong. AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Serious issues with HSBC Australia regarding transparency, communication, security and integrity. I opened an account with HSBC earlier this year, via the Brisbane Branch. After many personal visits to the bank to sort out passwords, logging on difficulties, ATM cards that did not work and interminable security issues I decided to transfer some money to the UK. I test-transferred two identical amounts to the UK to find out that entirely different sums had been sent. When queried, HSBC alluded to charges by 'intermediary banks'. I dealt with 8-10 people on the phone, by email, by personal representation at the bank, all to zero avail. It was clear that HSBC had no intention of looking into this issue so I reported them to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (and closed my HSBC account at the same time). Many months and countless emails later HSBC offered me a $50 Woolworths voucher - the 'bag of carrots' payoff, which I refused. More emails and eventually HSBC refunded by $35 and previous $40 transfer fees. Months and months of work to retrieve my $35, which HSBC stole. What a stupid bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They cut you off when you ring them and also block your account I wouldn't bank with them AVOID.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Many thanks to Susan who helped me make a transfer by phone. She sorted out the problem of why my online transfers kept being returned to my UK account and ensured that in future I could make my own online transfers correctly. She was very helpful, and very efficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Shocking experience with HSBC business safeguard review where the questions were not relevant to our situation as we are not a business . Account was frozen twice. This used to be my favourite bank but now I would tell people to avoid it
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Account with large positive balance closed after I had been with HSBC for 40+ years. No reasons given all requests for reasons refused. They are a shambles. They are liars and cheats. I was in the process of moving house and I was left in the lurch.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I trusted AUBREY SOLUTIONS to help me spy on my spouse and he didn’t fail me or rip me off he’s the most reliable and trustworthy hacker I know contact. A U B R E Y S O L U T I O N S 0 0 7 at G M A I L C O M
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Don't use this bank - i's worse nightmare to deal with them. We submitted application for our daughter and year later no account and no feedback. We visited multiple times branches and made many calls to customer service, but no help. Me and my wife are taking our business elsewhere. I can't work with bank which doesn't communicate with customer and where staff is highly incompetent! Rafal
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Totally unresponsive and incompetent customer service avoid these clowns like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Seriously, never bank with HSBC. I have a couple dozen credit cards, never had a meaningful issue with any of them. Nothing but issues with HSBC as they find all transactions to be suspicious, and they will require you go into their branch to repeatedly prove you made the charge (in one example, I bought toothpaste at the corner store; HSBC froze my card telling me to call to confirm that I made the purchase; I called and they asked me some identifying questions; I got all the answers right—even faxing them a copy of my ID and my electric bill; still, they told me I'd have to drive to their branch to show my ID to prove I made the charge; I asked why and the agent said he heard voices in the background that seemed like they might be "coaching me". So, because I had "The View" on in another room, and Joy Behar is a loud talker, I had to drive to an HSBC branch.) Their ineptness would be comedic if the nearest HSBC wasn't 50 miles away. They are an endless waste of time. And their telephone customer service is not only incompetent, but also shockingly rude. All the popular customer reviews sites are loaded with expierences like mine, and there's a reason their average rating on most customer review websites is dismal (1 out of 5 star averages on most sites), they are truly awful.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
It has been 5 weeks since you closed our church account and you have still not given us our money. Where is our churches money, have you spent it. How are we supposed to pay bills and help other charities. Your customer service is terrible and we cannot find anyone to speak to here. Disgusting behaviour from your so called bank. Stay away from this bank, they steal your money.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The bank won't talk to you unless you are a customer. Tried to gain some information about exchange fees, wouldn't divulge the information unless I had an existing account. Typical of this bank, very hard to get information from them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Partner is banking with hsbc trying to do indemnity claim for a Direct Debit taken 3-4 days after he cancelled it, agent has no idea what direct debit guarantee or indemnity claim is, infuriating horrible service - avoid this bank please
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hsbc is rated 1.39 based on 486 reviews