Sixt rent a car Reviews

1.56 Rating 48 Reviews
15 %
of reviewers recommend Sixt rent a car

Write Your review

Tell us how Sixt rent a car made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I rented a car with them in August and since September I've been contacting them via email, phone, filling a form on their website... all different ways I could find to just ask for my signed agreement. After 3 months of chasing, they told me they don't have a signed contract for me. Very unhelpful. So hard to get hold of. I won't recommend them at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Rented a car in Lisbon. Filled car with gas 12 KM from airport and returned it. Received invoice 6 days later with 65 Euro fuel charge, 25 Euro fuel service charge and 10 Euro late return charge. All these charges are bogus. Would not rent from Sixt again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
What started out as what could have been my best rental experience ever, unfortunately ended up being my worst! Checked in and got a "free" upgrade. Went to get in the car and noticed some mild damage on rear bumper and the facia missing from one of the vents, but otherwise all seemed nice.. didn't think to go as far as inspecting for chips in the windshield and photographing them! There was no attendant around to walk around with it even discuss the things noted. Went ahead and left in the car. Enjoyed the vehicle for 2 nights and returned it....in a massive line of cars early in the morning. Of course, again there was no attendant around. Didn't dare to leave the keys in the car, so looked for an attendant or drop box. Found a drop box at the front of all the cars and went ahead and dropped the key in and headed inside to get to our flights. After returning home, I received a notice from Sixt that they were charging me for damage done to the car i.e. chips in the windshield. Nothing ever hit the window while I had the car. Then a couple days later, I received another notice: they were claiming I lost the key. Then finally a bill...$225.60 of which most of was for loss of use. Assuming they didn't think to look in the drop KEY DROP BOX for the key! Absolutely rediculous. I will never again rent from them. Beware!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Rented car Belfast City. Hit with £160 plus vat penalty charge as did not have credit card. Website very misleading and compliant passed to Trading Standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Appalling service, made the mistake of giving them a second chance and the experience was even worse the second time. Arrived to collect the car and told their system had blocked my booking with no reason why and to email them to fix it! A week after the booking date they haven’t even responded to explain.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They expect people with COVID-19 to travel, potentially infecting others, to pickup rental vehicles they pre-paid for or to pay their standard cancellation fee. While that might be legal, it is extremely unethical. If you do not like doing business with morally bankrupt companies, stay far away from them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I'm writing to express my disappointment having received my final invoice for a car that I rented from your SIXT Branch located at Manchester Airport. Please see attached a copy of the invoice for your reference; along with a screenshot. image.png Firstly I have to admit I was extremely disappointed to be charged a Premium Location Fee (amounting to 272 Pounds). I had a wife and an 18-Month-Old Baby along with 3 Large Suitcases, 2 Hand Luggage, A Pram, and a Car Seat which I had to load onto a shuttle bus so that I could reach the Car Rental Park (and then unload all of the items). I do not understand how you can claim this location deserves a premium Location Fee. I completely understand the justification of this expense if your help desk is located inside the arrival terminal and the vehicle is available for collection directly from the Airport arrivals car park-like many other airports, but this charge is ridiculous; when you take into account you have to take a shuttle bus service to a rental park and then collect and check the vehicle for any damages without any direct supervision from a SIXT employee > How on earth does that justify a Premium Location fee charge of 272 Pounds??? Additionally, I was extremely disappointed that I was charged a choice upgrade fee of 373.27 Pounds for my 28 Day Rental. The initial vehicle that I wanted was an Audi Q3; which after highlighting damage on the vehicle (which was not mentioned on the receipt); magically then became unavailable due to it reaching its Mileage limit (which I was only notified of; having checked the vehicle first for damages). Luckily, I was informed this would be changed for a Premium Volvo at no additional cost; which again had to be replaced 4 days into my rental period; due to technical deficiencies with the Sat Nav, Apple Car Play Feature, No Radio reception capabilities, and inability to connect to the Bluetooth feature in the car as a previous passengers details (whose name happened to be Shannon > guessing this is a coincidence with the SIXT customer service Rep that assisted me) was not working. Having Informed SIXT by email, I received a phone call informing me that I would need to bring the vehicle back to there Airport Branch from Bradford (80 Mile Roundtrip) in order for the vehicle to be changed. The vehicle was then changed to a Range Rover Discovery (which had damage already to three different areas on the vehicle) at no additional cost (So I was told by the SIXT Agent). Having received by final invoice; I now find out that I have been charged an additional 373 Pounds; pertaining to a CHOICE UPGRADE (No idea what this is). The Only positive was a South African Gentleman called Wesley who assisted us in changing the Volvo to a range rover and explaining the features of the new vehicle in your forecourt. He was also kind enough to set up our car seat (I just wish your front-of-house sales team showed the same amount of empathy and understanding as Wesley)! The rest of the experience was disappointing, and the additional charges have left an extremely sour taste in my mouth and my pocket! I look forward to hearing back from you!