Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business? Click Here

elbec garden buildings Reviews

4.3 Rating 2,419 Reviews
80 %
of reviewers recommend elbec garden buildings

Write Your review

Our garden shed arrived unannounced, no communication to say it was to be delivered on that day. My wife and I had been visiting relatives and returned home to to find it leaning against our garden fence. In the interests of safety and security we had to handball it into our back garden which was not ideal as she is suffering from a shoulder injury. Had we known when the shed was to be delivered we would have arranged to have some younger and fitter members of the family to come through and assist. Given it was dark we left it until the following morning before inspecting our purchase and were left somewhat disappointed, three panels had defects, two with broken slats and one with a broken base. On erecting the shed we further found some of the wood to be warped which has left the building weakened, it is also poorly finished. All in all the whole experience has been something of a let down.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologise for the difficulties you encountered with the delivery of your garden shed and the lack of communication that preceded it. We understand how important it is to have such logistics conveyed clearly, and we appreciate your feedback, which will be taken on board and seriously. As we have had no prior contact regarding your concerns, it is also disheartening to hear about the condition of the panels and the overall finish of the shed. We strive to maintain high quality standards and clearly, we fell short in this instance. We would like to assure you that your concerns are being taken seriously. Please feel free to contact our Customer Care Team at your earliest convenience, with the information on the parts, and your concerns to allow the Customer Care Team to move forward in assisting you to a remedial course of action. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 9 months ago
We recently purchased a Shire 8x6 wooden greenhouse from Elbec. Initially the customer service was great. Regular updates and delivery on time. However, it then started to go down hill. 1. Parts missing including both automatic window openers. 2. Paint job (which we paid a considerable amount extra for), had a lot of drips in places. 3. Window openers leak. 4. Wooden benches (again which we paid extra for), held together with a single nail in each leg and very rough sawn timber. Customer service kept on blaming the manufacturer even though they Elbec were the supplier. They wouldn't offer any kind of gesture of goodwill for the poor paint finish apart from a free additional bench (which we didn't want) and which, when it arrived, hadn't been painted. I could go on, but it is a shame that after spending over £1500 (it would be £1700 if we were to purchase today), the experience has turned quite sour. The greenhouse is still leaking too.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us. We regret to hear about the issues you have experienced with your order. Our goal is to provide service that meets your expectations, and we apologise that this was not the case. Please rest assured that we will never require the installation of any item that does not meet your satisfaction upon delivery. We sincerely apologise for the missing parts, and we acknowledge that they have now been delivered. Your concerns about the paint have been noted, as we take all feedback seriously. Please know that we do not expect you to assemble any item that does not meet your standards. Regarding the leakage in your building, this can occur if the glazing is not fully installed or if parts remain exposed to the weather. To ensure proper assembly, we recommend installing all components, including any provided sealants, to protect the structure. The wooden bench you added to your order is an optional accessory and not a necessary component of the building. We understand your frustration, and we have taken your concerns about its design and the paint into account. We acknowledge your request for a goodwill gesture and initially offered a wooden bench, which was not immediately accepted. As the item was partially installed, it was considered accepted upon delivery, and the goodwill offer remained unchanged. Additionally, as the bench was provided as a gesture, it did not include a painting option. Our Customer Care Team has been in contact with you and is currently awaiting further details to help adequately resolve your concerns. If you need any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to our team. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 9 months ago
In summary, it isn't a well made product. Despit all manner of trying, both doors don't line up which is frankly annoying and the felt roof is like paper and very cheap.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us. We are sorry for the disappointment caused by the item you have received, and the parts thereof. The item you have received is provided with mineral felt as standard, however, there is an option to upgrade the felt to a heavy-duty felt with the building. Our Customer Care Team remains available to assist you with your concerns about the doors of your chosen building. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 9 months ago
Not worth the money
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us. We are sorry that you are disappointed with the item you have ordered and received. We can see that our Customer Care Team has been in contact with you, and is awaiting your reply. If you require any assistance or information, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 10 months ago
Product itself was excellent, delivery drivers were excellent when the product finally arrived. The administration and poor communication led to missed deliveries all of which was both stressful and time consuming for us. I did write a lengthy complaint and this was dealt with fairly I thought, although we had so obviously received such bad service I would have appreciated it if company had taken the step to compensate us rather than my having to write the complaint in the first place.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We understand the frustration caused by the delivery of your order, and we are sorry. We do advise that all deliveries cannot be fully guaranteed in light of unforeseen circumstances, and we apologise that your order was affected, leading to the delays you have experienced. From your communication with our Customer Care Team, this has been resolved to an agreeable outcome, and we are pleased that you are satisfied with the item delivered. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 10 months ago
the floor of our new shed is very weak, when you walk on it it makes a cracking noise, so now we have to buy a piece of wood to lay on the floor. the money we paid for this shed and fitting is poor. very disappointed. this is the shed https://www.elbecgardenbuildings.co.uk/10-x-8-302m-x-248m-mercia-overlap-shed-no-windows/p5019
