Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 819 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 819 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This is one vile company. Avoid it at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
If i could give 0stars i woupd. Worst company worst service. Thank you for leaving me and my children cold yet again!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
SP failed to fit time critical meter. Spent hours on phone and formal complaint made. They didn't want to know. As a result had to hire generator, buy diesel every day and incurred extra costs with electrician. Total costs incurred between £800 - £900. As usual, the man in the street has to carry the can even though issue caused by SP inaction. Latest offer through the ombudsman is £200 - seems somewhat short.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Of all the energy companies I have used this is definitely the worst. Customer service is abysmal. I have had a lot of problems for about 6 months and nothing had changed. They just don't care about their customers. Don't anyone use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
We were unfortunate to move into a house that has a Scottish Power "smart" gas meter. We've been in the house 28 days and have had no end of issues with it. We cannot access the emergency on there if we need to. Once webl eventually got a baroda to top it up with, after waiting nearly 3 weeks, every time we have to re-enable the gas supply to the house the meter does so, for about 2 mins then disarms itself. We have to repeat this process about a dozen times to get the gas to stay on. We have never been able to access our qccounr online or on their app. Every time we call them we are on the phone for over an hour on hold and the issue is rarely solved. I rang them today infact and had the same thing. Was on hold for 52 mins. Then got through to a guy who was trying to help. His manager said that because we have a gas supply to the house, which we didn't, they wouldn't send an engineer to look and fix the error with this meter, Evidently they said we would have an emergency engineer appointment before Christmas because of the same issue, we are still waiting. Not only are you in hold literally all day, the line just goes dead after about 2 hours and you have to go through the whole thing again. Honestly I think I've called them nearly 30 times since we moved in and each time nothing has been done. It's an absolute joke. I would recommend that anyone who is thinking of joining this company seriously reconsider. We are leaving as soon as the switch has been done and will not ever be using them again. If I could give them a 0* review I would. Disgraceful company, should be ashamed.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
It's impossible to get in touch with anyone from customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Do not touch with a barge poll lying thieves. You are a fool to ever get involved with these rats.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The worse company. They have no idea how to deal with customers. Anyone thinking about changing to Scottish power please don't.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I was with Scottish Power for 12 years. While I was with them they gave good customer service. But try to leave them and their customer service is really appalling. I explain my difficulty in paying in full, I agreed a repayment of my final, but I was hound with messages and phone calls every day until I gave and paid the outstanding money. My daughter and I had no money for food after paying the bill. I would not recommend Scottish Power to anyone considering going with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
They knowingly stole from me on 2 occasions had to take them to small claims court to get my money back. Anyone reading this, don't wait for Scottish Power to stop lying to you if you are trying to get back money they stole. They will never stop lying, you have to take them to court as they can't lie in court.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
My boiler broke down, no central heating and hot water, water pouring out of the boiler. I have never seen such a flagrant example of misselling, company systemic failings and not treating a customer fairly! I was sold a boiler, radiator & service care plan by SP, which is then passed to domestic and general. The policy is missold and fraud. It was sold as a 24/7 emergency care plan but all this means is you can get hold of a customer care person who books the engineer The truth is they apparently have 48 hours to get someone out. This is not mentioned when it’s sold or in any of the emails or literature, quite the opposite. You are encouraged to think you’re covered 24 hours a day, Mon -Fri. Last year boiler broke down on Xmas eve when family over so keen to be fully covered - the irony is they’re over again tomorrow ! for an early Xmas. The policy is not fit for purpose since your expectation is for an engineer to come out same day. It’s Saturday- no one is available til Monday. There’s supposed to be a remote component where an engineer calls you to try and fix it on the phone, yet no one was available despite requesting three engineering companies to provide an engineer - if these companies are not required to supply an engineer then D&G are not providing the service they’re selling!!! The first person I spoke to at D&G, Rebecca (rude, dismissive, no empathy, wanted to get me off the phone), didn’t even tell me about the remote component- I told her - then she couldn’t be bothered to try and get hold of an engineer. I had to ring again- spoke to a really nice lady called Patricia - but she was unable to get anyone. I felt so sorry for her having to explain away what are systemic failings. I was not asked if I am vulnerable, which I am - having recently had a major cancer operation and on immunotherapy treatment, but when I told Patricia she couldn’t do anything anyway because it’s a weekend. She was so embarrassed! So if you’re vulnerable during the week, you might get prioritised, if it’s at weekend, it makes no difference! I have to sit in a freezing cold house with compromised immune system! The whole thing is a disgraceful con, with failings on both SPs and D&Gs part!