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Your days as a business are numbered you bunch of thieves !! You have stolen my Brother's money. Hope you get the full force of the law thrown at you. You are a disgrace to the car rental industry. Seems there are a lot of very annoyed customers. Coincidence...I don't think so. Wake up to yourselves and be honest.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hired car from Bristol Airport thru carrentals.com which af somehow linked up. Prepaid full amount for hire car. Returned car and foudays after car returned SIXT issued a new invoice for £2300 and took it straight out of our bank account, wiping out all of our funds. On the invoice it says we drove over 3000 excess miles (3900 in total). We only had the car fo 9 days, including pick up and return. It was used for no more than 500 miles tops and we had unlimited mileage on the contract. Would have to have sat in the car and drove continuously for nine days without stopping to sleep to cover this mileage. Now fighting for a refund and compensation and having the devil's own job getting any progress. Legal action will follow soon.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Issue resolved with James from Liverpool. Always great service from the local guys!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Scammed by Sixt! Returned the rental in perfect condition, the Sixt agent inspects the car, confirms everything was fine (witnesses!), tells me to sign the checkout form on her shaky phone and waves us goodbye – only to send a damage claim for 900GBP four weeks later. This is so wrong! We will take legal action! Beyond dodgy. Everyone: please be aware!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
If I could give a 0 out of 5, I surely would. Make sure that if you use this company that your firstly have your head checked because they are grade A criminals. But if you are in perilous danger and must then you wear a body cam or take numerous photos of every move because they will take you for all of your money and your first born child.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
A NIGHMARE. After I returned the car several attempts were made to bill my credit card for almost $500. First they claimed my "paid in full" booking was only a down payment. Then they claimed there was damage to the car (with photos). Fortunately, we had taken pictures when we relinquished the car showing clearly that it was damage-free. Then they sent me a bill for a slew of insurance I had never agreed to. Fighting them is an uphill battle so roll up your sleeves and don't let them get away with what looks like repeated fraud.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Well after 9 days of emails to Sixt I’m yet to get a suitable reply, nor have I heard back from complaints or customer services via the phone as promised by the CS agent I spoke with. I made a car hire booking, 9 days ago someone (not me) cancelled the booking as soon as I saw the cancellation email I emailed both reservations and cancellations saying there has been a mistake. 8 days later not a reply to resolve the issue, I had to call a USA number to be told a supervisor will call me back - no phone call. I have emailed again saying this could be a data breach or an internal issue - but no reply. Is is a coincidence that the same booking that I had booked for $980 is now over $3000 for the same period. Do not use @sixt as they they have no care for their customers
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
What a TERRIBLE COMPANY! I am the Admin for a company in Raleigh, NC. I was asked to make a vehicle reservation through SIXT at the Orlando, FL airport location. When I made the reservation, I was required to pay to hold the reservation. I paid $912.62. When my co-worker landed in Orlando he went to pick up his rental car and was told that the driver of the vehicle must be the one paying for the car so he used his credit card and was charged $902.20. both charges went through and showed up on our credit card statements. I immediately was informed and asked to fix the discrepancy. I called on a Friday and was told by customer service that they would do an internal investigation and let me know the outcome. Umm, no. I nearly overpaid a thousand dollars and I'm not waiting around for the internal company so I requested a call back from a manager. They said I'd hear back before end of day. I never did hear back. On Monday I called again, to be told by the reservations team that SIXT is closed on President's Day. Tuesday (this morning) I again called and sat through their excruciating hold music. The representative tells me that the customer service department is the only one that can handle my call needs and they don't open until 9 AM. FINALLY I call at 9 AM and am told that I cannot do anything; they won't even talk to me because the reservation was put in HIS name and he's the driver. I got pretty pi$$ed off seeing as how my co-worker is on a business trip hence the need for a car rental. I asked to speak with a manager and was told I'd get the same response. I insisted on speaking with a manager. Instead of connecting me, I was placed on hold for 21 minutes before the guy got back on the line and said again that I couldn't do anything because the reservation is in my co-workers name. We put a stop charge on the card. Never had to do it before. I looked around online and can see that double charging is a regular thing that SIXT does to people. TERRIBLE COMPANY. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
