Hsbc Reviews

1.41 Rating 431 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Banking is not what you do. Get qualified people from other bank and tune your system. You guys just suspended all my net banking for no reason and you have no one to support me because you have no sufficient employees. Your rating is very poor in UK based on all available surveys. By the way are you displaying your rating in branches or still ashamed of it.
Posted 1 year ago
Awful in every aspect. Have been a customer for nearly 30 years and they are plumbing new depths of poor service on a daily basis! Not only is the service extremely poor, their staff have got into the habit of telling blatant lies - not what you expect from a bank or a place where you keep your hard earned money - Avoid
Posted 1 year ago
In recent years this bank has turned into a disastrous organisation. Strewn with errors, misinformation, lies and don't even get me started on the appalling staff in their offshore call centres. If it were not for the fact that I am so tied up with this bank with various direct debits, payments in and out and the logistical nightmare it would be to restructure everything I would leave them today. I have been a customer since 1982 (Midland Bank), but anyone thinking of a bank account do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.
Posted 1 year ago
Poor customer service. Poor user-friendly website, with misinformation and average app!
Posted 1 year ago
HSBC is really the most disgusting bank of all time. Worst customer service experience I've ever received. Won't be using them for my student account.
Posted 1 year ago
Beyond appalled. Having transferred to Santander, hsbc employee didn’t understand the switch guarantee. Because of his advice I have paid out fees which are standard in all banks to bank a dollars cheque. I could have had a refund and it would have gone into my new account via switch guarantee, Santander knew this why didn’t the hsbc employee?

Further your Indian call centre staff are most rude and I’m very happy to leave hsbc
Posted 1 year ago
To be honest, I don't know where to start.
HSBC is a bank full of wicked, unempathetic advisors both in branch and over the phone. In fact, it would be inaccurate to call them advisors at all.
I am an international student and I get money transferred to me regularly to pay for my tuition and rent, as well as my monthly living expense.
On the 21st of June 2019, I had money transferred to me form my monthly living expense. However, this amount was not credited to my account.
I called HSBC customer service and a very rude customer service advisor informed me that my account is under review. I then asked her what that meant and a timescale as to when my account would be unfrozen. She informed me that she could not give me any information and advice me to go to the branch. I pleaded with her and informed her that I had literally no money to get breakfast and I depend on y monthly allowance to survive. After she hung up on me, I decided to quickly rush to the Birmingham New Street Branch.

At the branch, I informed them about everything that transpired earlier that morning and the advisor told me that she would call and get some information for me. After making me wait for 1hour which b the time I was extremely late for my lecture the customer service advisor returned and informed me that there was nothing she could do. She further told me that the branch could not help me and I would have to wait to be contacted. I begged and informed her once again that I had no money to live on but she and another colleague told me in a very cold demeanour that there was nothing that they could do and gave me no information. I then asked if I could call and talk to them myself, at this point, I was in tears. But they told me that there was no use calling and I am wasting my time sitting here waiting for a solution. I was shocked by this response and how rude and unempathetic the where.
I left but still called another customer service advisor that could at least give me some information because at this point I began to panic that truly I would not be able to afford breakfast, lunch, dinner or to survive at all. When I called the customer service advisor told me the exact same thing and told her that I wanted to lodge a complaint because of how I was treated over the phone and the inconvenience. she alright told me that she does not see grounds for a complaint. I was still in tears and at this point, I asked her if the bank wanted me to go on the to beg. She laughed at me and asked if there was anything else.
I still did not give up, I called a third time. At this point, It was 3 pm and I had missed school. The customer service advisor that picked up told me that she had spoken to the review team and the person reviewing my account would give me a call the next day at noon. I was relieved. there was hope.

The next day I waited for a call but no call came so I decided to call. The customer service advisor I spoke to informed me that the person I spoke to yesterday gave me incorrect information. No one was scheduled to call me about my account. I was persistent I gave her a record of the previous day but she told me that the account was still under review and no one would be contacting me that day.

I then lodged a complaint describing all the inconvenience and frustration HSBC had caused me. I again asked her if I could at least get some money from my account so I can survive but she said no and told me to borrow money from my university mates. I was At this point, I had only 5 pounds with me and no means of buying a bus pass back home so I had to walk 50 mins back to my house from the university.

I still haven't been contacted by HSBC and the customer advisors are even ruder and rush me off the phone every time I call.

