Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,448 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 30th March 2022
Linda Herrington
Wickes 1 star review on 30th March 2022
Linda Herrington
Wickes 5 star review on 6th February 2022
Anonymous
102
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Ordered and paid online for 'Click & Collect' in-store service. Despite receiving 2x SMS messages & a voicemail to say item's were ready for collection, they had to be picked from shelves when I arrived. Luckily all was in stock! Also a 30-min. Staff very helpful & couldn't be faulted but the system is rubbish!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered and paid online for 'Click & Collect' in-store service. Despite receiving 2x SMS messages & a voicemail to say item's were ready for collection, they had to be picked from shelves when I arrived. Luckily all was in stock! Also a 30-min. Staff very helpful & couldn't be faulted but the system is rubbish!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
fitter flooded the kitchen with a tan of water...parts didn't turn up and several were damaged. the loo separated from the water tank...twice, still waiting to have it fixed having been here for a whole day now....he hasn't turned up...avoid if you can. The local branch have tried to be helpful but seem to laid back to care much
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered Approximately 4 tonnes of gravel, 9 edging stones some adhesive and some heavy duty weed fabric for gravel from wickes for delivery. Received a call asking if delivery could be done a day early which was fine and then also a call on the day to advise the delivery was 20 minutes away. The whole experience up to this point was fine until I checked what had been delivered and realised I had been delivered normal weed fabric for bark which it clearly stated on the item. As I hadn't accepted the delivery myself this wasn't checked until I got home. The solution I was given was that this could be delivered the next day and exchanged. This is all well and good if you don't work however I am unable to just take random days off because a delivery is incorrect. I then had to use my lunch time hour to return this product to the closest Wickes store to me which it Warrington to exchange it for the product I actually ordered. I wouldn't mind what I ordered and paid for was actually £11 more expensive than what was delivered and what was delivered was clearly for bark as it stated on the front of the item so I am at a loss as to how this was mixed up ? Why would someone want weed fabric for bark when they have just ordered 4 tonnes of gravel ? and surely when the item is scanned onto the van the price difference should show up ? I have to say swapping the item at Wickes Warrington was pretty easy and the lady there was very helpful but what I am disgruntled about is the fact I ordered this for delivery to save the hassle of having to go into Warrington town centre to purchase this yet have had to do so anyway and the deliver charge is not cheap as it is. So now it has cost me £30 delivery plus my hours lunch plus fuel to get there and back as well all to get a product that I ordered correctly and was processed correctly yet was put on the delivery wagon in Chorley incorrectly which I am struggling to understand how ? And the solution other than resolving this issue yourself by going to the store which you pay delivery to avoid is for you to take a day off work and use a holiday or lose pay so that they can re-deliver the correct item and collect the incorrect one. So in summary some of the transaction was ok and some wasn't all I can advise is check to ensure you are actually given the correct product as had I not noticed I would have used the incorrect material but also would have been £11 out of pocket.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Rubbish company cannot be relied on, booked delivery over a week in advance. Get 4 texts ssying 13:00 -18:00 well its now 18:00 and according to the tracker info it is still at least 1 hour away. Taken half day off, completely waste of time seeing as I would have been home 45 mins if I had stayed at work. You pay for delivery, you take time off and it don't arrive on time, would have been cheaper to hire van and collected from my local Wickes.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Delivery date changed from 7 days to 14 -21 days, didn't find out until i phoned to chase the order. Good thing is that cancelling the order was easy via their customer service email address
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
They didn't. Shop staff were helpful and polite, but we had to return a consignment of tiles, and the transport management were totally unhelpful and uncooperative. Probably will not use Wickes again, and certainly would not recommend friends to use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We had new bathroom in September took three weeks because of waiting for part when it was finally finished it was left in a tearable state I had to fight to get them to come and sort it out they finally did after lots of phone calls and going to the store a few times. I wrote a letter to customer services also emailed them to ask for compensation they totally ignored me .my first time going to wickes and defendantly my last
