Hsbc Reviews

1.41 Rating 403 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Hsbc 1 star review on 6th April 2018
Disgruntled David
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 5 star review on 15th February 2017
Mouchel Christian
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 1 star review on 15th June 2016
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Their customer service is abominable. Everything is done for their benefit customers are a nuisance. They just want customers to pay up shut up then go away. Their insurance quotes, car or house, are pathetic. They barge in with their "Live Chat" then write "There is no one available, try later.
Posted 5 months ago
DON'T LIKE YOUR TV ADVERT UK, SOUNDS LIKE AN ANTI BREXIT REMAIN AD, BANKS ARE SCUM
Posted 5 months ago
Dear HSBC complaint department,

I am writing to you in regards to my account being under review. I had opened a new business account with HSBC to get foreign currency account service as we had done a joint venture with a german based company to invest in UK on properties. After a hard work we came to this agreement and were expecting a initial start up funds from germany. My client send me the confirmation of his swift transfer. I contacted the bank regarding thi fund i was expecting. Went to a branch and over the phone, but they said the money has not reached HSBC. I contacted my client and they send me a tracer copy which mentioned the money is with HSBC. So i decided to visit canada square branch and ask as that the address mentioned on tracer copy. The staff was helpful and started investigating with the help of tracer copy. After 30 mins of wait the staff came back and said the money is here, but the my account in with review department. I asked why is that and he was unable to answer. I said atleast i should be given some reason as to why its with review department. Then i asked how could i contact them as this is very important for my business and my client. But nothing. I am still trying to find the reason why and when my money be credited into my account as i have to reply to my partner as its his funds and he wants us to start the work. I would be very happy if i could get some information about this. Why no one has contacted me, or no one has given any intimation as to when this is done. How do you expect us to grow our business and pay our bills and survive without our business. And this is just the start of our business account. I was very happy with lyodds in this matter. Can someone help us? i doubt
Posted 8 months ago
I am writing to you in regards to my account being under review. I had opened a new business account with HSBC to get foreign currency account service as we had done a joint venture with a german based company to invest in UK on properties. After a hard work we came to this agreement and were expecting a initial start up funds from germany. My client send me the confirmation of his swift transfer. I contacted the bank regarding thi fund i was expecting. Went to a branch and over the phone, but they said the money has not reached HSBC. I contacted my client and they send me a tracer copy which mentioned the money is with HSBC. So i decided to visit canada square branch and ask as that the address mentioned on tracer copy. The staff was helpful and started investigating with the help of tracer copy. After 30 mins of wait the staff came back and said the money is here, but the my account in with review department. I asked why is that and he was unable to answer. I said atleast i should be given some reason as to why its with review department. Then i asked how could i contact them as this is very important for my business and my client. But nothing. I am still trying to find the reason why and when my money be credited into my account as i have to reply to my partner as its his funds and he wants us to start the work. I would be very happy if i could get some information about this. Why no one has contacted me, or no one has given any intimation as to when this is done. How do you expect us to grow our business and pay our bills and survive without our business. And this is just the start of our business account. I was very happy with lyodds in this matter. Can someone help us?
Posted 8 months ago
VW finance took a pcp final payment of £14,000 from my account for a car I had sold to a main dealer 9 days previously (and which all agree made the pcp final payment to VW).

HSBC refuse to return the funds using the direct debit guarantee scheme immediately - saying they will need five weeks to investigate.

Total disgrace and quite contrary to their legal obligations. Complaining further am now told they may be able to resolve the direct debit guarantee within a week!
I will shortly be closing all my hsbc accounts - customer of 35 years.
Posted 9 months ago
Held an account with HSBC for around 16 years. I have no credit card or overdraft. My wages are paid into the account each month. Also hold my savings accounts with them.

Recently scrolling through their website realised I qualified for their Advance account.

Contacted the call center after around 45 minutes of being on hold finally get through to the Advance team to be told I don’t qualify due to my poor credit rating.

This baffles me. They get my money every month. They know the state of my accounts. What purpose is there for a credit credit check?

The operator told me it was to ensure I’d be able to keep up repayments on my overdraft or credit card. As stated I have neither.

Extremely annoyed as it’s just withholding perks that should be offered as a loyal customer.

Seriously considering changing banks.
Posted 1 year ago
Their Webb site is confused and counter intuitive. No logic anywhere and no interest in customers unless the customer is a multi billionaire. Bank elsewhere HSBC don't want small value customers.
Posted 2 years ago
I am just very annoyed that all the local branches have now sadly gone. Being now of a certain age having to travel to town centres is not so easy, especially in a Yorkshire winter! Our local branch was open for a great number of years and we miss it so much. Please don't mention telephone banking (its as if I speak in tongue when talking to them or when I have a request) and no, I don't want to use on-line banking.
Posted 2 years ago
Hsbc is no longer supportive of small business enterprise and it will be their downfall.
From my personal experience I am pretty shocked at how impersonal they have become.
Zero customer service, zero flexibility.
After banking with them for nearly 20 years its such a shame to see them loose sight. Bank fines have made them far less than local. Hong Kong Shanghai Bank run by english and americans r.i.p.