As a customer, you are supposed to trust your bank. They are supposed to make sure your financially safe and well informed about your finances. HSBC bank especially the branch in the Birmingham New Street is a disgrace and frankly, the advisors should be ashamed of themselves for looking down on people they lead to financial ruin.
Posted 1 year ago
That should have said the £75 I borrowed. (Below). They have screwed me up so much I can’t even speak English anymore.
Posted 1 year ago
I’m strugging financially. My fault, but aided and abetted by HSBC when they allowed me a 13k credit card limit and massive overdraft. Then they charged me 16% interest on a consolidation loan. At a time when they were advertising 3% loans. I had no bad credit at this time. This week I was over my overdraft limit. I needed some money for essentials until pay day at the end of the month. I had nowhere to turn so I took out a payday loan. HSBC blocked me from accessing the £75 I loaned. I have £3.40 in 5p pieces to get me through the next 4 days. Thank you HSBC.
Posted 1 year ago
By far the worse experience I have ever had with a bank.
Credit card account was blocked by HSBC for what they call unknown reasons.
Asked them to unlock the account they said they need to send me a code via the post. Didn't receive it. So called again. They said they would send it again. Didn't receive it. Called again asking for my credit card balance as by this time I had enough. They couldn't give me a balance. Stated they need to send me a code first. Haven't received it. So if cancelled my direct debit. And I'm sure they will contact me saying. Sorry sir your direct debit has been cancelled you need to pay today. Sure I'll say. How much is my balance. I'll then pay it all off. Cancel the card and live happy ever after.
Please stay away from these useless people.
Thank you
Posted 1 year ago
Everything.
Queues, awful positioning of personal banking machines, more queues, waiting to be seen to then wait to be seen.
Awful awful awful
Posted 1 year ago
Could not be less helpful, received an email asking me to contact their call centre, first person i spoke to kept pushing me to log in on line, i explained that i was asked to call, again, use the website, i asked if he was able to help me, with a huff he agreed, then went to a second person, he advised there was nothing he could do to help, so i still have a problem that needs fixing and no one seems to be able or wanting to help get it resolved. such poor customer service
Posted 1 year ago
Extremely bad service. I wanted to change addresses for myself and my 12 and 17 old children. They changed mine after 1/2 hour. Then they told me even though I opened their accounts myself and am 3rd party authorised, I couldn’t do it. The Gloucester Road manager, Zhang-Su Thomason said she couldn’t help. The options weren’t there even to do it by completing a form. She was ok about losing 3 customers if I wished to close all our accounts. Such a horrendous service. I had to take time off work just to waste it there. Never would recommend them.
Posted 1 year ago
We were in 122 finchely road hsbc branch and we were very happy with miss seems panda service and help with big smile for opening new bank account
Posted 1 year ago
This is one of the few sites with 'reviews' of HSBC where I have actually been able to leave a review... Interestingly it is also one of the few which seem to echo my opinion of the company's management of my account.

I make almost daily calls to HSBC to try and make payments (which I try to do entirely online) I am told each time that the fault is with the receiving bank only to find out that this is not the case.

I have repeatedly requested email communication yet not received a single email and instead am told that I couldn't be contacted.

Every large payment has taken me days and multiple phone calls, each time with a different explanation given.
Posted 1 year ago
I had a massive issue with HSBC this week. I was trying to log onto online banking, which I do daily. I have had the same log-in details for years. However, this time the system kept telling me that I was using the wrong log-in details (which I wasn't). Then it locked my account.

I had a long and frustrating phone call with a lady who could hardly speak English, telling me that it was my fault and I was entering the wrong details. Made me feel like a complete idiot! I know my own log-in but she would not have it.

After 3 days I received a reset password in the post, but unable to do any banking online - and I need access numerous times a day.

During this time my son tried to make some online transactions using his account and card, all were declined due to an error, so please do not tell me that HSBC did not have and issue and blame me.
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Great experience at 122 Finchley Rd. Seema was so kind and helped me upgrade my account. I was treated wonderfully and walked through every step of the way. Highly recommend this branch.
Posted 1 year ago
I had a Great experience at 122 Finchley Rd branch, Seema was so kind and helped me upgrade my account. I was treated wonderfully and walked through every step of the way. Highly recommend this branch.
Posted 1 year ago
A car hire company put a reserve on my credit card of 850€. The car was returned ok, and signed off by them as undamaged etc. However, more than two weeks later, they haven't released the reserve. They don't respond to emails or phone calls, and HSBC say they can't do anything. Basically that hold can stay there forever, reducing my credit limit accordingly. Supposedly the hold should only be there for 5-7 days but 16 days later HSBC say I have to contact the hire company. Argh!!!
Posted 1 year ago
Rude man unhelpfull and not interested in me opening an account to put in house sale money .
Posted 1 year ago
Hsbc is rated 1.41 based on 431 reviews