Hsbc Reviews

1.4 Rating 588 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
1.4
Based on 588 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.4 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Hsbc 1 star review on 29th May 2022
Anonymous
Hsbc 1 star review on 29th May 2022
Anonymous
Hsbc 1 star review on 29th May 2022
Anonymous
Hsbc 1 star review on 23rd March 2022
Anonymous
Hsbc 1 star review on 8th December 2021
Cagla Cetinkaya
Hsbc 1 star review on 5th October 2021
Anonymous
Hsbc 1 star review on 1st March 2021
Amir
4
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Tried to and am still trying after 3 weeks to open an account with HSBC at their request to start I provided them with bank statements, have made 3 follow up calls which take 40 plus minutes to get to speak to anyone. Still no response we are still working on it, yet my wife's is effectively open, although still to receive online banking code. Not recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I've been an HSBC customer for absolutely years but their customer service recently is appalling even as a premier customer it takes you an hour to get through to speak to somebody who then reads a script and literally can't help. hopefully this review will elicit some sort of response that I can actually speak to somebody who knows what they're doing. GRRRRR!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Its worrest Support in my life i have ever seen, They only said to call back and put me in waiting for 1 and half hour but no response then i after disconnected. I dont know how is that possible keeping customer for 2 hrs waiting .If you guys really busy why cant you guys call back instead of sending message "please call to telephone bank for some information ".. That is rediculous.... Getting these many Bad reviews also You people are not changing .I shame of my self being in this bank for 5 years.. All is good before Covid phone Got Covid.. or the people..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
It is ridiculously difficult to get through on the phone to HSBC online banking. The automated answer service asks questions that do not apply to the reason for my call. When I did get through, after 50 minutes waiting and listening to the recorded message, I was told their systems were down and to call back 3 or 4 hours later, by which time their lines would be closed. I called again the following day and again waited for ?? Minutes listening to the recorded message, You don’t need to wait for an agent..
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I’ve had a bank account with HSBC for a couple of years now and tried to open an account for my son about a year ago. I received a message shortly after doing the application saying they are busy with the account and that they’ll get back to me. Is around a year now an d still no reply. In the mean time my Dan has opened an online monzo account and seems happy with it. About a month ago I then tried to open another child account for my daughter as she is still under age, once again I got the same message to say they are working on my application and will get back to me. No reply for around a month. HSBC customer service is really very bad. Don’t bother waisting your time to open a child account, even though they advertise for it, I don’t think they do it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Absolutely dire. I am an online customer and I tried to open an online savings account. Unable to, as apparently I am a non UK tax resident. News to me, and how the hell would they know! I called the help desk with an alleged 7 min waiting time, held for 25 mins until the lines closed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
have been an acct holder since the 90s. I have never had a decent interaction with this bank nor any of its staff, save for the odd person in store. every time i call i have to wait on hold for over an hour. the mobile app won't let me join bc HSBC are unable to verify my details (a UK citizen since birth and an HSBC acct holder for nearly 30 years). they have charged me at every opportunity. i cannot suggest that any of their products have been competitive. they have closed accounts without given me adequate notice (because i did not reply to a letter sent to my spam email folder advising new terms which i had to agree to!!) This is a bank that treats its customers with utter contempt Do not ever open an account with them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
It doesn’t take much time and process to finish current account opening and operation.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
HSBC have completely screwed me over and messed up everything for me. I spoke with someone on 21st oct about suspected fraud on my account and they decided to do an indemnity claim against my mobile provider at the same time! without me knowing this and without my permission. so yesterday my phone got blocked and the only way to unblock it is to pay a huge bill which a cannot afford and never received the refund in the first place. In the morning they confirmed to me that they have cancelled the claim and fixed my direct debits. TODAY i notice an email from my mobile company claiming my direct debits got cancelled yesterday evening. so all in all HSBC just decide to do whatever they want and go against your wishes and screw you over. now i have no mobile until the complaint is resolved. I am a carer and have no way of contacting my employer or him contacting me in case of an emergency. this is unacceptable behavior and extremely stressful. as soon as this is resolved i will be leaving HSBC because they clearly so not deserve my custom!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I've had suspected fraud on my online account. I've spoken to 4 different agents tonight and they've all ended up trying to transfer me to someone else and I end up getting cut off. I've wasted over an hour now going thought this mindless circle of events. I'm now giving up and hope to sort this out in branch tomorrow morning. Just going that of the account has been hacked that nothing happens over night!! Joke customer service. I've been with them since 2016 and will be closing the account now. The call handling staff are beyond Terrible
