smarTours Reviews

4.46 Rating 1,492 Reviews
87 %
of reviewers recommend smarTours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.92 out of 5
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
smarTours 5 star review on 19th March 2020
Joan
smarTours 5 star review on 19th March 2020
MICHAEL
smarTours 5 star review on 18th March 2020
Rachel
smarTours 5 star review on 17th March 2020
Angelina
smarTours 5 star review on 16th March 2020
Nancy
smarTours 5 star review on 14th March 2020
Irene
smarTours 5 star review on 13th March 2020
David
292
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The cruise portion was awful - very old boat and not well kept, food awful and one fellow passenger got bug bites most likely from mattress. Bus was old with broken seats. The crew was very nice and did the best with what was there. Granville and other tour leader were terrific as well as bus driver.
Posted 2 years ago
Traveling with friends, I wanted to be close to in lodge bookings. Smar tours had no ability you sais to do this before hand and was left up to the tour guide to handle the logistics and he was not thrilled to say the least! We had to remind him with each destination. Also my very good traveling friend has a dietary restriction which not a choice but a medical need was never addressed by our guide at each food venue unless we inquired before hand. Needless to say he was made to feel very uncomfortable and made to feel that he was complaining at every meal. The guide diffentely was not looking out for his needs during the trip! We were constantly in need of bottled water, one would have thought that Smar Tours could have provided at least 1 bottle each day on the bus when we traveled to another venue! Also written communication on each days agenda....times,location and departure info etc. Posted somewhere, not having to be committed to memory only !!
Posted 2 years ago
Local tour guides were not competent and limited in their guiding the tour.
More time given to go on our own without guide.
Some of the hotels were not good.
Worst of all we had to handle our luggage from hotel to bus, bus to Airpot and everywhere.Few extra dollar charges would have taken care for convenience and comfort.
Best stay and place was ULLENSVANG HOTEL
Posted 2 years ago
We have been on many tours with Smartours, but the Rhine River cruise was simply unacceptable for us. The river boat was so short-handed, that meals often last two to three hours. The breakfast buffet was in such a tiny area that it was often impossible to work our way through the crowd to get an adequate breakfast. All the tours were walking tours, which would not have been so bad, but long distances were covered without potty breaks. It is such a shame, because the cities that we visited were very nice, but we couldn't enjoy them much will all the problems we had.
Posted 2 years ago
We have been on many tours with Smartours, but the Rhine River cruise was simply unacceptable for us. The river boat was so short-handed, that meals often last two to three hours. The breakfast buffet was in such a tiny area that it was often impossible to work our way through the crowd to get an adequate breakfast. All the tours were walking tours, which would not have been so bad, but long distances were covered without potty breaks. It is such a shame, because the cities that we visited were very nice, but we couldn't enjoy them much will all the problems we had.
Posted 2 years ago
The tour guide was not acceptable. He was about 40 minutes meeting us at the airport in Porto.
On one optional tour, he left a patron behind (we had left our meeting point 5 minutes early. Eventually, we had to turn around and get her). Also, he never apologized to her.
He continually talked about himself, his sister, and family. Seemed like he had diarrhea of the mouth.
Of all the Smartours trips we have been on, he was the worst.
Posted 2 years ago
Most of the guided tours were done on the day we arrived on a new city - before we checked in a hotel - that meant the tours were done after a long flight or bus ride. Also, no "Tour Guide System" was available for a group of 43 tourists meaning when soft speaking Tour Guides were talking only a few closest to the Guide could hear anything. Our last tour using SmarTour to Croatia was Excellent. It appears since then the quality of service has gone down. So no more SmarTours for us in future.
Posted 2 years ago
Have been on many tours and Smart Tours treats sole travelers terribly. Solo travelers all received sub par rooms in the back of hotels over looking parking lots and construction sites DESPITE PAYING A SINGLE SUPPLEMENT. When we asked the tour guide for help, he refused to intervene stating "single travelers always get bad rooms, that's the travel business." Been traveling solo for years and never encountered this level of bad treatment. We emailed the main office while on the trip to complain and didn't get the courtesy of a response.
Posted 2 years ago
I have no issue with smartours, my issue was with river cruise that I give 3 on the review, they have american passengers but they don’t speak English, tour director had attitude and prejudice, food very poor quality, half of the ship got sick because of food but only thing they did , they put gloves on, fruit was cut in pieces so was exposed, milk and yogurt was served in the pitcher, sometimes they had yogurt in container, and they were not kept in ice that’s why people got sick.
Posted 2 years ago
smarTours is rated 4.46 based on 1,492 reviews