SCS Reviews

1.46 Rating 1,525 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend SCS
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 47%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 66%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.30 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read SCS Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 731 0048

Email:

scsonline@scs.co.uk

Location:

45 49 Villiers Street

Write Your review

Tell us how SCS made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Brought £3500 worth of lazy boy furniture 6 mouths ago motors on the recliners are noisy chairs lopsided the quality of the furniture is not good at all SCS aftercare is rubbish an engineer from SCS inspected the furniture to tell us this is normal they just won't answer e mails showroom manager can't help go buy from some else
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Faulty headrest, 7 weeks to get somebody out to look at it back in Sept.2021, at a cost of £70 which after complaining, did manage to get refunded. Date in Dec. Promised for replacement, no show, the January 10th, still no show every excuse under the sun. Now told it is 20 mins travel time away, but will take 5 weeks to get it to me. There is no customer service it is a joke. I think management spend too much time on the golf course & need to earn their money & sort this CIRCUS called a customer service department out. Tried to email CEO, but shielded from the public. My God how many complaints do they get
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Terrible experience. Blatantly lied to by the sales guy in the store who assured us that click LVT didn’t need beading. As we’re not flooring experts we believed this and were very surprised when the fitter queried why we didn’t have beading. The fitter then explained why click LVT wasn’t suitable in our home even though we’d clearly described our home to the sales man. We spoke to the store manager who tried to weasle out of it and is saying we’ll need a damp proof membrane if we go for stick down vinyl. This was never explained to us either by the salesman so now we’re even more confused. Currently battling with SCS to get a refund of over £2k and more importantly, to get them to collect their stuff. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
If I could give no stars I would ordered a sofa and 2 chairs in July was told it would take about 12 weeks still waiting with no communication went to the store and was told there was a delay it would arrive 13th January still no feed back tracked the order and it now says 23 January no one has made contact with me I had to visit the store to find out where my sofa was and the manager was very rude avoid I wish I read the reviews first before I purchased 7 months and still waiting
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
I ordered a tartan effect carpet for my stairs it cost about £1000 the fitters came and they were there for about three and a half hours, I could tell they were struggling with it once they were finished I just wanted them out the house, the bottom 4 steps were all out of line it was a terrible job and really caught the eye I phoned customer service and they sent a inspector out he agreed, so I waited a few weeks and the fitter came back and he said he would fix it, it was my wife that was in the house when they were fixing it and when they were finished they told her that was the best they could do, there was no difference the carpet was just the same so I phoned customer service again and they sent out the same inspector this time he was very cheeky and said the carpet was fine, I got a local carpet fitter out to look at the carpet and he couldn’t stop laughing he said it was the worst attempt at a stair carpet he had ever seen, because the SCS inspector said he thought it was okay the complaints department said there is nothing they can do, I have paid £1000 for a carpet that looks terrible and I will probably have to rip up, NEVER use this company they are a DISGRACE and unprofessional
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
If we could give this no stars we would. Ordered sofas and a arm chair from SCS back in July. We were contacted that the arm chair was ready to be delivered and the sofas would in ready and delivered the following week. 4 months later and still no sofas. Every time we call to request a refund we are told the sofas are due into the warehouse this week and we can arrange delivery in the following days but they then contact us to cancel the delivery. They have offered compensation but today we were told we would have to pay the full amount due and claim the compensation from the manufacturer as the delay is on their side. SCS is beyond a joke, take orders and cannot complete them. Where are they getting the furniture from? and how is it one day they are showing delivery of products and the next its not available. Is the communication between them and the manufacturer so poor they cannot find out what is happening to be able to give customers real updates. I would avoid and would never recommend!