SMARTY Reviews

2.69 Rating 26 Reviews
42 %
of reviewers recommend SMARTY
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how SMARTY made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Unlimited data is great, price is great - but since May 2020 most websites take 20 seconds (+) to initially load. Web forums plus my own tests suggest this is a Smarty DNS infrastructure issue (finding a site's IP number from it's name). Using a VPN - with it's own DNS servers - gives instant and fast connections to all websites, affirming it's a DNS issue. For users without VPN software (we have one for working in China), it would be unusable.
Posted 1 month ago
I would have given Smarty no stars if I could. If you rely mostly on WiFi and a few calls and SMS in the UK then it may be a good cheap deal. But if you dare to travel then you will be left stranded abroad with a locked phone like me.

I am on holiday and the only thing that works is WiFi reception. No calls, no SMS, no data. My sim us locked by smarty. They have done this before and refuse to even say why. I checked my account and I have only used 80mins of calls and 200MB of data this month!! So no excuses for high usage.

After more than 24hs the webchat (no customer service phone to call) hasn't even seen my message, never mind reply to it. In the midst of a pandemic and no one can reach me and I cant contact my family due to Smarty.

I don't know how they are allowed to operate.

They are also against the Equality Act because if you have a foreign sounding surname and travel abroad and make calls from there, they assume you violate the terms of service and disconnect you. If you have an English sounding surname this doesn't happen even if you use X10 more mins and data.

When I am back in the UK I will leave them and contact the regulator.
Posted 1 month ago
Incredible value for money with very easy-to-use account admin tools. My reception and 4G connection has been brilliant. I simply cannot fault them.
Posted 2 months ago
For the last 6 months i have basically been chucking my money down the drain. the last five months of that were down to my own laziness, i'll admit. the service has been absolutely nonexistent. luckily i've not had to be outside often as i've been dependent on my wi-fi to use the phone for anything other than checking my face out in the camera. contacted Smarty to let them know and their response was effectively, "have you tried putting the phone in rice?". needless to say, i am now (after another two weeks of laziness) in the process of moving to another provider. however, i now can't seem to access the PAC code in order to transfer my number across. what an absolute nightmare! should have known it would be too good to be true with their prices. lesson learned. always chuckle at this line in reviews but, steer well clear. if you have money to waste, using it to light fireworks would literally give you more bang for your buck.
Posted 2 months ago
Iv tried phoning from my mobil 333 but it won’t connect me ! Iv also trying both numbers you advertised as help numbers and again won’t connect me says this number not recognised!!! The broad band is so slow !! And it keeps dropping so I can’t go on internet . So not happy that I won’t to cancel and go back to plusnet that I did not have any problems with !
Posted 5 months ago
Extremely bad customer service and no phone numbers to call they take a day to resolve issues - imagine being disconnected!!!

New customers avoid Smarty and existing customers watch out you will get disconnected if you make 'high calls - 2000 mins or above' even with unlimited call package.

I have unlimited calls 30 GB data plan yet this disconnected my line today without any prior notice or even asking me. They could only deal with my query over webchat and assistant said it's due to high calls over 2000 mins calls this month - i needed to explain reasons for high calls - when i explained due to covid19 more calls and connection is made with family and friends i was then told via webchat that it will take another day for someone to look into my account before it could be connected!

I am now left disconnected from family and friends in this covid-19 situation as i cannot make or receive calls and no regards to customer services.

When you have unlimited plan why do you have to explain for your calls
no number to call
cuts you off without any notice
webchat really unhelpful
you are left in the dark waiting in this given time

All be careful before you sign to their cheap offers they do not care about customer service - you cannot talk to anyone - go with plusnet 3g or others!!!
Posted 5 months ago
Worth the money! Cheap as chips!

Some reasons I love this company:

- Cheapest unlimited plan I found with no contract period so can cancel anytime

- Excellent quick customer service via we chat with a UK based team

- Transparent and cheap roaming rates and free roaming in the EU (you can use your allowance with no extra charges)

- Money back for unused data if you prefer not to have an unlimited plan and buying extra data is the same price very cheap only £1.25 per GB!

