Persimmon Homes Reviews

1.2 Rating 180 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Persimmon Homes
1.2
Based on 180 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Persimmon Homes made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 22nd December 2023
Anonymous
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Ivan
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Ivan
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 21st October 2022
Anonymous
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 21st October 2022
Anonymous
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 21st October 2022
Anonymous
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 21st October 2022
Anonymous
13
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Shiiiiteee.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
If I could give 0 stars then I would. Their properties are inferior and their aim is profit, which is all they care about. The customer is of no importance, just to serve their pockets. If you have a problem then you are on your own as they just don’t care. BEWARE do not buy a Persimmon home!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Really bad moved in a year ago and needed front door replaced and alot of other bad workman ship around my home I haven't been able to lock my door in months due to its like a banana they are not interested no customer service make promises and never show up DONT BUY FROM THESE COWBOYS
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This review is based upon our recent experience with Persimmon SW. We engaged with Persimmon SW regarding a local development. The sales agent was friendly and helpful. Following a couple of viewings of the show home, we decided to proceed with their part-exchange scheme. The paperwork was a rapidly deployed and not every aspect was clearly explained. We were then presented with a £500 reservation fee. Following payment by card, it was mentioned that we needed to provide gas and electricity certificates and engage a solicitor for conveyancing. Obtaining a gas and electricity certificate was a cost of around £200 to us. Which we paid. Engaging the solicitor attracted an immediate cost of £180 for search fees. Following the electricity safety report (which was not perfect) we were told by the sales agent that we would need our card ready again as head office will be asking for £500 for a home-buyer survey on our existing property. Read section 8 of the part exchange agreement - it states that the buyer bears the cost of any survey Persimmon deem necessary and the buyer is liable to remediate findings on their property where it affects the resale value. Our current house is not a show home - it’s an older property - sort of why we wanted to part ex! The reality of this dawned upon us that Persimmon could ask for numerous surveys at cost to us, only to either back out or demand that we fix before completion. It was at this point that the part exchange felt to be loaded heavily in Persimmon's favour, especially when the new property was already overpriced and tied into property management fees, single broadband supplier and other 'costs.' We informed the local agent that we wanted to back out of the process and instructed our solicitors to stop. The fees were not explained up-front and fully before signing, the burden of surveys and possible outcome was not clearly articulated to us. Over ten days later we are still waiting for our refund of the booking fee which it is stated we are entitled to. The regional sales manager, Pauline keeps stating that numerous directors have to sign off on it - remember the booking fee ? A mere £500. We have sunk nearly £1000 for nothing. Do you research, check out review sites like this, Facebook etc there are other who had a dream and were left with a nightmare.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Persimmon homes weldon park. Nothing but issues. Slow to resolve problems, prefer to argue than solve them. For instance after only seven months the boiler has broken on a Sunday called the emergency number after 90 minutes received a call back that the plumbers contracted to persimmon are not answering the phone, so now without heat and hot water until at least Monday. This is just the last in a long line of issues, a formal complaint has been raised with the directors will see what happens. My personal opinion do not buy from persimmon.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
See the image how they are hand overing a house with many issue.
