Magazines Direct Reviews

1.11 Rating 192 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Magazines Direct
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Magazines Direct Reviews

About Magazines Direct:

Magazines Direct is your favourite magazines at great prices including Marie Claire, Woman and Home, Ideal Home, Golf, Nuts, NME, Uncut, InStyle, Livingetc, Wallpaper. Visit magazinesdirect.com. IPC Media produces over 60 iconic media brands, with print alone reaching almost two thirds of UK women and 42% of UK men – almost 26 million UK adults.

Visit Website

Phone:

0844 848 0848

Email:

IPCsubs@quadrantsubs.com

Location:

Rockwood House, Perrymount Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Magazines Direct made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Took out a gift subscription for Ideal Home magazine for my mum. The first year was without problem... Then I received a letter saying my debit card had expired (it had, to be fair.) So I rang customer services to update my card and while on the phone they said did I want to make the payment for the upcoming subscription year, which I did (£36.98) Unbeknownst to me, a couple of weeks later they took out a direct debit from my account, a further £36.98 which I only spotted when looking through my online bank statement for something unrelated. I rang and emailed, and was told this would be looked into. Fast forward 2 weeks later, and chasing the issue up I was only then asked to send screen shots of the payments so it could be "investigated further". I was FLABBERGASTED to see a third payment of £36.98 had been taken out (running total over £110!) I sent the requested screenshot before Xmas and was told it would be resolved between Xmas and new year. Heard nothing so emailed again, indicating my dissatisfaction and that I would be looking for compensation as well as the refund. On 6th Jan I received an email... finally, I thought! But no, jus a terse response saying they don't offer financial recompense, just an extension to any subscription! So I rang again, and was assured that the operative would "escalate this to finance as a priority and would call back in 24 hours". Of course, I heard nothing, so rang again, told basically the same thing, that finance would resolve this in 48-72 (working) hours and I will hear back then. The icing on the cake? When I asked how long after this mythical time I could expect to get MY money back, I was told "14 days"!!! Do not touch this company with a barge pole.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Caution, do not do business with this company. They are horrible. I subscribed to a magazine through this company, never received it and was COMPLETELY ignored for months by their useless so called customer service. Hands down the most incompetent company I've ever had the displeasure of encountering.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
THIS COMPANY IS A TOTAL FRAUD. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! 5.12.2021 I ordered Guitarist magazine as a gift . Right after the order I noticed even better magazine Guitar World. Because it states onthe web site that I have 14 days free cancellation, I decided to order Guitar World and cancel Guitarist. So I sent an email to cancel Guitarist about half an hour later than I made the order. After one week I checked my magazine account online and I saw that no cancellation had not been made. so I contacted them by chat. The advisor told me that cancellation had been made and all money was refunded to me, but it would take a few days to see it online. So I thought everything was ok. So after a few days I checked again and my account looked really strange so I contacted chat again. The advisor told me that BOTH magazines were suspended!!! I told her that I already cancelled the other one, but she said it wasnt!!!! She said that I have to pay for one issue of Guitarist, because it was already labelled. I told her THIS CANT BE POSSIBLE. I CANCELLED IT HALF AN HOUR AFTER ORDER AND IT SAYS THAT I HAVE 14 DAYS FREE CANCELLATION. ALSO I DidNT WANT TO CANCEL THE ORDER of Guitar World AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHY IT was SUSPENDED. I used almost an hour to correct this thing with their chat advisor and still it was not fixed. I thought this would be a nice easy way to get a gift for my Brother but this was nothing like that. So I sent them an e-mail about this but never got an answer. I contacted their chat again today, because to my total surprise I could see on my dashboard that my christmas gift order (made 5th Dec) for my Brother (one year subscription of Guitar World) was ENDING ON JAN 2022!! So I contacted their chat and after waiting a long time once again I was told that everything is fine and that my subscription was RENEWED 13th dec (and would continue until Feb 2023). I don’t understand how it can be renewed because it was my first order, but at least it was ok. I THOUGHT! Then I started thinking about it some more and decided to contact the chat again to know why I couldn’t see my order on the dashboard. So this time I was told (by a different advisor) that I had NO subscription of guitar World for 2022 at all and that she couldn’t fix the problem, but somebody would send me an email after some days and tell me how the subscription would be renewed! So the first advisor lied???!!! At this point I realised that it’s impossible to continue this because clearly there’s no sense in their actions. So I told them to cancel my order and refund my money. I regret ever ordering anything from them!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Taken 5 months to receive 2 of my 3 magazines. About a dozen emails , now will not refund . What a joke . 5 months to get 2 magazines !!!!! And order still isn’t complete . Don’t bother with them . Wish I looked at reviews before I did . What a sham
