RAC Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,582 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend RAC
1.5
Based on 1,582 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 3%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read RAC Reviews

Phone:

801 82 82 82

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
RAC 1 star review on 8th July 2022
Bogdan Sava
RAC 1 star review on 21st June 2022
Kenny
RAC 1 star review on 1st May 2022
Anonymous
RAC 5 star review on 26th April 2022
Jaz
RAC 1 star review on 2nd April 2022
Anonymous
RAC 1 star review on 23rd February 2022
Wayne Brown
RAC 1 star review on 10th January 2022
Ruslan
32
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
On Tuesday 3rd I rented a Transit van from my local rental company which had RAC breakdown coverage. On my return journey the clutch failed and so I stopped at a foul and littered layby on the A505 at 3.15pm. Called the RAC, who the hire company use, and they were truly, truly, dreadful! Firstly I was told that I could only report the assistance call via the internet (I only had a 3G connection so that was optimistic!) and that they would send me a link to do so. No such link arrived and I called the hire guys who reported the breakdown for me. Got a text message saying that there would be a three hour wait but later I realised that was only the delay before they actually even started to try to find a rescue truck… Another hour passed and with the light fading at 7.15pm I was hot, tired, thirsty and hungry it was pretty obvious that it was going to be a horrendously long wait for help. I felt very unsafe at the prospect of spending the night in the layby so I chanced it and coaxed the van back into life and crawled to the outskirts of Luton and reported the change of position via my mates at the hire company. By then the battery on my phone was low but fortunately I received a text message to say I would be rescued between 2am and 3am. However the guys at the hire company gave the RAC such a verbal kicking that they cracked and brought a breakdown truck all the way from central London and that arrived at 12.30am. I had endured a wait of nearly 10 hours! I was home at 2.30am… I am not as young as I was and it has taken me a few days to recover after this ordeal. Join the RAC at our peril!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Been with the RAC for 30 years only used them once during that time, unable to get through to them today with a breakdown tryed 10 times eventually called my son in law who travelled 50 miles to rescue me. Disgusting service will never use again and would recommend have a look at other services.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hi, just over a week ago the RAC took £175 out of my bank to renew my policy. When I phoned them to cancel, they told me they had sent an email to inform me of my new policy. I NEVER received it!!! After moaning to the lady on the phone and her keep asking her manager I received a FULL refund. Yesterday the same thing happened to my son. This time they said he has to pay a £25 cancellation fee as they sent him an email to confirm his renewal details. He ALSO didn’t receive ANY EMAIL. We booked a call back from a manager but they failed to phone us!! My son put in a complaint which he lost and they are insisting they are keeping £25!!!! By the sound of it they are conning lots of people. AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I am disabled and broke down just before 1500 i am still here now at 1936 i was due to take my medication at 1830 i told the lady she said we will get some one as soon as possible 3hours 40mins ago i will start going downhill in a minuite my medication is wearing off where are they ?????
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Having been a customer over many years, today was the day I needed them Broke down at 11.45 this morning It took 3 hours to get help , and needed recovery He did not take me home ! I was taken 40 miles up the motorway to be dropped off and wait for another truck for the rest of the journey I’ve now been waiting nearly 5 hours for the 2nd truck with no communication from the company I will avoid RAC now truly dreadful service I understand if it’s busy but this is unreal Never again RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Please beware of The RAC everyone. They recently renewed my (over priced) breakdown policy for £164.99 without sending any renewal documents. The auto renew is auto ticked at sign up. I'd been with them since 2018. I called the same day that the payment was due to be taken from my account and they wouldn't refund me fully. Unbelievable behaviour from a company like THE RAC. Scaled up to thousands of customers this is big money for them. I hadn't received any service from them and hadn't received the renewal email. They are unable to provide proof of sending the renewal email. I'm speaking with the Ombudsmen and My Bank re. a charge back. Has anyone else had this problem with The RAC? Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
I locked my keys in my car / I rang the rac who were very good: I was advised a company will ring me as am not covered for keys/ the private business rang back quoting 120 pound/ I declined the offer as I got a local locksmith for less than half the price quoted/someone is making a lot of money wonder how much commission the rac get for sending out these types of jobs?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
