Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

4.3 Rating 967 Reviews
81 %
of reviewers recommend Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories
4.3
Based on 967 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 85%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.4 out of 5
Read Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

About Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories:

Established in the Blue Ridge foothills of North Carolina in 1963, Leonard Buildings and Truck Accessories is a privately owned retailer, manufacturer and distributor whose product lines include storage buildings, cargo and utility trailers, truck covers and accessories, carports, playhouses, pet and animal structures, gazebos, and outdoor furniture. We serve our residential, commercial and government customers through our 59 factory outlet stores in the five-state region of North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and Tennessee.

Seventy percent of our business last year resulted from repeat customers and referrals mostly of which were from family member to family member. We hear a lot of this: "I am here because when I was growing up my grandfather had a Leonard building in his backyard . . ." We take pride in serving and taking care of folks as if they were our family.

Over the years, our company's focus on quality, craftsmanship and customer service has allowed each of our company-owned stores to be integrated partners in their local communities. We encourage employees to look for ways to make a difference around town and to help out worthy causes.

Visit Website

Phone:

3367895018

Email:

mktngteam@leonardusa.com

Location:

630 W. Independence BlvdSuite 3Mount Airy, NC 27030
Mount Airy
27030

Write Your review

Tell us how Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
On 3/16/19 I ordered and PAID for a Mini Sagebrush building from Leonard in Burlington, NC. A few weeks after ordering I called to check on estimated delivery date and there seemed to be some confusion in finding my order? About a week after my call the Burlington store called me to verify the roof color of the building I ordered. I was later told they had forgotten to order the building. This call came ~ 4 weeks after my purchase. On April 29/19 the building was delivered to my home. I was able to be on site. The building arrived with the wrong roof color! After checking it over we also noted that one of the panels of siding on one side is not nailed to the framing, one of the hinges on the front door is missing 3 lag bolts, and due to the store front being installed crooked the roof tin does not match up to the front leaving a pretty substantial gap for potential leaks. Also there are several areas on the building, especially the area over the door, where the stain finish has long drip marks. Before the building was unloaded we called the store in Burlington who offered to reorder another building with the correct colored roof or I could accept this one and they would send someone to make the repairs most likely within a week. Before the building was unloaded we agreed that repairs to be made would be to replace 1 sheet of the roof in the wrong color recut on an angle to fill the gap, add lag bolts to the hinges, provide stain so that I could fix the stain job, and nail the siding. I was advised that a work order would be submitted and I should hear from someone within the week re scheduling the repairs. I decided to leave the incorrect roof color to save Leonard that repair. A few weeks went by and I heard nothing. I called the store to check in and get a color number for the stain as I had been told when purchasing the building that it was a Sherwin Williams color and had been by 2 stores trying to match the stain so I could get started on fixing the stain job. I was tired of waiting. I was informed that color was specific for Leonard and they had some on hand for me that I could come and pick up which I did. Since then I have called a few times asking if they have a date for my repair and been advised they will call me soon. It is AUGUST, I haven't heard a thing and I am tired of calling. I purchased this building to be used for a business that I am proud to be starting for children. It will be visible to the public and I care about it's appearance. This adventure has been a life long dream and I planned carefully on what building and from where to buy first. I was on the verge of ordering some goat sheds next and got the run around on that as well. It took weeks to get someone to confirm size and price, always me calling back after I was told I would be called. Needless to say I have put the goat sheds and other planned building purchases on hold. The whole process has been disappointing and aggravating. December has arrived and still no call from Leonard about my repairs.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I bought a trailer from Smithfield store. They screwed up the title and I had to wait fourr and a half months to get it. Also on the way home with the trailer it came unhooked anddamaged my bumper. They assured me before I left that I had the correct ball which obviously I didn’t. And lastly I applied and got approved for financing fast forward four and half months later and my credit took another hit because they screwed up the transaction in the first place. I will never buy anything from Leonard again.poor way to do business!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I knew that they get their trucks in on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I came in on a Monday, and ordered a part for my truck. Was told it would be in on the next truck, which was alright with me as I needed the hooks for that weekend. This was on the 13th of the month. Two weeks later, after they had to reorder the hooks again, the part came in. Guess what? Wrong HOOKS! I returned the hooks the next day and got my money back. I was very discouraged on the wait time and receiving the wrong parts. I went to a competitor and got the hooks with no problem, less money spent, as they had them in stock.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Michael, I ordered my camper top in March, received it the first of April. The dealer ordered the wrong clamps , and in order for them to install the camper top they had to remove the stock Tundra tie down tracks or they said they couldn’t put on the top. They told me they would reorder the right clamps for it, and after 3 months and 2 trips down there (it is an hour away) I still don’t have the clamps...they keep telling me that they can’t ship them directly to me, and that they have to be brought in on a truck. One other reason that I had to go back down there is because the top wasn’t put on there correctly, I still have water comIng in places where it isn’t sealed. Right now I just want the correct clamps so I can reinstall my tie down clamps, why can’t they ship them to me? Mind you, I paid for this top in full and am very UNHAPPY with their service. I will hope that you can help me find a solution to this problem, if not I will be leaving reviews online. Thank you for your time, Jacob Everidge
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
your manager at Selma,NC is a lying POS and can not be trusted by your customers or Leonard. Honesty and integrity SHOULD BE a prerequisite to even working for your company, obviously not. I don't mind telling you, I nor anyone I know will EVER, to be clear, NEVER EVER do ANY business with your company in the future!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Transaction and install went smooth, at least i thought so. A couple days after having my new leer cover installed i was hauling a dump trailer full of rocks when i realized i had no trailer brakes, got to looking and realized my trailer brake wiring behind the bumper was never plugged back up, no big deal i plugged it back in and good to go. Now in about 2 months of owning the cover every seal on the back has come loose, from what i could find online the main seal should have been cut flush with the tailgate, not hanging down where the tailgate would mash it every time it was opened and closed (i figured maybe that was the way it was supposed to be). I believe this is what caused the other seals to tear loose. I tried to call twice on saturday, waited 5 min once and 10 the next call, then someone picked up but was talking to someone else in the store then put me back on hold without saying anything. I decided to just fix it myself. Very disappointed that after spending $4500 i cant even get anybody to pick up the phone
