BOATsmart! Reviews

4.4 Rating 8,058 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
4.4
Based on 8,058 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.6 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I felt that the content jumped around nothing seemed consistent. Made things a bit confusing and drawn out?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I should have a degree after taking this course. There were no warnings that it was going to take 7-8 hours of my time.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
On a computer windows 10 in french. Passed the exam with 96%: Unable to click and enlarge most image wich where often to small. Explanation where often very vague without use of examples. No a lot of tips and mnemonics. Tranlsation could be better in many instances. Questionnaire had too much traps. Nevertheless thank you!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
It took so long to finish by the time I was done the last module I had no idea what was in the first.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
You really need to change this system and have a few different levels of licenses. I dont need to learn about sailboats and traffic routes where i live and fish but i do understand some places have that and maybe you should change the license to different provinces or something.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
The sessions are to long, you should not have any more than 20 pcs of information in each section and then quiz. Have more sections if you have to. Totally stressful. There was enjoyment in it. The material was fine.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
It's not your fault. I have a little problem with looking at a computer to long and get headaches. By time I got to module tests was tuff. That's all. I'm glad I made it through though. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Many of the modules didn't load the audio so I had to read them instead of listening to them and reading together.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Kenneth, Sorry to hear you had a tough time with the course. If you have an issue taking any of our courses - you can always chat or call our amazing customer experience team (1-877-792-3926) and we can help you through any browser issues.
Posted 5 years ago
Having done a lot of CBT type training with my employer I was stunned to see how slow this was. I could read and process a slide in 15-20 seconds then have to sit there and watch the clock run down so I could go to the next slide. Technically it was fine but the overall time needed to get through it was in my opinion ridiculous.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Thanks for the feedback Martin! We understand the test can take awhile for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure all students are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it, and safe boating!
Posted 5 years ago
was being asked questions on material that had not yet been covered Course contains too much "fluff" (useless information) that does not pertain to the safe and knowledgeable boating. This course could easily be condensed and formatted to be more effective. I would NOT recommend this course to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Spelling errors, timing of video and next page didn't always match up, duplication of information in some modules made this a little distracting at times. Overall the information was of interest and having the option of the video and reading the information was of assistance.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Almost 6 hrs spent on this course. It takes for ever to get through each module and then if you get less than 75% on the quiz for the module you have to go all the way back to the beginning and go through each lesson all over again. Good part is that you only have to do it once.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
your course material is poorly presented and full of typographic and other errors, definitely not worth the price you are charging. measurements are given in meters and sometimes in feet, whereas the exam presents all measurements in both feet and meters. distances are variously given in meters, kilometers and nautical miles, with no conversion provided. speed is given in kilometers per hour, with no reference to knots or conversion presented. you do not make proper provision for people on expensive connections, who cannot afford to sit through your videos, and are clearly protecting your material for purposes of profit, with no consideration for others. there is utterly no point in forcing those of us who can read and think faster to sit and wait through your ignorant timers. please get a clue, you greedy scum.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Well I sit here and give you seven hour explanation but the damn test took that long and I'm burnt out
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
80 % had nothing to do with me.I am a senior citizen, that fishes buy myself. I know that you are suppose to know all the rules,but how do remember all that stuff. Like all the bouys,there is none on my lake, and I only fish on my lake. Being in locks, and canals never going to happen. Anyway I did it. Ocean going and tug boats and canals,none around me.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
While I was able to turn off the annoying voice that "Read" to me. It was extremely irritating that I had to wait to click next once I read the text. I could read everything on the screen about 6 times in the time it took the stupid clock to tick down. I am smart girl and I can read quickly and learn fast...holding me to a set time per screen drove me nuts. I could have completed the course in about 3 hours if I had been able to read and click through at my own pace. Instead it consumed 7 hours of my time. The information was well laid out, clear and easy to understand, making it extremely easy to learn.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
A lot of information I will never use in Saskatchewan. Will never go to an ocean where there are shipping lanes etc... info I don't know are how to start a boat, lower a motor, load and unload a boat etc.... but we have to take it so no option....
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Boat Smart has a great idea, but the program is too slow. Module 2 in particular is really long. It could be divided in half since the length of time and intensity of content makes it hard to even recall what you originally learned. Many of the lessons could be condensed to make the program more enjoyable. Find ways to slightly increase speed and pacing.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
software bug wouldn't allow me to write final exam
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
My daughter is 14 years old and can't pass to get her card. You need to inform the student of the questions they got wrong so they can study that section. Also not being able to go back and change an answer needs to be changed. Making the student re-take the complete module when you fail a quiz is beyond frustrating. The student should be able to review but not made to watch all the videos again...since they have already watched them once which takes hours. I have spoke to many others that are very frustrated with how the on line course is done. It makes it impossible for younger folks to obtain a pleasure craft operator card.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.4 based on 8,058 reviews