RAC Reviews

1.49 Rating 1,217 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend RAC
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 3%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.28 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read RAC Reviews

Phone:

801 82 82 82

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
8h30 min since my husband is wainting on the side of the road. A rescue that was supposed to take place in 2h is still unsolved and every time he is calling them they are telling him that he will have to wait another 40 min. HOW IN THE WORLD IS THAT POSSIBLE??
Helpful Report
Posted 1 hour ago
Where do I start?? Rang insurance as car broke down and contractors were RAC,paid £150 as car insurance stated car had to be 0.25 miles away from home..20.34 we reported it,had to wait until 03.15 am that WE contacted them!! only to be told that a rescue agent wouldn't be available until 07.30-08.30 am!! This so called company have no scruples and are a disgrace as a company and should be investigated for fraudulent service.. TOTAL UTTER DISGRACE!!!!!!!!!!! Would rate 0 stars if possible.USELESS!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 16 hours ago
RAC member since 2013 My son called the phone number on the RAC card and the message referred him to the RAC App, hard to do if you don't have a smart phone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Couldn't praise more highly,broken down,no phone signal,000 through to RAC,sorted pick up, accommodation ,1000km round trip for him, yes we waited hours,had to pay excess and top up,still could not be more grateful, brilliant job RAC and their Geraldton pick up truck guys. Thanks Nikki Max
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
I waited four hours for an outside-contracted assistance vehicle whose driver had been directed first by the RAC to the WRONG ADDRESS. He called me and I told him I'd given the correct car-location address to the RAC. He told me this was the FOURTH job this evening where the RAC had given him the wrong address and would have words with them. He told me, 'The RAC is absolutely &@#-£-+* useless, they haven't got anyone working in the evenings and so they call us up and don't give us the right information!' So I'm wondering if I did right, switching from the AA. Hmmmm. The driver who came out, by the way, was an excellent bloke who got the car started straight away. My low mark is for the RAC, not him. He deserved five stars.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
My daughter and granddaughter waited 4 hours the other week, now today been waiting so far 3 hours in pitch black car park and they are both scared. You are rubbish RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Spend well over £100 for absolutely nothing. Walsall which is their HQ employ the most rude ,ill mannered, and thick people they can find. One excuse after another lucky if they come out within 5 hours . Sometimes don't come out at all. If you breakdown in a dangerous place they don't care and just tell you to call the police which I have in the past and then the police ring rac and guess what they appear from nowhere funny that ! Complaints dept have never even acknowledged any of my complaints let alone dealt with them. RAC are by far the worst most useless ,rude and incompetent organisation will ever renew with them again .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Can't log in to web site for car or breakdown put details in just says not recognized although I've been a member for nearly a year both break down and insurance also when you email no response
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Came out to address a warning light and I had no log myself on what the outcome was, he just said 02 sensor, (would be good to incorporate this into the app) so you can see a report, called to double check what the issue was with my 02 sensor, it could be sensor 1 or 2, I had no idea which one had the issue and it wasn’t cheap to have both replaced, customer service were the most rude I’ve encountered, they did Not want to help or be on that phone and I felt that, I had to literally call 5 times and it’s got me nowhere and I work in customer service, i would not have one advisors on one of my teams, I was put through to a closed department, on hold for 20 minutes, my issue still isn’t resolved. Based on the bad issues alone I won’t be renewing when my policy ends.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
new driver teenage girl with mum who has fibro broke down at 18.30 rang for assistance told 3 hr wait at 21.30 told rac unavailable until morning or a local mechanic 60 to 90 minute wait so booked recovery for 7am had to get my grandad out of bed to come and get us cold and mum in pain, grandad went to car at 6.45 mum took me to work and went to my car got a call from rac about 9.30 unavailable till noon they went home and got the call about 13.00 how can you leave a teenage girl in a vulnerable area with a disabled mum what if i had been miles from home, received no updates had to ring them every time. am joining green flag like mum and grandad. having read all the bad reviews it's about time rac lost the Royal and there business and (r) no r ac would just about sum them up
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Well I been a loyal customer to them over 10years now, I have had numerous issues with them. They don't attend within 2 hours stated. Made me and my son wait outside in freezing conditions and in pouring rain and halestones, not to forget that my son is a 5yrs old and is disabled and requires a wheelchair to stay mobile. Gone 6 hours they still hadn't turned up. My son fell seriously unwell which resulted in them keeping him in at hospital because of their service, I then had to pay in excess of a £125.48 cab fare to get home as we was stranded almost 82 miles away from home. Disgusting, they won't give my money back. No reply to emails. Had to also pay £150 to have car transported home by another local firm.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
