Swinton Reviews

3.25 Rating 388 Reviews
53 %
of reviewers recommend Swinton

Write Your review

Tell us how Swinton made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Took money from my account a few times at the wrong dates, got credit markers now and stress. Also I told them I sold my car so they said they would keep it insured till I get a new one. This is totally illegal as I would of got done if the new driver did anything wrong in the car. 8 weeks waiting list for complaints. Which don't exactly get solves easily. 10+ hours on phone trying to get my money back at times. Absolutely awful.
Posted 4 days ago
They took money from my bank account. I never dealt with them and now I have to waste time trying to have my money back. I will leave another review to keep you updated on what time it will take.
Posted 6 days ago
Nothing but trouble, no personal contact just all online documents my insurance expires September and I will not be renewing it. Rubbish rubbish rubbish
Posted 1 week ago
Swinton charges job occupation status change from EMPLOYED to UNEMPLOYED NEARLY £290. And it does matter when you do a mid term adjustment it is still £290. SCARY do they do this with house insurance. What if you forget to update the change, will they refuse the claim as invalid? Every expensive if you keep changing jobs!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Cancelled my policy 9 months in and because I brought online they charged me an extra £40 for cancellation charges. Which was half my original policy. Refused to continue the policy because I had sold my bike. And no waving of cancellation fee because I took the policy out online. Will never use swinton again.
Posted 3 weeks ago
£39 quoted by Swinton Car Insurance for modifying policy by adding a towbar; even if I don't make any changes to the policy once I start the process of modifying the policy i get a quote of £39.....amazing!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Mucked me about no end and refused to pay outstanding the end of it
Posted 1 month ago
Need to change my address on my van insurance as I've moved. They want £35 to do this? I've tried to make an account with these guys to change it myself but surprise surprise they don't do accounts for vans. Vey rude staff aswel. I know they are cheap but in future I'll look elsewhere than a close Atlanta company. Would also hazard at guess that their positive reviews are fake.
Posted 1 month ago
I rang Swinton for the simple reason that it insures my house and I am moving to another one. I paid a 1 year premium up front on April 3rd and at the time I made it clear that I would be soon moving house. Completion occurred on my house on April 16th so I no longer needed the cover. When I rang I asked if the existing cover could be suspended until completion happened on the house I am moving to, I was told I had to be refunded, the only way to deal with the situation. I paid £154.95 on April 3rd and I was told the refund would be £89,69. On the face of it that is £65.26 for about a fortnight' s insurance! I was told I had to pay £25 cancellation fee plus something else which left me with £65.26. Having told Swinton on April 3rd that I would shortly be moving and being advised to renew on the house I have now sold I think I have been appallingly treated. After some courteous but forthright comments I made during which time I was told that I was causing stress to the Swinton employee (there was stress at this end too)I was told that the refund would be £124.69. The difference between £154.95 and £124.69 is accounted for by the cancellation charge and the brief period my existing house was insured between April 3rd and 16th. I have been told that if I insure the house I am moving to with Swinton, the £25 might be refunded. Why could not have Swinton dealt with this properly when I rang instead of subjecting me to extended obfuscation which must have lasted over 30 minutes? I am unimpressed and I seem to be one of many dissatisfied Swinton customers.
Posted 2 months ago
I added my daughter to my existing policy, £490., I thought that was OK for a year, only it wasn't for a year it was for under 3 months. I phoned to talk to them, was told I could do a new policy but I couldn't until my direct debit had been received by them ( it had left my husbands account) they said they would phone me as soon as they received it, never received the call back. So I phoned them, gave all my details but as soon as I did, he said he had a meeting to go to and would phone me back, he did, then said he had to go and would phone me back, he didn't. Now I had run into another month. I phoned to speak to someone and they put me through to complaints. My complaint was upheld. I phoned to see if I had any outstanding balance and was was told there was no outstanding balance as my complaint had been upheld. Then I get 2 letters threatening debt collectors. So I phoned them again and was told it was their system and that it took 3 days for it to catch up and that I did owe them money for cover. I explained that I was told I didn't owe anything, he could check as calls are recorded, but that doesn't count as their system doesn't update. I have now asked to be put through to complaints and have been holding for 25 minutes so far. Worst customer services I have ever had. I now have cover with my daughter on and 2 learner drivers cheaper their quote.
