Hsbc Reviews

1.42 Rating 402 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Hsbc 1 star review on 6th April 2018
Disgruntled David
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 5 star review on 15th February 2017
Mouchel Christian
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 1 star review on 15th June 2016
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Never ever nuisances acount on hsbc
Posted 6 days ago
HSBC enable fraud!

I found out from Experian there would been fraudulent attempts to create credit cards in my name with a number of different banks, it was advised a contact all the banks where this had been tried to make them aware of the fraud.

Through my credit report I had a time and date of when these applications are taken place so I knew they were all genuine concerns

One of them was HSBC.

The first bank I spoke to I quickly got put in touch with their fraud team who investigated made sure everything was settled, checked none of the fake accounts had been successful being formed and generally did what you would expect as part of their basic responsibilities as a provider of credit.

The HSBC call centre first tried to try to tell me there wasn't a problem, and in particular the call centre worker showed a complete lack of understanding of even basic elements what you'd expect from someone working with a bank (e.g. she didn't understand what a credit report was…). After much pushing she claimed she was trying to put me through to the fraud team, then said it was impossible for her to do so and it would take them up to 7 weeks for the team to call me back! Needless to say when I'm still in the position I don't know whether someone has successfully set up a fraudulent credit card in my name, and when I'm trying to get as much details to the police as possible for their investigation I'd expected minutes to hours delay at worst not 7 weeks.....

Based on this experience I would not trust HSBC anywhere near my money

Just a quick update to the above spoke to a call center manager (I think they claim they were from the escalation team but the call quality was very bad), they effectively blamed being shortstaffed in their fraud team claiming that as they worked on a first-come first-served basis so it could take up to 7 weeks to even look at the case, given other banks have managed to sort something out within an hour this suggests to me they really don't know how to handle possible fraud.

Based on this I am unsurprisingly very anxious what could be done in my name in seven weeks! And would definitely advise you don't trust them with your money
Posted 1 month ago
HSBC enable fraud!

I found out from Experian there would been fraudulent attempts to create credit cards in my name with a number of different banks, it was advised a contact all the banks where this had been tried to make them aware of the fraud.

Through my credit report I had a time and date of when these applications are taken place so I knew they were all genuine concerns

One of them was HSBC.

The first bank I spoke to I quickly got put in touch with their fraud team who investigated made sure everything was settled, checked none of the fake accounts had been successful being formed and generally did what you would expect as part of their basic responsibilities as a provider of credit.

The HSBC call centre first tried to try to tell me there wasn't a problem, and in particular the call centre worker showed a complete lack of understanding of even basic elements what you'd expect from someone working with a bank (e.g. she didn't understand what a credit report was…). After much pushing she claimed she was trying to put me through to the fraud team, then said it was impossible for her to do so and it would take them up to 7 weeks for the team to call me back! Needless to say when I'm still in the position I don't know whether someone has successfully set up a fraudulent credit card in my name, and when I'm trying to get as much details to the police as possible for their investigation I'd expected minutes to hours delay at worst not 7 weeks.....

Based on this experience I would not trust HSBC anywhere near my money

Just a quick update to the above spoke to a call center manager (I think they claim they were from the escalation team but the call quality was very bad), they effectively blamed being shortstaffed in their fraud team claiming that as they worked on a first-come first-served basis so it could take up to 7 weeks to even look at the case, given other banks have managed to sort something out within an hour this suggests to me they really don't know how to handle possible fraud.

Based on this I am unsurprisingly very anxious what could be done in my name in seven weeks! And would definitely advise you don't trust them with your money
Posted 1 month ago
I've been a long standing customer of HSBC bank and generally happy with it until yesterday.

To begin with, I went on a work-related trip abroad in mid-March and got stuck there due to the COVID-19 travel restrictions. In May I have contracted the virus and still am recovering, being quarantined in Moscow without any perspective to return home until mid-June in a best case scenario.

