Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

4.3 Rating 1,026 Reviews
81 %
of reviewers recommend Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories
4.3
Based on 1,026 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 79%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 84%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.2 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

About Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories:

Established in the Blue Ridge foothills of North Carolina in 1963, Leonard Buildings and Truck Accessories is a privately owned retailer, manufacturer and distributor whose product lines include storage buildings, cargo and utility trailers, truck covers and accessories, carports, playhouses, pet and animal structures, gazebos, and outdoor furniture. We serve our residential, commercial and government customers through our 59 factory outlet stores in the five-state region of North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and Tennessee.

Seventy percent of our business last year resulted from repeat customers and referrals mostly of which were from family member to family member. We hear a lot of this: "I am here because when I was growing up my grandfather had a Leonard building in his backyard . . ." We take pride in serving and taking care of folks as if they were our family.

Over the years, our company's focus on quality, craftsmanship and customer service has allowed each of our company-owned stores to be integrated partners in their local communities. We encourage employees to look for ways to make a difference around town and to help out worthy causes.

Visit Website

Phone:

3367895018

Email:

mktngteam@leonardusa.com

Location:

630 W. Independence BlvdSuite 3Mount Airy, NC 27030,
630 W. Independence BlvdSuite 3Mount Airy, NC 27030
North Carolina
27030

