Opendoor Reviews

4.11 Rating 902 Reviews
77 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Purchased a house 2 weeks ago. Master shower needs gutted, tiles caving in before 1st use. Estimating $2500 or more for repair if mold is present. Electrical had double tapped wiring $225 to repair to insure home. A.c. condensation exhaust line was buried causing interior to flood. One outdoor lighting fixture still non operational. All outdoor water bibs leaking. Ready to seek legal advise.
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Richard, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations! I see you are currently in communication with our teams to address this issue. Please continue communication through those coms and if any additional questions or concerns come up please email community@opendoor.com
Posted 7 months ago
I requested an offer - this is what I received: Here's your offer from one of Opendoor's Trusted Partners
$235,000 - I purchased my home last year for $270k - the offer they sent was for $235k - has anyone noticed the market going down dramatically? I find this offer offensive - PLUS they want me to pay a 3% commision on top of it. I would have to bring qooo's of dollars to the table to sell to this ridiculous company.
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry the offer didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 7 months ago
we bought a house from open door All open door did was put lipstick on the exterior of house and tried on interior but my 4 year old grandson could have done a better job the spilled paint on carpet without even trying to clean it up. they dropped paint spots from whit ceiling onto brown walls again didn't even try cleaning it off but here are the real problems.
1. Landscape irrigation tired into main water line illegal code requires a backflow preventer installed , irrigation timer did not work , irrigation line had more holes then swiss cheese but they advertised irrigation cost to get it done ( $3250.00)
2. kitchen Faucet would not move in any direction cost to replace ($250.00)
3.carpet was Filthy pet pee stains all over cost to clean ( $225.00)
4. pool equipment ( pump and filter ) did not work correctly over 20 years old cost to replace ( $5057.00)
5. Garage doors no remotes was a starter but after looking closer the double door had only ( 1 ) spring on it and it was broken the door where the opener connects to was 3/4 ripped off the door had to replace door and opener cost ( $2575.00)
6. Smoke alarms inside house did not work with each other to warn you if smoke or fire was on other side of house like they are made to do had to replace all Smoke alarms
cost ( $3780.00 )
7. only keys the gave was for front door dead bolt had to replace all exterior door locks and dead bolts Cost ($ 350.00)
all Open doors wants is to put money in there pockets they could give a Rats Ass about anything or Anybody
Posted 8 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 8 months ago
We were in contract with the on a house and presented them with tested evidence of all three bad molds in 4 places in the property as well as evidence from two sources that the foundation was 6” out of level. These repairs are going to be very expensive. Instead of making the repairs, they decided to reject them, have us terminate the contract and put it back on the market hoping someone else will buy it without realizing and save them money. What a sad reality that they are focused on profits even if it is destructive to a buyers health and life. I am posting this in hopes of protecting a potential buyer
Posted 8 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 8 months ago
Be careful l if you are going to buy from them.
We just got our first home and even with and extensive home inspection they where able to hide several things.
Just to give you an example, they put white bondo in the master bathroom tub so we would notice it and as soon as we stepped in it broke and now we have change it.
My wife decided to change the floor and thank God we did, we found mold under there. The kitchen was a mess put together just enough to pass the inspection, once we started to move things around we found rot, more mold and we are in a economic hole.
We have no master bathroom shower and kitchen because we spent all our money fixing the other problems they hid in the house.
Don’t buy from them! Worst decision of my life and a very expensive one too.
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Gabriel, sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. We always strive to provide a stress-free, positive experience with Opendoor, but if we've fallen short, we want to look into it. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 8 months ago
These guys do not care about the realtor community either. Most listings carry a 1.5% selling commission which is 1/2 of the customary rate. They can pay whatever they choose but seems to me if you have inventory that has been reduced in price over and over and over that they would pay MORE in order to get the home sold.
Posted 9 months ago
Bob, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 9 months ago
We are in the Nashville area, The whole purpose behind Open door is Self guided tours without a realtor. They will not let me tour a house citing Covid 19 as the reason. The funny thing about this is your putting me at greater risk by forcing me to be around a realtor I do not want to be around. I understand the issue in our country currently, However when Companies use this tactic to reshape the rules to there favor it is sad. Self Guided tours, is your Business, Why do you Site Covid -19 and then try and put me at greater risk. I do not recommend this company, and think they are taking advantage of people. And by the way we toured another house last week, Found this one and the changed the rules also Citing Covid -19. So i guess what ever the company decides to do they will just put this handy free pass sticker on it (Covid-19)
Posted 9 months ago
Josh, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 9 months ago
We purchased a property over a year ago. It was a disaster. No one was available for questions, I just found out they miscalculated the tax portion on the settlement statement. Not much, but really? The title company missed that there are 2 HOAs, now we are stuck with an additional monthly payment of $267 a month! If you see a house for sale by Opendoor, better run!
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks for letting us know about this! This is not the experience we strive to deliver at Opendoor. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address and best point of contact so we can look into this matter!
Posted 9 months ago
4 different prices , From to low, in that order. OD is a joke of a company
Posted 9 months ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 9 months ago
Living next to a home owned by Open Door has been a nightmare.

Last fall the home next to mine was sold to Open Door. The problems started when a vendor decided to park in my backyard while doing some repair work on the recently acquired home. This caused major damage to my yard due to tire tracks on wet ground.

Fast forward to this spring. The house still has not sold. The grass and landscaping are completely trashed and overgrown due to lack of oversight by Open Door. I contacted my HOA about this and they had to present Open Door with a notice so that they would send someone out to mow the yard. The yard was finally mowed on April 9th.