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Update on experience. I first complained in August totally dissatisfied with response so escalated to CEO/Directors office on 9/9/21 was assured that I would get a reply within 5 days. NINETY DAYS LATER NO REPLY Each time I contacted them to ask for progress “customer service” fixated staff incapable of understanding the concept that I already had an ongoing complaint insisted I restart the complaints process. Despite multiple clear unambiguous instructions that ANY attempt to use my phone was a GDPR failure as I declined them permission to use OR store my number. Despite that I continually got calls from people NOT in the escalated complaints process trying to discuss the initial complain. Neither their Facebook social media team nor their faux concern expressed in their response to my first review resulted in any follow up. Complaint now escalated to Ombudsman interestingly they responded to them in a matter of days! No resolution yet Strongly recommend using ANY other supplier as clearly this one is unfit for purpose
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Scottish Power absolute waste of time on 2 problems I have with them Acc numbers - 016071625880 - have tried to pay money off this account on numerous occasions to be told there is a fault at their end and they can not accept it,then they go ahead and give me a credit default just to top it all off. - 16111448509 - NO SHOW FOR 2nd time fitting smart meters - 2 days taken off work to wait for them I’ve been on the phone today to try and resolve these 2 issues and came up against an incredibly rude and unhelpful girl and that is how she behaved like a clever little schoolgirl. She informed me I can’t make a complaint?? Well that’s convenient for them isn’t it!!! PLEASE DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY DREADFULL SERVICE on not only 1 account but 2 and you can’t officially complain 😡😡😡😡😡😡
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Received my monthly bill as normal, then two days later Received another one for fives times the amount of the original for same energy usage. Happy Christmas.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Just sent a final demand but my meter has different serial number check you serial numbers folk ,they shouldn't have a licence to operate it's disgusting , this has been going on two years not my account number ,I don't know my account number now they are threatening debt collection not my meter I am two thousand kilowatts under customers serial numbers all mixed up check serial number don't let them get away with it two years now still no outcome I get cut of when I phone
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Scam, charging 700 just before Xmas without any usage increase
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
this stupid company did a contract withhout me to know and wen i found out they said its normal my supplier still on the market they never closed its the best i had osctopus and this stupid scotish power just went behinde my back and toke my electricity contract i never recived any email or a letter . worst ever and avoid this horrible company and cheating and liers and backstabing.tehy do not desirve evena star. 0000000000000
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Bad is a understatement, this company sorts the so called best tariff and then deny setting it up, change without you knowing and deny when you find out, When they get you in debt by selling you a tariff which will cost you more in the long run you cant leave as you owe them money. You then arrange to pay the money back they set you up on a payment plan if you cant afford the full amount. The emails come through as all set up then they again cancel and yet again deny doing this , you keep going round and round in circles as the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing. Even don't communicate with Ombudsman thinking they are above the Law, then try and fob you offer with a 50£ credit and a sorry letter, well Scottish Power stick that where the sun don't shine. CLOWNS 1 Star too many
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Trying to help my elderly mum, Scottish power set up an account incorrectly with an incorrect charge. It has taken days to contact them hours on hold and keep getting cut off. Totally useless go elsewhere !!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Absolutely disgusting service. Left my mother a vulnerable adult for 3 days with no electricity or gas. I was in another country and was disgusted by the fact the sent her on a mile walk to the nearest garage to collect a key to try to get it working to which she fell and broke her arm in the snow and damaged her phone. They still refused to send a engineer to support her and we are now on day 4. I spoke with a call handler Khadeeja who waw about as useful as the meter itself. I asked to speak to her manager who she referred to as Kane and he refused to contact me or speak to me qnd told me to follow the complaints procedure and someone will contact me in 14 days time to address the complaint. Meanwhile she is a vulnerable adult living at home with no electricity or gas and I'm in another country and no one from Scottish Power will even so much as help. She's used her last £30 trying to fix the meter and still no further forward.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.1 based on 819 reviews