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent shed purchase. We sincerely apologise for the issue you've encountered with the floor. We understand how disappointing this must be, especially given your investment in the shed and its fitting. Your experience is very important to us. We can note that you have contacted our Customer Care Team who will be looking into this for you. If there’s anything further we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 1 year ago
Only half the summer house arrived had to call to complain. Overall summer house quality is poor compared with a comparable shed I recently purchased. Roof is very thin OSB. veranda virtually unusable large gaps between boards. Had to build my own.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with your Summerhouse. We’re sorry to hear that only part of your order arrived and that the quality did not meet your expectations. We understand how frustrating it can be to encounter issues like large gaps in the veranda and unsatisfactory roof quality. Your comments are important to us, and we will take them into careful consideration to improve our products. Should you require any assistance or information, please feel free to contact our Customer Care Team, as they remain at hand to help you. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 1 year ago
For the cost of the shed I think it is not the best quality. I feel that a lot of corners have been cut so you can optimize the profits. As a tradesman, the materials are not the best and I feel you could do better. Hope this might help you improve the materials you use in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Morning,, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. We are sorry for the disappointment caused by the Shed you have ordered, and we understand your concerns about the materials used which will be taken on board. Please be assured that we continuously strive to improve our products and your comments will certainly be taken into consideration. If there’s anything specific you would like to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 1 year ago
Two of us followed the instructions to build the shed which I might add both said they wasn’t very clear at all, but took time and the side panels fit nice around the base measurements were correct, but roof, truss was pushing side panels out making it bulge and the roof panels on top were two inches short for the roof, at the time of building I didn’t have time get in touch about it as I’m in middle of a renovation so needed the extra space urgently so luckily I’ve spare materials on site so adjusted to suit and built the roof myself
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that the instructions were not clear for you during the assembly of your chosen garden building. We aim to provide you with not only a service you expect but a building that meets your requirements and satisfaction, we are sorry that this has not been met. We remain at hand if you require any assistance or information. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 1 year ago
Poor finish to the overall quality, panels not trimmed square, windows different sizes so poly wouldnt fit or was too small. Will have to put glass in to be secure. Some timbers not even nailed. Never seen so many knot holes, had to fill with mastic. Its up but never worth the money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience with us. We offer our apologies for the issues that you have encountered with the completion of your garden building. We strive to maintain high standards, and your comments will be addressed with our team to ensure improvements are made. If you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team, who remain at hand to help. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 1 year ago
I had to chase up delivery of my order and it was then delivered partly damaged. A replacement part was sent out which arrived two weeks later. Very little communication and poor customer service. Would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
quality not great…instructions not great…would not recommend if your expecting any more than a cheap shed…
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Not water tight around windows and doors and other parts wet seems to seep through .that's after three coats of culprinol ducksback .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your Garden Shed with us. We are sorry that you are currently experiencing water ingressing through the windows and doors and understand the frustration that this causes, as we do aim to ensure that our customers are satisfied with their chosen garden building. Please do contact our Customer Care Team at customercare@elbec.co.uk to allow the team to offer their assistance to you in moving this forward. Kind Regards, elbec Garden Buildings.
Posted 1 year ago
Delivery on time but when unpacked was in a very poor condition
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Delivery driver refused to put shed against brick wall which was 2m next to where he was unloading. Said kerb side drop off. Also refused to take pallet it was delivered on, again said not what he was paid for. Shed was damaged on arrival although part of floor so hidden
elbec garden buildings 2 star review on 8th September 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and for bringing these concerns to our attention. We’re sorry to hear about the delivery experience and the damage to the shed floor. While the delivery is typically kerbside, we understand how frustrating this must have been for you, and we will certainly pass your feedback on to the manufacturer for their review. In the meantime, if there is anything our team can do to assist in addressing the damaged part of the shed please contact us.
Posted 1 year ago
Poor quality wood, had lots of holes in, split when putting together. Had to buy 5 stripd of beading to finish the building as they were short.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Roofing felt was damaged on arrival, made a note on delivery note. Had to go and buy a roll, contacted company who said they would not reimburse cost. Then waited 2 weeks for them to send replacement felt!!, by which time shed was up and roof done. Poor service. Wont use company again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disappointing experience. Rear panel was damaged on delivery. It took over a week and 4 phone calls to get a replacement, which was a completely different colour. Quality of product was poor, as can be seen by my photos. One panel didn't have the overlaps nailed, so had to be fixed. Panel frames were poorly built, and didn't line up. Flooring is pretty thin and I don't think it will last long.
elbec garden buildings 2 star review on 19th August 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Generally badly manufactured. Base not square and side panels not matching. If you are doing self assembly then you DIY skills need to be very good.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Long screws
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
elbec garden buildings is rated 4.3 based on 2,419 reviews