One of my HSBC accounts is a joined one, which I use alone since divorced the other person on the account months ago. Normally, I was transferring the Child Maintenance money from this account to her and then moving the remaining amount to my personal account.

On the payday I transferred the money to the joined account as usual, but then realised that I can't make any transactions from it. All my money for the month are blocked. Having called the customer support line, I was advised that the bank has some 'security concerns' over my address since they sent me some correspondence I did not respond to.

For over 40 min on an international call I was trying to explain the situation to an agent with a distinctive accent, but only heard something about 'policies' and was advised to send proof of address by post and also have my ex on the phone with me while on call. Explaining that neither is currently feasible did not convince the helpful HSBC customer service agent and I asked to connect me with the manager. After 10 minutes wait I was cut off.

Called again, this time they kept me on the line for about an hour but with the same outcome.

As a result, I am stuck abroad deprived of access to my money because the bank cannot confirm my address which is ridiculous on its own since they confirmed my identity, my son can't get the maintenance money and naturally I have other financial obligations to serve. Not sure how I am going to get out of this one with financial shortage only being part of the problem.

Are these people totally void of any common sense and care for the customer these days? Those procedures they have may normally be reasonable, but the current situation with COVID-19 chaos where people are stranded abroad, cannot leave their homes or experiencing serious health issues, requires to look at each case based on individual circumstances if they want to retain their customer base.

Or is it a some kind of weird way of getting hold of money to make them work for the bank while the customer is denied access to them?

Disgusted at any case.
Posted 1 month ago
No customer support available !!!!
Posted 1 month ago
I wish there was the option to click on 0 or minus stars. I cannot begin to describe the bad experience I have had with this bank since my husband passed away in 2017. My husband and I were customers of this bank for over 40 years since it was Midland Bank. We worked until we were in our 70's, our wages credited to Midland and then HSBC, since retirement our pensions (both private and state) went into our HSBC account.

After my husband passed away my account was almost immediately frozen and I could not access any money, I have had nothing but problems since with HSBC. I don't have the time to write all of my issues but my latest problem is that they WILL NOT allow me access to my accounts or MY money!

I'm hard of hearing so my daughter assists me with telephone calls, HSBC have always allowed my daughter to speak to them as long as I give a few security details and my consent. I transferred a substantial amount to my account around a month ago, they will not allow me access to this money or access to transfer this money.

I telephoned HSBC and they first said that I should attend branch, an 82 year old lady with health issues in the peak of lock down. It was then decided that I would receive a security code by post (which I never received). We telephoned again to be told that there was a restriction on my online and telephone banking and no access would be authorised to my account or MY MONEY unless I attend branch, again I reiterate I'm an 82 year old lady with health issues in the peak of lock down.

HSBC YOU ARE A DISGRACE! You should at least allow me to authorise my daughter to attend branch or find another way around this, I have been sat at home in tears over this, I feel that you are stealing my money from me.

After over 40 years of banking with HSBC I am taking my account elsewhere, I will be closing my account effective immediately and I will NEVER recommend you to ANYONE!