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 22nd December 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I would honestly give no stars if possible. If anyone is reading this and thinking about buying a persimmon home PLEASE DO NOT!!! It will be the worst mistake of your life. The whole company have been an utter disaster, we moved in over 2 years ago and are still waiting on work to be done, which my husband has just been told that won't be getting done because we are now out of warranty, even though we reported these issues when we moved in. My husband sent a very strongly worded email and received one back, saying you are lucky I am not someone who takes things to heart else no work would be getting done (very professional). Everything about this company is an utter disgrace. We have used out life savings thinking this will be our forever family home, but it has been nothing but a disaster, and caused nothing but stress and mental health issues for my whole family. STAY AWAY!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
!!!Avoid like the plague!!! Same as any other company that builds new estates. Bodged jobs, poor shoddy workmanship, unfinished estates. Full of excuses, poor designs, to many houses not enough space for vehicles. If the property your buying has the company HLM linked to it don’t touch it with a barge pole, you end up paying extortionate yearly site fees for absolutely nothing then you’ll struggle to sell because of HLM. Disgrace of a company both persimmon and HLM yet they manage to get away with it. If there’s flats on the estate your buying on make sure your house is no where near because yet another rogue company makes the car park permit holders only leaving people without them to park on the estate outside peoples house and anywhere they can. Do NOT buy from this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
todo ok. muy bien
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Please think extremely carefully before buying! Look at all the negative reviews and watchdog complaints etc. Can all those people be wrong? Personally, I have had terrible experiences with persimmon with problems so numerous I couldn't list them all here. What I will tell you is that many houses on our development are needing claims through the NHBC to have all the repointing done again. Reason for this? It is crumbling and falling out and the houses are only 6 years old! I am not a builder but can tell just by looking at all the houses on here that far too much sand was used in the mix, it is meant to be 1 part cement, 3 sand but I. Here it must be around 5 or 6 parts sand used. What happens to castles made of sand? And tricks like this just to save a few pounds. Put simply they absolutely do not care as long as they get your money. You have been warned! Please think extremely carefully before buying! Look at all the negative reviews and watchdog complaints etc. Can all those people be wrong? Personally, I have had terrible experiences with persimmon with problems so numerous I couldn't list them all here. What I will tell you is that many houses on our development are needing claims through the NHBC to have all the repointing done again. Reason for this? It is crumbling and falling out and the houses are only 6 years old! I am not a builder but can tell just by looking at all the houses on here that far too much sand was used in the mix, it is meant to be 1 part cement, 3 sand but I. Here it must be around 5 or 6 parts sand used. What happens to castles made of sand? And tricks like this just to save a few pounds. Put simply they absolutely do not care as long as they get your money. You have been warned!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Where to start? Downstairs toilet tap didn't work. Bath wasn't sealed. Cladding on the front of the house cracked. Plugs in bedroom didn't work. Upstairs toilet fitted incorrectly and leaked all over floor. Front door warped and doesn't seal anymore. Backdoor won't lock anymore as doors dropped. Extractor fan in bathroom fitted incorrectly and wouldn't work. Grass rolls layed on huge rocks and is all dead. Persimmon are never in a hurry to fix anything.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Please read....do not buy Persimmon amble hauxley grange poor development.. concrete jungle very little or nil green areas. Have to pay for green area maintenance......why Waited 8 months for 35 plus repairs to be done to house..list endless Was promised a lot of issues sorted prior purchased but not Took 8 months for pavement Still no development road laid Road drainage poor Very Cheap wood used for fencing Still get builder lorries past although not an issue Have to say residence not friendly .worst area lived for neighbours alot with cameras waiting to start arguments..if they read they know who they are I am sure Note Cost of 1 area garden laid. minimum £700 Again please avoid am saving you money Prior was looking fwd to moving here but now..not. will be selling house..that's how much not like it
