Magazines Direct Reviews

1.09 Rating 105 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Magazines Direct
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Magazines Direct Reviews

About Magazines Direct:

Magazines Direct is your favourite magazines at great prices including Marie Claire, Woman and Home, Ideal Home, Golf, Nuts, NME, Uncut, InStyle, Livingetc, Wallpaper. Visit magazinesdirect.com. IPC Media produces over 60 iconic media brands, with print alone reaching almost two thirds of UK women and 42% of UK men – almost 26 million UK adults.

Visit Website

Phone:

0844 848 0848

Email:

IPCsubs@quadrantsubs.com

Location:

Rockwood House, Perrymount Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Magazines Direct made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
No deliveries of goods 7 months. Failed in its obligation as a company under consumer and contract law Promised a refund in Sept 2020 by cheque it still has not arrived.
Excuse after excuse no contact by email telephone or letter.
Now coming uo to a year still not resolved. This company is disgraceful and will only it seems respond to legal action. Guess what my next option will be
Please do not use this appalling mess of a company.
Posted 1 day ago
I have been a long time subscriber 10 years +. Since April 2020, I have not received any issues from my pre-paid subscription. I keep getting boiler plate responses "We have checked our records and can confirm all the issues have been despatched to you, and can only assume they have been lost within the postal system."

Nonsense!!! I could see an issue or two, but not losing 8 issues!
I suspect they are in financial trouble. I will not renew with this company, as I find them disingenuous and disreputable.
Posted 1 day ago
Took magazine subscription out last year as a gift for one off payment and have just had a payment taken out of my account by them which I did not authorise. Spoken to my bank who are in the process of getting this refunded. Has put me off doing any future subscriptions with them for sure !
Posted 4 days ago
Do not have a subscription with this company!! I have never received the free gift that was part of the subscription package. Automated email responses are received and when you do get a human response they have no idea and not tied up any previous emails that I have sent to their colleagues. Absolutely useless. Don't waste your money
Posted 6 days ago
Never sent "gift" that was part of subscription deal. The contact form on the website results in absolutely no response (sent to messages) and phone calls result in promises that don't materialise, with dates that move. They just don't seem to care.
Posted 1 week ago
What a Rubbish Company, i ordered the CLASSIC ROCK 280 MOTORHEAD ACE OF SPADES BUNDLE in September and received nothing. i complained through Customer Service twice and received a Standard reply that due to a database upgrade all inquiries are delayed,,,, thats for overone month now.
Seems they are quick enough to take your money and then just ignore you,,,,,, SCAM!!!
Posted 1 week ago
Unbelievably poor! ..... not only do they take your money and not deliver your order, but when you try to pursue your enquiry you just get standard automatic email replies with zero action resulting!! ...... has this company just gone home and taken their furlough payments .... my guess is Yes!!
Posted 1 week ago
Subscription to Classic Rock magazine.
Missing issues and late deliveries are my biggest complaint. 4 missing issues never received. Monthly issues taking more then 2 months to receive terrible service.
Posted 1 week ago
Awful customer service. If I could give 0 stars I would!

They have wrongly been taken money out of my account for 2 months. When trying to contact them you get a automated response with NO customer care at all. The worse company I have dealt with in years! DO NOT GET A SUBSCRIPTION THROUGH THEM!
Posted 1 week ago
Simply deleted my accountwhen myfavoritemagazines.uk merged into magazinesdirect.com. My magazines were never delivered, and I had to contact my bank to cancel the credit operation.
This company is a scam.
Posted 1 week ago
Been trying for 2 months now, about subscription I have paid for and received confirmation, now they say they have never received payment even though I have supplied credit card statements showing payment. Absolutely appalling customer service
Posted 2 weeks ago
They charged me double my initial purchase and never got back to me after dozens of emails. Avoid at all costs
Posted 2 weeks ago
Two Direct Debits taken from bank account in September instead of 1.
After a 40 minute wait I spoke to a call centre employee who said refund will take 3 or 4 days. Rang again two weeks later (50 min wait) , was told refund will take up to 14 days. Now after almost a month of waiting still no refund. Do not have any dealings with this cowboy outfit as they are obviously totally incompetent. Emails to them elicit a automated reply that they are busy upgrading their systems , pure excreta as they are still sending daily emails trying for new subscriptions , a con !
Posted 4 weeks ago
Taken money unlawfully - not renewed any subscription
Posted 4 weeks ago
Took out a subscription for Photoplus mag via issue 170.Issue 171 arrived OK 2 days before it was due in the shops.HOWEVER there was an offer of a Vanguard camera bag that was supposed to arrive with the mag.E mails generate the standard we're upgrading our subscription network etc.Phone calls generste the" we're escalating this issue " Nothing happens.Still no bag.Not good enough.Am considering stopping my direct debit at this rate!!
Posted 1 month ago
I cancelled my direct debit for some magazines. They were for mum, who died of covid.

