Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

4.32 Rating 902 Reviews
82 %
of reviewers recommend Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 85%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.35 out of 5
Read Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

About Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories:

Established in the Blue Ridge foothills of North Carolina in 1963, Leonard Buildings and Truck Accessories is a privately owned retailer, manufacturer and distributor whose product lines include storage buildings, cargo and utility trailers, truck covers and accessories, carports, playhouses, pet and animal structures, gazebos, and outdoor furniture. We serve our residential, commercial and government customers through our 59 factory outlet stores in the five-state region of North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and Tennessee.

Seventy percent of our business last year resulted from repeat customers and referrals mostly of which were from family member to family member. We hear a lot of this: "I am here because when I was growing up my grandfather had a Leonard building in his backyard . . ." We take pride in serving and taking care of folks as if they were our family.

Over the years, our company's focus on quality, craftsmanship and customer service has allowed each of our company-owned stores to be integrated partners in their local communities. We encourage employees to look for ways to make a difference around town and to help out worthy causes.

Visit Website

Phone:

3367895018

Location:

630 W. Independence BlvdSuite 3Mount Airy, NC 27030

Write Your review

Tell us how Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Worst customer service. Ordered a plow set up and had issues with the courier. The courier said out of their hands contact the place you got it. So I called and was told it's out of their hands to call the courier and deal with them. Spent over 2k and they wouldn't do anything at all and didn't even care. They said once it leaves us then we have nothing to do with it. Will never buy anything from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have purchased multiple Leonard Buildings, carports and Accessories over the years. I purchased a 14x28 wood structured bulding about 4 years ago to convert into my pool house and started having issues with the flooring getting soft and spongy. Doing further investigation I found a spot so soft in the floor you could easily fall through it. When I contacted my local dealer he stated that the floor was still under warranty and he would have someone come out and take a look at it. This was back in May. One guy showed up a few months later and said it just looked like it was a bad piece of wood and he was going to submit pictures to Higher ups. At this time mold has began to develop in the inside. I never heard anything back from any for months. I finally got the DM to come by a week before Christmas and he said he was going to submit pictures to the building department and would in touch with a resolve before Christmas. Again heard from no one until I called the DM back to find out the status 8 months later . He then goes to inform me that due to "modifications" to the building that the warranty was void. So everyone make note if you ever plan to do anything with a Leonard building their warranty is as useless as the paper it is wrote on. I just converted it into a Pool house with a full kitchen and bathroom and put vinyl over the wood floor with heat and AC. After spending in access of 40k over the years with Leonard I will never buy anything else from them or recommend them to anyone. In fact I will discourage anyone from spending their money with them. What a disappointment with this company that does stand behind their warranty. I suppose the only way their warranty is valid is if you just sit the building on your property as they would on theirs as if they were trying to sell it. Cause if you use the building their warranty is VOID
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I ordered a truck cap on July 2 2021 Was told 8 to 10 weeks. Still waiting. Keep getting the run around. Ordered the utility cap with hopes of using it for the end of the pool season, maybe next year, at what point should I get my $2000.00 deposit back? Do I get a discount for waiting Half a year?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Shopping for a trailer, and I was thinking this is the place, but lots of unhappy customers is making me think again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I had ordered a 4x8 in loves trailer for personal/ work. I am a carpenter and needed a tool trailer. After a month I called to ask if it was almost done. They hD no info then. I wanted 2 more weeks then called. They said they had just gotten an email saying it was built Nd waiting on delivery. After 2 weeks of not hearing anything I called. They said they hunt heard Nyfhing or received the trailer. I waited Nother 2 weeks and called again. They still hadn't heard anything. But this time rather thN Mkd it right. Gentlemen said I could cancel the order. I asked to speak to a manager. One called back about 2 hours later. I explained everything to him