J. Peterman Company Reviews

1.15 Rating 39 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend J. Peterman Company

Write Your review

Tell us how J. Peterman Company made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
As has been noted by virtually every review, this company is no longer trustworthy or reliable in any way. After literally dozens of unanswered telephone calls over the course of 6 months to customer service, I was told that my order was still "being processed" (despite having been charged to my card). After finally receiving incorrect sizes, I made the mistake of returning those items using J Peterman's return label in the hopes of an exchange. After nothing from them for 2 months, I finally got through on the phone, only to be told the correct sizes were unavailable. When I asked why no one had reached out to me with this info prior to my call, the response was "we're very busy, you're not the only customer we have." Then I was promised a refund check that would arrive within a few days. Three months and multiple calls later and still no check. Obviously they need to hold on to as much of OUR money as they can to stay afloat as they go out of business. BUYER BEWARE! Shop elsewhere if you want to receive your goods and/or credits!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Guideboat Company is part of the J. Peterman company. I purchased 2 items from Guideboat early last month - a penknife and a bandana with a delivery charge of $12.95. I was charged for the $7 bandana and full delivery charge $12.95, with the penknife back ordered. Just found out today that the penknife if not being restocked, so I've been charged $12.95 for the delivery of a $7 bandana. The company rep told me that the system does not update after each order, therefore I never would have heard from them about this had I not reached out to them first. There is no way I would order a $7 item and pay that much delivery charge. The customer support said they would reduce the delivery charge by $6, but that still does not take away the bad taste left in my mouth. So buyer beware! I also should say that my complaint is not about the person who helped me (who was polite and tried to help to his/her best ability), but rather the company system.
Posted 2 months ago
BEWARE of doing business with this company unless you like waiting months for a refund. There are many fine companies, like Poetry, or London Wrap, or Nordstrom to do business with and who value your patronage. J Peterman is not one of them. This company is not responsive to refund requests.
Posted 3 months ago
If I could, I would give J Peterman Co zero stars. I placed an order in early Jan of 2020 that was never filled, and have been waiting since Feb 20 for my refund, when the company promised to send it the next week. Each time I reach out, the refund payment is being processed. I’ve filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, but I fear my money is gone forever. This is NOT a reputable company any more!
Posted 3 months ago
I would give ZERO stars if possible. My complaint is the same as most below. I returned two items that J Peterman received on January 21. I check every week but still no credit. I have spoken to several at customer service who say they are behind on returns, but this is ridiculously bad service. The person I spoke with today told me that her manager was going through a stack of papers and that my return was in that stack. She said it would be processed in a day or two. I don't believe her.
Posted 3 months ago
Purchased a vintage sweatshirt for my son and after a couple wearings (not yet washed) the seam gave way at the wrist creating a hole. I chatted with a customer service rep and because he's worn it, JPeterman's company policy is not to exchange it. I've owned a number of their shirts they've become threadbare before a seam failed. It is extremely disappointing considering the price ($85) and my past experience with the brand.
Posted 4 months ago
Bought a dress Dec, 2019. Too big. Returned it mid-Dec 2019. They received it a week later. No refund on Am Ex by end of Dec. when I called they said they only do refunds at end of month (!) so mine would be coming end of Jan 2020. End of Jan, no refund. I called. The ONE person who handles refunds is out sick. She’ll do that when she returns. She was back by Thurs, but still no refund BUT they added EXPEDITE to my refund. Friday, no refund. Told them I was filing a claim with BBB, which I did. And by the way, they have an F rating! Wish I would have checked before ordering the stupid dress!! The following Thurs I called. The person who does refunds was doing them that day (!!) but very backlogged, but since I’ve been waiting for soooo long the “supervisor” put an extra push, supposedly, on my refund. So now it’s Fri, Feb 14, and still no refund. I actually think they HAVE gone bankrupt and are just not planning on refunding ANY ONE’S money! Now going to contact Am Exp. If I still lived in Cincinnati I’d be pounding in their door daily and REALLY making a stink! STILL NO REFUND 2 MONTHS LATER!!
Posted 4 months ago
I purchased a dress and a blouse, the quality of the sewing was poor, they offered to send me replacements and I would return the poor quality one's in the same box. Well the new blouse was just okay but the dress again was very poor quality. So I returned both dresses and the blouse this was in December and no refund yet. I just called and was told we will process the refund but it will take time. They have had my money for over 2 months which is not acceptable. Also their sizing is so inconsistent you cannot figure out what size to order. I am a solid size 8 medium in most all clothing lines (except Chico were I am a size 1?? go figure but at least there I am always a size 1) with Jpetermen clothes I have been from size 2 to 12?? how crazy is that and their prices are extremely expensive and the quality not what they claim. I only buy when on sale because even then they are expensive for what they are but at least it isn't gouging.
Posted 4 months ago
Ordered one product received a completely different one. Tried to call was put on hold for 20 minutes and then Phone hung up because voicemail was full. Send email which was never returned. Returned merchandise and never heard a thing. Has been over 30 days.
Posted 5 months ago