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Having left the shop in Darlington on the 21/07/2021 after placing an order for a three piece suite and advised around 14 weeks for delivery We were very happy with the service. Until I received an e-mail that it was delayed second delay notice we went into the store and after having a conversation we were offered £125 goodwill payment which we accepted. but this did not stop further delay, another £50 goodwill reduction which was accepted having waited so long it got to the stage we had gone to far to cancel and start over again with anyone. finally today 07/01/2022 we have received delivery. so far so good as far as the furniture goes. we were looking to change other furniture but we have to say SCS will not be our first choice of store. We would have prefer'd the truth at the very begining as to the delays not in stages as you go along.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I have to speak as I find and so far have nothing but praise for this company. Shopping for my suite in Norwich was a pleasure. Was not hassled or pushed to buy (as happens in many other shops). Was kept updated re my delivery which arrived exactly when expected and the delivery boys Michael and Stuart where quick and efficient. Well done SCS. Would use you again and recommend you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I ordered a carpet in October 2021 with guaranteed fitting by Christmas ...four days before told will not be fitted until after new year ..got a full refund on demand no discount or negotiation offered...a local company fitted a carpet two days before Christmas and cheaper...SCS I will never use again despite being a previously satisfied customer ...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
One thing you need to know about SCS, which will tell you everything you need to know, is that they are not signed up to the Furniture Ombudsman. They claim this is because they prefer to deal with complaints by themselves and avoid unnecessary expense. However, what it means for you as a customer is that if something goes wrong, they will offer you a pitiful amount of compensation, and if you aren't happy with it (which I'm not), there is nowhere you can really go to resolve it. The long version of my experience is below, but the short version is they failed to turn up on two separate occasions to fit a carpet, meaning my wife lost two days of holiday from work, and they offered an initial £45 compensation, eventually raising it to £65 and then £75. My advice is to use a local company. We did for a subsequent carpet that we needed, and from ordering to the carpet being fitted was less than a week - far superior to the "service" offered by SCS. Long story: Carpet was booked in to be fitted, my wife took the day off work to be in, by lunchtime no word from the fitter, so we chased SCS, were given the fitter's number to call, and he told us he'd had too many fittings booked in and almost certainly wouldn't get around to us. No contact from him or SCS until this point to inform us of a problem. We had to book a new date. That got cancelled the day before, so we booked another new date. My wife took another day's holiday in order to be in....and the same thing happened as on the first date!! No call from the fitter or SCS on the day, and when we chased, he told us there was a problem with the carpet and we might need to order another one. That turned out to be incorrect, but we had to book in yet another fitting date for the following day when it finally was fitted. My wife has lost two days of holiday, and the £75 compensation eventually offered is pitiful in my eyes. Will never use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Had nothing but a nightmare with scs first sofa delivered all marked sent someone out to clean it burnt the fabric then ordered a new one for that to turn up damaged and the delivery driver tell me it wouldn’t fit without trying to now be no further forward and been passed from one to another
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Ordered carpets for bedrooms, stairs and landing end of October, had a phone call to say it was in and arranged for them to be fitted 16th December. Took the carpets up, dismantled the beds, furniture etc. Waited in all day for them to arrive and no one turned up. I rang them at 4.30 that afternoon to see where they were and was told the fitter had gone to the distribution centre that morning but couldn't find our carpets. I couldn't believe that no one rang us to tell us!! The lady told me someone would ring the next day but nobody rang. I rang them again and was told our carpet wasnt in afterall and theyd let us know when it was.We were upside down with furniture around the house in preparation and no carpets down and no one even bothered to ring us. I was absolutely furious. The customer service is shocking! They're always eager to sell you something when going in the store but once they have your sale they don't care. A few days later when we still hadn't received a call I rang them and cancelled the order, the lady I spoke to wasn't surprised at all. I understand mistakes are made but to not receive any phone call or explanation is appalling in my opinion. A lot of these big name companies don't care anymore they're just interested in lining their own pockets. We've since been somewhere else to order carpets, there was no fancy sales talk or cups of coffee but I'm confident we'll be getting our carpets fitted this time. I wish I'd read the reviews on here before ordering from scs. I'll never go in that store again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