and he looked the oder up and said it hadn't even been built yet. At this point its been almost three months. Then to find out it still wasn't built. I said it could take another 2 or 3 months and he said yes. At that point I did cancel the order. I felt like I was lied to and led on from the beginning. I won't oder from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Purchased a Pilot 10x12 metal storage building on Memorial Day. 1st building was delivered 7/30/21 & had so many issues that the regional rep had the entire building replaced. Before the 2nd building was to be delivered Leonard’s requested I come & approve of the 2nd building. If they can’t trust their quality control - it certainly isn’t the job of the consumer to do so. 2nd building delivered after Holly went out & assured me there was nothing wrong with building #2 9/3 #2 is here for delivery. Before the driver did anything I looked at the building & called Holly. No disrespect intended, but Holly isn’t a good judge of a new building. I was instructed to take the 2nd building as Leonard’s would fix or replace everything. I sent pictures to the corporate office. Repair man arrives on 9/26 with basically NO knowledge of what is needed. 8 hours later, with NO matching screws, not the correct touch up paint, scratched NEW materials- I felt bad for the guy. Their was little or NO communication between the corporate office to their repair guy. Now I’m waiting for more materials & the repair man again. 1/2 the roof needs to be taken off !! ALL issues are due stupid mistakes / made by workers who don’t care about the finished product. Best person so far - Repair man Absolutely absurd the errors made & the overall lack of quality control. I would not recommend!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered two side mount truck boxes a back rack and mount kit for rack. Got one tracking number for just the mount kit. Received both boxes and kit but no back rack showed to be delivered with one of the boxes but I didn't get it. Now after many emails and trying to get help on phone I have to file a police report befor they reorder my part. I needed all of these item to rig out my truck for work. I will Never order any thing from this company again. Thanks for all the frustrations you have caused me.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I PAID FOR A TOOL BOX SIX WEEKS AGO AND HAVE NOT RECEIVED . SHIPPING SHOWS ITS SITTING IN A WAREHOUSE 2 HOURS FROM ME AND NO ONE WILL HELP I CALL AND CALL NO ONE ANSWERS OR CALLS ME BACK. I WANT A REFUND BUT I CANNOT GET ONE UNTILL I REFUSE THE DELIVERY .. I CANT DO THAT IF IT NEVER COMES .. SO THEY JUST KEPT MY MONEY IN LIMBO ... WORST COMPANY EVER ......
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
It should tell us al something when you can’t get an estimated price on line!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Leonard. I have a question. I own a business and wonder just how you can stay in business if all of your customers experience the same grief and dissatisfaction that I did. Once I know your secret, then I can screw up orders and send to paying customers defective products, just like you did me, and I can still make a profit! I waited 10 weeks for a tonneau cover that was sent to Greenville SC instead of Greenville NC. When it arrived it was defective (was not square) and now has to be reordered. No telling how long this is going to take. So if you don’t mind, please explain how this, in your mind, is GOOD business and how you continue to provide poor products and poor quality control and still stay in business. I MUST be doing something wrong.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Spent hours shopping online for a car hauling trailer yesterday. Decided to get one made by by Leonard. Noticed they offered a cash discount, so I borrowed a tow vehicle today, went to the bank to get cash, drove all the way to Manassas (a 40 minute drive) only to find the trailer I want is not available anywhere. Total waste of time. Also, one of the guys behind the counter was annoyed (shaking his head in disgust) everytime the guy who was helping me asked him a question on my behalf. Sale and customer lost. Will be spending my cash elsewhere tomorrow.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I have purchased 2 large buildings for Leonard in Conway, SC. I have one that is a 12x24 and a 24x28 that I made into a pool house. I contacted my local dealer where I purchased due to a floor defect. The branch manager said it was still under warranty and he would send someone out. Someone did come out in 2 weeks after my initial complaint and he looked around and said he had no idea why the floor has soft spots. I now have mold issues in my pool house and I had to cut the vinyl floor out of it. It has been months with no more response. The branch manager is trying to put blame on a air conditioner condensation which caused moisture and the floor to rot pre maturely. The ac is used very little and that is clearly not the problem but it appears they do not want to hold up to their warranty. So it looks like I am going to be forced to go to the next step. I have issued photos to my local branch plus the gentlemen who came and inspected also took pictures. Hopefully this will get settled one way or another and I will receive some feedback. It’s been long enough