Having read most of these reviews I felt compelled to write my own if nothing more than to substantiate the concerns with many, many disgruntled customers. I rarely if ever have problems with orders or returns with online product purchases but my experience with JPC has been completely unacceptable with absolutely no regard to taking care of the customer. I purchased a sweater that I received early November but decided to return it within about two weeks. The package was received by JPC on 12/02/19 however I’ve yet to receive a credit on my credit card. I too called and spoke with Lisa who was very nice but advised me that the person responsible for issuing the credit was away from their desk but would be able to run the credit within the next 48 hours. In checking my credit card activity as of 2/01, I’ve yet to receive a credit of $149.00. Called again on 2/05, was on hold with the obnoxious recording for 17 min when Lisa finally answered. Again, the Returns Mgr. was conveniently away from their desk apparently sick all week but she would turn in a ticket for processing and it would be another five days before they could issue the credit. This is completely exhausting and especially having read multiple reviews from others with the exact same experience and complaints, I must resort to disputing the charge and have my credit card company resolve the matter. It’s most unfortunate and I caution anyone considering purchasing anything from JPC to be mindful of their lack of follow through and extremely poor customer service.
Posted 5 months ago
I will never order from them again. They have had my return since mid December 2019 and owe me $250. I have called and have been lied to twice. One time they told me "your refund will be processed in the next 48 hours" and that never happened. Called back and they told me "it was refunded yesterday." Nope. Called again and was told it has not been refunded. I am going to open a case with my credit card company. These people are the worst!!
Posted 5 months ago
You don't even deserve one star. I sent back merchandise to you in December 2019 and still have not received a credit. I called the phone number that you have listed and I was kept on hold forever. No one ever came back to talk to me. I have called numerous times and the exact same thing happened. The tape tells you to keep holding on, you are the next in line, but no one ever picks up the phone. You have a racket going and you haven't heard the end of me. You owe me $159+.
Posted 5 months ago
ordered 5 items and was told shipped out in 1 t0 2 days . Weeks passed but all the order said was that in progress !?
No response to several emails , no response to phone calls and no response to a “ ticket “ generated to talk to them . Lucky for me I had the credit card company not authorize payment . Is the company in business ? Is anyone there ?
I keep getting their emails on their “sales”.
Very disappointing .
Do they have anyone working there ?
Posted 5 months ago
I ordered a shirt. It was the wrong size - my bad. I returned the shirt for a refund which have not yet been provided in 4 weeks. When I have tried to call, I have not yet been able to get a real person on the phone to tell me the status of my refund. I have sent two messages on their site. Neither has received a response and still no refund. It's as if there is no one at the company to serve the customer.
Posted 5 months ago
Was it in Milan, or was it Cleveland where the interlude you experienced had something to do with that blouse? The flirty way the ruffle enveloped your neck, or the lace along the wrist that seemed to say, “come hither”. Ad then you awoke from your dream, realizing that JPeterman couldn’t get that blouse, although they’d had your check and the order for a month. And then, after memorizing the British woman’s cheerful words on the telly, who also quoted Homer while keeping you on hold, time and time again,you realized there never would be an interlude, because there never would be an entrancing blouse, and there very well may not be a refund. And this, was my experience with JPeterman. I did the now antiquated way of ordering by mailing a check and the order form in early November for a blouse I was so excited to get for my daughter for Christmas that I texted her to say “I can’t wait for you to see what I got you!” After a month passed, I called and was told there was a problem and they wouldn’t be getting that blouse. I do understand that there can be issues with vendors, so I was sympathetic, and asked them to return the check. And then, I called again. And then I called again, and was told the guy who handles that was out for about an hour, but what was my email, and he would respond. Then, he didn’t respond, so I stopped payment on my check. (By this time 2 1/2 months had passed from placing my order.) And THAT day, within hours of stopping payment on my check, I received a check for that unfulfilled purchase. Like many of the other people writing reviews, I have some very nice things from JPeterman, so I was dismayed and very disappointed that the quality control, standard business practice, and customer service had taken an inexplicable nose dive. I am grateful to have had a response, when so many others are without answers. I can’t help wondering if John Peterman is still in the building, (and if he isn’t, was he wearing a duster? ) I am giving two stars because I did get my money back, and the people with whom I spoke were courteous, if not completely truthful. But, I mourn the loss of a credible, viable, interesting company. And I still wish I could buy that blouse.
Posted 5 months ago
(SEE my PREVIOUS REVIEW)
UPDATE: Finally received 2 (of 5) orders (1 with the promised FREE SHIPPING), hence 2 stars instead of 1 (no refund on shipping on the other) HOWEVER, I need to return at least 1 of 3 items and I see NO ONE is getting refunds on their returns. Still NO RESPONSES TO ANY OF MY written inquiries. THIS CONTINUES TO BE A REALLY DISTURBING SITUATION. BEWARE! So sad😢
Posted 5 months ago
J. Peterman is the pits. They owe me over $500 dollars in returns. Will never order from them again. Cannot get through to customer service.
Posted 5 months ago
Long time customer. Returned a jacket ($149) over a month ago. Have tried calling (no pick up) and chatting (twice) no response. Amex can also not get a response from them...Love their stuff but won't buy from them again
Posted 5 months ago
I have been a jpeterman customer for over 30 years and their downhill practices have really disappointed me. I ordered a pair of pants for my husband on Nov. 30. Since then, I have heard nothing...no responses to live chat, numerous emails, and telephone calls where I am endlessly placed on hold until I must hang up. What is happening to you jpeterman? Your customer service department is the WORST I have ever experienced in all my years of shopping! To ignore your customers concerns and just keep taking orders at Xmas no less is unforgiving. I still cannot get through to resolve this issue. BUYER BEWARE!! Jpeterman is not what it used to be and I am never doing business with them again!!
Posted 5 months ago
I have two items I returned a month ago, one for a refund and one for an exchange. I’ve emailed numerous times, called (waited on hold for 20 minutes then got a recorded response that the mailbox was full and the call was terminated.) I can’t seem to find a human connected with this company. In the meantime, they have over $500of my money and I have nothing to show for it. I’m ready to speak with an attorney. Do yourself a favor and don’t get involved with this company. You will only be disappointed.
Posted 5 months ago
J. Peterman Company is rated 1.15 based on 39 reviews