I have to say... Oh my what a waste of money this lot is. My friend 72 years old and nearly hanging on to life himself, was in dire need after his van broke down due to being in a rush to his sons house, because his sons life had just expired. It took over 30 minutes to get through the automated system. I expressed to the advisor this was an emergency, to which they required a doctors note for proof to an email address? What?...... RAC doesn't cover the petrol mix so they wanted £240.99 to fix.... £10 to tow to nearest garage within 10 miles. 240 minutes required to turn up and the owner had to be there? What.... The guy who turned up was 20 mins away, and I know the garage. Purposeful dereliction of a duty to its customers. Who are these despicable people... RAC want to call me? Anytime....You're just a joke in emergencies... Never ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
I had a blow out on the M1 a month ago , the call handler seemed ok I told them I had no spare wheel because my new car didn't come with one (I've since purchased one) the tyre was destroyed therefore the car was undrivable. I have cover to tow me home. When the RAC arrived I wasn't given that option and was told I would have to wait for an independent mobile tyre fitter for 90 minutes (I had already waited for the RAC) the cost was £155 for a tyre for a kia picanto. After he called his chosen fitter he offered to tow me to some services. I was dropped off at the services and the fitter took more than 90 minutes to arrive so I was panicking I would get a parking fee for being over the 2 hr limit. I was only 7 miles from home why wasn't I offered to be towed home instead of services. 2 weeks later the very same brand new tyre went flat when I was 200 miles from home so had to call out the RAC again. This time the call handler was very rude and unhelpful - the recovery man was very helpful and found the new tyre had a leaking valve, which he replaced. I put in a complaint about not getting me home on the first incident when I could have gone to a trusted tyre fitter which wouldn't have left me stranded again 2 weeks later. They refuse to speak to me on the phone so messages have to go through an online form which they don't always respond to and when they do they are condescending and clearly haven't even read the complaint1. RAC you are a despicable organisation with no empathy or care for your customers and an absolute disgrace to the motor vehicle recovery industry., seriously consider who your breakdown provider is as you’ll regret the day you signed up as a RAC customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
My 6 year old granddaughter and 70 year grandma were left waiting 8.5 hrs the wrong break down truck was sent the RAC operator was useless couldn't even find wear they were the above is only abrief description of what happened my lawyer will furnish a more discriptive account to the RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely shocking broke down on the m56 rang rac at 2.50 am sat up an embankment waiting on the rac .they arriver at 7.05 am ...I was initially told when I rang at 2.50 I would be waiting no longer than 40 minutes .I rang again at 4am only to be told I could be waiting for 5 hours ..disgusted
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely shocking service called at 3.10pm and was told 90 mins. Called back two hours later to be told 10.00pm apparently I’m safe to sit on the side of a dual carriageway with no lights on as they have all failed in a cycle lane. Explained I have kids at home and need to get back and they promised to call when on way, wow that will help look after them. Absolute shambles. Go with the AA would be my advice
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I’m not a customer of rac but just wanted to say a massive thank you to the lovely KEM who helped me jump start my car on Thursday the 28th of July 2022 in old park road Enfield en1 Honestly he was so lovely and really saved my day. I believe he is leaving in the next month or so otherwise I would consider becoming a member.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Car Insurance. Cannot wait to be rid of this Insurer. We had a claim and advised we were not taking blame last year. Thus is still open and we are unable to get through to underwriters and the RAC will not help at all. So new fee this year was increased due to the claim still being open. Steer clear of them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Waited in my car for 5 hours with my 5 year old and my wife. Was promised that they will come within 2 hours, then got delayed and delayed. All their customer services just lied and said that their guy will be there in 15 min, 30 min, 43 min but they never come, they don't even ring you to confirm the arrival time. Their customer service also lied about their driver has been dispatched but then when you ring back, the car driver has gone missing or is on another case. Please don't use RAC, it is a pain. The people in this company don't have moral at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
DO NOT USE RAC FOR BREAK DOWN COVER…Found out today that the breakdown service I purchased with my insurance cover is unfortunately provided by RAC. Broke down at 16:30 today, called my breakdown helpful, heart sunk when I was put through to the RAC call centre. After providing details of my situation, including providing details regarding a health condition I have, RAC made me wait 3.5 hours at the side of the A15 before a vehicle technician arrived from third party contractor (Richford) to assist. I was promised a call back from a manager twice and offered a taxi to take me home, none of these promises were actioned or delivered by RAC. I eventually got back to my front door at 21:30, I was only 8 miles from my home when I broke down, could have walked home in the time it took RAC to help me. I vowed 10 years ago never to use RAC as a break down provider again, had I known they were my insurers breakdown provider, I would have taken my custom elsewhere. RAC you are a despicable organisation with no empathy or care for your customers and an absolute disgrace to the motor vehicle recovery industry. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PEOPLE, seriously consider who your breakdown provider is as you’ll regret the day you signed up as a RAC member and then endure the service I and many others have!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Consistently 3-4 hour waits with rude staff who are inconsiderate. If you breakdown past midnight look forward to waiting 3-4 hours before they call to tell you the earliest they can see you is between 8am - 12 noon, total joke and this happens every time (used them between 3-5 times in last 12 months)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Dan Nixon went out of his way to get my car going needed new battery a very pleasant chap and a credit to your company will be recommending RAC to all my friends and family good job done Dan Maria Hall