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Our Persimmon Hell If you are buying from Persimmon Homes North East - beware you may be one of the unlucky families who’s life is totally disrupted. If you end up with major building issues you will face denial, deceit, incompetence, inaction, more deceit and stress. They will bully you and your family and their lack of real customer care will take a genuine toll on everyone’s wellbeing. They build when they sell plots, so your constantly faced with dust and disruption, their sales staff told us 5hey would be completed building in 18 months and 4 years later they are still here, roads not finished and your homes and cars are constantly covered in dust. Yet another summer where you can’ t open you windows during day without getting dust everywhere. Plus when they do build next where you live they put your family in danger as they fail to prevent masonry, roof lats, cement dropping from a height as they fail to put up safety netting. We suffered 6 months of building this way and had to ask 4 time for 5hem to put up safety netting. Each time they put it up, then soon as they set the scaffolding for the next height, they just didn’t bother again. They ruined our side garden with their mess. Wise still they endangered our family dropping building material whilst larking on. In the end I got sick of asking and I had to get the health and safety executive involved. Their site staff after speed through the estate on forklifts, loaders and their own cars with little regard for the safety of children, adults or pets. Not all the time and not everyone, but it is a fact that this happened regularly and still continues. We even had unmanned diggers left with their engines running with the exhaust facing our property for over 30 mins. The fumes were terrible. You will see all manner of other safety failings as they just don’t seem to understand how to act or care enough about those people already living on the development. I’ve had lone builder carrying remedial works on our property, siting his scaffold part on our patio with the other two legs on our lawn. Then be surprised when their lone builder climbs up the teetering scaffold and start up a petrol still saw to cut out the 100 or so bricks that had cracked in half on house. Two weeks and at any time he fell and seriously injured himself or a member of my family. Not once was he helped, assisted or checked. I mentioned the ruined part of our garden with their building debris- they had to dig the lawn up and replace it with hard standing to try a make good. Their policy of doing remedial works when it suits meant they dug all the ground out and then just left it like that, they didn’t even bother to shut the gate behind them. Three days later we were still having avoid the unprotected hole they left until I went looking for 5he site manager to ask when they were coming back to finish what they started. You will get used to progress chasing issues as Persimmon do what they want when it suits their schedule, rectifying their mistakes, damage, faulty building practices and material defects isn’t seen as a priority, if they don’t forget you’ll get it done when their lads aren’t busy as new sales come first. Until they have your money. If you do complain you may be unlucky enough to suddenly start to acquire punctures in your car tyre’s. Both my wife and I had a couple of tyre’s each punctured by nails. The guy in the tyre shop said they were all the same type and were the sort builders use via a gun, not the usual nail. Needless to say we couldn’t prove it was Persimmon, but we did ask if they could be more careful where they drop building materials. At that point in time they were second fixing next door and their staff would regularly just walk across our drive.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
A big piece of roof tile came off nearly hit my kids at the garden, replied 2 year grantee expired ? Not even investigate for a 4 years old house ? Emailed again with the same answer, seems normal for roof tiles came off for Persimmon House?
Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 5th July 2023 Persimmon Homes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Buying a house from Persimmon is worse than Open Heart Surgery!!!! Apologies but this is a long post. Hopefully it will help someone avoid the issues I have faced, and will bring attention within Persimmon to the sheer arrogance and incompetence of their team in Durham. Please feel free to email me at mypersimmonhome@outlook.com if you are considering buying or have reserved a Persimmon Home in the Durham area and you would like to see first hand what they consider to be a ‘reasonable standard’ or ‘within tolerance’ In short, I purchased a newbuild home from Persimmon in the Durham area in early 2022 and since then they have been an utter disgrace. Their Customer Care Team are refusing to action numerous defects and issues, the vast majority of which I identified within the 7 or 30 day windows. I still have over 200 defects with my home, which would likely cost me tens of thousands of pounds to rectify, money I simply do not have. The issues with my home are too numerous to list here, however I will provide a small sample. There is wonky brickwork to the front of the house which is extremely unsightly and will greatly impact the resale value. The brickwork is also wonky elsewhere around the house and is covered in excess mortar. The pointing is terrible and needs completely redoing. The shower cubicle has not been