Without authority, they just set up a new direct debit!

This company is awful - don’t give them your details.
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely appalling customer service. It took me over half an hour to get through to someone in a call centre in India who was unable to help me. They promised someone would call or email me within 24 hours. They didn’t. I emailed them 48 hours later. Still no response two weeks later! I took out a subscription for a weekly magazine in June and since then I’ve received fewer than half the magazines I should’ve done and have had to call them three times. Shocking!
Posted 1 month ago
Yay Just discovered this page.Absolutely astounded by the volume and nature of complaints.I thought my experience might be unique.Obviously not.
I took out a subscription for a magazine in March for £1.00 per month for an introductory period of 6 months.After 5 months I found that my bank account had been debted for £34.99 .I immediately contacted magazines direct and was advised that a refund had been credited to my bank account.Contrary to what I had been told this did not happen.
Since then I must have contacted magazines direct at least a dozen times by email and continually received an automated response saying we are
currently upgrading our customer services department and will get back to you shortly.After two months I have still not received any refund.
I don’t think I have ever come across a company that behaves in such a shoddy,cheap,unprofessional and dishonest manner.
It is hard to believe that magazines direct is part of Future plc a FTSE 250 Company.Some future!!As a public listed company Future plc must ensure proper corporate governance of all its constituent parts.
The way magazine direct is behaving suggests a company in trouble.It obviously needs investigation and I am will be asking Trading Standards to look into how this company is currently operating.I have also contacted the consumer journalists of a number of national newspapers suggesting that this company is worth investigating.
I would suggest that all customers of magazines direct who have experienced an appalling standard of service do the same.This Company must not be allowed to get away with this continual scandalous treatment of customers.
Posted 1 month ago
Subscription paid 24 July by PayPal. I have not yet received a magazine. Was told subscription would start with Oct issue to be sent out in Sept. Multiple phone calls made have been told subscription suspended ( never started!) as payment from PayPal not received. One of their so called customer service reps called Sam told me not to make a fuss over £36.99 Disgraceful attitude. Have email from PayPal confirming payment made to this company in July. Have sent emails, never received a reply. Avoid this appalling company at all costs. Might as well burn your money. If I could give zero stars I would.
Posted 1 month ago
THOUGH I HAD GOOD NEWS FROM THESE - BUT THEY LIE AGAIN
After chasing these people for three weeks I eventually get a PROMISE that my subscription had been 'mislaid' but will actually start on a given (very late) date and would have a complimentary multiple issue extension. Their website showed my account with this subscription appearing with an end date inlcuding that extension.....
ONE WEEK LATER I get a email telling me that the very first missing copy was sent (LIE !) and 'lost in the post' for which they are not responsible and my subscription would be extended by ONE WEEK from it original end date. As I have already 'LOST' more then the one copy it means my one year subscription have been well and truly shortened ! !
Now I check the website, my account and subscription has disappeared.
I really wish I had checked review site or their facebook page (full of complaints) before I ordered my subscription from them.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY ! ! ! ! !
A trip to the local newsagent, even in the worst weather, will be a pleasurable experience.

ONE STAR IS WAY TOO GOOD FOR THIS
Posted 1 month ago
Magazines Direct is rated 1.09 based on 105 reviews