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Rated 1 out of 5 stars Failed at every point. Very limited parameters. My vehicle broke down during a recent trip to the UK. (I live, and work on the Isle of Man). Whilst the RAC got it going, I was told it wouldn’t restart if the engine stopped. Ultimately I had to keep the vehicle running. Proactively I drove the vehicle to the nearest garage and left it on their forecourt overnight. Unfortunately the garage had no room in their diary to address the fault. They anticipated having to strip the engine to assess the issue and, couldn’t see an opportunity to do that for at least ten days. Should the vehicle require additional parts, then it would hypothetically need to remain at the garage even longer. With a return crossing booked for the following Sunday and no other garages in the area able to fit the vehicle in, it seemed the simplest solution to get the vehicle back to the specialist garage on the Isle of Man. With no access to transport (the RAC doesn’t offer the courtesy car you’re entitled to, you have to be proactive and ask for it..!) someone in the garage offered to loan me their vehicle until I could get my vehicle sorted. (Which was assumed to be less than a week). Because the car was at a garage that *could* potentially fix it (at some point) the RAC said the onward travel aspect of the policy was null and void. I’d need to pay an additional £250 (irrespective of the fact the garage hadn’t been contracted to do the work and ultimately couldn’t do the work). The RAC are apparently not responsible for garages time schedules, just as much as I’m not responsible for ferry schedules to and from the Isle of Man. With the TT on, there was minimal availability on any ferry. I couldn’t get my child and my pets back without significant expense unless I had a vehicle and was able to use my original ticket. Reluctantly I agreed to pay the £250 and arranged to be collected on the Sunday morning well in time for the ferry. I explained to the person taking the booking that I suffered with anxiety, that I had an important work related meeting I had to be back on island for on the Monday. I booked for 11 am. I called back to clarify that the I could accompany the vehicle and that my pets were able to travel in it as planned. I then called back on the Friday to check arrangements (anxiety) and the Saturday (anxiety). Getting through to anyone was very difficult, sitting in a queue on an automated loop. On the Sunday, (day of collection) I called at 9.20. I spoke to someone and explained my anxiety was high because I was worried about not meeting the ferry. I was told not to worry, that everything was in hand and booked in for 11 am. At 11.10, and with no word from the RAC, I called them to be told the job had just gone live and they were waiting for someone to ‘pick it up’. Needing to be checked in at a ferry an hour away, I started emptying the vehicle I had loaded in to the car I had borrowed. I was distraught. Stuck in the Uk, the travel arrangements I thought I had sorted hadn’t. The RAC got back to me at 12.38 to ask where the vehicle keys were, (I’d posted them through the letter box at the garage as I took the car I had had to borrow). The RAC tried to imply that with 7 minutes to get to a ferry and check in by 12.45, that was the issue. The issue actually was that at no point did anyone, during any of my conversations with them, tell me you couldn’t pre-book a recovery. Had I not took the borrowed car, I wouldn’t have got my child and my pets back and I would have missed my meeting. I then had to cancel plans I had made for the following weekend, I had to book an additional ferry, pay an extra week to borrow the car and sort out accommodation so that I could return to collect the vehicle that wasn’t collected. Miraculously the RAC did manage to prebook the recovery this time and things did go ahead as I’d anticipated they would have done a week earlier. I did have to speak to McAdams myself who then helped me negotiate the collection of the vehicle off the Ferry on the IOM side. The RAC completely lax in their organizational skills to manage the logistics of the recovery. Now we have a significant dispute over the costs incurred. There is absolutely no good will offered in terms of the avoidable inconvenience, anxiety and stress. To compound the matters more, there seems to be a complete lack of understanding where the logistics of having a vehicle broken down in the Uk whist needing it to be somewhere else, for a specific time etc. As a single mother stranded in the Uk, I can honestly say that they did nothing to elevate my stress and anxiety. The fourth emergency service? No way. They failed me at every point and are continuing to do so now. Complaint being lodged with the ombudsman and policy won’t be renewed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Bad experience!!! That is putting it mildly. My husband waited 5 hrs on a dark lane to be told that you would come the next day in between 09 and 12md. I tried to speak to someone, what a joke, impossible!!! Do not use the RAC, we will be cancelling our direct debit.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
RAC is rated 1.5 based on 1,582 reviews