Fast forward 5 weeks and we are in the same boat with the yard needing to severely be mowed. (For the record I have personally mowed my lawn 5 times since Open Door send someone out the first time)

I call Open Door this time. They tell me that this is going to be addressed, but I’m not too hopeful. Open Door stated that they discontinued the landscaping contract due to a “flaw in the system”. The problem with that is I am not certain that a landscaping contract ever was in place due to the grass never being mowed to start with.

If you value relationships with future neighbors, I would highly recommend that you look elsewhere to find your new home. If you value your relationships with your current neighbors and are thinking about moving, don’e even think about using Open Door. This house has been on the market for over 8 months in one of the hottest real estate markets in the country. Our neighborhood is one of the most sought after areas of Nashville. It really makes you think about what Open Door’s priorities are. Clearly it is not selling homes or being good neighbors while they are in possession of a home.
Posted 9 months ago
Jordan, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 9 months ago
This company trys to low ball you Waste of time
Posted 9 months ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 9 months ago
I would give you a negative start if I could. To start we continued with our purchase of this home even though a pandemic hit the world. We asked to let us hire a cleaning service to come in and disinfect the house and was told that your team would take care of it. All they did was vacuum. There was dried food on the counters, the toilets were disgusting (dried urine and fecal matter on the seats) and there were boogers on the garage door button. My realtor paid to have it cleaned professionally. Then the camera was removed from the front door and the hole that the camera caused was not filled or plugged. Then the door. bell that was placed back in place of what was there was broken and missing the actual button for the bell. We got into the house only to find out that oven is half working. I feel like I bought a lemon and was scammed. When I tried to get some sort of resolution to at least the oven the RUDE women I spoke with told me she had photos of them cleaning, and basically I was on my own. I would highly recommend not working with Opendoor.
Posted 9 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 9 months ago
Absolutely the worst company to try to buy a house from. Do not do it. Save yourself the stress and buy from an actual person they have their homes priced too high and will not budget on prices. And their counter offers are ridiculous.
Posted 10 months ago
Elise, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 9 months ago
Purchase home from Opendoor July 2019 and now May 2020 the “upgrades and repairs” was merely smoke and mirrors.
Posted 10 months ago
Thanks for letting us know about this Kimberly. This is not the experience we strive to deliver at Opendoor. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into this matter!
Posted 10 months ago
DO NOT EVER BUY A HOUSE FROM OPENDOOR. They scammed us out of $1500.00 by falsely advertising a house with no known issues. They tried to push a quick sale, demanded $1500 due diligence and $1500 earnest money up front. We paid $1142.00 to have an inspection done and found a multitude of problems, from foundation damage, faulty rigged electrical work in the crawl space, active mold and fungi in the crawl space, septic system lines were damaged and the septic was missing a drain that should have been installed in the 90's, cloudy water from well (still pending testing back), deck was not done to code and was unleveled with improper rail spacing, leaking plumbing in the house into the cabinets, stairwell railing not secure in the wall and sheetrock damage where it had come off, needing a new roof, damaged siding, warped windows from water damage, amongst the house needing updates inside. When we challenged this, they opted to keep our due diligence money and send us on our way. -Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Posted 10 months ago
Our total payout was based on a foundation issue, AC unit replacement and some updating on flooring which resulted in several thousand dollars deducted from our original estimate. Only the flooring and some paint was completed. Leaving a new buyer with existing issues that Opendoor was suppose to remedy. Highly disappointed with the process and will not recommend Opendoor to anyone.
Posted 10 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 10 months ago
I believe this company is for sellers Definitely NOT for buyers . They make everything so difficult. They don’t accept FHA loans (treat people like trash who have them ) they want conventional loans only . Calling them , it’s a call center so you never get the same person . Was told a house had no offers then once we made one it was all of a sudden “under contract”. On a 2nd home it was stated they are accepting FHA loans and once we sent our offer they retracted the acceptance of FHA loans . Buying a home is frustrating and emotionally exhausting and to deal with this company has made it completely undesirable. If you’re buying I strongly suggest you avoid looking at homes that are Open door.
Posted 10 months ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 10 months ago
Liars, cheaters, dishonest. Signed contract with no disputes. Escrow and title paperwork completed. Then they send out blanket general email they are canceling offers. This was not an offer!!!It was signed accepted contract. Spend one week calling and emailing with zero response. Then after speaking they send cancel letter and decide they can cancel and escrow goes back to buyer. WTF? Why have contracts if you can cancel with no agreements. Here is the thing- Lennar and Opendoor are owned by same corporation. The escrow I put with Lennar will not allow me to cancel without lost of my deposit escrow. Opendoor is using world epidemic to hide behind. Said they do not want to put their agents at risk which I would understand. The hypocrisy comes into play is that they are still selling houses using same agents. Total liars!!! Notified BBB and Florida Attorney General for breaking contract and not forfeiting escrow.
Posted 11 months ago
We completely understand your frustration at this time. Please send us an email at community@opendoor.com with your property address so our team can ensure your situation is getting the appropriate attention. Thank you.
Posted 10 months ago
Open door employees are rude and treated me horribly. Wouldn’t extend my closings 5 days. I asked for the extension on the day they accepted my full price offer. They tried to cash the check three times now. Cheaters and scammers. DO NOT WORK WITH THEM.
Posted 11 months ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 11 months ago
do not ever try to do business with this company. they operate their business with a tactic called "bait and switch." they initially make a fake offer that they're not willing to stand behind. then, when it's time for them to live up to the obligations they've made, they randomly cancel their offer. they will then call the customer back telling them they will get them in touch with another company that will pay as much as $100k less than their initial fake offer. this is a dishonest business practice that car dealerships got in trouble for operating a number of years ago. opendoor has adopted this unethical business practice as one of their core company principles. do not try to sell your house or buy one through this completely dishonest company.
Posted 11 months ago
Opendoor is rated 4.11 based on 902 reviews