Posted 2 months ago
they made pricing so much higher £300 more to take a person of my list, IN TOTAL £500! DISGRACEFUL! I am very disappointed. WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER.
Posted 2 months ago
STAY WELL CLEAR OF THIS INSURANCE COMPANY. MY PARENTS HOUSE ROOF IS COLLAPSING AND THEY ARE NOT INTERESTED, UNTIL THE ROOF ACTUALLY CAVES IN COMPLETELY (and probably kills my parents) SWINTON WILL NOT REPAIR. THE SURVEYOR WHO ASSESSED THE PROPERTY TOLD MY PARENTS THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE HOUSE! NOT BEING HAPPY WITH THAT ASSESSMENT THEY PAID FOR A PRIVATE BUILDER, SURVEYOR AND STRUCTURAL ENGINEER TO ASSESS WHICH CONCLUDED THE RESULT OF THE ROOF BEING UNSTABLE AND COLLAPSING. THE BUILDER RANG THIS INSURANCE COMPANY TO BE CUT OFF THE CALL SEVERAL TIMES AND FINALLY BEING TOLD NOTHING THEY WOULDN’T DO ANYTHING UNTIL THE ROOF ACTUALLY COLLAPSES!! STAY WELL CLEAR!!!
Posted 3 months ago
Very disappointed. Just been charged £85.00 to change over my van insurance to another vehicle. The policy only has 2 months left and I've still to pay the monthly premium on top. If I'd have been taking out a new policy, the cost would be £35.00 per month. How can this be justified. Absolutely disgraceful. Well done Swinton - you've just lost my continued business.
Posted 6 months ago
disgraceful telephone staff & need 2 hours to change details One of people (man) on the phone was rude, bad tone and blaming. I had to spend 2 hours to change our address and get our new quote. 1st customer service person said no service charge and was nice but the second person said we had to pay it. I had every time a different person on the phone, wait for ages, asked the same questions. The poor customer service person tried to charge us a fortune, ridiculous. Sort it out! Changes also don't work on the website too... That is why I had to spend 2 hours on the phone. Really poor experience, we just cancelled... Are you trying to lose lots of customers or what?
Posted 7 months ago
My name is William Patterson l got premiere comprehensive from swinton l wish l never my car was taken away to get fixed l got a courtesy car that was in September l only got it for 3 weeks and they left me with no car it's now November and I still have no car but swinton still take my money so much for getting premier cover the policy is a rip off
Posted 7 months ago
Worse insurance company I've used in 30 years of driving ! In fact not even an insurance company there are just brokers! Absolute joke of a company
Posted 7 months ago
Worse insurance company I've used in 30 years of driving ! In fact not even an insurance company there are just brokers! Absolute joke of a company
Posted 7 months ago
The most horrendous company I have ever dealt with. Customer service doesn’t exist. They use other companies for each department which is a nightmare as when they say they’re transferring you they do not. Carpenters have opened claims on my account for nothing resulting in a loss of no claims discount. Shocking
Posted 7 months ago
I have never dealt with a company like this in my life! One word.... Appalling! After my Mother's partner passing in July she has had nothing but threatening letters asking for the outstanding balance as his insurance hasn't expired!! What? He has passed away!!!! After emailing them the relevent documentation proving he had passed away and been cremated we were told the account was now closed.... However.... She is STILL continuing to get threatening letters. The most recent arriving today October 28th. Absolute joke. If she hasn't been through enough. After calling again this evening and telling them what an embarrassment they were the call was answered by a cocky individual by the name of Luke! He didn't even apologise once for the inconvenience, let alone her loss. He wouldn't even give me the name or an email address of a manager and wanted to do nothing more than antagonise me even further. What delights you have representing your company! Bravo! I have requested an email from a senior manager tomorrow (for the third time), informing that the account has now been dealt with and closed. I'm not holding my breath. Please give these guys a wide berth. God forbid a love one passes whilst in contract with them. Charlatans!
Posted 7 months ago
Tried to obtain Landlords Insurance. What a palaver, filled in the online form with loads of details this was followed by a telephone call from a very friendly lady who was very pleased however she asked further questions and then said I had to speak to someone who would give me the price. After waiting sometime spoke to another gentleman who said I had to go through all the information yet again this person was so difficult to communicate with and started asking questions all over again with things that were irrelevant and he was so difficult telling me it would still take another 20mins to complete. Who killed the sale! Wasted such a lot of time. Why can Aviva deal with the same enquiry and do it in 4 to 5 mins. You need to sort out your Sales/Quoting system out. My telephone call was at approx. 5.00 pm on 22nd Oct. Very poor service and I wanted to be a new customer.
Posted 7 months ago
Swinton is rated 3.25 based on 388 reviews