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
June 17, 2021 I called the Princeton store and had to leave a message!!! Later that day I visited Princeton location asking about corners for a screen. They did not have any parts, nor offered to order any. Gave me number to corporate store. I called corporate and had to leave a message!!! I messaged Haley Young from corporate. Said Princeton should have submitted papers for corners. (?) Said she would have them call me. Well I'm still waiting on the first call from the Princeton store!! Obviously customer service is NOT what this store is all about!! Ordering a new screen from Amazon and do without Leonard!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Not pleased with customer service. My shed came late and I thought ok that happens sometimes, but it wasn’t level and I can’t open one door without it damaging the shed. I then called the next day and told them and well we are over 3 weeks and nothing fixed. I would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I bought a 16 foot utility trailer with high mesh sides. The trailer pulls great but that’s about it. On the way home from the dealer in Morristown, TN the lights quit working. I called the guy at the dealer and he said to bring it back the next day and he would fix it. I came back the next day, not to mention the roads were icy and it was snowing so I risked my equipment even going down there, when I got to the dealer I told him the lights started flickering on the way home and had completely went out. He said “I know they work I pulled it here” but never even tested the lights. He said it had to be my truck, which works perfectly fine with my other trailer, and sent me away. I have had the trailer for a couple months now and still have no lights. I also couldn’t open the gate latch on the drivers side. Once I finally got it open I had to file the latch down a good bit before it would even close again. I would really like it if someone would get in touch with me and get it fixed. Especially since I paid almost $4000.00 for the trailer
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Called the Winston-Salem store about getting a chicken coop. They said it would take around 4 weeks so I said thanks but that is too long. Before I could hang up they said hang on, we can get one within the week (and took a deposit). Called back today (end of the week) and was told they don't have any built. Now I have growing chicks, no coop, and have lost a week of time that I could have been dealing with a reputable person. AND I have to hope they give me my deposit back. So frustrated. Do better! Wish I had read some of the reviews before I called them.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I purchased one of the 6x12 single axle utility trailer in NC at the end of March in 2020 for my father and delivered it to him in Ohio. It didn't last through winter before the paint flaked/peeled off the fenders starting in December 2020. By February 2021 nearly all the fender paint had fallen off. Inspection of the fender resulted in identification that poor surface preparation and no primer were applied before paint by the manufacturer. After leaving a negative review in February 2021 at the point of purchase I was contacted by Mario of Leonard Trailers from Texas. He said he would look into warranty and try to get it taken care of. There has been no communication since then and we are at the point where we need to fix it ourselves to prevent the fenders from rusting out. Terrible product. Terrible company who doesn't stand behind their products. I'm buying another trailer for myself today to haul mulch and would have been going back to my local Leonard to purchase if not for this experience! *Would provide pictures but the option doesn't exist to upload them.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Had a building delivery scheduled for today and well no building....no contact from the store and on top of it.....lost a half day of work due to it being scheduled for this afternoon.......not impressed with anything at this location....this is a damn joke
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Trailer purchase signed contract put 300 down was told trailer would be delivered in couple weeks. Waited a month my wife called they said I don’t know could be 10 more weeks. So I showed up at office mentioned the 10 week comment. Guy took my number he called me back and said trailer will be here in 3 weeks . Well going on 4 weeks two months total they got my deposit . And I’m lost in the mix. Avoid Leonard trailers in Summerville sc.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Had an appointment for a site walk through with a four-hour window. They even sent me a reminder. Sat for four hours (looking out the window) waiting for them - no show/no call/no message. Really poor customer service and communications. I was very disappointed, as I liked their buildings. Need to find another building supplier that keeps their appointments.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories is rated 4.32 based on 902 reviews