Write Your review

Tell us how Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Spent hours shopping online for a car hauling trailer yesterday. Decided to get one made by by Leonard. Noticed they offered a cash discount, so I borrowed a tow vehicle today, went to the bank to get cash, drove all the way to Manassas (a 40 minute drive) only to find the trailer I want is not available anywhere. Total waste of time. Also, one of the guys behind the counter was annoyed (shaking his head in disgust) everytime the guy who was helping me asked him a question on my behalf. Sale and customer lost. Will be spending my cash elsewhere tomorrow.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have purchased 2 large buildings for Leonard in Conway, SC. I have one that is a 12x24 and a 24x28 that I made into a pool house. I contacted my local dealer where I purchased due to a floor defect. The branch manager said it was still under warranty and he would send someone out. Someone did come out in 2 weeks after my initial complaint and he looked around and said he had no idea why the floor has soft spots. I now have mold issues in my pool house and I had to cut the vinyl floor out of it. It has been months with no more response. The branch manager is trying to put blame on a air conditioner condensation which caused moisture and the floor to rot pre maturely. The ac is used very little and that is clearly not the problem but it appears they do not want to hold up to their warranty. So it looks like I am going to be forced to go to the next step. I have issued photos to my local branch plus the gentlemen who came and inspected also took pictures. Hopefully this will get settled one way or another and I will receive some feedback. It’s been long enough
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
June 17, 2021 I called the Princeton store and had to leave a message!!! Later that day I visited Princeton location asking about corners for a screen. They did not have any parts, nor offered to order any. Gave me number to corporate store. I called corporate and had to leave a message!!! I messaged Haley Young from corporate. Said Princeton should have submitted papers for corners. (?) Said she would have them call me. Well I'm still waiting on the first call from the Princeton store!! Obviously customer service is NOT what this store is all about!! Ordering a new screen from Amazon and do without Leonard!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Not pleased with customer service. My shed came late and I thought ok that happens sometimes, but it wasn’t level and I can’t open one door without it damaging the shed. I then called the next day and told them and well we are over 3 weeks and nothing fixed. I would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I bought a 16 foot utility trailer with high mesh sides. The trailer pulls great but that’s about it. On the way home from the dealer in Morristown, TN the lights quit working. I called the guy at the dealer and he said to bring it back the next day and he would fix it. I came back the next day, not to mention the roads were icy and it was snowing so I risked my equipment even going down there, when I got to the dealer I told him the lights started flickering on the way home and had completely went out. He said “I know they work I pulled it here” but never even tested the lights. He said it had to be my truck, which works perfectly fine with my other trailer, and sent me away. I have had the trailer for a couple months now and still have no lights. I also couldn’t open the gate latch on the drivers side. Once I finally got it open I had to file the latch down a good bit before it would even close again. I would really like it if someone would get in touch with me and get it fixed. Especially since I paid almost $4000.00 for the trailer
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Called the Winston-Salem store about getting a chicken coop. They said it would take around 4 weeks so I said thanks but that is too long. Before I could hang up they said hang on, we can get one within the week (and took a deposit). Called back today (end of the week) and was told they don't have any built. Now I have growing chicks, no coop, and have lost a week of time that I could have been dealing with a reputable person. AND I have to hope they give me my deposit back. So frustrated. Do better! Wish I had read some of the reviews before I called them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I purchased one of the 6x12 single axle utility trailer in NC at the end of March in 2020 for my father and delivered it to him in Ohio. It didn't last through winter before the paint flaked/peeled off the fenders starting in December 2020. By February 2021 nearly all the fender paint had fallen off. Inspection of the fender resulted in identification that poor surface preparation and no primer were applied before paint by the manufacturer. After leaving a negative review in February 2021 at the point of purchase I was contacted by Mario of Leonard Trailers from Texas. He said he would look into warranty and try to get it taken care of. There has been no communication since then and we are at the point where we need to fix it ourselves to prevent the fenders from rusting out. Terrible product. Terrible company who doesn't stand behind their products. I'm buying another trailer for myself today to haul mulch and would have been going back to my local Leonard to purchase if not for this experience! *Would provide pictures but the option doesn't exist to upload them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Had a building delivery scheduled for today and well no building....no contact from the store and on top of it.....lost a half day of work due to it being scheduled for this afternoon.......not impressed with anything at this location....this is a damn joke
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Trailer purchase signed contract put 300 down was told trailer would be delivered in couple weeks. Waited a month my wife called they said I don’t know could be 10 more weeks. So I showed up at office mentioned the 10 week comment. Guy took my number he called me back and said trailer will be here in 3 weeks . Well going on 4 weeks two months total they got my deposit . And I’m lost in the mix. Avoid Leonard trailers in Summerville sc.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Had an appointment for a site walk through with a four-hour window. They even sent me a reminder. Sat for four hours (looking out the window) waiting for them - no show/no call/no message. Really poor customer service and communications. I was very disappointed, as I liked their buildings. Need to find another building supplier that keeps their appointments.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I bought your tray liner and one of your tech installed it on my F 250 the job was not well done. I have intention of install a tray cap on it but the gaps that was cut off the liner guarantee it would leak.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered a bull bar in early January and didn't get installed until mid February. Plenty of excuses though - on back order, ordered the wrong brackets, ordered the wrong lights. Told me they would call me when the lights came in.. been two weeks and not a single phone call. I've already ordered the lights from another vendor and have put them in myself. Thought I would give some work to a local business but won't be using Leonard for anything else. Their lack of customer service and ability to order the correct parts is very disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Rude truck drivers
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Purechased a beautiful 16 ft enclosed trailer with 4 wheels and breaks. Drove it home and thats it. Worst wiring job...all 4 wires were pulled out due to no slack in the wires for suspension and crappy connections. Called sales guy... sales guy said its your job to fight the mfg. to get warranty work. I thought it was a Lenord trailer???.... nope....just the Lenord sticker. Buyer beware..they dont stand behind what they sell. Spent 6k too and i buy lots of trailers.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Similar to others... hub broke on my brand new trailer. They would not stand behind their product and told us their trailers weren’t designed to go over 45 mph!?!!? This was after I told them I needed a trailer specifically for highway hauling. They suggest I repair it at my own cost, sell it and come back and buy another trailer from them! No thank you!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
RETURNS AND REFUNDS A SERIOUS JOKE!!! Order nerf bars for truck. Verified them by calling personally before ordering and the sales associate verified them. Placed the order, recieved them and they were wrong. Their return policy says you only have 5 days to start the return policy from the day you receive the product. I sent a email 2 days after I received them and I still have not been contacted. Not to mention have left 2 voicemails with no return call either. It has now been 10 days and nothing. Even their dealer stores don't know how to do their returns!! My next stop is calling the BBB tomorrow and report them. It's their mistake and now they won't contact me like they say to get this return started. BEWARE...SHOP ELSEWHERE!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Took my enclosed trailer their to see if they could repair the damage from cutting the turn to tight caving in the diamond cut steel platting and aluminum siding. Was assured they could and there was no problem. Ordered the material ...which was promised in a week .... but came in 3 weeks late... when the material finally arrived I happily dropped off the trailer to be repaired. Unfortunately, when I picked it up ... they explained they did have the right tools to do the repairs .... and had not been able to order all the parts needed. I dented 1/4 inch solid diamond cut steel ... they replaced it with 1/16 flexible diamond steel ... Frankly, the damaged area looked better then the repaired area. I would have thought they would have told me about their limitations when I was standing h there initially for the inspection of repairs. I would not recommend this company for repairs.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I custom ordered an outbuilding in mid-July and just received it on October 1st. I was told that it would take 4-6 weeks for delivery, but ended up waiting TEN WEEKS. Absolutely no one from Leonard contacted me to explain the reason for the late delivery. When my building arrived, it was the WRONG COLOR. When I called to question the mistake, I was told that it was MY FAULT. I specifically took a piece of paper with the paint color needed when I ordered the building and the salesman supposedly put that color into the ordering system. Leonard said they would repaint the building at a cost of $475. The salesman said that a lady in the home office wanted to CHARGE MORE, but he talked her down to $475. You would think that when you invest THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS in a building that they would make sure that every single detail is correct and not send you a product with even the slightest problem. You would think that if there was a problem that they would agree to fix it. Disappointed!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Leonard does not stand behind their work. Brand new trailer Hubs break off during commute. You will be charged for repair so BEWARE. Better go somewhere else. Here's some options...... NC Trailer Sales 221 Boots Evans Rd, Thomasville, NC 27360 Trinity Trailer Sales 5268 Surrett Dr, Archdale, NC 27263 Tesh and Sons Trailer Sales 1370 T S Payne Rd, Lexington, NC 27295
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Beware! Hub broke completely off within 1500 miles. They charged me to repair it. If you want a reliable trailer and fair treatment, try these guys below and stay away from Leonard. NC Trailer Sales 221 Boots Evans Rd, Thomasville, NC 27360 Trinity Trailer Sales 5268 Surrett Dr, Archdale, NC 27263 Tesh and Sons Trailer Sales 1370 T S Payne Rd, Lexington, NC 27295
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories is rated 4.3 based on 1,026 reviews