Sportsman's Guide Reviews

1.5 Rating 142 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Sportsman's Guide
1.5
Based on 142 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 32%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Sportsman's Guide made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 30th June 2022
Ken
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 21st March 2022
Anonymous
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 5th November 2021
DJ
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 5th November 2021
DJ
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 5th November 2021
DJ
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 5th November 2021
DJ
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 5th November 2021
DJ
5
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
They added a watch to my cart I never wanted, charged me for it, and now have to take time out of my already nickle-and-dimed day to go return it, so I'm going to return everything. Will never buy from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Do not use their credit card they charge late fees when the payment is on time and their customers service is not very good
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Needless to say Sportsman’s Guide is the best place to find everything under one roof. They have you covered from ammo guns hunting apparel and army navy goodies.They will do you right from star to finish on your orders online etc. I like to say they got it right the first time. And I would like to tell you about your customer service it is phenomenal. If you want to find out what I found check them out today, you’ll be glad you did…⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They pretty much force you to buy their "Buyer's Club" membership. AND THEN the membership is supposed to offer free shipping on everything - EXCEPT in ALASKA, and that was not obvious, or pointed out - I LIVE IN AK!!! OK - whatever. Dealt with the shipping thing. Then I returned the defective truck tent we purchased. Leaked water, pole snapped during set up . . . They threatened to charge me return shipping, AND NO REFUND - IF THEY FOUND THE TENT TO BE ACCEPTABLE. I was happy they didn't try that BS, because I would have drove there from AK and handled it. SO . . . NOW - they charged my card, without authorization, for their 'Buyer's Club" fees. $49.99 and screwed up my "bills" account, and my other automatic payments. When I expressed that this is horrible business practice, CS REP - Kathy said "YOU JUST DIDN'T READ THE AGREEMENT" And while YES, I was mad on the phone, she was just horribly unprofessional. Nasty and talking over me about the "agreement" and “read the whole thing” - then yells "I GOT YOU! 3-5 business days you'll get your refund . . .” So help me if she decides to be vengeful and not process it. I will dispute this transaction with the EVERYONE I can! I will open a BBB complaint, and a consumer advocacy complaint - Because it looks to me like this company peddles in defective gear, and unauthorized charges on the REGULAR. Read the other reviews . . . I was appalled and wished I had read them prior to ordering a damn truck tent from them. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. HORRIBLE PRODUCT. PREDATORY BUSINESS PRACTICES. This company will NEVER get anyone from my family/friends as customers again - If I can help it! I could have chose another company. And next time, I will research said company. But you never expect a company to make you jump through SOOOO MANY HOOPS when you first peruse their site. I thought - since I had heard their name before, hubby was familiar with them, they would be ok to order from. BUT . . . This company is SHADY AF!!! BUYER BEWARE!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Be suspect of reviews, they block 1 star reviews and ship defective products
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This site is a SCAM. Bought stuffs from them and never got it shipped. They charge your credit card before they make the delivery. Very shady company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I have a payment subscription set up through PayPal to pay for my membership. Coincidentally that lets their store complete purchases without confirmation. A set of ear protection were on sale but you could only see the member price at checkout. So I put them in, went to check out and was it was a terrible deal, I then removed the item and ordered a bunch of different products instead. I get an email the next day that 2 orders shipped, they charged me nearly $200 for the ear protection and some weird truck step I wasn't even looking at. When I looked at my paypal, I saw it was billed through the automatic payment configuration. I contacted customer service and they told me I'd have to eat the $7 return fee to send them back if I wanted my money back. The items arrived and now the site says both items are non-returnable. I'm filing a chargeback because this is just insane.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Bought a pair of Keen steel toe work boots. Wore them for 6 months. An eyelet broke (made of plastic) Called customer service. Only have a 90 day return policy. I said wouldn't think $170.00 pair of boots would last longer than 6 months? He said it's just an eyelet. So I would not recommend buying boots from here.
