Barclaycard Reviews

1.1 Rating 735 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Barclaycard

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclaycard made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Barclaycard 1 star review on 21st November 2023
Very Unhappy
Barclaycard 1 star review on 21st November 2023
Very Unhappy
Barclaycard 1 star review on 22nd August 2023
Janet Schwartzz
Barclaycard 1 star review on 20th May 2023
Save The Planet
Barclaycard 1 star review on 1st April 2023
Anonymous
Barclaycard 1 star review on 3rd November 2022
Donny
Barclaycard 1 star review on 18th August 2022
Krista
12
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This is by far the sorriest bank I've ever dealt with. They caused my credit score to drop nearly 80 points in 8 months after I refused to pay for fraudulent charges of $11.00 even after they sent 2 letters stating the charges weren't mine. Only after recording a call with them and telling them I recorded it did they remove it from the credit bureau. They still have not made my credit whole & I'm considering legal action.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 hours ago
Absolutely terrible customer service. Phone system has the most irritating and slow customer validation prompts. Expect to spend several minutes every time attempting to get to a person. In my case, multiple friendly agents assured me my card was unlocked. Yet repeated merchant charge attempts — per Barclays agents (3) instructions — for the same item failed. They now insist I fax a barrage of docs to get my online account and two Barclays cards unlocked. They offer great hotel and airline awards but after this experience I suggest others put their cards in a drawer once meeting the spending obligation.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. Their online system sucks. Customer service is all in the Philippines. They can't speak English well enough to be understood. I've been locked out of my account for two months now, because they claimed that my username is not the same as the one I've been using. It's the same username that I've had since I opened the account! They charge ridiculous fees and expect me to be satisfied with their service?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
After 8+ yrs. being a loyal customer a had to close out my account, because I was about $00.11 short of the $50 dollar amt. they refused to issue me my rewards. I had hoped to reopen this account when things picked up again, but now, never, not know-how!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
How is this place still in business?? I have the same issues as everyone else in the reviews! I’m tired of arguing with these people. They need to be reported and shut down asap!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Please be very cautious before applying for this credit card. We are living a nightmare with Barclay's. We have experienced a huge security breach, along with fraudulent charges. Their customer service agents actually sent our new card to the thiefs, instead of us! We had to start the process all over and the fraudulent charges still have not been removed. Good luck!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
If I could leave no stars I would. We went to a gas station to buy a gas card and was told after the card was ran, that we couldn't use our credit card. Gas station assured us the transaction didn't go through. 1 minute later I used my debit card to buy the item I noticed the next day we were charged for the item. We went to the vendor and disputed the charge, but they were unwilling to help. We called Barclays, sent them proof of the transaction with our debit card for same amount 1 minute later. They 'investigated" the claim, gave us our $ back, then sent a letter saying they were taking it back. The vendor showed transaction went through and it wasn't voided. I called Barclays to discuss this and they said there's nothing they can do. You think a billion dollar company, would support their customers over $50. Horrible customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I’m trying to replace my missing credit card and have wasted an hour and half on the so called help line and the app is useless if you don’t have the CVC code because my card is lost And the message chat was not helpful..The service is hopeless and demoralising.It’s 8pm and we are still on and the phone line will close down Oh I forgot I did manage to register for call back which is between 10.00am and 1600 So can’t stray from my phone to far because I know if I miss it they won’t try again Isn’t Barclays owned by the tax payer ?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
They don’t honor the number of miles as advertised
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
This credit card company is an ABSOLUTE JOKE! There were 5 charges placed on my card in January 2024. 3 in one day to Playstation Network and 2 another day to Apple.com. I do not own an Apple phone or have an Apple account. I do not own Playstation or have a Playstation account. I dispute the charges, Barclays reverses the charges and credits my account. Fast forward a month, Barclays reverses the charges again and I am now being charged for all 5 fraudulent charges! When I asked how did they determine that I made these charges, they answer was, "we received letters from the merchant stating the charges were valid." So without consulting their "customer" they accepted the word of the merchant and now I am being charged in full for all 5 charges. This is absolutely ridiculous! And the customer service for this company is non existant. Do yourself a favor and seek credit elsewhere. This company is not in the best interest of their customers. I have not used this card in over a year and all of sudden there are charges being made to it that I DID NOT MAKE and yet I am being penalized for it. The only reason I gave 1 star was to write this review to prevent others from a financial burden of joining up with Barclays. 0 stars for the ridiculous excuse of a credit card company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Terrible customer service, although card itself and rewards are great
