BT Reviews

1.47 Rating 352 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BT 5 star review on 1st July 2020
Kat
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 23rd February 2020
Salman
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
On Mon 8th July I Reported that my TV BOX had failed.I was promised a replacement by Friday and transferred to sales who offered me a new and improved contract-both very satisfactory!the box did not arrive and I was told this was because I didn't have a BTtelevision contract.Promise to reactivate the service at midnight and the box would be dispatched the following day.
Sat morning I received a text that the box could not be dispatched as I had ordered two! This was resolved and a box promised for the following Wed.E-mail on Tuesday showed that the box was addressed to our old house (left 3 years previously)Managed eventually to pick up box from local PO but this was
apparently faulty.Necessitated 3 calls to their service dept on the third of which I was offered another box.
Thurs 18th,notification of delivery but still to old address.Further phone call to arrange for address to be changed and the box was eventually received on Tues 23rd July-This was the wrong model.
Wed 24th replacement promised for correct address for Sat 27th.
Sat 27th no delivery.A further box is due to be sent but to wrong address.I refused to pick this up from PO.
29th A long phone call to an adviser at Lincoln to arrange for our old address to be permanently deleted from the BT computer and a new correct box sent.
Wed 31st.New box arrived,connected and is satisfactory.This is on the 24th day
after ordering.
The staff on all occasions were pleasant and helpful,especially Lewis at Lincoln.
I anticipate I made at least 10 calls plus two aborted calls due to a faulty line.
Posted 11 months ago
since.bt.changed.my.tel.number.about6years.i.have.nothing.but.hassle.from.them.there.are.a.few.genuine.people.i.would.give.10.but.there.aae.numerous.ones.i.would.give0i.was.put.on.to.the.special.help.team.in.doncaster.i.Big.joke.!.out.of.all.in.h...the.call.centre.2persons.would.get10.butthe.others.1.also.bt.mobile.team.are.allrated10..with.me.respecially.cormack.murphy.from.irelandmanager.i.personally.some.of.their.staff.are.scammers.especially.india..my.tel.number.is.ex.directory.+no.one.knows.my.mobile.as.i.have.long.got.it.but.am.getting.lots.of.scam.calls.although.i.have.call.protect..i.dealt.with.the.ombudsman.in.2016.and.got.some.compensation.@have.contacted.him.again..Iam.72.and.if.i.could.change.providers.i.would.they.owe.me.£100.'salso.talk.talk.who.scammed.too.i.have.heard.good.reports.about.virgin&sky..if.i.could.affor.a.lawyer.i.woul.take.both.to.court.and.sue.for.£1000.,s.
Posted 11 months ago
BT reduced my achievable speed as a result of so called technical problems, when it had been stable at over 45mbps downloads since installation up to the point of the problems. Now reduced to below just over 25, with no real reason given only "line stability" - we are less than 300 yards from the cabinet! However BT are now trying to sell me Superfast up to 53mbps at an additional cost! Wouldn't trust them as far as I could throw them. Customer service appalling, and they always start out with any issue being the customers fault, and BT is the arbiter as to whether it is your fault, in which case you get a £150 or £250 bill for your callout. Go with BT at your own risk!
Posted 11 months ago
Shocking from start to finish broadband issues from the start of the contract customer service is useless felt trapped for 18 months will never use again. No compensation as advertised
Posted 11 months ago
BT are a Discrace I am not a fan of UFC but to start charging for this service after promising they wouldn't it want affect me in anyway but my mistrust in this company will make me change suppliers when my contract comes to a end suggest you UFC fans do same there are plenty of free stream options round
Posted 1 year ago
Had a problem with setting up my BT Sport package, but the sales advisor (Claire Edginton) was amazing - so patient & sympathetic. Went above and beyond the call of duty!
Posted 1 year ago
Cold calling via ResQ
BT are using this company to offer alternative packages to customers. All very well, but I prefer a written offer, and do not take kindly to strangers demanding private information from me to prove who I am when they ring me and I have no idea who they are. I found out later that ResQ rang me, but they did not identify themselves, and the individual concerned (Josh: no second name, of course) was argumentative and somewhat aggressive. He did let me know that my contract has expired, however, so I can now move to another supplier.
Posted 1 year ago
Worst broad band and customer support.
Worst broad band and customer support.

Have been receiving 2-5 mbps since last whole week and what bt have done so far is sent me rj11 cable as fix.

