Hsbc Reviews

1.41 Rating 404 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Hsbc 1 star review on 6th April 2018
Disgruntled David
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 5 star review on 15th February 2017
Mouchel Christian
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 1 star review on 15th June 2016
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
That should have said the £75 I borrowed. (Below). They have screwed me up so much I can’t even speak English anymore.
Posted 1 year ago
I’m strugging financially. My fault, but aided and abetted by HSBC when they allowed me a 13k credit card limit and massive overdraft. Then they charged me 16% interest on a consolidation loan. At a time when they were advertising 3% loans. I had no bad credit at this time. This week I was over my overdraft limit. I needed some money for essentials until pay day at the end of the month. I had nowhere to turn so I took out a payday loan. HSBC blocked me from accessing the £75 I loaned. I have £3.40 in 5p pieces to get me through the next 4 days. Thank you HSBC.
Posted 1 year ago
By far the worse experience I have ever had with a bank.
Credit card account was blocked by HSBC for what they call unknown reasons.
Asked them to unlock the account they said they need to send me a code via the post. Didn't receive it. So called again. They said they would send it again. Didn't receive it. Called again asking for my credit card balance as by this time I had enough. They couldn't give me a balance. Stated they need to send me a code first. Haven't received it. So if cancelled my direct debit. And I'm sure they will contact me saying. Sorry sir your direct debit has been cancelled you need to pay today. Sure I'll say. How much is my balance. I'll then pay it all off. Cancel the card and live happy ever after.
Please stay away from these useless people.
Thank you
Posted 1 year ago
Everything.
Queues, awful positioning of personal banking machines, more queues, waiting to be seen to then wait to be seen.
Awful awful awful
Posted 1 year ago
Could not be less helpful, received an email asking me to contact their call centre, first person i spoke to kept pushing me to log in on line, i explained that i was asked to call, again, use the website, i asked if he was able to help me, with a huff he agreed, then went to a second person, he advised there was nothing he could do to help, so i still have a problem that needs fixing and no one seems to be able or wanting to help get it resolved. such poor customer service
Posted 1 year ago
Extremely bad service. I wanted to change addresses for myself and my 12 and 17 old children. They changed mine after 1/2 hour. Then they told me even though I opened their accounts myself and am 3rd party authorised, I couldn’t do it. The Gloucester Road manager, Zhang-Su Thomason said she couldn’t help. The options weren’t there even to do it by completing a form. She was ok about losing 3 customers if I wished to close all our accounts. Such a horrendous service. I had to take time off work just to waste it there. Never would recommend them.
Posted 1 year ago
We were in 122 finchely road hsbc branch and we were very happy with miss seems panda service and help with big smile for opening new bank account
Posted 1 year ago
This is one of the few sites with 'reviews' of HSBC where I have actually been able to leave a review... Interestingly it is also one of the few which seem to echo my opinion of the company's management of my account.

I make almost daily calls to HSBC to try and make payments (which I try to do entirely online) I am told each time that the fault is with the receiving bank only to find out that this is not the case.

I have repeatedly requested email communication yet not received a single email and instead am told that I couldn't be contacted.

Every large payment has taken me days and multiple phone calls, each time with a different explanation given.
Posted 1 year ago
I had a massive issue with HSBC this week. I was trying to log onto online banking, which I do daily. I have had the same log-in details for years. However, this time the system kept telling me that I was using the wrong log-in details (which I wasn't). Then it locked my account.

I had a long and frustrating phone call with a lady who could hardly speak English, telling me that it was my fault and I was entering the wrong details. Made me feel like a complete idiot! I know my own log-in but she would not have it.

After 3 days I received a reset password in the post, but unable to do any banking online - and I need access numerous times a day.

