Swinton Reviews

3.46 Rating 338 Reviews
57 %
of reviewers recommend Swinton

Write Your review

Tell us how Swinton made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
A fraudster took out insurance in my name, just basic details available from electoral roll, or companies house, Swinton then passed my details to Close finance, who in turn carried out a credit check and issued an agreement. When the first payment did not go through, I was then issued with a warning letter. This all occurred over Christmas during a time when I was supposed to be relaxing with the family which caused me and my family considerable stress and wasted a lot of my time to rectify. Following my complaint of the 20th December, it took until 4th Feb the following year for a phone call to tell me my complaint could not be upheld. Swinton obviously have flaws in there procedures if they allow people to take out insurance in another persons name and share that data with a third party, with absolutely no detailed questions or proofs asked for, pretty appalling in this day an age where GDPR is supposed to protect us. Basically a little mad that they have washed their hands and tell me its not their problem!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Utter shambles of a company - they cannot send documents via email, they cannot get policy documents right, they take ages to answer the phone and their computer systems are now down when You try to hold of the managers always in the meeting. I have to cancel my policy because they’re so incompetent.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Utter shambles of a company - they cannot send documents via email, they cannot get policy documents right, they take ages to answer the phone and their computer systems are now down when I am trying to call them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible Company! I will never use Swinton Car Insurance Company again. I had a BMW stolen in June. They didn't really do anything other than chase money from me. The underwriter were great and done everything they needed to. Swinton on the other hand decide to chase me for £285 when I only had £160 left to pay on the policy. I've paid the full amount to get rid of these pests but will never use them again. I would seriously consider not using them as if you have a car stolen you won't get any support or courtesy car and all they will do is hound you for your money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
recomand for all driver
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We had arranged home and contents insurance in October 2018 to commence on 18th November 2018. The agent was very helpfjl and wentvto somentrouble to find an underwriter who could provide away from home cover for more than 30 consecutive days. In early November whilst in Spain there was an e-mail telling us they would no longer cover us, no phone call, no previous e-mail just naff off we don't want you. 50 days later a curt letter tells us Thomas Salvi has not upheldnour complaint.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
24 hour emergency is not 24 hour emergency cover in the slightest. We had a leak through the ceiling. Their plumber came the next day and diagnosed the wrong problem. The ceiling continued to leak. They told us they had a crisis and too many people had broken boilers or roofs so couldn’t send anyone for 2 weeks. They told me to find my own plumber to fix the issue myself. We have a 2 year old and a 6 year old and were left in complete dire straits. We had to fix the problem with our own and the plumber. Then when you want to claim they need to send an assessor which takes 5 working days meaning you are left in a mess for days on end. Completely useless. Have been a loyal customer for 6 years and never claimed before. It was only this year I realised the money I pay each month is a waste of time when you need them. Avoid like the plague
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Value for money and very efficient response for my car insurance!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Swinton have been absolutely brilliant in handling my car insurance claim cannot fault them one bit best insurance company I've been with it's been a very stressful experience trying to get it sorted but swinton have helped me through this ordeal. Would like to mention 2 people AMY AN ABDUS who are a great asset to this company very professional and understanding brilliant agents thank you both very much
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Don't touch them. Absolute crooks. They make promises but don't keep. Avoid home emergency insurance at all costs. Waste of your money . Many others out there much better and honest.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
A total waste of time, my sunroof was damaged which they say is a window, but would have paid if it was the metal 12 inches further back. Also if you think you are speaking to Swinton you are not, it is a broker. A total waste of time.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tried to call. Automate system would not let me speak to a person for new insurance policy. So I tired to use webchat and the person on the other end did not read or answer my questions, they just put out prewritten paragraphs. I gave up
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Disgraceful , unproffesional handling of Home Emergency claim left an asthmatic woman 64 years of age without central heating in below zero weather conditions.Flippant attitude from initial person handling the claim led to a catalogue of errors.Swinton have handled my Home,Car, and Home Emergency cover for years.....never again.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
although the water was turned off from the stop tap water was pouring out of the back of my washer.Swinton was phoned and they said a plumber would be there between midnight and 8 in the morning ! !After every towel , tea towel sheet in fact every thing that would soak up water was used they sent out a plumber at 12noon !! who turned the water off but could not explain why when the stop tap is off water still poured out.He left.Leaving me with a room full of dripping wet towels ect. When asked when will it be put right ,was told their job was to make safe ,that they would have to check the records to see if they have to repair it..... 12hours waiting 24 hours without sleep because the water had to be moped up during the night ,a full day ahead with no washer working and no sheets,towels,no work clothes for Monday for work at 7am The best of it is EXTRA WAS PAID OVER THE PAST YEARS to cover ,I believed for every emergency. ,great firm if you do not make a claim rubbish and useless when you need them I feel sorry for anyone now with flood damage insured with Swindon ,they stand no chance
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
One of the cheapest quotes I got and the upfront coast was exspensive but not as exspensive as the rest they were polite on the phone just the credit check that let me down if they didn’t have a credit check from a diffrent dipartment then I would put it up to good.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Cancelled our long standing insurance after we moved into temporary address. Broke my life. Made everythingimpossible. I hate them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The worse insurance experience I have ever had. They need to be thoroughly investigated. They are profiting from cancelling policies but retaining a portion of the premium. Hiding behind a simple admin issue such as a poor NCB image is just an excuse. Intimidating generic letters with bold print YOUR POLICY WILL BE CANCELLED. Impossible to get through to over the phone in a reasonable time. Even their phone message is illiterate "telephony". Countless other issues. All causing a lot of anxiety. They do not deserve one star so we should all report them to the regulators.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent service great policy
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Very easy to find and compare
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Swapping to Swinton they were furnished with genuine proof of NCB They did not accept this as it did not contain a logo!! although all other details checked out. I felt treated like a criminal. Turned to LV who accepted me without any problem and were cheaper! In my opinion Swinton are too petty and not worth bothering with. The are definately £500 worse off
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Swinton is rated 3.46 based on 338 reviews