fitted correctly so it keeps on leaking, despite Persimmon staff trying to use sealant to cover up the bad job. The tiling is wonky, the tiles aren’t glazed properly so there is dark material showing through on the edge of the grouting. The grouting in the shower keeps on cracking as the tiling hasn’t been done correctly. The rear fence has not been placed on the true boundary as the Durham staff couldn’t be bothered asking the existing houses if they could replace the fence, resulting in a strip of wasteland that is full of weeds that are spilling through to my garden and leading to rats getting into my garden and my neighbour’s garden to the rear. The kitchen has not been fitted correctly with numerous damaged and wonky cupboards and doors. The Silestone worktop has marks all over it that apparently I’ve caused, despite it being practically impossible to damage Silestone! The whole house needs redecorating, all electrical sockets and switches have paint on them or are damaged. The driveway isn’t level with the concrete edging with huge gaps where it meets the house and no material between the bricks (all of the grit washed out). The boiler is so loud that when it kicks in on a night it’s impossible to sleep in two of the bedrooms. There is so much more on top of this. The only thing on this list that Persimmon Durham’s Interim Managing Director has agreed to is getting my own contractor in to redecorate, but that can’t be planned until the rest of the issues are sorted. This is quite literally the worse new build I have ever seen. I have visited numerous sites when deciding where to buy with several different builders in the North East and at no point did I see any of the obvious errors from their team’s sloppy workmanship and negligent quality control. Persimmon refused to let me have access to the house until a few days prior to completion, so I was unable to perform my own quality control. I was only allowed in a few days before completion, by which point I identified numerous issues right away that I was told would be sorted, however many were not or were completely bodged. Persimmon say they have no record of this; however I have numerous emails that confirm that I constantly flagged issues and concerns and the responses I received. Upon getting the keys in early 2022 and being able to spend some time in the house I found numerous issues, the number of which have continually grown as more mistakes become apparent during my normal life. The vast majority were flagged within the 7 days and 30 days period as per Persimmon’s terms. I have flagged these issues as soon as I can on all occasions. I have made my home available to Persimmon every day for the first month, and two days a week every week afterwards (with the exception of my recovery from surgery). The team have continually been dismissive of major issues, and have focused their attention on small jobs only. Many of these small jobs still remain outstanding due to being rushed or poor workmanship. To complicate matters, in late 2021 I was diagnosed with a congenital heart defect called a bicuspid aortic valve, and I was told that I would need to have open heart surgery to replace the defective valve to stop it causing further damage to my heart, so I was placed on the surgery waiting list. I flagged this to two members of the Durham team when they visited my home to discuss the numerous defects soon after moving in, and explained that I needed the issues to be resolved prior to my operation so that I could focus on my recovery and getting back to normal afterwards. I raised this point again and again for several months, with the operation potentially taking place at any time, and yet major issues were ignored with only minor issues worked on. The whole reason I continued with buying a new build after my diagnosis was because I wanted an easy and stress-free move, so that I didn’t have to deal with lots of hassle or issues associated with an older property whilst I awaited surgery and recovered. How wrong was I? All I’ve had is stress for 16 months. I was even lying in my hospital bed awake the night before stressing about the house, and how if things go wrong in my operation and I don’t make it my family will have to deal with the incompetence of your Durham team. That’s a horrible position to be in, believe me, but that’s what I had to go through because of the Persimmon Durham team’s inability to build a house properly or correct their issues. In addition to this, their Durham office have completely disregarded their official complaints process, taking nearly 11 months to formally address my official complaint, as opposed to the 8 weeks outlined on their website. This has naturally added to my anger and distress. They even had 3 months to finalise and plan the repairs on my home whilst I recovered from my operation, but instead they did nothing. Numerous flagged items have been completely ignored, others are considered my fault, despite me having evidence showing that I reported them within a few weeks of moving in, or been dismissed as within tolerance, or a reasonable standard. When I have asked them to share specifics from the LABC Technical Manual to confirm their findings, or for the measurements to confirm they are correct, they have refused to do so – Why would they not