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Worst purchase experience of my entire life. Building issues still have not been addressed to our satisfaction. Very disappointed in Leonard - will never buy anything from you again, and if asked, will discourage others from buying your products. UPDATE 6/11/19: A licensed Electrician has now told us that the wiring (done by Leonard) does not meet code. I wonder how long it will take for them to make things right...
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We ordered a trailer , it took 7 weeks to get it and then it was so bad it was sent back and a new trailer was going to be built and now here we are another 5 weeks in and we still have no trailer which we already paid for. we use this trailer for business and this is completely unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I purchased a camper shell from you guys and had terrible customer service.I dropped my truck off at 12:30 as planned by the manager alex. Was told it would be ready in an hour to an hour in a half. 2hours goes by and i hadnt heard anything, so i called. Alex told me his semi truck came in and he had to stop working on my truck because of that. He told me it would be another 45 minutes. Another hour and half goes by and i still had not heard anything so i drove back to the store. My truck is parked up front, with the camper shell installer, dirt and glue all over it (i washed my truck the night before install). The alignment to door was off causing the door to not lock, and the wiring was to my tail light and not my battery as discussed prior to install.they also scratched my truck after making a big deal to document any scratches on my truck before the install. They attempted to half ass fix it by buffing the scratch out. It is now barely visible but you can still feel it in the paint. They did correct the wiring and the alignment. I am completely appalled by the fact alex tried to blow off fixing the scratch on my truck by not contacting me as planned to have it fixed and when i called him it took me two days to get him to finnally call someone to throw some wax on it and essentially just try to cover the scratch up. The scratch has still not been fixed properly and im completely appalled by the horrible customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Service when available very poor no rhyme or reason waited months on an order got no response to repeated calls had to make repeated visits had to settle for damaged unit at small reduction in cost it leaks I got screwed and no kiss For the unprofessional treatment I endured it should have been Free FREE and New
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I would purchase my shed elsewhere if I could do it over. I always thought Leonard built a quality product, but I have definitely changed my mind. I first ordered a 10x16 shed in early November 2018. Leonard tried to deliver the first shed in early January, but the skid came off as the driver was unloading. I had to wait 3 weeks to find out the skid couldn't be fixed and a new shed would have to be built. After being told by the corporate office that our order would be given priority, we still waited another 2 months to finally receive our shed, putting us at a total of about 5 months to get our shed. We could have built a better one in that time frame for half the cost and ended up with better quality. Our delivery driver was very professional and did a great job setting up, but that's where my praise of this company stops. A few days later, our ramp was delivered while we were not home and was set up completely crooked. The local Leonard dealer had to send a second person out to fix it. Our final complaint still hasn't been addressed and no one from either the local Leonard dealer or corporate has returned my husband's calls. The roof of our shed was poorly put together and we can see through, small holes from inside, where nails were put through the shingles that didn't overlap the plywood underneath. We've been waiting for this issue to be addressed for over a month and haven't heard from anyone, but that's been the case since I ordered the shed in November. If I want info, I have to call Leonard. No one calls us. Customer service and quality of workmanship could use a lot of improvement.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
It seems the people that manage this location do not understand the importance of timeliness and keeping to schedule. It took them a month to get us our building when they said it would be two weeks. Then it took them 2 months to get us the ramp which was poorly made. When we called they had forgot that we had paid for one. I paid cash for all of this on the same day. These people are making Leonard look really bad, and I won't ever recommend them. I mean you should see the ramp they gave me!! It looks like a 7 yr old built it. I wonder what would have happened if I was making payments; probably way worse.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I had a truck bed cover installed and my tailgate would stick close. The installer tried to fix it but said that’s all they could do with it. I had to take it home and fix it myself. I was not impressed with your service. Charles Minnick Sent from my iPhone
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Poor service, unacceptable quality. Unreliable service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
They are focused on getting the sales done with out regards of customer satisfaction. Purchase a trailer wiring had a ground that affected my vehicle electrical system. Poor quality. That should of been detected at the building stage. Also the guy on the shop was doing the right thing the manager was desperate to get me going. Bad practice for a business.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Horrible! I wrote a complaint to your HQ and nothing. Horrible service and product was damaged and rusting already. For 500 dollars I'm completely unsatisfied!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Due to multiple miscommunications on Leonard’s behalf the topper was incorrectly built causing my order to take in excess 9 weeks to be properly built and am still waiting to have it installed. Apparently there’s little to no accountability and certainly no rush on their end to complete the install. I almost couldn’t be more disappointed. Please stop sending me email at this point. Thank you and hopefully whoever reads this at least you can have a good day. I will never again do business with you again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
They delivered the minivan but not the ramps. Theydidnt get a delivery slip signed so they emailed it to me. Then I had to mail it back at my cost. I waited forever for the loan to start and to be notified. I called Guy and many other and got no where until I called the main office. The ramps were to be a value of $340 but then Guy said he'd "give" us the ramps for our inconvenience at a value of $180. They r very poor quality. I would not recommend Conway leonards to anyone! very poor service!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Never purchase another item from Leonard's. I will let anyone who asks never to purchase items. Too bad the customer service was as bad as it was yet the trailer is not half bad.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Scheduling issues, installation time and installation issue on my side-mount truck boxes. Would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories is rated 4.3 based on 967 reviews