I was a business customer, Premier Customer and held over 5 accounts with them 20 years. In turn to meet compliance they shut my account without a courtesy call. Goodbye Hsbc... Shame that the Hong Kong Shanghai Bank is run by British And American management.
Not an asian service anymore
Posted 2 years ago
The staff at the Indian call centre are rude,struggle to speak English and cannot understand basic instructions.
Posted 2 years ago
The new online site is cumbersome to navigate, constantly freezes or crashes, and it takes ages to add new payees and find out details that were previously easy to find. Such a backwards step and I'm seriously thinking of changing banks now after 20 years of being a customer.
Posted 3 years ago
The new online banking sucks Big time. Why the hell did they change the old one anyway?
Posted 3 years ago
I previously banked with Halifax and could online bank easily.

I moved to HSBC Advanced to take my mortgage payments down.

The only way you can do this is with a 'digital key' or phone app (which doesn't download)

They have failed to deliver a digital key 3 times now. Without being able to see your fiances its hard to manage.I assume that's what they are going for.

I would suggest not banking with them unless you have too
Posted 3 years ago
Living in a small market town - as we do, that lovely caring bank "the HSBC" has decided to close all local branches with the exception of Sheffield centre and Barnsley town centre. Great!

As I will not enter into internet banking "as HSBC stridently makes every effort to force us into, telling us at the same time" - if you are defrauded it is our fault for not having a safe enough password. Anyway I like to pay my credit card off in full each month, in person, at a branch and so now am required to take well over an hour out of my life each month to trek into Barnsley, pay a parking fee and walk up mount Everest to achieve this once pleasurable experience.

Getting very tired of this non customer friendly routine I decided to pay a sizeable building society check into my credit card account to be relieved of a few months running my life to suit the HSBC's profit margins. The most rude bored looking counter clerk interrogated me as to why I was doing this and that this is not how I am supposed to run a credit card account. Excuse me, I'll run it how I want not how some ignorant junior member of staff perceives how I should run my affairs. Disgusting!!!

I shall without doubt be moving banks (for the first time in over 30 years) to any other that offers a counter service and facilities convenient to myself (only a customer).

I am fortunate that I owe the world not a penny and so do not have to put up with this greedy capitalism at its worst. Bring back the Midland Bank where the customer was king.
Posted 3 years ago
I have been an HSBC customer for many years.

Contactless technology was released in 2010, whilst I was an HSBC customer. Finally, in 2012, HSBC signed on, releasing a statement around this that it would not be reissuing cards to now include contactless, it would gradually roll this feature out when customer cards were due for renewal.

Based on this knowledge I sat back for another three years - meanwhile not enjoying the same benefit as my friends and family in other banks - waiting for my card to be renewed in October 2015.
You can imagine my surprise and disdain, therefore, when my new card arrives in October 2015 - when contactless technology is all but standard - to find my card is STILL without contactless.

Whilst this frustrated me, I thought perhaps (unlike at most other banks) I had to opt in. So, I researched this, and found the policy at HSBC was actually that customers would need to OPT OUT of receiving contactless on their new cards. I had never done this. I definitely wanted it.

So, I rang HSBC customer service, and the lady at the end of the phone had a look at my account. She told me that my account didn't QUALIFY for contactless.
I receive a steady income of over £1800 a month into my bank account, and have never been in any overdraft debt. I puzzled with the lady therefore as to what more I needed to do to qualify.
She was absolutely no use in this, simply telling me I didn't qualify, she didn't know what the rules were, but the "contactless verification review team" were in charge of evaluating my account. They would look at my account "at least once a year."
Faced with the prospect of never qualifying for whatever obscene standards HSBC have for granting contactless - in an age where contactless is more standard than not - I plainly told the lady I would happily switch bank accounts. When the rate offered by HSBC is little incentive compared to competitors, perks (not that it should be!!) like contactless are what makes the difference.
Backed into a corner the customer service lady FINALLY told me how I could get a contactless card - if I upgraded to an Advanced account (which apparently I DID qualify for?!).
Frustrated, I accepted this offer, and she told me I would be contacted by my local branch within the next three days.

A week later, no call.
So I called customer service again to try to arrange an appointment. Again, I had to wait.
Finally two weeks after my initial phone conversation with customer service I had a call to arrange an appointment.

Once at my branch appointment - by this point pretty frustrated with the whole experience - the advisor I dealt with was most helpful.
She in fact seemed shocked that I had been told I could only get contactless by upgrading to advance, but nonetheless here we were, and the process was completed. I was now on an Advanced account, of which one of the perks was contactless, and my new card was in the post.

SO you can imagine my absolute frustration with HSBC and the whole shoddy system it operates, when my new Advanced card arrived, and.. can you guess.. WITHOUT contactless technology.

I have rung customer service who assured me they would send out a new card immediately with the technology enabled this time, but WHY should it be this hard?
When HSBC claims to be so customer friendly, firstly why should it be up to me to fix this, and secondly, why is the whole damn process so slow, unreliable, and clearly full of bumbling errors.
I am very disappointed in the service provided, and if I'm honest the whole experience has been a complete joke.

Almost two months after receiving my new card for Oct 2015 and here I am, still without the issue being resolved. The standard set here is pretty low.
Posted 4 years ago
No reply from customer service yet...... is this is the standard of Hsbc
Posted 6 years ago
Hsbc is rated 1.41 based on 403 reviews