be prepared to share this? The refusal to address the issues in my home is in many instances in direct contradiction to many of the actions agreed with a different Managing Director from Persimmon North East one month prior to my surgery. Amongst the numerous actions previously agreed before the Persimmon Durham Interim Managing Director became involved, it was confirmed that there would be a joint Persimmon / Howdens inspection of the kitchen, that scaffolding would be placed around the house and the brickwork issues to be looked at, and the issues in the bathroom and en suite were to be to be addressed. Persimmon made a total of £1.7 billion in pre-tax profits in their two most recent financial accounts. I have no issue with this success. However, I do expect my house to be built properly and to not have to deal with over 200 defects which would likely cost tens of thousands of pounds to rectify. After the last 16 months, I can genuinely say that dealing with Persimmon is worse than having open heart surgery. In hospital I was very fortunate to deal with people with amazing competency, skill and compassion. Everyone was a credit to themselves and the NHS. It is a shame that the Management of Persimmon Durham do not display these attributes, as this whole situation could have been easily avoided if my home had been built properly, or if the issues had been dealt with. If you’re considering buying a newbuild house in the Durham area, avoid Persimmon. There are plenty of reputable builders (and older homes) that will have been built properly.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
If I could get a refund I would! The house had numerous faults and the customer care team are dreadful, rude and incompetent. 11 months in and issues Still not rectified, leaks, poor paint work, poor finish, tripped electrics, broken guttering, just to name a few of the issues we have had! Truly disappointing and would definitely not recommend buying from persimmon! Awful awful company and as it would seem not just us who think so, so do yourself a favour and look elsewhere otherwise you’ll end up regretting it. I would hate to say I told you so! This company shouldn’t be allowed to trade! Dreadful
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Where do I begin reviewing Persimmon? Well the first thing you absolutely need to know is 1) They only care about making money! They don't care about you, or your life, or wellbeing. Just like Carrillion ( if you can remember them?) Persimmon are a Tory darling who live by the ethos of 'if it is in the pursuit of money and wealth all is fair. Nobody matters, it's just business '. Just look at reviews and see the anger, frustration and probable mental health conditions brought about by this company and the way it treats people. I could write pages on this but let's move on. 2) The homes are very shoddy and badly built and it is total pot luck whether you fall lucky and get an 'okay' one. This comes about because they do not use their own employees, everybody is a hired hand. With this comes a lack of pride in work, no work satisfaction and quick turn over. When somebody walks out ( as many do) they use anybody to do a job. My gutters and dry verge were fitted by an apprentice central heating engineer. He didn't know what he was doing and did it all wrong so water was running down my walls until persimmon reluctantly corrected it ( they denied there was a problem until I provided them with a report from Marley who made the system stating it was fitted wrongly. They also fitted my boiler Flue incorrectly so my kitchen filled with gas. They told me they wouldn't come out so I phoned cadent who turned up in 30 minutes. Persimmons central heating 'people' flew out to me then! We had a man on here with signs outside his house slating persimmon stating that he had over 50 snags that they had not put right. We also have at present at least 4 properties having almost full repointing done in the bricks. ( Houses are 6 years old!) Moving on. 3) The developments are very badly designed with profit coming way above resident satisfaction. We have roads that are block paved and only wide enough for one vehicle to travel along. There are no footpaths so you have to walk on these roads and risk injury as idiots drive fast on them around blind bends. It is not possible to park on them as this impedes other vehicles who inevitably drive over your garden to get past. The dustbin Lorry, Delivery vehicles and even emergency services have great difficulty. This was no doubt done this way because a normal width road would have meant less space for houses, less space for profit. What is also occurring is that persimmon on some developments have to build much social housing. Now, I am no snob and spent the first 19 years of my life on a Manchester council estate, and most people are fine. However you may find you have a drug dealer or user, or an alcoholic or somebody violent next door who will inevitably make many people's lives a misery. I have been woken many times by police cars and fire engines and ambulances in the early hours. Many of the people I mention sleep all day and awaken at 1am to wreak havoc. The council estate I lived on had much nicer, more decent people and the homes were built much better. Persimmon sell you utopia and deliver Dante's inferno. 