Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

4.3 Rating 958 Reviews
81 %
of reviewers recommend Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories
4.3
Based on 958 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 85%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.4 out of 5
Read Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

About Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories:

Established in the Blue Ridge foothills of North Carolina in 1963, Leonard Buildings and Truck Accessories is a privately owned retailer, manufacturer and distributor whose product lines include storage buildings, cargo and utility trailers, truck covers and accessories, carports, playhouses, pet and animal structures, gazebos, and outdoor furniture. We serve our residential, commercial and government customers through our 59 factory outlet stores in the five-state region of North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and Tennessee.

Seventy percent of our business last year resulted from repeat customers and referrals mostly of which were from family member to family member. We hear a lot of this: "I am here because when I was growing up my grandfather had a Leonard building in his backyard . . ." We take pride in serving and taking care of folks as if they were our family.

Over the years, our company's focus on quality, craftsmanship and customer service has allowed each of our company-owned stores to be integrated partners in their local communities. We encourage employees to look for ways to make a difference around town and to help out worthy causes.

Visit Website

Phone:

3367895018

Email:

mktngteam@leonardusa.com

Location:

630 W. Independence BlvdSuite 3Mount Airy, NC 27030
Mount Airy
27030

Write Your review

Tell us how Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Do not buy a Leonard trailer! They will not honor the warranty! I purchased a 6 x 12 Leonard cargo trailer in 2021 from Leonard Buildings &…on Wade Hampton Blvd. in Greenville, South Carolina. I will say the experience was less than pleasant. I picked up the trailer they did not even put air in the tires before I picked it up. Unfortunately, I figured this out while on the highway and a tire blew out after I traveled less than 10 miles. The tire that didn’t blow only had 12 pounds of pressure. So I got a new tire and seven months later one of my customers noticed the tread on one of the tires was completely worn on the inside while the other tire had not worn. I took the trailer back up to Leonard. I thought there would not be an issue having it fixed. After all I had the trailer less than a year. The manager measured the axle & said it was off 1/4”. So it was a manufacturer defect that caused the tire wear out. The manager said they’re not going to warranty it because they’ll say I hit a pothole or something. The fact is I never hit any potholes that could cause any type of damage to the trailer. I informed him that before I purchased the Leonard trailer from him I had a Lowe’s cargo trailer for 20 years (I must say that Trailer went through a lot of wear and tear). However, never did I ever have one single problem with the very inexpensive Lowe’s cargo trailer. I told the manager that the reason I purchased an expensive Leonard trailer was because I wanted it to last a very long time so I paid a premium price thinking they were a reputable company that would also be an honorable company (I WAS WRONG). The manager and I both spoke with corporate, showed them pictures… they did not care. So the only option I had is to purchase a new axle from them and have it installed. The only thing the people at Leonard (even at the corporate level) care about is selling trailers they do not care about their customers or customer service…Unfortunately Leonard does not care about honoring their warranty’s. I would highly suggest going with a different company. Craig C. Greenville SC
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I wanted a Leonard Utility trailer because of the brand quality. I applied on the Leonard USA website, where there are pictures of utility trailers with Leonard signs on them and where the part number for the trailer is a Leonard part number. I was contacted by a company representative: I told him on the phone that I wanted a LEONARD trailer. He did not tell me there was NO Leonard trailer. NOW he tells me that Leonard stopped making utility trailers in 2015. If I wanted a Carry-On utility trailer, I could have gone to Lowe's or Tractor Supply. As a 66 year old woman on Social Security, this was a major purchase. I used the 12 months interest free plan: I have 3 payments left. I am appalled that a salesman was so desperate to sell a utility trailer that he would deceive a customer to this extent. I have filed a complaint to the state of VA consumer affairs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The trailer I bought in 2006 has been great but after reading reviews I will not be using Leonard for a second trailer
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
i WENT TO LEONARDS TO BUY THIS SHED THAT IS $6456 ON THE WEBSITE, THEY TOLD ME THAT SHED WAS A REPOSSESSED SHED THAT"S WHY IT WAS 6,456 ALSO THEY DIDN'T HAVE THAT SHED, I BELIEVE THEY HAVE THE SHED MARKED FOR THAT PRICE ON THE WEBSITE JUST TO GET YOU THERE.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I was going to purchase a trailer from this company; however, after reading all the bad I've changed my mind. Tractor Supply here I come!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
