Hsbc Reviews

1.40 Rating 427 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Hong Kong and shanghai Banking Corp couldn't get any worse. I've had my accounts for 40 years (back when it was Midland Bank.) On line tells you to phone, they tell you to go online. Then told to go to the branch and the branch say to go online. Clueless
Posted 4 days ago
Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corp couldnt get any worse if the tried. Looking to leave after 40 years. (WAS MIDLAND BANK BACK THEN)
Posted 4 days ago
Very poor customer service. Sending letters asking us to contact them on the attached contact details and not supplying any.
Posted 5 days ago
I had a charge I didn't recognise! Turned out it was an insurance policy I'd taken out 3 years ago via aviva HSBC but I'd not changed my address with the policy - just with my HSBC card. When I saw the random charge (I'd not noticed in previous years due to undiagnosed ADD) I queried it and the team and Fiona were SO HELPFUL in sorting it out. They helped refund me for the unknown charges even though it was partially my fault for not moving my address on the actual policy (which I had thought would email me). I have so often been screwed by companies that I was astounded at the immediate human understanding I was given and that they refunded me for this misunderstanding. I am very grateful for the customer service and has left me feeling very grateful that I'm with this bank.
Posted 1 week ago
If you're looking for the most frustrating banking experience of your life, look no further. HSBC's phone and in-person representatives are polite but offer no substantial help. I have had issues for more than 6 months, called multiple times, and gone in-person to the branch and I have not had my issue resolved. All their processes are seemingly secure but actually could be streamlined to make it easier for the user and just as secure. I would tell anyone who wants a user-friendly experience, timely service, and hassle-free banking to take their service elsewhere.
Posted 1 week ago
Worst bank ever, I just tried to update my home address because I already moved to a different place, and their verification process sucks big time. They'd ask a series of questions and if you are unable to match all their security questions (even if you told them that you've already transferred jobs and all) they won't proceed with your request.

The worse thing here I've been a long time client more than 10 years already, and when I asked them to just cancel my account since I find their verification process inefficient, they "gladly" canceled my account without addressing any of my issues.

They can't update my address because of their verification process but was able to cancel my account without this same verification process.

But tbh, I'm really happy that I won't be dealing with them ever again.

Kudos HSBC!
Posted 1 week ago
Even after submitting a safeguard form online few times and not having any more error messages on the online banking, I got a letter today on post saying business account will be closed. RUBBISH RUBBISH BANK EVER for business banking.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Poorest service ever! I am long term individual and business customer. Hsbc suddenly closed my business account without reason and notice, then montly later send business funds via a cheque, when i transfer the cheque into my hsbc bank, they closed my personal bank too. Now they frozen my another business bank without reason, i cant access the funds to pay the bills and staff, they dont care my complaint at all.very poor service!!!
Posted 3 weeks ago
The worst bank ever. Customer service is appalling
Instead of dealing with my request, they said go to another bank
Rude and disrespectful
I think they have too many customers so if some leave, they don’t care
Posted 1 month ago
No means of contacting them. I have opened an account but not received the card, I've also received a suspicious looking letter that doesn't have all my details. I needed to talk to somebody, anybody as my local HSBC are still operating with limited service. The Live Chat doesn't work, and all the different phone numbers doesn't refer to what it's supposed to do. The means of contact is appalling, and even through the 'lost/stolen card' number I'm directed back to the standard route. God forbid anyone wanting to cancel their card in an emergency - there is no emergency line, just another automated option followed by a long wait.
Posted 1 month ago
Disgraceful...
As a business during lockdown like the rest of us we are struggling and just about making ends meet. Therefore like every other business we applied for a bounce back loan which got approved and we signed all relevant docs but no funds till date (2 months in and still waiting).

No updates whatsoever so we rang to enquire and to my despair the worst service ever received. I rang numerous time’s only to be hung up on 3 times after being out on hold, put into the queue twice and I have written a formal complaint directly and via an advisor and shockingly till this day I have only had a letter to say we are looking into this (2 weeks and waiting).