4) Persimmon provide no aftercare whatsoever! They are only interested in getting your money, they then pull up the ladder and stick 2 fingers up at you. They will not even come back and complete tasks they are obligated to do. Dealing with them takes months , sometimes years of stressful endless interaction and complaints just to get the simplest thing done. This causes stress and damage to your mental health. The promises of 'No works vans, no motor homes, no fires in gardens etc etc are not worth the paper they are written on. We have had it all, and it is stated clearly in persimmons covenants ( that are apparently there to protect us from unsociable inconsiderate acts) but you are simply told to get a solicitor. To Sum up Persimmon I will give you a quick example. We live near the beach and the main road has been made 'no parking' entirely so many people think it is okay to park on the narrow roads of our development. I wrote to persimmon requesting 'Residents only, no parking' signs. They stated that I needed to contact Gateway ( the property management company who persimmon kindly gave the job of property maintenance to). Now Gateway are as hopeless as Persimmon, and replied stating it was the responsibility of persimmon. This game of pass the parcel went on for months! Yes months to erect two signs that costs a few quid! Eventually Persimmon agreed, reluctantly. So after a few more months had passed I contacted them about the signs, they responded by telling me the signs had been ordered. A few months more and I contacted them and was told they were waiting for the fittings for the signs?!! Seriously? A handful of screws? So several months later, which by now more than a year had passed I asked about the signs? They told me they had put them up. I queried this and eventually found out the signs I had waited over a year for had been erected on a complety different development! I asked them to take them down and put them up where they should be, on this development. They would not do this and said they would order more signs! It has now been 4 months since they said this, and nothing! It is like Will Hay, laurel and Hardy and a carry on film rolled into one! So in that note think very carefully, you may be better off doing a deal with the Devil! I am not saying Persimmon are bad, but ..........
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Lovely development in a fab area within walking distance to Towcester. Houses are ok, decent basic spec but beware!… the price shown is for the basic house! On top of the price shown you're then expected to pay out for kitchen appliances (fridge freezer , washing machine and dishwasher ) , floors, utility sink , extra plugs/ tv sockets, garden lawn etc etc .. the list goes on and on… which all in all will cost you at least another 10k even more if you want to go quality fittings! You may be better off going for a Charles church build which is the same company( so I was told) but are a high quality build with higher spec . Charles church include integrated appliances and better quality fittings ie chrome radiators , so by the time you’ve invested in a persimmon and paid for all the added extras you may as well go for the better quality Charles Church ! Another option if you want to live on this development is let someone else pay for the inflated additions and then purchase a house that had already had the lawn turfed , The kitchen appliances paid for and the flooring put down! Having spoken to buyers 1st hand I have learned that Persimmon may offer you ‘added extras ‘ to help the stressful buying process but when it comes down to signing on the fitted line they withdraw the ‘ verbal offer’ and say ‘ it wasn’t in writing!’ Over all persimmon can create a very stressful home buying experience !
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Absolutely dreadful company. Developments resemble the rough Manchester council estate I grew up on in the 1970's but much worse! Houses aren't as well built, maintenance isn't carried out anywhere near as well, and you have police and ambulances arriving day and night for the social housing neighbours full of spice and booze. Add to this the fact that they have no interest whatsoever in your development once they finish, aftercare is alien to them. They sell you to a management company who are more incompetent than they are, if that's possible? The covenants they have in their contract are useless and Assinine, they state that there will be no this no that but everyone is doing it. When you complain to them they advise you to get a solicitor?!! They are the epitome of Tory darlings, use the cheapest materials available, temporary self employed 'Tradesmen', get the money and then get the hell out of dodge and never look back. They are cheap for a reason.....
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Terrible company lied to from the time you enter the sales office still being lied to after nearly two years in the house the finish of the house is very poor i do not think they employ any real trades people after sales is non existent they just could not give two monkeys should be banned from building
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Persimmon Homes is rated 1.2 based on 180 reviews