These trailers are built to fail. They use T clamps for all their electrical connections which are not waterproof and will allow moisture inside and corrode the wires after time. One already popped off mine I’ve had it a week. No point in taking it back for them to put the same junk on it. They mount the spare tire right in front of your swivel Jack so you can’t spin it 360 degrees. Hits the tire at 180 the. You gotta flip it and do another half turn. Takes 20 mins to raise or lower the thing. They mount the lights right in front of the gate handles blocking their view. They let my gate slam inwards putting two holes in my outside floor boards. Two other boards are bowed and crowned like a banana (they agreed to replace those) but I’d rather them give me the boards and I’ll do it myself. I have to tear the entire trailer apart to rewire all these junk connections anyway. They didn’t scrape enough paint off for the ground connection so that lost connection bouncing around I had to fix that. $3000 and I have to basically rebuild the entire trailer. The license plate mount is pointless because the tag won’t fit on it. It’s not offset enough and hits the cage preventing the holes from lining up. So I’ve already re mounted the spare tire, changed about 10 of those connectors. Still have more to go.. The customer service part was great. Shelly was amazing at the Raleigh location. It’s the build quality and execution I have issues with. They’re built cheap and fast not made to last. How someone could inspect this thing and sign off on it blows my mind. I’m extremely dissatisfied and disappointed in Leonard. No way I would ever buy another trailer from them. I wish I could return it I’d do it in a heartbeat 100000%
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Financing I can get a car but not a trailer wat a joke
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The man I talked to in the Bristol store was rude and bragged about him being the owner, and the good prices he had. The building's did not have the prices on them and he would not leave us alone to even talk about them. If you really want to sell them put prices on them and let the people make up there mind what they want. I will never go back there. I went there in person to look and punches one...
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The absolute worst experience I have ever had ordering online. Ordered on Wednesday night. Now Monday and it still hasn’t shipped, even though the website said in stock ready for delivery. When I’ve called the number on the website it hangs up on me. Email tech support basically says we will check our vendor to see when it will ship. Vendor??? Your site says in stock! If no response by tomorrow I guess I will just cancel it and order elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Never buy anything from the Fredericksburg, VA store. They took advantage of my knowledge of trailers, sold me the most expensive car trailer they could find, would not deliver, and furnished me with cheap straps that did not work, I almost lost my car because the straps would not stay on the tires. On a 1900 mile trip, I had to stop every 5 to 50 miles and completely start from scratch until the releases on the straps no longer would release for me to redo them. The trailer even though new rusty in spots. The tie down spots were completely different than my tires, so I had to set the tires on the back ones not giving me proper tie down spots. Worst $4,296.00 dollars I ever wasted my retirement money on. I feel cheated and in danger all the time. I am only 4 days into a 7 day journey which only should have taken me 5 days at the most. I can’t wait to get to me destination if I make it at all with my car intact, I will sell it at a loss just to get rid of the worthless thing. Poor, poor treatment of a female retiree. Took advantage of me, I hope they had a good laugh!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Asked them to replace the hardware that they installed incorrectly. Cost me 900$ and it’s still wrong. Glad to never return to this min wage paid group of high schoolers who have no drive, ambition, nor knowledge to service anyone in this community.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We were scheduled for our building that was purchased through your Selma, NC location to be moved today. We were told it would be after lunch , then we had to call back at 2:00 to get an update , only to be told it would be towards the end of the day . It is now 6 pm and no one has shown or called to tell us anything. We have a deadline for this building to be moved . The manger Jeff was made aware of this. Very poor customer service !
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Bought a 12 foot aluminum trailer from these folks ended up needing some parts after three years of use. The local dealer was absolutely no help would not return my call. I sent an inquiry into Leonard trailers to the main manufacturing facility they're just like their dealers no return email or phone call. Not a bad trailer but if you ever need parts you're going to be up the creek without a paddle. Rotten customer service decent trailer good day, David Montanaro
