Matalan Reviews

3.99 Rating 1,577 Reviews
75 %
of reviewers recommend Matalan
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 29%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 80%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Matalan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Be aware: If you order something large and bulky - furniture for example - the customer service representatives at Matalan will tell you that they need to be returned by you in store as they are unable to organise a collection (even though they were able to deliver it to you without any issues). You better be prepared to drive to a store (do you have a large car?). The only problem: when you get to the store, the manager will after a long wait come and speak to you, only to let you know that they don't accept large, bulky returns in store either!!!!

In our case, several different customer service representatives told us the same thing when we called a few times to confirm that they really weren't able to collect the return. Luckily the store manager understood out situation and did accept the return even though she said there policies were not to accept large returns in store.

We will most definitely never buy anything from Matalan online again after this experience. They came across as a very unprofessional business that did not see the situation from the customers point of view.
Posted 2 days ago
Having visited your bilston store today [21/10/20] the store looked very inviting , pity the staff were not so inviting . RUDE , ignorant, to put it lightly .I strongly recommend you improve your
customer training scheme to your existing SO CALLED STAFF . myself and 3 others left the store in disgust at the service or should i say ....lack of service..... WILL NOT SHOP AT BILSTON STORE AGAIN .
Posted 2 days ago
I visited your Boston store again today, 17 October 2020. This is my first visit since complaining about your in-store customer service which I received no response; Again, service at the store was only what I describe as awful. The same staff member was abrupt and rude.
I bought some clothes to the value of £103. I was asked to use self checkout, which I refused, she then said begrudgingly she would do it for me. I presented my black card which I thought had the £10 voucher value on it as it came with a voucher. She then left me to pay which I did, but noticed they£10 had not been deducted.
When I raised this with her, she said I had not presented the voucher, which was correct; when I explained why, she never offered to correct my error, which I suppose is what I expected, with her attitude.
When I shop at a clothing store, I expect civility, friendly efficient staff, which is certainly not what you get at Matalan.
Why should I have to remove hangers, security tags and scan the item to buy goods when staff are available, which is what I expect.
Doubt I will be visiting the Boston store again, after two similar experiences of very poor service.
Posted 1 week ago
Went into the new store in Maidstone, was greeted by a non mask wearing member of staff who showed me where the hand sanitizer was then pointed me in the direction of the goods I wanted, I gathered up the items I needed then went to the tills to pay. I was greeted by a rude women who raised her voice so she could be heard by customers and other staff and asked where my mask was, I told her I didn't have one as I can't for medical reasons where one and she rudely and quite aggressively told me that the store policy was that I couldn't purchase anything. I offered to show her my exception card but she said she didn't want to see it because it made no difference. I wasn't aware that Matalan a family shop was so discriminating I then had to hand over the items that I choose and leave feeling very distressed and humiliated. I will never shop there again and hope no-one else in my position has the same treatment. I was totally discusted by my treatment. I have lodged a complaint but from the reviews I've read I'm not expecting any action to be taken.
Posted 1 week ago
Went into the new store in Maidstone, was greeted by a non mask wearing member of staff who showed me where the hand sanitizer was then pointed me in the direction of the goods I wanted, I gathered up the items I needed then went to the tills to pay. I was greeted by a rude women who raised her voice so she could be heard by customers and other staff and asked where my mask was, I told her I didn't have one as I can't for medical reasons where one and she rudely and quite aggressively told me that the store policy was that I couldn't purchase anything. I offered to show her my exception card but she said she didn't want to see it because it made no difference. I wasn't aware that Matalan a family shop was so discriminating I then had to hand over the items that I choose and leave feeling very distressed and humiliated. I will never shop there again and hope no-one else in my position has the same treatment. I was totally disgusted by my treatment. I have lodged a complaint but from the reviews I've read I'm not expecting any action to be taken.
Posted 1 week ago
I haven't got my order yet. I was supposed to get it yesterday but nothing came. It is very annoying. This will be my last time shopping with this company. Very disappointed.
Posted 2 weeks ago
What is the use of asking what went wrong,when just like myself all the people on this review site have been ignored when emailing you with complaints
Is your customer service policy ignore them they will go away?
Like other comments I will certainly not shop at Matalan again as you certainly don’t care about your customers
Posted 2 weeks ago
Matalans click and collect service is appalling as is there customer Telephone service I placed an order and was given the 2nd of October as the on or before date the item never arrived. the 3rd of October I rang to cancel and was told I couldn’t this is ridiculous they then advise me the new date had been set of the 9th of October to receive it by they should’ve contacted me if they were changing the date of an order customer service is terrible As it’s the waiting time and once I got through and spoke to somebody who could barely speak English I asked for a manager and was put back in a queue for another 10 to 15 minutes And to be told I have to wait 10 days now for my money back it’s appalling I will never shop with Matalan again