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 30th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Rude customer service reps. Ordering I felt rushed! Ordered the last four of an item only to receive 2 because the inventory was off. No estimated delivery time, Sent a $5.00 coupon to use on my NEXT PURCHASE! Limited time to use! Called to get a card credit and again, very rude service! Would not credit the card, but would send another coupon! I said I wasn't sure if I would be shopping before the expiration. That's all they would do! I WILL NOT BE SHOPPING AGAIN HERE!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I ordered 2- 16' docks for ovr $4000. The metal framework for the docks came but no nuts/bolts fasteners or even instructions. Sportsman Guide refusd to get involved and told me to contact the manufacturer. I challenged the payment with my credit card company who reversed the payment pending my getting all the parts- I received some nuts and bolts but not all the parts but still released the payment challenge. Sportsman Guide tried to go to collection and has not fulfilled othr orders nor honored my request to cancel and rfund my membership. Beware!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Their products are good and the delivery time is good but the size of the cans of meat for the price is no good.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I never received the item for which I was charged. I asked to be reimbursed, customer service refused, Stating the order is in transit with no delivery date. It has been a week since I ordered and still do not have a delivery date. I will not do business with this company
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Ordered AR15 completed purchase and Sportsmans Guide posted that they only ship to Rural King in my area. 5 days later I checked on the order to find it had been cancelled. No longer a phone number to speak with C/S only text. Rep lied and said Sportsmans Guide notified me and that they are not set up with Rural King as an FFL shipper as they advertised and the rep offered no alternatives. Company has had lots of problems since being sold to BHG and no longer reliable.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Had problems with them over a year ago on used military surplus boots. They were unusable in the condition received, and suggested I travel a hundred miles to send them back via a depot. Arbitration was useless and they insisted on telephone conversations, which they manipulated to the point of contortion. They left messages and the cust. serv. rep, purposely talked so fast the messages were unintelligible. Yesterday I got one of their isotope laden catalogs in the mail. They are specialists of contortion and sub atomic manipulations, extracting minerals by teleportation via cyber crime activity. What a racket. Unless you are highly experienced with the contortions of cyber manipulations, run, do not walk as far away from association with them as you can get.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Well I can't speak about other peoples experience's, but I ordered a Bushmaster patrolman AR-15, joined the buyers club to get the discount, item was delivered promptly and in great shape, had a charge on my bank statement for the buyers club, I cancelled it and received a refund promptly. As I said this is only my experience, but it has been a positive one.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Same as most, ordered, they had me go through the hoops for a 1-1/2 years. FALSE advertising and greed at it's finest. I ordered ammo on 7/1/20 for $254.99. After 1-1/2 years of back order notices (a minimum of 9), and responding to keep the order, they outright cancelled my order, which is now advertising at $423.66. customer service at it's worst
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
They withdrew money from my bank account without permission using the account number given for purchases.It allegedly was for renewing my buyers guide membership.When I called about it their answer was paraphrasing"tough shi*.We did it for your own good"Bank fraud at its finest.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Bought their two tier tool box set. Had it for barley a month before parts started breaking and the cheap particle board started to warp. A literal piece of the lock mechanism fell out just from using the key. Drawer channels were cheaply carved and rough, making opening and closing the drawers a real fight at times. The brackets for the cover door hinges are cheap and break easily. Mind you, all of this has happened with little to no use, or movement of the tool chest. I would never recommend this product, or company, to anyone. I cannot express how absolutely disgusted I am with what I paid versus what I got.
Sportsman's Guide 1 star review on 21st March 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Unethical Company!!! Do not trust this company with your outdoor needs. They agreed to sell me ammo on their site for $309 and then proceeded to delay my order for 1 1/2 years due to the price of ammo going up. Finally after delaying my oder each month they outright cancelled my order. They even admitted in my BBB complaint that the price of ammo has increased and they are not willing to sell me that specific ammo or a similar ammo at the price they agreed upon. Shady company that is doing shady business. Beware!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The same ammo story as everyone else. Had a backorder from May 2020 canceled after following all the insane steps along the way, only to be offered the proverbial middle finger and a 25$ gift card. This has definitely been the scumiest experience I have ever had as a customer. They know what the did is wrong, they just don't care. Hopefully there are grounds for a class action lawsuit.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Sportsman's Guide is rated 1.5 based on 142 reviews