ABSOLUTE DISGRACE TO BANKING!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Worst bank ever. Bank with someone else.
Posted 2 months ago
Non existent customer services, I’m acting as a verified power of attorney for my elderly parents bank account, HSBC have locked online banking and refuse to unlock the account although they have promised twice that they would do so. I have no faith that things will get better so am going to the branch tomorrow and closing the account. What a useless, pathetic, awful, uncaring organisation that refuses to give me access to my bank account.
Posted 2 months ago
Iam a retired srn nurse,pensioner and carer. Recent statement
for the month revealed fraud of £3000,hsbc stepped in after
2weeks of fraudulent activity, and replaced £1500 but £1500
still not reimbursed .When I confronted them with this they
responded by taking £75 which they said they had overcharged
me. £1500 is a lot of money to a pensioner .
Posted 2 months ago
poor customer service, refused overdraft and no financial support.
Posted 2 months ago
The worst customer support service I have ever encountered!! They even can't bother themselves to deal with fraud transactions after I contacted them many times
Posted 2 months ago
Very bad customer services
Posted 2 months ago
I haven't got to be a customer. I applied for an account and was told my credit score isn't high enough. I asked what score I needed. They didn't know and said there's nobody who could tell me. I had to wait 45 minutes on the phone to find that out. I also visited a branch. Just can't get a straight answer out of them.
Posted 3 months ago
Secure key stopped working. Took 2 weeks to send a new one but no code came for it. They claim to have posted one a month after they sent the secure key! It still has not arrived. They could not text a code because I had updated my address. (I haven’t). I am now locked out of my account and I am sick to death of this bank’s incompetence and lack of customer care.
Posted 3 months ago
The £75 to lure customers . Is a lie . They do that false advertising . I've had so many problems with this bank even though it's my first month with these pieces of shits. The staff have no clue what so ever . About how to help customers . They don't offer to call back not do the email you back . They're a scam company . Avoid at all costs .this bank should be closed for good . Liars and bad service . No rewards . Nothing at all . Just a boring bank . Waiting to make money out if your hard earned cash . Beware .
Posted 3 months ago
Just absolutely boycott this bank!
Posted 4 months ago
We got our US credit ruined from excellent to fair because they take 14, yes FOURTEEN days to process payment. The hotel in the UK tried to charge the week. The card got declined. I paid with another credit card. BUT HSBC CHARGED THE MONEY IN THE CARD, left us with -500 dollars and sent the report to the credit union. It is the worst bank we have ever had. And we have many, happy with all of them. We HAD NEVER had a mark in our credit. A DISASTER!!! NOW we have to try and get the money back. Because the hotel never got it. An absolute shame!!!!!!!!
Posted 4 months ago
Arbitrary freeze on my account, to be us charges, tons of problems logging into the online app, and customer service unable to handle any of it. I’ve had about 15 banks in my life and this is by far the worst bank.
Posted 4 months ago
BREXIT WON! REMAIN C-CKSUCKERS LOST
Posted 4 months ago
Opening an account with them is unnecessarily difficult, complicated and if it weren't for the incentive, a complete waste of time. We tried to open once already, but the process took so long (weeks) that when they said we had been approved we decided not to proceed. For some reason they could not make a decision on whether we qualified for an account and could not tell us exactly why it was taking so long either. We tried again because they had an incentive, and when it got to the stage where we had to install mobile banking on our phones, the security questions and passwords, security pass numbers we were required to remember was like a mental obstacle course! If I'm not mistaken there was a security key, 3 security questions, a username, a password, a digital passCODE that we had to remember just to install the app. It is ABSURD that the initial password they ask from you was not even the one required to open the app, but a separate digital pass key, and then a 6 digit number on top of that. Then there is a code generator that you need to use so that you can log on to Internet banking if you ever need that.

I'm a pretty mentally agile, technologically literate woman in her 30s and even I found this annoying and complex.

Then the lady at the branch rang us a day after our appointment to say our proof of address was not valid, so could we go back in branch and supply another one?

Do these people not understand that it is not easy to just haul ourselves (joint account and 2 different schedules, plus children under 3 on tow) to go to the branch some 30 mins away and give them documents that they should have been competent enough to screen while we were there?

Which reminds me. The morning of our appointment, the branch was closed due to a power outage so we headed home, only for someone to call us 10 minutes after the appointment time, to say could we go to that other branch instead? On we went to the far branch.

When you're on the phone with them too, the number of QUESTIONS you have to repeatedly answer is just so annoying. What a waste of time going through the digital security steps, only to be asked again by the agent for the exact same details, then for some reason, they ask you AGAIN "to confirm". I don't know if they are just being extra secure or simply incompetent.

If it weren't for that damn incentive I would not put myself through this. It makes me realise I have more self worth and my time is worth more than whatever their cash incentive is. For sure I will be leaving once it lands in my account. STAY AWAY.
Posted 5 months ago
Hsbc is rated 1.42 based on 402 reviews