BOATsmart! Reviews

4.4 Rating 8,058 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
4.4
Based on 8,058 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.6 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Thought it was a tree course
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I think the Study Guide and the Boatsmart site should state that the online course modules and exam are the standard approach to completing the operator card process. I purchased a Study Guide, presuming I could prepare for and complete the exam via a mail in or off line process / procedure. After going through every module and test in the guide I found I wasted $17 and several hours repeating everything on line. If there was a notice of caution in the guide and/ or the online site about the study completion requirements I would have been way less frustrated with this undertaking and not feeling ripped off for time and money.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
This is a great course to learn everything you need to know about the water ways, water safety, and boating but it took way too long. My problem is that I only took this course to be able to drive my jet ski, I do not have the intention of driving other boats such as Sail boats which I had to learn about for hours. I suggest that there should be a different course depending on the type of boat you are driving (power boat, sail boat, jet ski etc) we should be able to choose which course we want to take so that it doesn't take 8 hours to finish.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Too long for the averaged person
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
This is a course composed by people who have been out in the sun too long in their boats, not by people who know much about education. The course is very poorly organized, very unevenly weighted, and lacking in clear focus. It should be re-written by somebody who knows something about test composing. Section 6 on buoys is the biggest problem: that one section is more work than all the rest put together. It is dumped out in a blur with confusion and much over-lapping. I am sure that everybody cheats on that section; it is the only way to do it in the time allowed. If you really want someone to learn that stuff, you have to break that section of buoys into a part two of the whole course, maybe even give a separate star on your license for it.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
It was too long, and the click next button was not synced to the video wasting time.It would be better to have a few long videos than hundreds of short ones.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
The modules were overly simplistic, long, and repetitive. The course could have easily been shortened to half as long, and not lost the focus on the important information
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Sean, Thanks for the feedback! We understand the test can take awhile for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure all students are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it, and safe boating!
Posted 5 years ago
The quizzes took to long.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I think, the way its set up is way too long..many times the system froze forcing me to redo modules that took extra time. I think you should be given a chance to re-write a quiz without doing whole thing again. Too many times to press play, adding more time, should run through and people taking the test can pause or rewind instead of pressing play and next all the time
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
My issue is not being told what question(s) I had wrong on the quiz test at the end of each module. Not being able to correct the error would likely mean I would make the same mistake on the exam. Correcting it and learning from it would be beneficial not only in my final grade on the exam but more importantly out on the water. I finally decided just to do the final exam and did it in record time guessing at some questions. I have both a college diploma and a university degree and have never been denied knowing what questions I had wrong so I could improve myself. In college I graduated top of my class as I was able to correct mistakes before the final exam. Let's just say I passed this exam but certainly was not my usual A+ grade. I called and asked and was told there was no way to find out what question(s) was wrong and to just redo the entire module. Not happy but I can go boating now despite not being as skilled as I would like to be as I have no way of knowing what I need to improve on.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Catharine - thanks for the feedback. Since there is a finite number of test questions and the test is open book and unsupervised - Transport Canada and NASBLA regulate that the answers not be shown. This is one of the check and balances put into place to maintain the integrity of online testing. As boaters too, we understand the feedback and are working with regulators to try and improve the process within the confines of online testing. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating this summer!
Posted 5 years ago
After purchasing the book and the pre-paid online test, it was not clear that the online modules were mandatory. After taking several hours to read and study the textbook I was ready to write my test. Going online I thought I would be good to go, but then I realized it was mandatory to redo all the modules. So receiving my licence took twice as long as I thought it would be and that was a negative experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Too much time spent on learning the bureaucracies of boat laws. It is not important for boaters to learn whether infractions pertain to shipping acts, criminal code or small vessel regulations. I'm not saying remove this just don't make 5 out of 10 questions about this stuff. Too many videos per module the course is way too time consuming. As a charter captain of over 7000 charters in Pacific and Indian ocean I found the lessons gave me adequate knowledge at best for navigating here in Canada. I wish more time was spent learning what is required by law, buoy systems, speed limits, etc. Less time learning who made the laws and what regulations fall under what laws as this is quite useless information. Very tedious having to click 'next lesson' and then click to start the video for 60 video modules and then having to redo them all because of a couple of 'unclear' questions. Modules take WAY too long.. Quiz questions can be a bit vague and don't do a good job of testing a persons safe boating knowledge.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I didn't like the idea of buying the book then having to do the pre exam on line when I did it from the book. I started the on-line test at 2pm and finished it around 10 pm.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Very boring by the time you reached test you already forgot what was at the beginning because it was so long and boring. Do yourself a favor buy the book read through it and go to Bass Pro and write the test
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
The way the modules are set up price to be repetitive and difficult in the sense that the time till you can click to the next chapter in many cases made it so I had to Re watch 10-30 seconds of the video slide before I could click over to my next approved module. I found this very frustrating. I run on a high functioning computer so I know it was not due to poor internet or loading quality. I also tested on a different internet connection and in another case a different computer all proved to do the same. I would recommend fixing this glitch because otherwise the course was informative.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Beyond dry. No hands on learning. Low quality videos. Over priced
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
course was way too long. Course should have different levels for ocean or lake operation
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I got really frustrated and annoyed having to go through the modules again if I failed the quiz. You should change it so the second time it's not timed and they can skip the lessons a bit quicker.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
This is sad to say but i found your course incomplete once i was challenging the transport Canada exam
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dont buy the book. The course just reads it to you word for word and tou cant skip anything. Takes way to long. Smart serve was a shorter course.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.4 based on 8,058 reviews