Matalan Reviews

4.04 Rating 1,548 Reviews
76 %
of reviewers recommend Matalan
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 29%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 80%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Matalan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 19th September 2018
JoThomson68
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 26th July 2017
Hayley Armit
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Visited at quiet time on a Friday morning. One worker on till whilst another stood chatting to them. We stood in queue whilst they finished their chat. Appalling customer service. Think some training is required
Posted 5 months ago
Shocking experience with Head Office customer services. Even store staff exasperated by the inability of Head Office to ratify store decision. Seem to take an approach of "we don't believe you", so let's start from there. Absolutely clueless how to deal with customers. Head of their customers services seriously needs to understand the importance of people skills.
Posted 5 months ago
Fast delivery excellent value great quality
Posted 5 months ago
Terrible experience!
Dishonest and disrespectful towards customers. Don’t pay attention While working at till.
The employees not trained how to deal with customers. I have been cheated recently by an employee on the till who didn’t returned my back. She kept talking with her colleagues while I was paying in cash and didn’t return the right amount of money back. She started arguing that she received £2.20 less than that was actually paid. She wasted my precious time in arguing and investigating. The manager investigating the camera for the recording but said that they couldn’t find the evidence though it’s clear in recording that u paid the full money I claimed.
The only cause for all this dispute was the ignorance of the worker at till who was not attending the customer carefully and she didn’t focussed busy talking with her colleague. She didn’t count the total money paid to her and refused to give back the right amount due.
It was my first time shopping at Matalan and it was terrible experience at Slough branch.
Posted 5 months ago
I ordered online to be delivered to my local Blackburn store, the estimated delivery was 3-5 days. Needless to say I did not receive any contact from them.

I called into the store to check if it had actually arrived. I was greeted by the most aggressive female store supervisor, who as I arrived was speaking to a member of her staff in a rude and aggressive manner.

She told me that the item had not arrived and on three occasions tried to grab my mobile from me to view the email from Matalan.

Completely unacceptable.

I was then shocked to see that the item I had ordered were on display a d for sale in the store.

The rude supervisor told me that I couldn't take one of these items and could not cancel the order until it arrived in the store.

Tried to contact Matalan with no response

I will never shop in a Matalan store or on line. Terrible service from both.
Posted 5 months ago
Worst online customer service ever. Click and collect takes ages they don’t respond to emails either. I honestly would not recommend them
Posted 5 months ago
Online they are rubbish, aided and abetted by DPD
Ordered - nothing happens, 5 days later an mail lands saying they have sent the order, and I'll get a mail after that and a text to say when it's in the store to collect.
Nothing happens.
I ring up "we'll open an investigation"
Nothing happens.
I ring again "It's been lost" they say "re-order"
"Really???" I say
"We'll send you a 20% discount voucher as an apology"
Great, except their website doesn't recognise the voucher.
So I drive to the store, pick an alternative suit, explain whats happened to the manageress who apologies, and gives me a 20% discount.
In short, on-line they are rubbish, in the shop, helpful.
Posted 5 months ago
Not an Online Company you can trust
Of the two orders placed on line, neither have been delivered when they said they would be.

The first order had a couple of items missing, however they were on the delivery note. This left me without the items I had paid for and no way to prove it didn’t receive them. A call to customer services didn’t help, so I had to cover the cost.

Fast forward a couple of years and I have placed another order (I had forgotten my previous experience) for one item and has not been delivered. it’s in a black hole, no one knows where it is.

A refund (in the form of gift cards) is only given when you return the goods that you have ordered.

The cost of the items falls well below the cost of recovery through the court. The only real course of action is not to deal with them at all.

If you do decide to place an order online, do it on the basis that you may not end up with the goods and out of pocket. Do not place an order believing that you will receive what you have paid for.

It is obvious that Matalan do not have the necessary resources to provide an online service.
Posted 5 months ago
I asked in the Macclesfield store when purchasing if I could return briefs if the matching bras did not fit and was told yes as long as labels, hangers still attached. The following day I returned the items to be told I had been given the wrong information and they were none returnable. I would not have bought if I had been given the correct information at the time of purchase! The Supervisor then found it very funny when I asked for his name and told me his name was Bob when actually it was Ash. Very poor!
Posted 6 months ago
ordered a few joggers/sweatpants from there online store and everything went fantastic, waited a few days for confirmation regarding items sent to local store for collection. received email with my order number etc and 4 days later picked my package up. I can not fault anything wrong with matalan or its services.

my advise to anybody that wants there items quicker is go in store and buy as with anything you buy online can be sold out within minutes.
Posted 6 months ago
Bait and switch online scammers. When you place an order, they tell you it'll be sent in a few days. Then, days later they say they are low on stock and it will be a further delay. When you place an online order, expect to wait WEEKS for it to arrive. Or better yet, order from somewhere else.
Posted 6 months ago
Ordered wooden relax letters and screws had come apart - letters were dirty and chipped at ends. Had to get my husband to screw back and paint edges. Just wrapping them in bubble wrap is not protective enough
Posted 6 months ago
Purchased Brogue boots (mens) look good, although the soles are paper thin and like walking with no shoes on so uncomfortable. Only worn once and think I may have to throw them.
Posted 6 months ago
Waited ages in store and they couldn't find my parcel. Wont be using this service again! Could of saved more time and fuel just paying the extortionate postage rate!
Posted 6 months ago
Online Order
Placed an order online and thought it would be a better option to deliver to store for collection as I am at work all day.
Placed order and received delivery date as the 6th which would make it a wait time of 7 days.
Thought 7 days is rather long but went along with it as I could collect on the 7th Saturday not in work.
So instructions said I would receive an email and sms to collect my package on the 6th sounds good.
6th arrives and passes and no email no sms so I ring up today 7th only to be told one of my items has arrived in store but you can not collect as the order is not complete the other item is delayed.
I ask when it is going to arrive and am told should be around middle of next week.
This is a first time I have used Matalan online and will be my last if I wanted to wait 2 weeks that would be fine but really these days online orders arrive next day in most cases or at least 3 days later.
I can order from Germany and receive in 2 days,China free postage and get my parcel in 2 weeks.
Matalan based up the road in Knowsley can not get my items to me and there warehouse is 30 minutes drive up the M62.
Poor service.
Posted 7 months ago
Ordered four frames on line. Said delivery within five working days, took seven, plus one frame damaged. Requested replacement rather than refund, but got refund anyway. They said they could not resend due to 'system restrictions'. In other words they didn't want to pay delivery costs, but I could reorder myself provided I was willing to pay the £3.95 postage. Well, they can have the other three unbroken frames back. Matalan is struggling if they can't get the basics of customer care right they'll go under - won't be a loss.
Posted 7 months ago
I was today, once again served by the lovely and friendly, Denise Stone from the Dalston branch of Matalan. As I am a weekly shopper in this store, I try my hardest to be served by Denise as she is always so professional and can always put a smile on my face!
Posted 7 months ago
Kristian from the Cardiff high st store was very helpful when we tried to purchase bridesmaids dress he went above customer service to get what we wanted unfortunately we left without buying because they didn’t have the size but advised us to look online.he was pleasant and friendly to all
Posted 7 months ago
I have done my purchase there two weeks ago for the first time. I am happy and pleased with their quality products and wonderful customer services. Keep up the good work. God bless you abundantly! I am very satisfied. I have done my second order 30th. 11.19 and you shipped it next day looking forward to receive my parcel.
Posted 7 months ago
My parcel has apparently gone missing!????????
Posted 7 months ago
Matalan is rated 4.04 based on 1,548 reviews