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I've been with them for 30 years. Just tried to open a bonus saver account after logging on. Cannot find anywhere on the log on site to open a new savings account. The so called ''chat'' (just a bot I expect) Doesn't even work but comes up with GSA Error. The website used to be easy to use. They have had various changes over the last year or so and it appears to have been re designed by an idiot. They claim to be very concerned about their customers. If so, why is the website so difficult to use. There is currently a message on it that says. We're very busy at the moment so don't bother ringing us ! Unbelievable. I'm seriously thinking of changing my bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My Credit and debit accounts were defrauded. HSBC didn't notice the obviously strange transactions and that two accounts were opened in my name with large and unusual amounts being deducted daily for several weeks. Customer services are completely unhelpful. I regularly tried to contact the fraud department and was continually transferred to a different department who just asked me to call someone else or transferred me to someone else who then transferred me to another fraud department. It was impossible to speak to anybody who could help and there was no feedback at all as to what, if anything, was going on. My local branch had the same problem. After over two weeks I had no feedback but know that both accounts had been "inhibited". I was told that my gold card a/c had been re-opened and was sent two credit cards. Neither me nor my branch could activate them. This has been continuing for over 2 weeks and there has been no help from anyone. My wife is terminally ill and I cannot pay any bills at at all and no standing orders or direct debits are met. I am appalled at the hopeless manner they fail respond to my enquiries. I continue to spend interminable time on phone calls and just get transferred to someone else who then transfers me again. I am truly disgusted in their behaviour, particularly whilst they know I am going through a very difficult time. I have lodged a formal complaint but needless to say have received no response. Customer service and the numerous fraud departments are of absolutely no help and I am in despair as to how to manage while this is going on.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I wish I had read these reviews sooner. I am a new customer. I wanted to find out how much I owe & how to pay it. Because I couldn't remember my credit limit my account is now blocked. 2 calls of 45 minute waiting time with one VERY rude agent who blocked my account then 3 hours of going round in circles being asked non relevant questions by a robot - I'm done. Fortunately I do not bank with them so they can chase me when my card payment is due then I will close it all down. AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Toll Free Number+91 7001818-022 Call Now Any Problem SolveToll Free Number+91 7001818-022 Call Now Any Problem SolveToll Free Number+91 7001818-022 Call Now Any Problem Solve
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Online banking on my laptop is a nightmare, I have to get a token from my mobile app every time I want to access my own bank account using my own laptop. So clumsy and totally not needed - I've got another account with Halifax, I just go in, type in my user and password and I'm in. I think HSBC are doing everything in their hands to make online banking difficult, heavy, long and terrible. This is while they're shutting down branches. Horrid way of treating customers, not to mention the nightmare for older customers who barely understand their way around a mobile and a computer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Total nightmare, I wouldn't know where to begin with. Avoid at all costs and get your business account in any other bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It would be nice to speak to a human!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Horrible service spent 2hrs on hood waiting for a home loan specialist. Was rudely hung up on when asking about the process of refinancing
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If a negative start was an option I would have selected in. This bank has locked my business account due to a safeguarding concern, after contacting them and fidning they made a mistake they then advised it take 10 working days to be unlocked. They simply do not care that I have payroll due on Monday and many suppliers to pay in the meantime. £300-£400k a month runs through this account and they do not care that I moving the account thanks to this problem. Once again TERRIBLE bank, 40 years they have had my business account and the custoemr service team do not care that I am now leaving, bet their managers would say otherwise but they refuse to transfer you through.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Operation of what appears to be a rather spiritual system of finance in which funds debit and then take extended periods of time to re-emerge, the only explanation offered being that "they are floating". Poor communication and no effort to address issues - apart from referring you through a tedious complaints procedure which seems to end up with the blame placed on the receiving bank/company each time. Best avoided.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hsbc is rated 1.4 based on 588 reviews