During there test they confirmed that the speed from bt box to my router is 69 mbps but from my router to pc 1-5 mbps through ethernet which they don't guarantee.

So they expect customer to sit on there router and suck the speed and transfer through telepathy because all there claims are just up to the router. And after that they dont give any guarantees that you will receive the same speed to your devices.

First they tried to exempt themselves by saying sir you might be using wifi which i wasn't then they oh our speed guarantee is up to the router.

On ther adverts of stay fast guarantees speed consistently but all there advergs are scam and full of lies.

On top of that when you ask them that you are 2 mb they ask for 7 months old email evidence that what you guaranteed speed.

These guys are proper scammers who are only punctual in deducting there direct debit and when it comes to customer support all they donis restart your router and send you cheap cables and max 5 days worth of broken days credit.

Horrible post sales customer support.

Every year there is apain.. Last three months twice the services have crashed and they are busy in finding loopholes.

It's a simple effing transacrion. I will pay you money you provise me services. But they believe in making customer life a living hell.

Lies excuses and loopholes. Thats what there belive is and ripping customer.

Go to any other provider exept bt. My honest opinion
Posted 1 year ago
Do NOT use BT, there inability to conduct a home move order and successfully complete is astonishing! An active line that gave previous tenants internet and phone at fibre speed seems impossible for BT to takeover? They promised a new line at no cost then cancelled that order too, I’ve been over a month waiting and 8 cancellations. They promise to call you back but not once have I had a callback I have always had to call them. The latest call took over an hour with no change on the order.