I advised as fair business everyone deserves a 2nd chance and advised HSBC as a last resort I would turn to reviews and social media platforms for the absolutely appalling service we have received
Posted 1 month ago
Worse bank ever.. please avoid at least for business.. to be honest we are very screwed because they force us to use their banks by removing cash but yet they have all the power over our money when they we put it in the bank.. they can freeze ur account and that will be it... not explanation, no time frame, nothing... you will just have to wait until they want u to have ur life back.. so unfair... I can’t wait for the day all those corporations will collapse and we will be in control of our lives again.. God please come and help us..
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely appalling service, both from Customer service and through the Mobile banking App. Twice I've had my accounts frozen without notice and twice I've had to spend long periods of time on the phone with customer service in order to rectify and issue which I've been able to solve with other banking providers (Natwest) in a matter of minutes. The Mobile Banking App(s) are needlessly complicated and require highly complicated and confusing entry procedures upon every opening of the app. I will be closing my accounts with HSBC at the nearest possible opportunity and I strongly advise any prospective customers to consider other Banking options before choosing HSBC.
Posted 1 month ago
Since Lockdown (March) I have been trying to communicate about my merchant services. I have been ignored by telephone, e-mail, letters through the post, letters delivered to my branch by hand. All I have received is a letter today stating that my conditions are to be changed. Changed? In my opinion they are just a piggy bank. They are outrageously bad but will survive after this crisis when small, hardworking businesses go bust - partly because of them.
Posted 1 month ago
i HAD BOTH MY PERSONAL AND BUSINESS ACCOUNTS WITH HSBC AFTER LEAVING BARCLAYS OF 28 YEARS. THIS WAS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE. THEY LOCKED BOTH BANKS WITHOUT A PHONE CALL TEXT OR EMAIL TO TELL ME, I HAD TO FIND OUT WHEN I COULDNT GET MONEY OUT, PAY ANYONE AND ALSO NO ONE COULD PAY ME. AFTER DAYS AND DAYS ON THE PHONES COMPLAINING I STILL HAVENT RECIEVED ANY INFORMATION AS TO WHY THEY CLOSED MY ACCOUNTS AND WAS TOLD IT COULD TAKE UP TO 8 WEEKS. WELL IM SUPPOSED TO PAY PEOPLE AND HAVE A NEW MORTGAGE COMING THROUGH FOR WHICH I CANT GET MY DEPOSIT OUT, SO BASICALLY I HAVE NO ACCESS TO ANY MONEY FOR A POSSIBLE 8 WEEKS AND THEY SAY ITS LEGAL. WELL ONE THING IS FOR SURE MY BUSINESS WILL SUFFER AND MY CREDIT RATING WILL BE DESTROYED AND YET THEY STILL WILL NOT ANSWER ME AS TO WHY......... MY ADVICE IS STAY WELL AWAY FROM HSBC AS THE SERVICE IS TERRIBLE, FORGET COVID AS THEY USE THAT AS AN EXCUSE AS THEY DONT CARE ABOUT THE LIKES OF ME OR YOU AND JUST WALK ALL OVER US. IF YOU JOIN DONT SAY I DIDNT WARN YOU.
Posted 2 months ago
Missed two calls on my mobile unknown number turns out now it was HSBC fraud ringing
Got a letter to say I was being investigated
Tried to use my HSBC App wouldnt work tried to log on got a message to ring a number which I did
Went through the security checks ok until he asked me what i had spent 2K on and what was the other payment for
I had not done these transactions so he blocked me
Rang my husband whose working in France he said he'd find out whats going on
Turns out he had paid the 2K credit card bill as he usualy does and had to pay his apartment deposit
He used his card his name and number
Nothing to do with my card, name and number, I cannot see my bank account and cant access the credit card statement as its my husbands
So why ring , letter and block me ?
Somebody has made a mistake , surely they could see who made the transactions
Now I have to go into town on the bus with identification to be un blocked
And I cant pay wages for our bussiness
I can only hope the un blocking works quickly but after reading other comments I dont have confidence in that
And we are Premier customers with them for years
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely diabolical customer service!
We applied for a bounce-back feeder account back in April. We were told we had to apply again because they lost all of our information. We applied again but the system duplicated my information (i suspect the information was not lost in the first place at all). The online process continues to ask for documents that are not needed because there is a spurious third applicant that is not needed. I have raised this now several times but it has still not been resolved. Each time is over an hour on hold or on the phone. There are no managers so no escalation route. Today they told me if I didn't like it that I could make a complaint. I said yes, they put me through to the business banking team who refused to raise a complaint because they have nothing to do with bounce backs. There are zero SLA's, callbacks or progress - it's ABSOLUTELY diabolical.I've never had such terrible service. Starling Bank are fantastic ... go there!
Posted 2 months ago
I wanted to make a payment a week ago for my phone bill, ho-ewer i wast able as my card didnt went trough, once i called bank i was told that my card has been frauded , i explained that it was me who was using the card for jd sports , any how I told that i just want to pay bill for the phone and she told me that i CANT, after long arguments she let me to pay the bill for my phone and told me that she will order new card, i was ok with that, however i asked if i can use this card to buy food and travel home, she said yes, and also that i will be able to take the cash....next day morning i went to the coffee shop and i was with work colleagues and my card declined i was so embarrassed ..after work i wanted to go home when i went to the bus card was declining again, so i went to nearest atm and wanted to take the cash, once i put card in the cash point there was a message than my card frauded and it was swollen /taken by atm,so I left with no card and money as it was Friday after working hours and none of the HSBC banks open Saturday and Sunday. i called bank and complained that i was told that i will be able to use my money while new card on the way but nevertheless my card was taken by cash machine , so i left with no cash no card, i have no familly here i am walking to work every day i cancelled my plans and i also had usines flights and many things regarding work and payments , i have been told that new card will arrive 3-5 working busines days hoewer nothing received yet after 5 days, when i called ONE MORE TIME today, on the phone i understoon that card wasnt ordered at all and she told me that i need to wait 5 more working days which is almost 2 weeks ...i have no word how much ,stress, confusion it cost for me also in regards of my work , business , and all kind of things, only my phone calls to you cost me almost 50£ also i wast able to make many payments and i am told to wait 5 more working days thats terrible that 3 people couldn't order the cards by mistake , and i want a compensation because it cost me a lot of damage not only money wise but physically and mentally.
Posted 2 months ago
Exceptionally poor customer service ... avoid if possible
Posted 2 months ago
HSBC Bloody useless bank! Been waiting nearly 12 weeks for bounce back loan, chased sign-off docs, signed them three weeks ago, was told money would be in account within 48 hours, still nothing! AND that is after chasing it up upteen times, Bank Manager been on the case for last week, he's getting no-where, apparently. Anyone thinking of joining this bank should think twice, as I know lots of people leaving it! I have been with the bank for 35 years, when it was Midland Bank, since becoming HSBC, it has slowly gone down hill to an incompetent mess!
Posted 2 months ago
Hsbc is rated 1.40 based on 427 reviews