Great service & free month via referral - here's my code, just remove the space when pasting into the browser:
refer me.to/ gUl0eJo

Enjoy your free month! (Use my link above) 🙂
Posted 5 months ago
07/03/20 fitted new SIM, result no service. Chat line was a nightmare and had to wait hours. Eventually advised to get a new SIM which I did. 10/03/20 second SIM fitted, same result. Started Chat again. No communication until 11/03/20 but when it came it was totally inadequate. I went back to my old provider but eventually a very efficient person called Danielle got in touch, apologised, promised to refund my money and gave me a PAC so i could get my old number back. Danielle was the only shinning light in a very dark experience.
Posted 7 months ago
Avoid at all costs! No coverage, can't make phone calls. Customer service is non existent. Waiting for days for issues to be addressed or resolved. Have consistently requested cancellation, PAC code and refund but no reply. Socking, how can OFCOM allow this company to exist?
Posted 7 months ago
Very quick and easy. Does exactly what they say.
Posted 7 months ago
5days without a phone5 days with no phone
5days without a phone. 2 sims sent. Gary at customer service supposedly spent 2 days trying to sort problem out still no phone. Very dissatisfied now trying to get a pac code as number already transferred and fighting for my £10 refunded.
Posted 8 months ago
5days without a phone5 days with no phone
5days without a phone. 2 sims sent. Gary at customer service supposedly spent 2 days trying to sort problem out still no phone. Very dissatisfied now trying to get a pac code as number already transferred and fighting for my £10 refunded.
Posted 8 months ago
Seems good so far. Switched from old contract plan where I often didn't use the full data allowance so getting money back is a big plus. Switching was easy; I ordered on a Friday lunchtime and received sim in the post on Saturday morning. Coverage using the 3 network is very good. Would definitely recommend. You can get a free month with this referral code https://referme. to/ZwxZJDo [remove spaces].
Posted 1 year ago
After a very disappointing customer services experience with Three, who I'd been with for some years without any other issues, I shopped around for an alternative SIM deal and found SMARTY, I wish I hadn't.

I signed up for a SIM at £10pm for 4GB data and unlimited texts and minutes and money back for unused data in any month. SMARTY is a wholly owned subsidiary of Three and thus use their network though operate separately, just like NOW TV and Sky.

The SIM activation and number porting process went wrong from the start. The SIM wouldn't activate, the full instructions were not on the Activation web page and I was told porting my number would take a minimum of 2 business days, probably 3. When I ported to Three some time ago it was completed in half a day. A useless customer services agent named Callum tried and failed to assist.

After getting a bad feeling about the process I decided to quit, remain with Three and continue shopping for an alternative so I tod Callum to stop everything. He said he did but he actually didn't. He continued to port my number yet erased me as a customer thus leaving me without any 'phone service!

Rachael at SMARTY tried to fix the mess, unsuccessfully then, disastrously, Gary stepped in. He provided a PAC number for me to move my 'phone number back to Three or wherever else I decided. being in need of 'phone service I went back to Three, who actually gave me a better deal as a new customer!!

Using the PAC provided by SMARTY proved to be a nightmare as it was a bogus PAC which caused no end of problems at Three. Finally, nearly a week later (despite the best, or possibly worst, intentions of inept call centre customer services agents at Three) after talking with Claire at Three, she diagnosed the issue and sorted it out within 10 minutes and Three gave me generous credit on my account for my frustration.

Based on my experience, AVOID SMARTY!
Posted 1 year ago
Great Deal!
Great Deal!
It's now been more than a year I've been with these guys and I don't have a single complaint about their service.

The only thing they don't have is a mobile app to check your balance, but you can do so via their website.

I pay £10 a month for 4GB and unlimited text/calls. They also offer a referral scheme so that both you and your referral get a month free. Here's my link if you want a freebie (just with no spaces) ;)

https://referme. to/NDZYPro
Posted 1 year ago
Took my money, failed to provide the service that I'd paid for. "Support" is a joke - "live chat" not available during the hours advertised, emails go unanswered.
Posted 1 year ago
Replacement sim arrived quickly.3 days now ,account still frozen chat is more like email.From the response time i think they only have one operator.No other means of contact.Join this fly by night one person band at your own peril.Do not get tempted by their offers.All I can say is if you pay peanuts etc.
Posted 1 year ago
Be aware that with this company there is no way to contact customer services if anything goes wrong. All they provide is a 'chat' service and that is currently only manned by auto-response bots. I am currently waiting fo ran answer to my account query and the system says they still have not even read that AFTER TWO DAYS!!!

How can OFCOM allow a network operator to operate in UK when there is no way for customers to contact them?
Posted 1 year ago
DAYLIGHT ROBBERY!! total rubbish signed up for unlimited plan as on page it said I would receive £25 Amazon voucher been over 2 weeks now and no voucher. 4G speed is terrible cannot even use for basic browsing.

Support does not exist send over 5 emails not a single reply live chat never available. Feel like I was robbed.
Posted 1 year ago
Love this, saved loads on a cheaper package and end up getting a discount each mth for unused data, coverage had been great and customer service is good..Also get free mths if get referrals.. Fantastic really compared to others used and great value! Use my referral link to get a free mth if signing up = https:// referme.to/ 9AUIHOo Remove spaces after the // and /
Posted 1 year ago
SMARTY is rated 2.69 based on 26 reviews