I would highly recommend you look elsewhere, the perceived reliability of BT is unfounded and it is not worth your time and effort. Pay more for someone else if you must, just don’t trust them with anything.
Posted 1 year ago
Recently signed up to there new cloud system its the most over complicated thing to use and is nothing but trouble.The help line is awful I will never again deal with bt
Posted 1 year ago
I was very happy with my switch. The customer service on the phone was excellent. Everything happened as it should, so easy. Price is good, not the cheapest, but good speed and reliability. I used live chat/ internet/telephone. All good
Posted 1 year ago
Horrible service provider, internet goes down very ofter, I was said that maybe my router is placed in a wrong place, not able to provide a good signal. This was result of 6 months constant calling. The worst is when I upgraded to fibre, my order being cancelled and no one know why, they are still dragging me with this. Every time I call someone they promise to send an engineer or call me back, but nothing happens. Some of their agent begs for a good score at the end of the conversation for the survey.
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a business customer for several years with BT and had the worst experience ever. For a few months I had one constant issue with BT business broadband in connecting to my card machine which is a lifeline to my business,a lot of customers do not carry cash,so after they dined and wanted to pay, they had to walk quite far to use an atm and a few times customers did not return to pay. I phoned BT faults department and they would take me through a few procedures to reset the connection and after a few attempts the fault re-emerged ‘Connection failed ‘. I contacted World Pay card machine provider and over the few months they changed the card machine twice in an attempt to see if it’s their machines are faulty. This was not the case and World Pay kept asking me to contact my internet provider (BT) I had enough of this constant issue that I decided to change internet provider and giving BT a months notice to terminate my contract. I was furious when I received my final bill payment and BT charging me an extra month for leaving, when I contacted BT about this they said there’s nothing they can do as they don’t have any record of any previous complaints. After wasting so much of time and effort to try to resolve the issue and to remain with BT this is what I get offered a £30 reduction, it’s an insult to all I have been through . I have never experienced such a bad level of service and this is a warning to all and specially businesses to keep their distance from BT.
I find it an irony that when one calls BT one is constantly reminded that the phone calls could be recorded for customer service.🙄
Posted 1 year ago
If possible I would give BT -5stars. They are liars, incompetent , threaten you, refuse to contact you and I am still trying to shake these leeches of my back after 12 months and paying the thieving scum thousands of pounds. I have never hated anything or anyone as much as BT. I hope this review will serve as a warning to any small/medium size business contemplating dealing with this bunch of liars and thieves who call themselves BT Business.
Posted 1 year ago
Basically apauling service, engineer incorectly installed a line to the wrong number, even though they acepted it I was exspected to wait a week to get it sorted, this is my business. Then to make matters worse i never on 2 occasions when I most needed it got calls back advising me on 2 really inportant points, also I was left with all my cables left exsposed with the covers off open to any one to rip them out. Very bad wormanship
Posted 1 year ago
Today I had a ridiculously stressful experience. I was miss-sold BT Cloud, told it would benefit my business, save us money and make life easier. When the engineer arrived he told me he was fitting another phone line and I would have a new number. I am a business where all my customers have my number and my number is the registered BT account. Why would they think in a million years I would want my number changed? It's on our headed paper, website etc etc. I instantly got on the phone to BT and was told that because when the sales person sold me the Cloud I didn't request my number was moved over I was given a new number and it was my fault as I didn't bring up the fact I wanted to keep it. To add to this I was then told that because they were fitting a new line my alarm wouldn't work and I would need to get it put onto my new line, which would cost me hundreds of pounds for a call out fee and then engineering costs. At this point I lost it and told the man on the phone to cancel the whole thing. After a heated discussion requesting to speak to his superiors, he put me on hold. Whilst I waited on the phone I Googled the CEO's email address, found out that BT are the 3rd most complained about company in the UK and got Ofcoms and the Communications Ombudsmans number. When he came back on the line he told me my Cloud had been cancelled and my line would be left as it is and I would not be charged. BT do not think about small business and how they work, they purposely didn't inform me of the consequences of setting up BT Cloud and the impact it would have on my business. I am shocked at how they can get away with this.
Posted 1 year ago
Have to love how BT Business can turn a simple move of 2 line and broad band from a mess to a total nightmare. we accepted an instal fee of £125 a switch over fee of £40 next thing we know £413 is taken from our account. for 2 installation fees 2 broadband fees a switch over 3 weeks at our old addresss after we have moved. that was upsetting and annoying but we think it is sorted and on hold, 2 weeks later collections call us about our unpaid bill of £1400. a bill we have never seen. always they call friday evening when business is closed so you end up stewing on it over a weekend. well the BT manager i speak to is about as much use as a chocolate fire guard. no one will give me the breakdown of the bill. more calls to accounts i get the breakdown. 1 installation fee and broadband a switch over fee at new address, installation fee for line and broad band at old address 5 days after we left there. 3 weeks charges on this £708 cancellation fees for the line we didnt order that they say the installed at our last address and as we are within 2 years contract we have to pay disconection fee for our old property we moved from. charges for the old property until the 26 of this month as we have to give a months notice to cancel a service we never ordered. they did not send us this bill at all the first we knew of the £413 was the bank saying it had gone from our account. the first thing we knew of the £1400 was collections calling us. they didnt even have the courtesy to send us a bill give us time to pay or query this bill if you have a choice never never use british telecom they just have to be the worst company in the country, they set an extremly low standard and continually fail to achieve it
Posted 1 year ago
BT BUSINESS, what an utter incompetence !!!
A simple house move turned into a nightmare, a simple installation of 1 line, switch over 1 line plus broadband ! Being quoted £20 for bringing 1 residential line into a business line, put on hold because the movers manager could not be bothered to tell us that they in fact want now £40 for the £20 quote initially given ! the least of this entire saga!
With more than 4 weeks notice, the day we moved we received a text message , that BT BUSINESS not sure they can do this move after all !
BT BUSINESS decided to install 2 new lines and 2 broadbands, switch over 1 line , charge cancellation fees on to the old property from where they just moved the line, than install a new line 5 DAYS AFTER we moved, charge us the installation fees on the new line installed on the old property and broadband!!!
So, we ended up with a bill of £1400, of cancellation and installation fees we didn't ask for !
Friday afternoon at 5.30 pm BT ACCOUNTS COLLECTIONS, chasing us for a bill we haven even receive, but already gone to their collection company!
And 6 weeks down the line, talking to different managers, BT BUSINESS still can't sort this out!
Honestly! Such incompetence!
I can't stretch this enough PLEASE DO NOT USE BT!!!
Would save you from an ongoing stress, loss of business!
The new installed line crackling for 10 days, lost business.
Is hilariously SAD !!!
Posted 1 year ago
what a terrible company this is, customer service is absolutely diabolical, every time you call them you are on at least an hour, they promise to call you back, it never happens. How they get away with it I do not know, that is why they get the the Wooden spoon award every year. DO NOT GO WITH BT, read the reviews. I feel like a weight has been lifted now I have changed and it was so easy.
Posted 1 year ago
I imagine they're making so much money from the monopoly they're operating that nothing else matters. Absolute c*nts
Posted 1 year ago
BT is rated 1.47 based on 352 reviews