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I wish there was a way to put in negative stars because I would give Barclay -1,000. NEVER use them!! They took out a double payment (same day, exact same amount) and say that it was my fault. The double payment left is without any money for several days. It took my bank's lawyers to finally get them to return my money. Barclay would never admit that this was an error on their part. I have been a loyal cardholder/ customer for more than 15 years. To top it off, they then charged me a $30 fee for returning the money that they double took from my account. According to them, they can not return the $30. As I look at the reviews below, this same thing has happened several times. Bottomline....It is just plain stealing!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
It’s beyond ridiculous to charge interest when a card is paid in full. After repaying 18k + and you putting a hold on my card for 7 days for payment to process you should not be charging me interest. Entirely dishonest and thieving!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
RUN and STAZ AWAY and dont look back. Horrible experience and no common sense. Waste of time, energy and lower credit score for a card i could never get activated, despite faxing the required information twice
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Typically I would not post a review because who really gives a sh$t anymore but recently BarClays really irritated me on some fraud charges. It started out simple enough as I was completing an on line search for DVD shelves. Yeah, I still have DVD’s and BlueRay movies and while I only watch them when Wi-Fi goes out the collection is too extensive to trash. Anyhow, can across a site called “Cossco” and was wowed by the price as they were advertising the shelves I googled for half the price! Yup, made the purchase and received a Fraud Alert which prompted me to contest the charge and I immediately got online to review the charge and contact the Fraud Department. Upon review, I noticed two additional charges for $75.00 each titled CherryGold which I did not make. When I finally made contact with Customer Service I explained what just occurred, contested the Cossco charge and mentioned the two charges to CherryGold as not mine and they must be connected to the first charge. Supporting this claim as told by the CSR was the two additional charges were made two seconds after the “Cossco” charge. All totaled, I was looking at $300 in fraudulent charges. This is where things started getting crazy, their CSR team is now handled oversees and we just had trouble understanding each other with the CSR rep telling me to call the vendors and get them to reverse the charges; however, as I mentioned earlier, the first websites contact process went no where, just blank email form and no phone number. The other two charges I could not locate a vendor with their name on the internet!?! Finally I was transferred to the Fraud Department and again same miscommunication where they just did understand what I was telling them and how the three charges were all part of this scam. Anyhow, formally claimed all three as fraud and even went as far to file a complaint with the US State Department, as well as, sent BarClays a letter with all the details to their fraud department at their headquarters in Delaware. I received a return letter indicating the “Cossco” charge as fraud with charges removed. However, they informed me the other two charges would stick and I owe $150 plus interest. WTF….???? I guess the real scam was the two charges to CherryGold with the first transaction as bait knowingly fraud with the follow-up as the real got-Ya! Barclays was a disappointment, as they just decided not to really look into the claim. How on earth could I make two additional charges to another vendor two seconds after I submitted my payment info on the “Cossco” fraud site? Been a card member for well over ten years but I’m just one of many so there goes it. Plan is to cancel the card. Oh, bye the way, yesterday I received a pair of Gucci Sunglasses via US Mail which I did not order, nor wear due to my need for prescription lenses. Clearly they are knock-offs but I could not help but wonder if this part of the scam, charge $75 dollars twice and show a transaction occurred. The CSR indicated the CherryGold charge was from Singapore which is easy to tie together. Good luck out there, TRUST no one!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Negative-100 Stars Been a customer for over a year paid the card off and never used it for 6 months. Finally decided to use it to book a trip, a month later made a 1k payment which was returned for unknown reason and they charged me $30 for the return. I called and asked it to be removed but no we can't to that they said. I told them I will go ahead and pay the account off and close it that's when they made a deal to remove the monthly interest I agreed. I opened the app and made another 1k payment which in a week was returned again along with another $30 charge. I called again and to no avail received no help just "we can't remove any charges on your account" I will be paying this account off and will be canceling the account. The company is complete garbage and will not do anything to help there customers. I will be staying with my Discover and credit one at least they work with their customers to make sure they keep customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
They are rarely available to answer their phones, horrible service when they do, website rarely works right… never again!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Opened a dispute on a purchase where the online business closed shop and didn’t respond to emails soon after purchase. I proactively contacted Barclays, was told i was declined because it was before the estimated delivery date. Attempted to dispute again AFTER the estimated delivery date (when it still hasn’t even been shipped), and was told in order to reopen the case, i now have to send PHYSICAL DOCUMENTS TO THEM TO REVIEW.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Terrible - they will screw you on the promotional balance transfers. You will get no warning that the promotional period is expiring. DO NOT USE THIS CARD FOR A BALANCE TRANSFER.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Spent an hour on the phone trying to speak to someone, finally got through to to be told its going to be a 4 day wait because of the bank holiday weekend but today is Thurs and my request was on Wed? Yet the money transfer appeared on my credit card instantly? Off to another bank, Loyalty 34 years meant nothing
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Barclaycard is rated 1.1 based on 735 reviews