This company is the worst rental company I have ever dealt with. With the whole pandemic situation going on in the world they are refusing to refund money even though the areas of the world we are travelling to are in lockdown. Don't waste your money with these people they are unprofessional and I do not know how to take care of their client base they have had for years.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Scammers scammers, they stool 400£ from my debit card, in morocco agadir Dont trust them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The customer service at Sixt Rental is non existent beyond the kiosk. All if the vehicles have preexisting damageS which they are aware of but dont repair. Tried to communicate with them through email and received an unpleasant unprofessional response 30 days later. They rent cars thats it! No customer service, care ir concern beyond the basic rental. Rude as well. And it tajes approximately 30 days to receive a response. The wait time on the phone is totally unacceptable. The corporate boobs are a waste of time and energy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I arrived at the Sixt desk in Biarritz Airport to pick up a car I had booked online a month earlier. AFTER I signed the contract and paid for the car I was told that the car I had reserved was not available! and I had to accept a downgrade to a smaller car. If I did not, it would be days before my money was refunded and the excess insurance would not be transferable to another car hire company. It was also a bit late in the day to try for a car elsewhere so the choice was no choice. After accepting that there would have to be a downgrade we waited 90 minutes for a car. We spent more time in the airport after arriving than we had on the flight from Ireland. While we were waiting, several people who had been behind us in the queue were given Peugeot 308s - the car we had reserved - and other similar size cars - which were clearly available for other customers. A Peugeot 308 is billed as big enough for 5 people plus luggage. The downgrade car was a tight fit for 2 plus luggage, our 15Kg cases had to be piled up on the back seat as our hand luggage filled the boot. We were not given one of those drawings showing pre-existing damage on the car, just a scrap of paper with 'dent front passenger door' written on it. The dent was actually on the back door. It was a lovely dry, sunny day in Biarritz but the car looked like it had come thru a thunderstorm, sheets of water all over the flat surfaces and dripping wet elsewhere. We could not examine the car in that condition and lots of damage emerged when it dried off later on. Scratches and dents? Well it looked as if had been used for desert warfare by the losing side. But it didn't seem to matter as we had the excess insurance. Two weeks later we returned the car in the same condition as when we got it. It was inspected in the Sixt car park and we were told it was all ok. We were not shown any damage. We were not given any written report. We were not taken into the office to sign any claim form for the excess insurance. Despite all that, 25 days after we returned we received a demand for 205 euros for damage we allegedly caused. If the tiny ding in the photograph they sent is worth 205 euros then their 15,000 euro car has about 1,000,000 worth of damage on it. How is that possible? We couldn't even tell if it was the same car we had driven and no evidence of when or where the photograph was taken. Since then I went into my email to get the policy documents and car rental contract. They are normally emailed these days instead of paper copies. They are not there. We have not been given any document of any type relating to the car hire from Sixt even though it is illegal for them to withhold these documents. The only record that they did their business to us is the charges on my credit card for the car we didn't get and the excess protection policy that we were manipulated into not using. Sixt have decided to keep the full charge for the Peugeot 308 that we didn't get and the premium for the excess policy. There is no refund for being given the cheaper car. They are also hassling us to pay out of our own pocket for the alleged damage that the excess policy they sold us should cover. It is a pity I had to give them one star to post this review as it is way, way too high. Due to the rules of this site I cannot use the words I would like to describe Sixt and the way they operate.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I accidentally cancelled something, they proceeded to charge me an extra for cancelling - which is there policy. However, I called to explain it was a mistake within an hour and they said they couldn't do anything about it. Absolutely insane! I still wanted to use the car, I just wanted to simply reverse it and was told this was not allowed at all. I am now down £214. I don't have this kind of money and it is really upsetting. It has ruined my holiday as I can't afford to get another car and I am now down £107 of money to spend on my trip.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sixt rent a car is rated 1.56 based on 48 reviews