During this time my son tried to make some online transactions using his account and card, all were declined due to an error, so please do not tell me that HSBC did not have and issue and blame me.
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Great experience at 122 Finchley Rd. Seema was so kind and helped me upgrade my account. I was treated wonderfully and walked through every step of the way. Highly recommend this branch.
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Great experience at 122 Finchley Rd branch, Seema was so kind and helped me upgrade my account. I was treated wonderfully and walked through every step of the way. Highly recommend this branch.
Posted 1 year ago
A car hire company put a reserve on my credit card of 850€. The car was returned ok, and signed off by them as undamaged etc. However, more than two weeks later, they haven't released the reserve. They don't respond to emails or phone calls, and HSBC say they can't do anything. Basically that hold can stay there forever, reducing my credit limit accordingly. Supposedly the hold should only be there for 5-7 days but 16 days later HSBC say I have to contact the hire company. Argh!!!
Posted 1 year ago
Rude man unhelpfull and not interested in me opening an account to put in house sale money .
Posted 1 year ago
Spoke to a woman called amanda over the phone. Very polite and helpful compared to others i have dealt with! Shes a cedit to the bank!
Posted 1 year ago
spent four days trying to open a bank, used the phone set up, used the online help - all useless. Nothing worked, they try to cut staff and do everything online which does not work
Posted 1 year ago
On-line fraud
We have been holding a regular account (no business) with HSBC for 14 years, mainly used to pay utility bills and regular expenses.
We have been victim of a fraud by a hacker.
During the on-line fraud, my wife alerted HSBC whilst the transactions were still happening.
Our call was on hold for about 15/20 minutes before been able to speak with the fraud team.
HSBC has been unable to stop a 15k transaction to a fraudulent Barclays account.
After days we received only a letter blaming us for lack of protection of our secure details.
Nothing was mentioned about them releasing an unusual payment of 15k without any check… no call or text has been made.
Nothing was mentioned about lack of security from Barclays opening fraudulent accounts.
We are a standard family planning ahead every investment and this matter has permanently affected our future plans.
Now we are no longer HSBC customers anymore.
I am writing this to warn future consumers.
Posted 1 year ago
My relative is UK born, but has lived in Zimbabwe for past 60 years. She has a HSBC account in UK which HSBC made dormant and are now refusing her access to her savings until she proves her identity. HSBC had no problem with her identity talking to her by phone over past 10years; no problem with identity supplying her with a debit card sent by courier service and no problem with her identity sending private & confidential statements to her home in Zimbabwe.
She is now terminally ill, confined to a wheelchair and has not been able to leave her home for 4 years. The mental stress is unbelievable,
but HSBC seem quite happy to condemn her to a premature death, by withholding her only means of buying the health care she desperately needs. They even asked her to supply a copy of her bus-pass!!! She lives 6,000 miles away and has not set foot in UK for over 20 years!
Posted 1 year ago
Held an account with HSBC for around 16 years. I have no credit card or overdraft. My wages are paid into the account each month. Also hold my savings accounts with them.

Recently scrolling through their website realised I qualified for their Advance account.

Contacted the call center after around 45 minutes of being on hold finally get through to the Advance team to be told I don’t qualify due to my poor credit rating.

This baffles me. They get my money every month. They know the state of my accounts. What purpose is there for a credit credit check?

The operator told me it was to ensure I’d be able to keep up repayments on my overdraft or credit card. As stated I have neither.

Extremely annoyed as it’s just withholding perks that should be offered as a loyal customer.

Seriously considering changing banks.
Posted 1 year ago
I woss in FINCHLI Road 122. London NW3 5 JD to upgrade my account I was served by Seema Panda it incredible service. BEST SERVIS I got So
Far ever. She voz very frandly and helpful. And Myne Thanks.
Posted 1 year ago
I have banked with hsbc for 35years our family have never had a problem with this bank the staff have always been so helpfull .After reading some reviews i just cannot understand how so many people were dissapointed .Last week i was in the holderness road branch in HULL when i mentioned it was mine and my husbands 60th birthday the teller was so lovely she even sent us some boxed flowers which was a lovely touch its not something i thought a bank would do .Once again keep up the good work .
Posted 1 year ago
Hsbc is rated 1.41 based on 404 reviews