You buy a pair of jeans. Turns out they're defective so you return them and get your money back. Buy an RAC membership you break down, they don't turn up. Of course I want my money back. The RAC are not interested. It's a breach of customer consumer rights. Who do they think they are?? The Queen should remove the right to use her Royal status in their name because the organisation is bringing her stays into disrepute. I have paid my money and have nothing to show for it. This has got to go National. Somebody has to close these people down and conduct an investigation into their fraudulent activity. Or lack of it. Money for nothing. Will never be an RAC member ever again. No chance! Not on your nelly!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Reported my breakdown at 11.15 this morning, get a phone call at 16.20 say thay can't do nothing untill tomorrow now, rac are useless just lucky the is not on the side of the road or I would still be there waiting, I pay £20 a month for NOTHING
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Paid for my daughters car to be covered. After breaking down, she spent over 6 hours trying to get recovered. In the end, I had to use my recovery policy to get her home. Do yourself a favour and go with anyone else, as could be worse than the RAC. Even raised a complaint and got no response!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Called Rac and told a 5 he wait before a engineer would be free. Decided to go home. Called again in the morning having explained the van wont start and they send a van and engineer after a 2 hr wait that was not capable of towing my van. Not able to fix so now ordered a truck yo tow van with another 4 hr wait....disgusted with the recovery time and will be changing from RAC SOON
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Where do I start with the list of issues? Such an incredibly poor service demonstrated now as compared to years ago. Our only two interactions with requiring assistance recently were, unfortunately, astonishingly awful. Our car broke down on the motorway a few weeks ago- although attendance was prompt, the first question poised to us was ‘why have you rang RAC, I can’t fix your car, you should just get someone to tow it’. Obviously the purpose of breakdown cover requires explanation to their staff. The second occasion - we arranged for our car in advance to be towed to the garage. RAC turned up- from the off, aggressive and nonchalant. Churlish, rude and abrupt, it was not a welcoming experience. Despite a pre arranged booking, and our cover allowing tows within a 10 mile radius , the individual was insistent that the garage was 15 miles away (despite demonstrating via the RAC route planner that it was 10 miles), therefore refusing to take the car. We had explained in the booking that we also needed to be taken, yet we were told no one else was allowed in their van (policy states this is acceptable and expected, with face masks, and also agreed on the original phone call). Whilst we were on the phone to speak to the manager to complain about their behaviour, he told us he was going to get diesel in the meantime . We then discover that he had complained that we were aggressive, so had no intention of returning to see the outcome . A complete fabrication- we were disgusted. RAC cover is a feature through my partners bank account- tomorrow we will be cancelling this paid for package as it is not fit for purpose. This issue has cost us £170- folks, don’t waste your money on the RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
First call told it would be 2 hrs will mark it urgent still waiting another hour now 3 hrs in total waiting only to be told on the third phone call would be another 2 hrs. Very dissatisfied customer and would not recommend RAC. Took a call to Nissan who were 3 mins away came to my aid and sorted. Rang RAC explained service now not required. A very dissatisfied customer. RAC need to step up their game in order to get customers back. There are other companies out there which give a much better service. Mrs T
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely Shocking Company! The service is poor, We HAD business cover with RAC and i tell you now, i would never recommend this company. Our driver had to wait 6.5 hours, for someone to come out to him. For them to turn around and say we can recover the vehicle but not the 2 person in the vehicle, so they had to get a taxi. There was very poor communication, badly organised and no customer service skills what so ever. Its safe to say we did not renew! To then recieve a credit from the RAC at the end of our contract of 19 pounds which is great accept the don't issue the actual refund. It stays with the RAC for 12 months and we can use it for any future purchases! RAC you can keep you 19 quid! You're going to need it! This company is plummeting.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Terrible service, never used their service for years, my car wouldn’t start and I have requested assistance for almost 3 hours, all I keep on receiving is a text saying I will be contacted in 30 minutes, after receiving 5 texts, I just cancelled the fallout as the time is almost 12 midnight. Am really disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Avoid the RAC we have been waiting 6 hours and have just been told it will be another 3 hours we have repeatedly phoned and then was told our information had been entered wrong with no apologies and then they said they would call with a recovery time they never phoned back make the RAC the last people you join for recovery rubbish and bad service and Unbelievably bad waiting times 8 hours to be rescued avoid avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
RAC is rated 1.49 based on 1,217 reviews