Swinton Reviews

3.32 Rating 376 Reviews
54 %
of reviewers recommend Swinton

Write Your review

Tell us how Swinton made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Very disappointed. Just been charged £85.00 to change over my van insurance to another vehicle. The policy only has 2 months left and I've still to pay the monthly premium on top. If I'd have been taking out a new policy, the cost would be £35.00 per month. How can this be justified. Absolutely disgraceful. Well done Swinton - you've just lost my continued business.
Posted 2 months ago
disgraceful telephone staff & need 2 hours to change details
One of people (man) on the phone was rude, bad tone and blaming. I had to spend 2 hours to change our address and get our new quote.

1st customer service person said no service charge and was nice but the second person said we had to pay it. I had every time a different person on the phone, wait for ages, asked the same questions.

The poor customer service person tried to charge us a fortune, ridiculous.

Sort it out!

Changes also don't work on the website too...
That is why I had to spend 2 hours on the phone.

Really poor experience, we just cancelled...
Are you trying to lose lots of customers or what?
Posted 2 months ago
My name is William Patterson l got premiere comprehensive from swinton l wish l never my car was taken away to get fixed l got a courtesy car that was in September l only got it for 3 weeks and they left me with no car it's now November and I still have no car but swinton still take my money so much for getting premier cover the policy is a rip off
Posted 2 months ago
Worse insurance company I've used in 30 years of driving ! In fact not even an insurance company there are just brokers! Absolute joke of a company
Posted 2 months ago
Worse insurance company I've used in 30 years of driving ! In fact not even an insurance company there are just brokers! Absolute joke of a company
Posted 2 months ago
The most horrendous company I have ever dealt with. Customer service doesn’t exist. They use other companies for each department which is a nightmare as when they say they’re transferring you they do not. Carpenters have opened claims on my account for nothing resulting in a loss of no claims discount. Shocking
Posted 2 months ago
I have never dealt with a company like this in my life! One word.... Appalling! After my Mother's partner passing in July she has had nothing but threatening letters asking for the outstanding balance as his insurance hasn't expired!! What? He has passed away!!!! After emailing them the relevent documentation proving he had passed away and been cremated we were told the account was now closed.... However.... She is STILL continuing to get threatening letters. The most recent arriving today October 28th. Absolute joke. If she hasn't been through enough. After calling again this evening and telling them what an embarrassment they were the call was answered by a cocky individual by the name of Luke! He didn't even apologise once for the inconvenience, let alone her loss. He wouldn't even give me the name or an email address of a manager and wanted to do nothing more than antagonise me even further. What delights you have representing your company! Bravo! I have requested an email from a senior manager tomorrow (for the third time), informing that the account has now been dealt with and closed. I'm not holding my breath. Please give these guys a wide berth. God forbid a love one passes whilst in contract with them. Charlatans!
Posted 2 months ago
Tried to obtain Landlords Insurance. What a palaver, filled in the online form with loads of details this was followed by a telephone call from a very friendly lady who was very pleased however she asked further questions and then said I had to speak to someone who would give me the price. After waiting sometime spoke to another gentleman who said I had to go through all the information yet again this person was so difficult to communicate with and started asking questions all over again with things that were irrelevant and he was so difficult telling me it would still take another 20mins to complete. Who killed the sale! Wasted such a lot of time. Why can Aviva deal with the same enquiry and do it in 4 to 5 mins. You need to sort out your Sales/Quoting system out.
My telephone call was at approx. 5.00 pm on 22nd Oct.
Very poor service and I wanted to be a new customer.
Posted 3 months ago
absolutely disgusting. cancel after 6 months and they want £110 cancellation fee. threatened with debt collectors if dont pay up.

avoid like the plague. terrible in every way. i hope they go bust and their owners loose everything
Posted 3 months ago
Extremely poorly run and a terrible service. After being threatened with Debt Collectors, I have been told to pay £158. I never took out the insurance policy and they don’t even have my address, phone number or email until now. I may as well just throw my empty wallet down the drain.
Posted 3 months ago
This company is a disgrace. They took my money then informed me that LV were questioning two incidents. They gave me 4 days to provide written evidence that no claims were made; hence I paid another £42 to cover the time I needed to obtain the information only to receive another email after the phone call to tell me they were giving me another 10 days (by this time they had taken the money). I obtained and sent them the evidence confirming no claims were made (information only) the next day. Today I receive a letter telling me that LV intends to cancel the policy. I am assuming they have not passed on the evidence. I have spent hours on the phone just trying to get an agent. I intend to report them to the Financial Ombudsman. Interestingly all local offices are permanently closed.
Posted 3 months ago
STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY MY SON BOUGHT A VAN POLICY ON LINE AND THEY CHANGE ONE OF THE COVER DETAILS AND CHARGED HIM £25 con merchants.💩💩
Posted 4 months ago
Just noticed a payment going out of my bank account to Swinton. Rang up, said I'd taken up an offer of 3 months free serious accident insurance...and never cancelled after the 3 months....they have taken over £600 form me in 6 years that I hadn't realised they were taking. I knew nothing of the policy...now, they say I'm not entitled to it back. They are con artists and have swindled me...think twice before using this company!!! Taking it further tho, they haven't heard the last of this!
Posted 4 months ago
been with them years, go to cancel 25 pound charge and never claimed in all the years I have been with them seems like covid has made company's greedy and want every bit of flesh well we will all remember when things settle down and you want are business well jog on..
Posted 4 months ago
Avoid like the plague!!!
Avoid like the plague!!!! Cancelled my policy even though I sent them my details as requested!!! Called up on the day to see if I could sort it out. Apparently not but a £50 cancellation charge (even though I didn't cancel or want to cancel the policy) and happy to set up a new policy and charge me another £150 for one months insurance. Company is a joke and just blamed everyhting on the underwritter. DO NOT USE
Posted 5 months ago
Be very careful if you cancel a policy with Swinton, I cancelled mine after just 6 days and was aware of the £30 cancellation that I was informed about on the phone, but not the £112.40 that they also added as I did not keep the policy for a year. Appalling!
Posted 5 months ago
Brilliant service quick easy best price thanks alot :)
Posted 5 months ago
it was an excellent experience very good prices and very affordable and was easy to to do
Posted 5 months ago
Very helpful on the phone
Posted 5 months ago
its a very good company with very reasonable price and good customer service
Posted 5 months ago
Swinton is rated 3.32 based on 376 reviews