Posted 3 weeks ago
I have worked for matalan for 15 years. Worked in the Wigan store before I got sacked for having a mental health issues. The staff never get trained in anything because the managers can't be bothered to help them. I can't say this for all matalan stores but in the Wigan store the managers treat the staff badley. They wouldn't sack anyone who was off with a broken leg but they can sack people with mental health issues its discrimination and bang out of order. I hope no one will ever shop in that place after this goes out.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Still awaiting order from August, no replies from emails, no nothing, taken my money and nothing to show, disgusting behaviour.
Posted 1 month ago
Today I had a very bad costumer service Romford Matalan.the staff rude careless, I went to collect my online delivery but I bought some clothes in tge store as well. I went to pay the woman in the check out she was rudly send me to self service not even lesson I want to collect as well .
I payed the shop bought staff enter the desk click and collect side and I was waiting and waiting waiting look like im not exist . When finally she came and she told me why om not in the que !!
I was told her you send me there dhe was rude and lazy because the shop it was empty !!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Very poor delivery to store, ordered items for my daughters holiday and was given Friday as latest delivery date, i have just rung today (Saturday) and still no order "it could be Monday, there has been a delay" i was told. Fat lot of use when she goes on Sunday. I won't bother with Matalan again everywhere else seems to be able to deliver on time.
Posted 1 month ago
Sort your customer service out Matalan. Could not find staff on shop floor. Could not get served by a human as i was paying by card. After spending ages in a store shopping, the last thing i want to do is serve myself. Ridiculous money saving joke. The serving area is extremely compact and not in line with 2m rule for sure. Wont be back.
Posted 1 month ago
I like to browse Matalan. I bought a king size duvet cover and pillowcases on Saturday . I went to the Christchurch branch. Lovely duvet cover.
I would have also bought myself some new ankle boots but because of Coronavirus no one was allowed to try anything on. So I went a few shops up and bought new boots in TK Max instead. They have little socks in TK Max to put on your feet so you can try on shoes. Then you dispose of the socks . Matalan needs to do similar because they are losing trade.
Posted 1 month ago
The attitude of this store is shocking and right out of handbook of a authoritarian state.
They can refuse to let you in store without not just giving a reason but without actually saying you banned from this store
So basically staff have freedom to not let someone in for entirely no reason and without even admitting customer has done anything wrong.This is a charter for staff to literally be able to refuse entry to anyone whose face they don't like or race.
Posted 1 month ago
This is a copy of the review O sent to Matalan following my recent purchase from them It was deemed not printable as it did not meet the guidlines
"The product itself is great value for money and well made. The service however was not so good. I ordered 2 pairs of these and knowing someone would be at home the next day I paid for next day delivery. The order was placed at 11.30 in the morning and I received an email at 02.00 hours the following day saying they had been dispatched. This meant they did not arrive on time and there was nobody at home to accept delivery. There was no explanation or appology from Matalan. as I said happy with the product but not the service" Can anyone tell me why please. Ifthey only want positive reviews then try offering a positive service. Dont offer and charge for a next day delivery if you can't provide it. PLease do not blame Covid 19 as I ordered from 4 companies on the same day all offering next day delivery. 3 managed it 2 of them using the same courier that Matalan do
Posted 1 month ago
What has happened to matalan have been to 3 different ones over the last few weeks and each time there has been 2 tills on, it has taken that long to go through tills I don't think I will bother shopping there again. I passed my items over but there was no where for the chap to put the things once he had scanned them. Two of the shops were great but the merryhill store looked untidy and scruffy. Come on matalan get your tills sorted or you will loose customers
Posted 1 month ago
How did Matalan on average 4.5 star ratings. They are an absolute disgrace and even whenyou write to their CEO you do not get a response which is not only arrogant but unprofessional. I ordered 2 pairs of slippers on the same day. One arrived at the Hollingbury store the other is somewhere in the system. They said they would keep the first pair until the second pair arrived but today was given a refund for the first pair and goodness knows where the second pair are. They are an absolute disgrace and should not be allowed to carry on in business because they treat their customer with such contempt, the very customers who are keeping the staff in jobs. Shameful
Posted 1 month ago
Visited Matalan (Bolton) this morning to buy school uniforms. All done & had what I wanted but the service at the tills was disappointing, 2 staff on with one shouting paying by card/ use the self service to the queue. I opted for the self service thinking this would be quicker to find that it scanned everything twice & assistant needed throughout. Called for help via button waited 10 mins, then the woman on the till said she can’t help she’s not trained!!!! Overall lesson learnt - queuing is inevitable.
Posted 1 month ago
Had to return an item to store for an exchange in st helens they now have self service tills they are fine if paying by card but if you have a return or paying in cash or click and collect now only have two tills i was over 30 minutes queueing and one till had two problems and needed help from an other member of staff all customers behind was getting through served before us in front of them if they used the self service tills if i wasn't returning an item and buying others i would have walked out its put me off shopping in matalan now
Posted 2 months ago
Matalan is rated 3.99 based on 1,577 reviews