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I went to the Derby branch recently to buy some Miniline guttering for a shed. However Wickes have now changed the products to MiniFlo and BEWARE the two are not compatible. Having bought all the bits I needed I started the job some days later. It was then that I discovered that all the parts were MiniFlo except for the guttering end stop, which was the old Miniline. I returned to Wickes (a 30 mile round trip from were I was doing the job) and found that they had both Miniline and Miniflo products mixed on the shelves. I pointed this out to the cashier who said that they keep the older stuff in case anyone still wants it. I pointed out that it was not obvious which is which and could easily be confused. They did not seem at all concerned and even charged me 29p extra for the replacement end stop!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Bought 2 trellis for my garden and they wanted to charge £30 delivery 1.5 miles.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
With a choice of kitchen suppliers, some like B&Q and Homebase and Ikea offer you the cheaper option of self assembly cabinets as well as factory assembled. BUT in spite of their higher price, Wickes kitchens are all self assembly. Should have bought the Howdens ready assembled at the same price. Also note limited space behind back panel. In fairness the buying experience went well at the showroom with helpful planning and advice. Shame that not advised of self assembly policy.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
£30 to have 7 small fence panels delivered to a pensioner less than a mile away personally I think is disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Very poor customer service Kitchen took 4 weeks to complete instead of 1 week due to their inability to design correctly and deliver the required parts
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
A recent visit to Crewe Wickes was appalling. The chap in the kitchen fitting dept was rude, uninterested and unhelpful. OK, it wasn't going to be a big order but that shouldn't make any difference. A shame, I've always liked Wickes.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Very poor service at till, bought lengths of plumbing pipe, assistant moved it all causing the pipe to fall through the gaps in the trolley, piping was all over the floor. No apology or offer of help to pick it all up. Left trying to pick it up, hold the trolley and input payment details. No please, thank you, eye contact, very offhand. Shop floor staff were fine and helpful but till service was awful.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Wickes state that “Our approved installers are experts at bringing dream kitchens to life and will take care of all the details. So all you need to do is sit back, relax and watch everything take shape”. Our experience (Wickes Southampton Extra) was the total opposite with an estimated two to three week installation taking three months to complete. This despite paying for their personal end to end service and having their ‘best fitters’. So much was wrong and I will never recommend either Wickes or their ‘approved installers’ Abercrombie Projects. The list is endless but be aware that we encountered: •Delivery delays and wrong or damaged items sent more than once. •Poor communication and friction between the planner and installers. •A change of key installer part way through leading to mistakes causing further delays when things had to be put right. •A huge snagging list and some shoddy work due to the fitters rushing when the project overran. •Forgery of a signature on the credit agreement by the installers which is inexcusable. An overall shambles, which despite a modicum of compensation leaves a very sour taste.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
under staffed and the staff that was on duty were ill or couldn't care less about their customer
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The actual builders were very good, however we had problems with Wickes from start to finish. The designer who came out to give us our quote was sexist and to be honest quite insulting toward me as I was a woman. He wouldn't address my questions (unless it was with a patronising response) and would just address my husband. He then told us he could all be guarantee (a clever choice of words) that our bathroom would fitted before christmas. This was why we went with Wickes. After paying the full amount up front as we were told me had to, we were quickly told delivery would be min 6 weeks so there was no hope it would be done by Christmas. When we eventually got around to getting it fitted, we were told by the builder it would cost an additional £1000 (we had been told additional costs would come up but were assured by our designer it would be no more than £200). The work was then put on hold for a week (a week where we had a functioning toilet and nothing else working in our only bathroom) as the designer had ordered the wrong toilet and wrong spashboards, and the wrong measurements for the bath had been taken. It then took Wickes a further week after the work was completed to come and collect the giant pile of rubbish and rubble left in our front garden. During all this our contact at Wickes was extremely hard to get in touch with. I am not faulting the work of the external contractors who worked hard and were always professional. I will never use Wickes again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
WICKES ON LINE - VERY POOR ordered a door, paid extra 12.95 to have delivered bet 8am and 1pm on a particular day ....( had the email confirmation) builder at the ready.... door came at 4pm!!!!!! Delivery man totally unaware that the item was supposed to arrive before 1pm and wasn't bothered anyway- very unsympathetic and non apologetic. Total waste of time and money ( still had builder to pay for!)
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
A word of warning. If you purchase a kitchen from Wickes make sure you find your own fitter. Most poor kitchen reviews are to do with with the installation.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Wickes is rated 1.54 based on 1,448 reviews