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have ordered magazines up to february ordred in September no magazines have arrived and no refunds I will be taking this further.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered the same magazine subscription 2 times over the course of 18 months. 1st time everything was fine for a few months then I never saw an issue again. 2nd time it took 5 months to receive an issue and never saw another. Wrote to them several times only to recieve the same generic automated response, blaming covid for shipping delays. No refunds granted, no missing issues replaced.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Do not use this company,dreadful service all round no magazine no refund no replies to e mails feeble excuses etc etc,not even worth one star.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Never received my single issue magazine that I ordered on August 11, 2021.. it is now December 8, 2021 and no magazine has arrived. No confirmation of shipping was provided. Beyond aggravating and disappointing is a gross understatement.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Cancelled my subscription but still got payment taking from my account. Sent an email and it’s been a 2 weeks and I haven’t got a reply. Just want my refund sorted. I will never use this company again. I’m sorry I never checked the reviews prior to subscribing as there are no happy customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely shocking, terrible website, insanely difficult to access your subscription, not only that it WONT delete your payment details if you request it, the customer service is none existant, i am still waiting for an email back after two weeks, there is no live chat and no one answers the phone, the prices are fake, AVOID AVOID AVOID like the damn plague, it is the worst service i have ever seen in my life
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
SCAMMERS. I ordered 6 magazines from them. One month later, nothing had been received. Said to be patient. Two months later, still nothing. I demanded a refund. Their answer was to blame the post office services. Two weeks after that, I demanded a refund AGAIN. This time, they said they refunded my money, even though that was a lie. I called them out on it, still had the audacity to tell me to check my bank statements even though it was very clear they had not refunded me since I had used PayPal and my PayPal activity showed absolutely NO refund. I ended up filing a claim with PayPal and finally got my money back this way!!! Thanks PayPal for the amazing work. MagazinesDirect: You are a bunch of liars/scammers. DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Awful. All been said below by others - terrible service, don't deliver, tak your money. AVOID.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Been subscribed to a magazine (Edge) for a number of years, recently got moved over to Magazines Direct to manage it. They failed to send 2 copies of the magazine (depsite being able to send out replacements). Tried to find out the issue with customer service, got so frustrated I ended my subscription and asked for a refund. Found out 2 weeks later, no my susbscription had not been cancelled and no refund, in fact they just took more money. Cue the customer service train again, will we see any money from them this time? Avoid these crooks. No wonder magazines are dying.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I took out a subscription to Guitarist magazine The promo offer included a free gift code. I gave all the codes to the Tele sales person. Confirmation email came back with no mention of the free gift. I contacted "help at customer service" several emails later still not sorted. No gift. Now they have taken my Direct Debit 2 weeks early. Without my permission. Very poor customer service. Can't trust them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
No servuce no response. All talk and no results . Paid twice for yearly - ie weekly subscription if Country Life abd I have received Roughly fourteen issues so far this year 2021- despite verbal promises this would be fixed in July 2021. This is the WORST servuce, by a prominent magazine that I’ve i have ever experienced. . Why are they still in business?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered a copy of 442 magazine almost a month ago. The payment has been taken, and my magazine has still not arrived. I will not be using this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Subscribed for 12 months to Motorboat & and Yachting. Yet I did not receive a single copy of the Magazine. ~Have complained on two different occasions getting crazy replies like e.g that I can access the issues on the Internet. Lousy and totally incompetent service. Am not surprised to see that your rating is a deplorable 1 out of 5. Georges Hess - Kenya
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Horse and Hound magazine is published weekly. It isn’t available on publication date via Magazines Direct digital app until late in the day. When I queried what time it should be available I was told the digital version was available three to four days before the print version which shows the customer services team have no idea about publishing. Despite several emails I am still waiting to hear when Magazines Direct intend to make the content available. Their best suggestion was to transfer to the print subscription to get it earlier. Very poor service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Took two transactions from my account with no authority to do so
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
What a rip off company they have just launched a new app which locks out existing customers and they are now asking for additional money to access a service that we already had. In the process they have deleted all previous copies that were downloaded - disgusting and sharp practice.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Magazines Direct is rated 1.11 based on 192 reviews