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I saw a used 40' cargo trailer online and called about it for details, because I lived 2500+ miles away. I spoke with Dan Bond and asked him about the condition of the trailer, if it had any leaks, or any other issues that I'd need to address. Dan went out and took several additional photos, said that the brakes and bearings were done, tires were good and there was a spare and everything worked. I hired a driver and when he picked it up the electric jack didn't work. He was told that I was called and told what happened and I said OK, just bring it, but I was never called. I called Dan and he wasn't there but would look into it and then he just said that you bought it as-is. Fast forward, trailer loaded to move homes and it blew 3 tires, one after another. No spare, I had to buy one and when replacing the remaining tires, the mechanic found that the rear drums were wobbling. He took them apart and found the wrong sized bearings had been installed. Never heard back from Dan again either. Why should he bother, he got my money.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Worst customer service. Ordered a plow set up and had issues with the courier. The courier said out of their hands contact the place you got it. So I called and was told it's out of their hands to call the courier and deal with them. Spent over 2k and they wouldn't do anything at all and didn't even care. They said once it leaves us then we have nothing to do with it. Will never buy anything from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I have purchased multiple Leonard Buildings, carports and Accessories over the years. I purchased a 14x28 wood structured bulding about 4 years ago to convert into my pool house and started having issues with the flooring getting soft and spongy. Doing further investigation I found a spot so soft in the floor you could easily fall through it. When I contacted my local dealer he stated that the floor was still under warranty and he would have someone come out and take a look at it. This was back in May. One guy showed up a few months later and said it just looked like it was a bad piece of wood and he was going to submit pictures to Higher ups. At this time mold has began to develop in the inside. I never heard anything back from any for months. I finally got the DM to come by a week before Christmas and he said he was going to submit pictures to the building department and would in touch with a resolve before Christmas. Again heard from no one until I called the DM back to find out the status 8 months later . He then goes to inform me that due to "modifications" to the building that the warranty was void. So everyone make note if you ever plan to do anything with a Leonard building their warranty is as useless as the paper it is wrote on. I just converted it into a Pool house with a full kitchen and bathroom and put vinyl over the wood floor with heat and AC. After spending in access of 40k over the years with Leonard I will never buy anything else from them or recommend them to anyone. In fact I will discourage anyone from spending their money with them. What a disappointment with this company that does stand behind their warranty. I suppose the only way their warranty is valid is if you just sit the building on your property as they would on theirs as if they were trying to sell it. Cause if you use the building their warranty is VOID
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I ordered a truck cap on July 2 2021 Was told 8 to 10 weeks. Still waiting. Keep getting the run around. Ordered the utility cap with hopes of using it for the end of the pool season, maybe next year, at what point should I get my $2000.00 deposit back? Do I get a discount for waiting Half a year?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shopping for a trailer, and I was thinking this is the place, but lots of unhappy customers is making me think again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had ordered a 4x8 in loves trailer for personal/ work. I am a carpenter and needed a tool trailer. After a month I called to ask if it was almost done. They hD no info then. I wanted 2 more weeks then called. They said they had just gotten an email saying it was built Nd waiting on delivery. After 2 weeks of not hearing anything I called. They said they hunt heard Nyfhing or received the trailer. I waited Nother 2 weeks and called again. They still hadn't heard anything. But this time rather thN Mkd it right. Gentlemen said I could cancel the order. I asked to speak to a manager. One called back about 2 hours later. I explained everything to him and he looked the oder up and said it hadn't even been built yet. At this point its been almost three months. Then to find out it still wasn't built. I said it could take another 2 or 3 months and he said yes. At that point I did cancel the order. I felt like I was lied to and led on from the beginning. I won't oder from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Purchased a Pilot 10x12 metal storage building on Memorial Day. 1st building was delivered 7/30/21 & had so many issues that the regional rep had the entire building replaced. Before the 2nd building was to be delivered Leonard’s requested I come & approve of the 2nd building. If they can’t trust their quality control - it certainly isn’t the job of the consumer to do so. 2nd building delivered after Holly went out & assured me there was nothing wrong with building #2 9/3 #2 is here for delivery. Before the driver did anything I looked at the building & called Holly. No disrespect intended, but Holly isn’t a good judge of a new building. I was instructed to take the 2nd building as Leonard’s would fix or replace everything. I sent pictures to the corporate office. Repair man arrives on 9/26 with basically NO knowledge of what is needed. 8 hours later, with NO matching screws, not the correct touch up paint, scratched NEW materials- I felt bad for the guy. Their was little or NO communication between the corporate office to their repair guy. Now I’m waiting for more materials & the repair man again. 1/2 the roof needs to be taken off !! ALL issues are due stupid mistakes / made by workers who don’t care about the finished product. Best person so far - Repair man Absolutely absurd the errors made & the overall lack of quality control. I would not recommend!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories is rated 4.3 based on 958 reviews