My honest review which I sent to scs after they sent me an email asking for review.. They then refused to use it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
You name it,it happend,bad after sale service both from the manager of the store,the sales person and customer services department,we took delivery of our furniture in October ,17 weeks after paying in full at point of purchase, and since then we have had the upholstery technician out twice to rectify problems with the settee and have given up on the company ever addmiting that there is a problem as we have been given lame excuses each time on the telephone as well as direct communication at the store, and we are of course 100% dissatisfied with the outcome,would we recommend SCS ? most definitely not ! do we regret ever shopping at SCS yes, and so we will give SCS a very wide berth when we want to make future furniture purchases !, the two delivery men gave excellent service of which we gave a 5* on the delivery survey.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Ordered sofa, chair & carpet & arranged for carpet to be laid before sofa was delivered. Rang to ask if fitting of carpet was arranged as had heard nothing, to be told they hadn’t ordered it. This then put me in the position of being told the delivery of sofa would be pushed back as ‘I wanted carpet laid first’. As I had now been without a carpet or sofa in my lounge for nearly two months I agreed to have the sofa delivered. On the day of the carpet fitting had a text from fitter to say everything should be removed from room. As I live in a flat nowhere to put sofa. He refused to come, calling me ‘mate’ & to sort it with scs. I then went to store & the manager offered me £120 if I had the carpet delivered & got it fitted myself, which I agreed to. I also cancelled the warranty on sofa which was £200 & although I received a email from warranty co I have never had the £200 refunded to me after extensive phone calls, letters & emails to scs, which have never been replied to. The £120 also never materialised so I refused delivery of carpet. Since then I have been bombarded with phone calls, saying my carpet is ready to be fitted & that I broke the contract by not accepting it but they broke the contract by not ordering it in the first place. I have since had a carpet fitted by someone else who had no problem moving sofa around. I have ended up with no carpet & lost £860 over this fiasco & will NEVER use scs again. Very unprofessional, & don’t care about their customers concerns. NO STARS
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Customer service staff helpful. Received call from Delivery team prior to acceptance. Turned up on time unwrapped sofa and put in place for me. Very friendly guys. What an I say I'm very 😊 happy. My ref BAS 049 609. These guys deserve a bonus.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Avoid scs mostly carpets . They have completely disorganized me and my family . I ordered a costly underlay and they thought i wasnt worth it and brought in a cheaoer one saying the ither was discontinued. Only ti be told it was still in supply after they fitted the carpet . The carpet is literally coming off the stairs and has masdice humps and bumps . I have phoned them nineeous times and no solution . I walked in to the store ahreed with one if the managers for the carper to ne regixed with my original underlay because the money was paid for it . He understood and instead offered a refund which will come off on the end . This leaves me misunderstood ,with unfixed carpet and a horrible reception . Am gutted to spend 1500 on nothing really . Do not use Scs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid SCS at all costs!!! Lies upon lies. Awful customer service, rude and inept. Resolution appalling, still waiting for carpet! Please read and avoid, I wish I’d seen these reviews before using.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Like one of the reviews posted I too wish I could give zero stars, a minus rating would be too good for this outfit, ordered 2 leather sofa's only to find out they are not 100 % leather so cancelled, ordered some vinyl for dining room to be fitted in September then got email to say they couldn't supply until January ffs so cancelled, ordered carpet for living room at same time as vinyl, had it fitted as couldn't cancel and the Fitter cut it wonky where it joins the vinyl, I've got a different carpet company to come and put it right because I didn't want that Fitter in my home again.....I just wish I'd looked at reviews before walking into that shop. Absolutely shocking outfit.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid this company ordered multi items to be delivered by a set date, no communication of delays. No contact details on invoice and once contacted call center where informed would be extra month for delivery "not garenteed" There is no way of direct contact with the store. Even with delays order's should not take 3 months for delivery. Recommend any orders placed should be placed with your own dates. Very unhappy with service. Understand why big deposits are needed to tie you down. Bring back good customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
SCS is rated 1.46 based on 1,525 reviews